Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2016, 05:05:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: New demonstration CPU miner available  (Read 371812 times)
rocksalt
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 08:03:49 AM
 #481

never seen that one before

can you telnet to your pool ?

open a cmd prompt

type this for example.. change the btcguild to your mining pool

C:\>telnet http://btcguild.com 8332

you should get a blank screen as it makes a connection

if you do, then it's not a comms issue.... do you have any filtering in between your miner machine and the pool ? like proxy or firewall that does content filtering ?

if you can't telnet and get the blank screen then your not able to see it to make the connection in the first place, so i'd say test it against another pool.. see if you get same result, failing that, run up a local bitcoin.exe -server  follow the instructions on setting up a user account locally and connect your miner to your local bitcoin server and see what the results are.

TIPS/Donations: mwahahaha.. not that desperate, just a thank you or a flame please but if you must... 1NTZcWQGfdGang9piBKUv9Z1VZ7x6cTXjV
1475039150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475039150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475039150
Reply with quote  #2

1475039150
Report to moderator
1475039150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475039150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475039150
Reply with quote  #2

1475039150
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:18:34 AM
 #482

cpuminer has largely been superceded by Con Kolivas's cgminer fork.  See cgminer's official forum thread for updates and details.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Red Dragon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
November 11, 2011, 01:17:03 PM
 #483

Please, help!

Why each time after about 1 hour of working I have

HTTP request failed: Previous alarm fired off
 json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds
HTTP request failed: name lookup timed out


?

It seems DNS problems, but why they spring up after 1 hour of perfect work?
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 07:50:13 PM
 #484

I dunno but why are you trying to cpu mine bitcoin? It's a waste of time and energy.
cdnbcguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 10:22:00 AM
 #485

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.



Annona ad! Please keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with Bitcoin itself. All it's scandals are caused by wonky websites and sleazy people exploiting it. The light attracts bugs.

When all this bullshit drys up and blows away, Bitcoin will be stronger than ever.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 10:37:52 AM
 #486

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
cdnbcguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 03:22:16 PM
 #487

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

Ok I did. New problem.

the configure script demands libdbcurces-dev. I install it but it insists on installing libdbcurces5-dev. configure script STILL insists on libdbcuces.

Go get compiled version.

when I run cgminer-cpuonly it says it can't find the file. when I run ./cgminer-cpuonly it says

bash: ./cgminer-cpuonly: cannot execute binary file

when I write a script file with the # and everything it says

./cgminer-cpuonly: 1: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

You know - in WINDOWS this just up and ran first time. No trouble.

Annona ad! Please keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with Bitcoin itself. All it's scandals are caused by wonky websites and sleazy people exploiting it. The light attracts bugs.

When all this bullshit drys up and blows away, Bitcoin will be stronger than ever.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 03:36:34 PM
 #488

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

Ok I did. New problem.

the configure script demands libdbcurces-dev. I install it but it insists on installing libdbcurces5-dev. configure script STILL insists on libdbcuces.

Go get compiled version.

when I run cgminer-cpuonly it says it can't find the file. when I run ./cgminer-cpuonly it says

bash: ./cgminer-cpuonly: cannot execute binary file

when I write a script file with the # and everything it says

./cgminer-cpuonly: 1: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

You know - in WINDOWS this just up and ran first time. No trouble.
[/quote]

If you really want an answer, you should head over to the thread I pointed you to, that is where cgminer discussion & development is happening.

I can't really help you with ubuntu package names, since I use debian. However, the configure script shouldn't depend on a package version as much as the files in that package. Also, did you misspell the package name? The required packages should be:
FAQ:
What dependencies do I need on linux to build it?
libncurses, libncurses-dev, libcurl, libcurl-dev AMD ATI SDK.

Cgminer comes with a README, which contains detailed instructions on how to build it.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:00:40 AM
 #489

Hi,

Sorry for a newbie question: but how do I
run that miner on the testnet ?

P.S. on the prod it works fine for me
with that script:

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:8332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]


Thanks in advance.
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:03:38 AM
 #490

Hi,

Sorry for a newbie question: but how do I
run that miner on the testnet ?

