Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2024, 11:55:20 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: New demonstration CPU miner available  (Read 386159 times)
adv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 01:11:29 AM
 #201

Hello Jgarzik.
Thanks for the good miner.

I want to suggest some improvements (possibly incorrect).
As I understand your sources. Now, each thread makes his getwork and processes it.
Why not parallelize the processing of one getwork a few threads? Like this: thread_1(nonce = 0 to N), thread_2(nonce = N to M), ..., thread_X(nonce = Y to Z).

This should reduce the load on the network and the loss in the processing of RPC request. (For the case when the block solution time > maximum admissible (skantime). But this is the most common case, no?)

The following improvements (for the distant future) - Miner parallelization on multiple hosts with the aid of a binary (for fast) protocol supports pooling, an indication of nonse range and calibrate the performance of customers (to determine the nonce range). In practice, this task of building a new server pool with their customers. It is interesting to you?

P.S.
This is somewhat similar to the processing of one getwork on SSE2 processors that are discussed in the next thread.

U may thank me here: 14Js1ng1SvYBPgUJnjNAEPYH4d6SHF79UF
1714218920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714218920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714218920
Reply with quote  #2

1714218920
Report to moderator
1714218920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714218920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714218920
Reply with quote  #2

1714218920
Report to moderator
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a higher transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714218920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714218920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714218920
Reply with quote  #2

1714218920
Report to moderator
jgarzik (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 02:35:23 AM
 #202

I want to suggest some improvements (possibly incorrect).
As I understand your sources. Now, each thread makes his getwork and processes it.
Why not parallelize the processing of one getwork a few threads? Like this: thread_1(nonce = 0 to N), thread_2(nonce = N to M), ..., thread_X(nonce = Y to Z).

This should reduce the load on the network and the loss in the processing of RPC request. (For the case when the block solution time > maximum admissible (skantime). But this is the most common case, no?)

Yes, this is a good idea for the future.  If someone wanted to contributed a clean implementation of this, I would accept it.

As it stands now, simply starting completely independent threads was easier to code.  Breaking up the nonce work implies some level of coordination among threads, which must be done carefully to avoid hurting performance due to locks / asynchronous queues / similar threading details.  One must also take care never to stall one thread, while it waits on other threads.  This is not a hard problem... but it must be done right to avoid these pitfalls.

Quote
The following improvements (for the distant future) - Miner parallelization on multiple hosts with the aid of a binary (for fast) protocol supports pooling, an indication of nonse range and calibrate the performance of customers (to determine the nonce range). In practice, this task of building a new server pool with their customers. It is interesting to you?

Pooling already exists.  See this thread, or see this thread for a binary pool protocol.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
jgarzik (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 02:37:51 AM
 #203

Because:
Code:
$ ./configure 
[...]
checking for pkg-config... /opt/local/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
./configure: line 4301: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 4301: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'

autogen could not find your libcurl autoconf macros.  Sounds like you have a non-standard installation, outside the normal autoconf/automake paths.


I have the same thing. Trying to configure sources on FreeBSD 8.1-RELEASE-p2 i386.
Maybe, there are some linker flags or workarounds or something?

The solution here is easy:  don't build from git, build from tarball releases.  The tarball already has the proper configure script generated, so you don't have to worry about missing macros or broken OS configurations.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
hangover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2011, 08:25:03 AM
 #204

I have the same thing. Trying to configure sources on FreeBSD 8.1-RELEASE-p2 i386.
Maybe, there are some linker flags or workarounds or something?

The solution here is easy:  don't build from git, build from tarball releases.  The tarball already has the proper configure script generated, so you don't have to worry about missing macros or broken OS configurations.


Thank you very much!
myrkul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2011, 11:27:53 AM
 #205

Quick question: is there a way to setup minerd to run as a linux screensaver? an extra thread while i'm not using the computer at all would be a nice way to boost my hash/sec.

BTC1MYRkuLv4XPBa6bGnYAronz55grPAGcxja
Need Dispute resolution? Public Key ID: 0x11D341CF
No person has the right to initiate force, threat of force, or fraud against another person or their property. VIM VI REPELLERE LICET
hangover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2011, 03:15:06 PM
 #206

Patch for successfull compilation of minerd under FreeBSD:

Code:
--- miner.h.orig	2011-02-10 11:51:55.000000000 +0600
+++ miner.h 2011-02-16 16:04:28.000000000 +0600
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
 #include <stdint.h>
 #include <sys/time.h>
 #include <jansson.h>
-#include <curl/curl.h>
+#include </usr/local/include/curl/curl.h>
 
 #ifdef __SSE2__
 #define WANT_SSE2_4WAY 1
@@ -18,7 +18,12 @@
 #if ((__GNUC__ > 4) || (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ >= 3))
 #define WANT_BUILTIN_BSWAP
 #else
-#include <byteswap.h>
+/* #include <byteswap.h> */  // <-- doesn't exist under FreeBSD
+# define bswap_64 __bswap64
+# define bswap_32 __bswap32
+# define bswap_16 __bswap16
+# define __BIG_ENDIAN__ (_BYTE_ORDER == _BIG_ENDIAN)
+#include <sys/endian.h>
 #endif
 
 #if defined(__i386__)
myrkul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 09:53:00 AM
 #207

One more thing to ask: Is there a way to log the output? I tried the standard > redirect, but nothing is dumped into the text file, and nothing displays in the terminal screen, either.

