Bitcoin Forum
September 30, 2016, 09:59:34 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: New demonstration CPU miner available  (Read 371909 times)
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 06:30:17 PM
 #421

Im getting this error in Ubuntu 10.04 LTS when running autogen.sh:

~/cpuminer$ sh autogen.sh
configure.ac:15: installing `./compile'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing `./install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing `./missing'
compat/jansson/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
Makefile.am: installing `./INSTALL'
configure.ac:96: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Any suggestion?

Standard advice -- your autotools installation is old or broken.  Use release tarball.



Its a server with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. I guess its "old". Ill try the tarball, thanks.

EDIT: The tarball worked.
1475272774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475272774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475272774
Reply with quote  #2

1475272774
Report to moderator
1475272774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475272774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475272774
Reply with quote  #2

1475272774
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 03:03:00 AM
 #422

I can get the tarball 1.0.1 to compile OK however the source from github gives the following problem when compiling on debian 6 (amd64):

Quote
me@machine:~$ git clone git://github.com/jgarzik/cpuminer.git
Cloning into cpuminer...
remote: Counting objects: 633, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (273/273), done.
remote: Total 633 (delta 404), reused 575 (delta 356)
Receiving objects: 100% (633/633), 138.30 KiB | 196 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (404/404), done.
me@machine:~$ cd cpuminer
me@machine:~/cpuminer$ ./autogen.sh
configure.ac:15: installing `./compile'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing `./install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing `./missing'
compat/jansson/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
Makefile.am: installing `./INSTALL'
me@machine:~/cpuminer$ CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure
checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... mawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /bin/grep
checking for egrep... /bin/grep -E
checking whether gcc needs -traditional... no
checking whether gcc and cc understand -c and -o together... yes
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking syslog.h usability... yes
checking syslog.h presence... yes
checking for syslog.h... yes
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for yasm... /usr/bin/yasm
checking if yasm version is greater than 1.0.1... no
configure: yasm is required for the sse2_64 algorithm. It will be skipped.
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for gawk... (cached) mawk
checking for curl-config... /usr/bin/curl-config
checking for the version of libcurl... 7.21.0
checking for libcurl >= version 7.10.1... yes
checking whether libcurl is usable... yes
checking for curl_free... yes
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating compat/Makefile
config.status: creating compat/jansson/Makefile
config.status: creating x86_64/Makefile
config.status: creating cpuminer-config.h
config.status: executing depfiles commands
me@machine:~/cpuminer$ make
make  all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/me/cpuminer'
Making all in compat
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat'
Making all in jansson
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat/jansson'
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT dump.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/dump.Tpo -c -o dump.o dump.c
mv -f .deps/dump.Tpo .deps/dump.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT hashtable.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/hashtable.Tpo -c -o hashtable.o hashtable.c
mv -f .deps/hashtable.Tpo .deps/hashtable.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT load.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/load.Tpo -c -o load.o load.c
mv -f .deps/load.Tpo .deps/load.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT strbuffer.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/strbuffer.Tpo -c -o strbuffer.o strbuffer.c
mv -f .deps/strbuffer.Tpo .deps/strbuffer.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT utf.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/utf.Tpo -c -o utf.o utf.c
mv -f .deps/utf.Tpo .deps/utf.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT value.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/value.Tpo -c -o value.o value.c
mv -f .deps/value.Tpo .deps/value.Po
rm -f libjansson.a
ar cru libjansson.a dump.o hashtable.o load.o strbuffer.o utf.o value.o
ranlib libjansson.a
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat/jansson'
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/me/cpuminer/compat'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/me/cpuminer'
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson    -O3 -Wall -msse2 -MT minerd-cpu-miner.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-cpu-miner.Tpo -c -o minerd-cpu-miner.o `test -f 'cpu-miner.c' || echo './'`cpu-miner.c
cpu-miner.c: In function ‘drop_policy’:
cpu-miner.c:43: error: ‘SCHED_IDLE’ undeclared (first use in this function)
cpu-miner.c:43: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
cpu-miner.c:43: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[2]: *** [minerd-cpu-miner.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/me/cpuminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/me/cpuminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I get the same error with the code from ckolivas' repo Undecided

jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:06:16 AM
 #423

cpu-miner.c:43: error: ‘SCHED_IDLE’ undeclared (first use in this function)

Your OS needs to update /usr/include/sched.h to include this definition.

If you add
   #include <linux/sched.h>

does it fix the problem for you?


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 04:12:03 AM
 #424

I added some ifdefs to cope with distributions that still have older headers so if you grab my latest git tree (from the master branch) it should build for you.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 06:47:21 AM
 #425

Version 1.0.2 released.

