Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 08:28:12 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 103 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 147048 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 07, 2017, 05:35:20 PM
 #361


@ klintay  will you be selling the 20 port 3.0 hub soon?
I may pick one up from you.


No plans at the moment, for eyeboot we only have the 19 port usb 3.0 hub still.

But we will be selling the 16 port usb 3.0 hub from Sipolar and a few of their other products so watch out for that
thanks for the tip

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1540153692
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540153692

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540153692
Reply with quote  #2

1540153692
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1172

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 03:15:47 AM
 #362

Couple comments on the support writeup:

There's no mention in there of how to change the core voltage.
The core voltage range given (550-800mV) is incorrect. The bottom end is more like 620mV.
The suggested command line has a starting frequency of 200MHz, which is probably too fast for the stock setting for the stick as delivered and probably more power than a lot of beginner hubs are comfortable with.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
achtung082
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 328
Merit: 252


View Profile
May 08, 2017, 01:53:20 PM
 #363


@ klintay  will you be selling the 20 port 3.0 hub soon?
I may pick one up from you.


No plans at the moment, for eyeboot we only have the 19 port usb 3.0 hub still.

But we will be selling the 16 port usb 3.0 hub from Sipolar and a few of their other products so watch out for that
The Sipolar 10 port hub seems to be working well, but haven't done a full max clock rate test yet.

 

Please support sidehack with his miner projects Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
My Sales Wallet
BTC:14A7W4hWAL8uLgVdGvrseHYkVvo5TGAgtX - LTC:LNLKyKkGNCJakZudGjc2qg26yYz7oeo92k - BCH:16ZSZvkuQXDqhBi4o2RPMVx8t7aVkqKGGC
BugBiter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 12:59:38 AM
 #364

New build is available (495461c).   git pull and build as needed.

- merge updates from ckolivas/cgminer
- enable api
- update README

Latest windows binary:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-495461c.7z



I am running 4, 2pacs on NiceHash with your Windows build. My NiceHash reports say I am running at low efficiency as I am not using the #xnsub (extranonce.subscription ). I have tried adding #xnsub in the command, but it flags a URL error.  My question is, have you incorporated the NiceHash include file for extranonce in your cgminer for windows builds?  Thanks for all your support!
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 554


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 01:04:02 AM
 #365

New build is available (495461c).   git pull and build as needed.

- merge updates from ckolivas/cgminer
- enable api
- update README

Latest windows binary:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-495461c.7z



I am running 4, 2pacs on NiceHash with your Windows build. My NiceHash reports say I am running at low efficiency as I am not using the #xnsub (extranonce.subscription ). I have tried adding #xnsub in the command, but it flags a URL error.  My question is, have you incorporated the NiceHash include file for extranonce in your cgminer for windows builds?  Thanks for all your support!

It's not and won't be.   See the cgminer thread for details.   Post there if you wish to discuss it.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg10919157;topicseen#msg10919157

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 01:04:52 AM
 #366

New build is available (495461c).   git pull and build as needed.

- merge updates from ckolivas/cgminer
- enable api
- update README

Latest windows binary:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-495461c.7z



I am running 4, 2pacs on NiceHash with your Windows build. My NiceHash reports say I am running at low efficiency as I am not using the #xnsub (extranonce.subscription ). I have tried adding #xnsub in the command, but it flags a URL error.  My question is, have you incorporated the NiceHash include file for extranonce in your cgminer for windows builds?  Thanks for all your support!

#xnsub  is not important with low hash rates like you have.

BTW  why nicehash?  these sticks are good for solo mining or a pool like mmpool.org

not so good for niches
here is the link for mmpool

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=559011.0


yeah it is a small pool  and hits 4 or 5 maybe 6 blocks a year.  but you will get earnings for that.  and if you ever hit a block you get all the tx fees.


here is the link for ck's pool  all or nothing solo

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=763510.0

you get a whole block minus a fee if you hit a block but nothing else if you are not the one hitting a block.

I will always point my sidehack sticks at the two pools above.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
BittyDave
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 05:09:21 AM
 #367

My question today is simple.  Can I mine with a compac and a 2pac simultaneously from different ports on the same USB hub?  if so, how? (step-by-step instructions would be appreciated.  Grin )
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 05:26:12 AM
 #368

Step by step:
Step 1 do as in post #1
Step 2: insert compac and 2pac into hub slots
Step 3: run executable line as described in post #1, including Q/A section, adding
Code:
--gekko-compac-freq 200 --gekko-2pac-freq 150

klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1570
Merit: 1010

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2017, 06:48:35 AM
 #369

Couple comments on the support writeup:

There's no mention in there of how to change the core voltage.
The core voltage range given (550-800mV) is incorrect. The bottom end is more like 620mV.
The suggested command line has a starting frequency of 200MHz, which is probably too fast for the stock setting for the stick as delivered and probably more power than a lot of beginner hubs are comfortable with.


thanks will update the file and post later today

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 03:10:29 PM
 #370

I got mine and it solved all my issues. I run 4 2-pacs, a nano bit fury, 4 rockminers, 1 gawblizzard and 10 gridseeds on mine and no issues.