Interestingly, the redirect works with the --help switch, and does fill the text file with the help output, and once I try redirecting the live program output, the text is blanked, but even with the >> append, nothing is ever put into the file. What am I doing wrong?

OS: Linux 10.04
Processor: Crap
GPU: Crap

BTC1MYRkuLv4XPBa6bGnYAronz55grPAGcxja
Need Dispute resolution? Public Key ID: 0x11D341CF
No person has the right to initiate force, threat of force, or fraud against another person or their property. VIM VI REPELLERE LICET
hangover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 10:10:12 AM
 #208

One more thing to ask: Is there a way to log the output? I tried the standard > redirect, but nothing is dumped into the text file, and nothing displays in the terminal screen, either.

Interestingly, the redirect works with the --help switch, and does fill the text file with the help output, and once I try redirecting the live program output, the text is blanked, but even with the >> append, nothing is ever put into the file. What am I doing wrong?

OS: Linux 10.04
Processor: Crap
GPU: Crap

To double program output to file, you can make something like that:

Code:
minerd --threads X --url http://mypool.local:8332 --userpass user:pass 2>&1 | tee /some/path/log.log
myrkul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 10:28:48 AM
 #209

To double program output to file, you can make something like that:

Code:
minerd --threads X --url http://mypool.local:8332 --userpass user:pass 2>&1 | tee /some/path/log.log

Ok, that puts "1 miner threads started, using SHA256 'cryptopp_asm32' algorithm." into the logfile, but fails to record (or display) the hashcount.

Progress, but still not 100%
Thanks for the fast response, btw. Smiley

BTC1MYRkuLv4XPBa6bGnYAronz55grPAGcxja
Need Dispute resolution? Public Key ID: 0x11D341CF
No person has the right to initiate force, threat of force, or fraud against another person or their property. VIM VI REPELLERE LICET
hangover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 11:28:06 AM
 #210

To double program output to file, you can make something like that:

Code:
minerd --threads X --url http://mypool.local:8332 --userpass user:pass 2>&1 | tee /some/path/log.log

Ok, that puts "1 miner threads started, using SHA256 'cryptopp_asm32' algorithm." into the logfile, but fails to record (or display) the hashcount.

Progress, but still not 100%
Thanks for the fast response, btw. Smiley
Hmm. It seems to me that cpuminer with tee gives output 'by portions'.
I started minerd and got this:

Code:
hangover@hangover:~$ minerd --threads 2 --url http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 --userpass hangover.XX:YY 2>&1 | tee /home/hangover/loglog
2 miner threads started, using SHA256 'c' algorithm.

And after waiting for 5 minutes I got this:
Code:
HashMeter(1): 16777215 hashes, 628.20 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 16777215 hashes, 620.19 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 8388607 hashes, 643.54 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 8388607 hashes, 637.17 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 4194303 hashes, 502.27 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 4194303 hashes, 430.20 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3194303 hashes, 582.57 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3194303 hashes, 602.13 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3194303 hashes, 582.68 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3194303 hashes, 586.11 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3194303 hashes, 632.09 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3194303 hashes, 598.81 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3194303 hashes, 643.12 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3194303 hashes, 628.86 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3294303 hashes, 638.16 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3194303 hashes, 643.76 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3294303 hashes, 661.30 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3294303 hashes, 641.22 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3394303 hashes, 645.43 khash/sec
HashMeter(1): 3294303 hashes, 645.00 khash/sec
HashMeter(0): 3394303 hashes, 647.02 khash/sec
...
myrkul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 11:47:54 AM
 #211

Ahh. Just need to wait longer then?

Me and my impatient self. Thanks!

BTC1MYRkuLv4XPBa6bGnYAronz55grPAGcxja
Need Dispute resolution? Public Key ID: 0x11D341CF
No person has the right to initiate force, threat of force, or fraud against another person or their property. VIM VI REPELLERE LICET
jwf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2011, 06:58:11 PM
Last edit: February 17, 2011, 07:32:46 PM by jwf
 #212

ymmv, but I found that -Os (optimize for size, better exploits caches) outperforms -O3 or -O4 by about 8%.

update:

only bothered testing on 4way, but tested on 3 recent Intel processors, a Xeon W3530 @ 2.80GHz (8192 KB cache), a Xeon @ 3.00GHz (2048 KB cache), and a Xeon E5430 @ 2.66GHz (6144 KB cache). All with approximately the same results.