Changes:

Christian Ludwig (2):
      Fix libcurl include path
      configure.ac: Beautify yasm test output

Jeff Garzik (3):
      only read processor count via sysconf on non-Windows platforms
      Fix number-of-threads init logic on Windows
      Version 1.0.2.

ckolivas (2):
      Linux + x86_64 optimisations.
      Cope with older linux kernel headers that don't have the newer scheduling


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:28:06 AM
 #426

I added some ifdefs to cope with distributions that still have older headers so if you grab my latest git tree (from the master branch) it should build for you.

Thanks. Git branch is working now. A small contribution is going your way.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:30:32 AM
 #427

Success!

I can now compile the latest code, thank you so much for your swift fix there team Smiley

Is the 4way algorithm still the best?

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:43:37 AM
 #428

Success!

I can now compile the latest code, thank you so much for your swift fix there team Smiley

Is the 4way algorithm still the best?

Im trying it with an Atom 330 that is reported to have SS2, but I get better results with c and cryptopp (almost identical results with both).
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 09:22:10 AM
 #429

I added some ifdefs to cope with distributions that still have older headers so if you grab my latest git tree (from the master branch) it should build for you.

Thanks. Git branch is working now. A small contribution is going your way.
Sweet, I appreciate the gesture and it makes me want to work on the code more, thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rocksalt
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 10:22:24 AM
 #430

hi all... im experimenting with using this on a few different types on machines and i havn't found anything for the following question:

is there a way to throttle the minderd.exe process to say take only 35% of cpu when busy? and maybe 90% when idle ?
is there a switch?? i can open numbers of threads, but i can't actually find a away of controlling those threads.

The reason is i'd like to deploy this on a lot of workstations im looking after, roughly about 5k of them, but i need to keep control over what and how they are utilising the cpu usage.

TIPS/Donations: mwahahaha.. not that desperate, just a thank you or a flame please but if you must... 1NTZcWQGfdGang9piBKUv9Z1VZ7x6cTXjV
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 10:29:18 AM
 #431

hi all... im experimenting with using this on a few different types on machines and i havn't found anything for the following question:

is there a way to throttle the minderd.exe process to say take only 35% of cpu when busy? and maybe 90% when idle ?
is there a switch?? i can open numbers of threads, but i can't actually find a away of controlling those threads.

The reason is i'd like to deploy this on a lot of workstations im looking after, roughly about 5k of them, but i need to keep control over what and how they are utilising the cpu usage.

No there is not... yet(?) The threads run at ultra-low priority and should not have any impact on the machine at all except in terms of power usage and heat generation. Of course they may be issues in their own right. Is there really a demand for this?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dserrano5
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:03:42 AM
 #432

[...] power usage and heat generation. Of course they may be issues in their own right. Is there really a demand for this?

I for one would like to have it. I would have been a long time user of BOINC if it weren't for this.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 11:10:00 AM
 #433

[...] power usage and heat generation. Of course they may be issues in their own right. Is there really a demand for this?

I for one would like to have it. I would have been a long time user of BOINC if it weren't for this.

Yeah but you do realise that at the current level of difficulty (which will increase soon), it would take a modern cpu over 50 years to solve one block successfully? Slow it down even more and it's... never. Of course you could use them to add MH/s but even then 1GHz of modern CPU adds about 1MH/s, so a throttled 3Ghz machine would only give you just 1 MH/s per core. Which really is... nothing by today's standards and will be even less as time goes on.

Now if that doesn't deter you, then sure there are ways I can implement this crudely on linux. I haven't got a clue how to do it for other OSs, nor do I care to figure it out.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rocksalt
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:27:31 AM
 #434

[...] power usage and heat generation. Of course they may be issues in their own right. Is there really a demand for this?

I for one would like to have it. I would have been a long time user of BOINC if it weren't for this.

Yeah but you do realise that at the current level of difficulty (which will increase soon), it would take a modern cpu over 50 years to solve one block successfully? Slow it down even more and it's... never. Of course you could use them to add MH/s but even then 1GHz of modern CPU adds about 1MH/s, so a throttled 3Ghz machine would only give you just 1 MH/s per core. Which really is... nothing by today's standards and will be even less as time goes on.

Now if that doesn't deter you, then sure there are ways I can implement this crudely on linux. I haven't got a clue how to do it for other OSs, nor do I care to figure it out.

I was more thinking that even at a low hash rate, 5k of PC's all connecting to one or two pools, would equate out to maybe about 300GH/s... kind of like distributed processing. Not only does this happen, but at a low cpu usage, it can run all the time in the background and the users won't be affected.