P.S. on the prod it works fine for me
with that script:

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:8332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]


Thanks in advance.
The testnet RPC port is 18332 by default, so:

Code:
./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:18332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]

romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:13:34 AM
 #491

Just tried it and it doesn't seems to work ,
should I use the usame u/p from the prod,
or I have to create a new account ?
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:15:15 AM
 #492

Just tried it and it doesn't seems to work ,
should I use the usame u/p from the prod,
or I have to create a new account ?
As far as I know Deepbit doesn't mine on the testnet. You'll have to mine against a local instance of the Bitcoin daemon.

romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:26:28 AM
 #493

Lets see if I do understand:

First, I should download and install a bitcoin client , e.g.

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/bitcoin/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.1/bitcoin-0.5.1-linux.tar.gz

Then to run it on the testnet.

afterwards to run the miner without pool URL specified

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64  --userpass [user]:[pw]


Is that correct ?




mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:43:34 AM
 #494

Lets see if I do understand:

First, I should download and install a bitcoin client , e.g.

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/bitcoin/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.1/bitcoin-0.5.1-linux.tar.gz

Then to run it on the testnet.

afterwards to run the miner without pool URL specified

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64  --userpass [user]:[pw]


Is that correct ?
  • Download and install a client, personally I prefer the command-line daemon (bitcoind), but you can go with the graphical version as well.
  • Compile it if you've downloaded the source.
  • Launch with (add "-daemon" if you're using the daemon):
Code:
./bitcoin -testnet -server -rpcuser=username -rpcpassword=password
          (set username and password to your liking)
  • Now you may mine against that, by using 127.0.0.1 (localhost) as your "pool URL". Like this:
Code:
./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://127.0.0.1:18332/ --userpass username:password
    (setting username and password to the values you set above)

romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 11:10:23 AM
 #495

Doesn't seems that bitcoind opens any port on 18332 for that command:

Code:
./bitcoind -testnet -server -rpcuser=romantest -rpcpassword=romantest
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 11:47:38 AM
 #496

Doesn't seems that bitcoind opens any port on 18332 for that command:

Code:
./bitcoind -testnet -server -rpcuser=romantest -rpcpassword=romantest
Try passing it manually:
Code:
-rpcport=18332

romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:20:33 PM
 #497

Finally got it to work with the .conf file. Let's see how much time will take to generate a block on a testnet.

Thanks a lot !!!
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:24:54 PM
 #498

Finally got it to work with the .conf file. Let's see how much time will take to generate a block on a testnet.

Thanks a lot !!!
It's probably not even worth trying assuming Gavin's testnet difficulty calculation changes aren't live yet.

Try Testnet in a box. You can "use CPU mining to create blocks every 10 minutes as normal or a GPU miner for blocks every few seconds".

romanticon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:50:48 PM
 #499

Yep , great feature, but I am dying to generate my first block shown
on the blockexplorer event if it is only on the test net.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 641


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 10:36:25 PM
 #500

I started a fork of jgarzik's miner a few months ago. The original goal was to provide an optimized miner for Litecoin, an alternative chain that uses a completely different hashing algorithm from Bitcoin. Over time, however, I have also added a number of new features and bugfixes. You can find a complete list of all important changes in the NEWS file; they include:

  • Optimized work handling, resulting in a much better getwork efficiency.
  • Support for HTTP and SOCKS proxies.
  • Support for many different operating systems and architectures, including big-endian ones. The miner has been reported to build successfully on Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, Mac OS X and Windows (using mingw).
  • Clear --help output. (Please read it before using the miner!)

Now for the reason I'm writing this here.
Starting with version 2.2 of this fork, I have re-included support for Bitcoin mining, writing a new implementation of the hashing algorithm. This implementation is different in that the single --algo=sha256d option should provide the best performance on all systems.
On K10-based processors (such as the Phenom) this fork is only slightly faster than the old "4way" algorithm, but on all other systems you should notice a significant increase in mining speed. The miner is also capable of using AVX and XOP instructions on CPUs that support them, resulting in an even greater speedup.

Here's a link to the git repository:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer
Under the "Downloads" tab you will also find a source tarball and a couple Windows binaries.

I don't know if anybody is still interested in CPU mining. The main reason why I want to maintain this miner is because I enjoy coding; also, I like jgarzik's miner because, unlike many others, it conforms to the KISS design principle.
Given that CPU mining support has been discontinued for cgminer, I hope that people will find this fork useful.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!