Using version obtained from git with most recent commit 4a7f3f70b5628cb804ca4f46cf51651a1a42507f.

gcc version Ubuntu 4.4.3-4ubuntu5, CFLAGS="-O(s|3) -ftree-vectorize -march=native".

jordan
Cerebrum
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2011, 07:12:25 PM
 #213

ymmv, but I found that -Os (optimize for size, better exploits caches) outperforms -O3 or -O4 by about 8%.

jordan

This may also be why ufasoft's code runs faster than the 4way implementation used here. Since he doesn't unroll the loop used in the SHA calculation, the code is smaller and may fit into the cache more easily. MEMORY HIERARCHIES: THAT $#%! IS SO CACHE.
Patches
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 18, 2011, 01:42:35 PM
 #214

Just to share, the miner seems to work quite well under wine on OS X on a Mac Pro. Just install wine as per these instructions: http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX/Installing (I used Mac Ports) and you are good to go.

BeeCee1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2011, 04:34:30 PM
 #215

For those of you on Linux that are itching to try out ufasoft's optimizations (see this thread: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3486.0).  one of the optimizations he does is "skip last 3 rounds, because we need not them to calc last 32-bit word of hash [h word]."  I tried this by simply commenting out the final three rounds and it successfully generated shares in slush's mining pool and made things a tiny bit faster (1 or 2 %).  I didn't verify that it works in all cases, someone more familiar with the protocol might want to.

Like this:
        //w13 = add4(SIGMA1_256(w11), w6, SIGMA0_256(w14), w13);
        //SHA256ROUND(d, e, f, g, h, a, b, c, 61, w13);
        //w14 = add4(SIGMA1_256(w12), w7, SIGMA0_256(w15), w14);
        //SHA256ROUND(c, d, e, f, g, h, a, b, 62, w14);
        //w15 = add4(SIGMA1_256(w13), w8, SIGMA0_256(w0), w15);
        //SHA256ROUND(b, c, d, e, f, g, h, a, 63, w15);

        /* store resulsts directly in thash */
jgarzik (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1091


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 03:51:21 AM
 #216

Version 0.7.1 is released.  See top of thread for URLs.

Changes:
- Add support for JSON-format configuration file.  See example
  file example-cfg.json.  Any long argument on the command line
  may be stored in the config file.
- Timestamp each solution found
- Improve sha256_4way performance.  NOTE: This optimization makes
  the 'hash' debug-print output for sha256_way incorrect.
- Use __builtin_expect() intrinsic as compiler micro-optimization
- Build on Intel compiler
- HTTP library now follows HTTP redirects

SHA1: 5520112505b16f89b473ed897b89e1593aeb1371  cpuminer-installer-0.7.1.zip
MD5: 1b77192b76bf50938c005b2c26d3809f  cpuminer-installer-0.7.1.zip

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 04:27:28 AM
 #217

Fine update.

I have a question though, is there a reason STDIN and STDERR aren't accessible when exec'd from Perl? I've had luck with IO::Pty on Linux, but not on Cygwin or Strawberry Perl on Win32. I ask this assuming that exec-ing it from any non-term/console would have the same issue and this isn't a Perl-specific problem.
mrballcb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 08:57:37 PM
 #218

- Add support for JSON-format configuration file.  See example
  file example-cfg.json.  Any long argument on the command line
  may be stored in the config file.
Curious, how come a json format was chosen over something like yaml?  JSON is extremely unforgiving when it comes to syntax, compared to yaml which is much more forgiving.  Personally I also find YAML to be more readable, but that's just a personal preference not based on capabilities nor function.  Are there plans to centralize configs or something (since json is so web friendly)?  Or was it just a convenient way to save/retrieve configuration?

Regards...        Todd
chromicant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 08:59:30 PM
 #219

Curious, how come a json format was chosen over something like yaml?

Probably because there's a whole JSON parser that's part of the miner...so might as well reuse the code!
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 10:04:38 PM
Last edit: March 03, 2011, 11:30:52 PM by Raulo
 #220

If anybody is interested, this is the assembly code from Intel Compiler which gives me the fastest 4way code on AMD K10. 1.13 GH/s MH/s per 1 GHz per physical core.
https://gist.github.com/853566
Compile cpuminer-0.7.1, download the above code, issue:
gcc -c sha256_4way.s
and do make again to link the object file to the executable.  It's about 7% faster than the gcc version.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!