TIPS/Donations: mwahahaha.. not that desperate, just a thank you or a flame please but if you must... 1NTZcWQGfdGang9piBKUv9Z1VZ7x6cTXjV
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 11:31:00 AM
 #435

Now if that doesn't deter you, then sure there are ways I can implement this crudely on linux. I haven't got a clue how to do it for other OSs, nor do I care to figure it out.
Personally, I don't think building throttling into the program is the best way to do this, especially on Linux. You can use frequency scaling and CPU throttling. Also, you can set your frequency governor to ignore niced processes (at least for ondemand and conservative), keeping the CPU speed down when nothing else needs the higher frequency. Works quite well for me.

Also, at least with some distros, there's a tool called "cpulimit" that will periodically put your process to sleep and then wake it again that could achieve the desired effect.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 11:53:34 AM
 #436

I agree with ancow. The tools to do this exist already. Since cpuminer will run idle and niced priority, setting an ondemand cpu frequency governor with ignore nice load will do precisely what you want.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:13:55 PM
 #437

I was more thinking that even at a low hash rate, 5k of PC's all connecting to one or two pools, would equate out to maybe about 300GH/s... kind of like distributed processing. Not only does this happen, but at a low cpu usage, it can run all the time in the background and the users won't be affected.

But your electric bill will.

Unless of course you are doing it at work or something like that.
dserrano5
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:23:49 PM
 #438

Also, you can set your frequency governor to ignore niced processes (at least for ondemand and conservative), keeping the CPU speed down when nothing else needs the higher frequency. Works quite well for me.

Ah, didn't know this. Will look into it, thank you!

dserrano5
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:53:59 PM
 #439

I just downloaded and built cpuminer-1.0.2. I expected to see some improvements thanks to ckolivas' affinity changes (assuming they have made it into the release), but I'm surprised to find I'm getting the same speed:

Code:
$ grep CFLAGS_value */config.log
cpuminer-1.0.1/config.log:ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_value='-O3 -Wall -msse2'
cpuminer-1.0.2/config.log:ac_cv_env_CFLAGS_value='-O3 -Wall -msse2'
$ tail */my-log
==> cpuminer-1.0.1/my-log <==
[2011-06-14 18:57:05] thread 5: 161767000 hashes, 2694.78 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:00] thread 1: 160434868 hashes, 2684.82 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:00] thread 4: 162531240 hashes, 2694.68 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:05] thread 2: 160738332 hashes, 2678.31 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:05] thread 3: 162845920 hashes, 2687.02 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:06] thread 6: 161633936 hashes, 2691.05 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:06] thread 0: 162323744 hashes, 2687.43 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:58:06] thread 5: 161767000 hashes, 2694.55 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:59:00] thread 1: 160434868 hashes, 2693.92 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 18:59:01] thread 4: 162531240 hashes, 2684.48 khash/sec

==> cpuminer-1.0.2/my-log <==
[2011-06-14 21:30:10] thread 0: 40046392 hashes, 2687.31 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:30:10] thread 2: 32207448 hashes, 2687.27 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:30:10] thread 1: 49517220 hashes, 2687.39 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:12] thread 4: 158828460 hashes, 2687.11 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:12] thread 6: 161129456 hashes, 2679.90 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:13] thread 3: 164484744 hashes, 2686.09 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:13] thread 0: 160185568 hashes, 2685.15 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:14] thread 2: 161037240 hashes, 2685.64 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:14] thread 5: 164770840 hashes, 2687.16 khash/sec
[2011-06-14 21:31:16] thread 1: 165057400 hashes, 2684.58 khash/sec
$ grep -vE 'url|user|pass' cpuminer-1.0.2/cfg.json
{
    "algo" : "sse2_64",
    "threads" : "7",
    "retry-pause" : "25"
}
$ diff -u cpuminer-1.0.*/cfg.json
$ _

I tried removing the line that specifies 7 threads but that makes no difference (except for the log messages "Binding thread %d to cpu %d"). Am I omitting some step? The CPU is a "Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5420 @2.50GHz". This is the layout of the CPUs/cores:

Code:
$ grep -E '^processor|^physical|^core.id|^$' /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
physical id     : 0
core id         : 0

processor       : 1
physical id     : 1
core id         : 0

processor       : 2
physical id     : 0
core id         : 2

processor       : 3
physical id     : 1
core id         : 2

processor       : 4
physical id     : 0
core id         : 1

processor       : 5
physical id     : 1
core id         : 1

processor       : 6
physical id     : 0
core id         : 3

processor       : 7
physical id     : 1
core id         : 3

"siblings" and "cpu cores" both have the value 4 in all entries.

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2011, 08:33:49 PM
 #440

Just to make sure you understand this, specifying the amount of threads will disable the CPU affinity stuff (as I understand the code).

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!