Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2019, 05:09:29 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Who likes pod miners?  (Read 55527 times)
vegascoinpool
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 03:28:02 AM
 #441

Is there a decent web frontend for configuring cgminer available on that OS? I'm a firm believer in Debian's reliability and, as handy as Minera is for configuring, honestly... I really really hate web scripting and that package has dynamic content up the butt.

I don't believe so. My brother and I set this up all command line.
1576300169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576300169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576300169
Reply with quote  #2

1576300169
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1576300169
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576300169

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576300169
Reply with quote  #2

1576300169
Report to moderator
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 21, 2018, 03:27:21 PM
 #442

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=248173.0
Maybe you should try nwools multiminer. He's been away from the community for a little while but is back and said he's open to adding Gekko support if someone had the time to send some links and stuff. I'm in a remote location and internet is spotty at best for me till late February.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2014



View Profile
January 22, 2018, 05:41:40 AM
 #443

Been so busy with gpus.  Rasp pi for me has been all on Avalon for last two years.

At one time I did minera crazyguy set it up with the 110 rock miners.

I plan to run pods with my compacs on a pc.

I mine the cpu on that pc and it earns about 50 to 60 cents.

Thus it is more cost effective then a rasp pi.

Note House is filled with PCs mining gpus.

I have a small rig mining with a 1050 ti that earns about 70 cents and I have moonlander son that.

So the PCs cover the solo mining of moonlander and the Jonny bravo pool mining with the compacs and 2 pacs.

A cheap mobo with a single gpu will be what I use with the pods.  I have something which will allow for cost free Mining of the pods.

I will show what I mean Monday morning

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 02:32:51 AM
 #444

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 03:09:17 AM
 #445

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.
mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 03:41:40 AM
 #446

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.
rhamzter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 282


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 01:09:37 PM
 #447

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.
It is good for you, I also used USB 10 hub I earned so fast using this. I think a little bit more time and the amount I used to provide this hub will be recovered.
For now I never experienced some problems it really worth it to buy. I'm also looking some hub to increase more my daily income.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1510

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 01:37:57 PM
 #448

Oh also since this doesn't draw any power (seriously- milliwatts) from USB you won't need a powered hub if you want to hook up multiples. Get one of them $8 10-port guys and it'll probably still work.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 03:48:22 AM
 #449

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.


Here is my USB 3.0 hub:



mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 03:53:09 AM
 #450

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.


Here is my USB 3.0 hub:

https://i.imgur.com/Wh9A9vx.jpg



This is the post that i was referring to. i guess using a USB 3.0 Hub is a different story

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg18979012#msg18979012
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 04:02:41 AM
 #451

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.


Here is my USB 3.0 hub:





This is the post that i was referring to. i guess using a USB 3.0 Hub is a different story

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg18979012#msg18979012

I had read thru some of these pages as well but if you continue a few more pages philipma1957 had used a USB 3 hub and it worked, I think he also started a thread on what hub to use. The USB 3 hub was not cheap but I didn't mind investing some of my coins, same goes for the sticks they don't make much but I like to tinker and its more of a hobby to have them.


here is one of his post with the USB 3 hub: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.420

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2014



View Profile
January 24, 2018, 04:34:02 AM
 #452

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.


Here is my USB 3.0 hub:





This is the post that i was referring to. i guess using a USB 3.0 Hub is a different story

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg18979012#msg18979012

I had read thru some of these pages as well but if you continue a few more pages philipma1957 had used a USB 3 hub and it worked, I think he also started a thread on what hub to use. The USB 3 hub was not cheap but I didn't mind investing some of my coins, same goes for the sticks they don't make much but I like to tinker and its more of a hobby to have them.


here is one of his post with the USB 3 hub: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.420



Most 3.0 hubs will work if feed into a 2 port hub,

This goes for compacs,2pacs.

At the moment I am now using a 49 port eyeboot usb.
Usb 2.0 plugged into a Lenovo m700 tiny pc.

I run the cpu in it to nicehash. It earns 43 cents a day about 3 kwatts a day.
The three compacs and one 2pac pull 20watts the pc pulls 50 mining the cpu

So about 25 cents in power.  I clear 18 cents a day.

And sticks point to bravo-mining.
If I hit a block I get a 1 btc bonus.

So I am plus about 70 usd a year .  Even if I never hit a block. Even if bravo-mining never hits a block.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vegascoinpool
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 06:09:02 AM
 #453


At the moment I am now using a 49 port eyeboot usb.
Usb 2.0 plugged into a Lenovo m700 tiny pc.


I'm running the 49 port Eyeboot as well, plugged into a Raspberry Pi. 13 sticks, running around a total of 260-300 Gh/s. The pi locks up a lot, though...