I'm looking at the Eyeboot 49 port 5V USB 2.0 Hub 110-220v for purchase.  Does anyone have experience with such devices?  On such a device, how many 2pacs could I reasonably expect to run?  How many have members run?  Thanks in advance.
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 04:00:52 PM
 #371

I am running 10 2pacs on that unit, running them at 250mhz,  I upgraded the inside power supply to 350w 60A 5v. with 4 goose neck fans. 


anorganix
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 258



View Profile
May 10, 2017, 05:07:59 PM
 #372

My 3 x 2Pacs EU version arrived today, however I'm having trouble making them work.
I've installed the drivers using Zadig and all three devices appear installed in Device Manager.

When starting the hub and then cgminer, it gets stuck in "Starting cgminer" screen, doesn't matter if i restart the hub.
When starting cgminer and then the hub, when I go to USB management > List all known devices I get the screen below (1 device missing). If I choose to relist them, I get 0 devices.



PS1: tried with only 1 device instead of 3, same story.
PS2: tried latest and previous cgminer versions posted by vh, no change.

Any ideas?
Thanks!

LUX æterna
anorganix
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 258



View Profile
May 10, 2017, 06:39:29 PM
 #373

UPDATE:

I've tried also with build 4fc8783 of cgminer and it starts, however it gives me "failed usb_init" for all 3 sticks.
If I go to USB Management and then to List all known devices it detects them but gives the "err -3" privilege message.

Running Windows 7 x64 under admin privileges.

LUX æterna
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1172

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 06:54:22 PM
 #374

So you started with the oldest cgminer build? What's the most recent one do?

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
anorganix
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 258



View Profile
May 10, 2017, 06:57:30 PM
 #375

No, I've started with the latest one (495461c as this moment) which freezes in "started cgminer". (see details here)
Then I've tried build 4fc8783, and with this older one I'm able to start it and get to "failed usb_init" message.

PS: both versions detect all 3 devices when runnig "cgminer -n".

Thanks!

LUX æterna
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 554


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 01:19:15 AM
 #376

UPDATE:

I've tried also with build 4fc8783 of cgminer and it starts, however it gives me "failed usb_init" for all 3 sticks.
If I go to USB Management and then to List all known devices it detects them but gives the "err -3" privilege message.

Running Windows 7 x64 under admin privileges.

Something's got a lock on device before cgminer can.  
I've only personally seen the error in windows when two cgminer.exe are running.

Here the excerpt from the README regarding windows usb install that might help:

"When you first switch a device over to WinUSB with zadig and it shows that
correctly on the left of the zadig window, but it still gives permission
errors, you may need to unplug the USB miner and then plug it back in. Some
users may need to reboot at this point."


vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 554


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 01:35:43 AM
 #377

PS1: tried with only 1 device instead of 3, same story.
..

Any ideas?
Thanks!

Also try one device, no hub.

anorganix
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 258



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 03:38:00 PM
 #378

Tried both things:
- plug 2Pac directly into PC's USB port
- reboot system

I get the same thing.
Latest build freezes @ "started cgminer" and older build gives "err -3" (screenshot below).



Any help/suggestion is much appreciated.
Thanks!

LUX æterna
bobcares
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 08:46:13 PM
 #379

I'm trying to get my 2Pac working on my Lanner/FW7535.

On debian, I build 4.10 vh, cgminer from github.

However this doesn't work:

{10}% lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc. 4-Port HUB
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

according to the specs the USB are 2.0 ..

sudo ./cgminer [..]
[2017-05-11 22:39:07.244] No devices detected!

{U}SB -> {L}ist:
Select an option or any other key to return
Bus 1 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60 bitshopperde 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner active
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie

Summary of Select device number:
5
Invalid selection
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie information:

What's wrong ? (Or what do I do wrong ?)

tnx!

http://www.lannerinc.com/products/x86-network-appliances/desktop/fw-7535
anorganix
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 258



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 08:54:47 PM
 #380

I finally got it working! Grin

My PC has 2 USB controllers and it seems I've randomly picked the Intel one which doesn't work (USB 3.0).
After moving the hub on the VIA controller (USB 2.0) it changed each 2Pac's location in Device Manager to something like Location 0 (Port_#0003.Hub_#0002).

After that, it started to work flawlessly with all 2Pacs and all cgminer builds which were failing earlier.
Yay!

Later edit: a few days later and it's working as expected.


LUX æterna
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 103 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!