...and I feel like I'm at max output on the Eyeboot. When a stick drops off or zombies, my hash rate doesn't get affected too badly. I think the other sticks recover the voltage the dead stick isn't using anymore and we chug away just fine. I've been meaning to test with a second, smaller USB hub attached so the Eyeboot isn't as taxed, and see if I can actually bump the hash rate by moving some sticks over, but I've been too busy to do it.
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 04:10:23 PM
 #454

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.


Here is my USB 3.0 hub:





This is the post that i was referring to. i guess using a USB 3.0 Hub is a different story

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg18979012#msg18979012

I had read thru some of these pages as well but if you continue a few more pages philipma1957 had used a USB 3 hub and it worked, I think he also started a thread on what hub to use. The USB 3 hub was not cheap but I didn't mind investing some of my coins, same goes for the sticks they don't make much but I like to tinker and its more of a hobby to have them.


here is one of his post with the USB 3 hub: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.420



Most 3.0 hubs will work if feed into a 2 port hub,

This goes for compacs,2pacs.

At the moment I am now using a 49 port eyeboot usb.
Usb 2.0 plugged into a Lenovo m700 tiny pc.

I run the cpu in it to nicehash. It earns 43 cents a day about 3 kwatts a day.
The three compacs and one 2pac pull 20watts the pc pulls 50 mining the cpu

So about 25 cents in power.  I clear 18 cents a day.

And sticks point to bravo-mining.
If I hit a block I get a 1 btc bonus.

So I am plus about 70 usd a year .  Even if I never hit a block. Even if bravo-mining never hits a block.


philipma1957

I have to disagree with you about using USB 3, I have the hub on a USB 3 on the computer.
Also When I received my first order of 2 Pacs I used 2 of them on a computer with USB 3's on it and was able to run them at 200Mhz for a short time.
They did get extremely hot since I didn't have any fans set up but the ran for 24 hrs on there with out a problem.

rem26
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 08:29:00 PM
 #455

I know for a fact that the 2pacs does not really play nice with USB3 ports. Is it going to be the same for the terminus pods?

I'm using a usb3 hub with no issues, I have 10 2pacs on it at 200mhz.

really?? Lucky you. I remember something about Intel USB3.0 drivers or was it VIA drivers that doesnt really gel well with the 2pacs. i am going to try and find the forum post after work.

I think that has more to do with Windows than the hardware.

No problems with USB3.0 hubs, RPi, 2pacs here.
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 04:56:33 PM
 #456

So it sounds like you are make great progress with these new models. Do you yet know how orders will work? Do we need to preorder to reserve?

I'd hate to miss the boat because I didn't see the thread update in time...
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1510

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 07:03:22 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #457

No preorders. I don't really like them. Some pre-ordering was necessary in the past when I didn't have enough money on hand to fund an initial batch, but you'll note it wasn't preorders in the traditional (within BTC hardware anyways) sense where your order money was used to fund development. That's unacceptable.

Anyways, 2Pac sales the last several months have made that no longer a problem. As soon as I have all the materials in hand and a robot freed up for a day we're gonna start batching these things out. Resellers I'm sure are going to eat them up, but we'll have individual full-kit sales open as well for low-volume purchases. I plan to make at least 500.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 518


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
January 25, 2018, 07:07:31 PM
 #458

No preorders. I don't really like them. Some pre-ordering was necessary in the past when I didn't have enough money on hand to fund an initial batch, but you'll note it wasn't preorders in the traditional (within BTC hardware anyways) sense where your order money was used to fund development. That's unacceptable.

Anyways, 2Pac sales the last several months have made that no longer a problem. As soon as I have all the materials in hand and a robot freed up for a day we're gonna start batching these things out. Resellers I'm sure are going to eat them up, but we'll have individual full-kit sales open as well for low-volume purchases. I plan to make at least 500.
I'm so in!  Hopefully I can snag one when they go live.
Rock on, sidehack!

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5, S9r-12, 2xS15-28
anorganix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 273



View Profile
January 25, 2018, 07:26:41 PM
 #459

For the earlier questions related to the USB 3.0 compatibility - here's the post / issue. It wasn't related to the hub or sticks directly, issue was with the mobo USB controller.
The fact that it worked for me on the USB 2.0 controller does not mean sidehack's gear isn't working on USB 3.0. So all is good.

LUX æterna
kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 12:53:55 AM
 #460

No preorders. I don't really like them. Some pre-ordering was necessary in the past when I didn't have enough money on hand to fund an initial batch, but you'll note it wasn't preorders in the traditional (within BTC hardware anyways) sense where your order money was used to fund development. That's unacceptable.

Anyways, 2Pac sales the last several months have made that no longer a problem. As soon as I have all the materials in hand and a robot freed up for a day we're gonna start batching these things out. Resellers I'm sure are going to eat them up, but we'll have individual full-kit sales open as well for low-volume purchases. I plan to make at least 500.

You better get the assistant ready to take the orders and keep track.  I am think the turnout for these will be good for you.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!