Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 12:58:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: New demonstration CPU miner available  (Read 385227 times)
Red Dragon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2011, 01:17:03 PM
 #481

Please, help!

Why each time after about 1 hour of working I have

HTTP request failed: Previous alarm fired off
 json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds
HTTP request failed: name lookup timed out


?

It seems DNS problems, but why they spring up after 1 hour of perfect work?
1531745922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531745922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531745922
Reply with quote  #2

1531745922
Report to moderator
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531745922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531745922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531745922
Reply with quote  #2

1531745922
Report to moderator
1531745922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531745922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531745922
Reply with quote  #2

1531745922
Report to moderator
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1008


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 07:50:13 PM
 #482

I dunno but why are you trying to cpu mine bitcoin? It's a waste of time and energy.

cdnbcguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 10:22:00 AM
 #483

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.



Annona ad! Please keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with Bitcoin itself. All it's scandals are caused by wonky websites and sleazy people exploiting it. The light attracts bugs.

When all this bullshit drys up and blows away, Bitcoin will be stronger than ever.
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 10:37:52 AM
 #484

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
cdnbcguy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 03:22:16 PM
 #485

Hi - when I build from the tarball when I run

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -msse2" ./configure

I get this

checking for curl-config... no
checking whether libcurl is usable... no
configure: error: Missing required libcurl >= 7.10.1

but when I run

curl -V

I get this

curl 7.21.6 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.21.6 OpenSSL/1.0.0e zlib/1.2.3.4 libidn/1.22 librtmp/2.3
Protocols: dict file ftp ftps gopher http https imap imaps ldap pop3 pop3s rtmp rtsp smtp smtps telnet tftp
Features: GSS-Negotiate IDN IPv6 Largefile NTLM SSL libz

which implies that libcurl 7.21.6 is installed, right?

I'm running Ubuntu Narwhall. I want to thank you for creating this miner, by the way.

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

Ok I did. New problem.

the configure script demands libdbcurces-dev. I install it but it insists on installing libdbcurces5-dev. configure script STILL insists on libdbcuces.

Go get compiled version.

when I run cgminer-cpuonly it says it can't find the file. when I run ./cgminer-cpuonly it says

bash: ./cgminer-cpuonly: cannot execute binary file

when I write a script file with the # and everything it says

./cgminer-cpuonly: 1: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

You know - in WINDOWS this just up and ran first time. No trouble.

Annona ad! Please keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with Bitcoin itself. All it's scandals are caused by wonky websites and sleazy people exploiting it. The light attracts bugs.

When all this bullshit drys up and blows away, Bitcoin will be stronger than ever.
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2011, 03:36:34 PM
 #486

For compiling, the presence of the actual libraries is not important, you need the development files (libcurl-dev or similar).

Also, you may want to check out cgminer, which is actually maintained.

Ok I did. New problem.

the configure script demands libdbcurces-dev. I install it but it insists on installing libdbcurces5-dev. configure script STILL insists on libdbcuces.

Go get compiled version.

when I run cgminer-cpuonly it says it can't find the file. when I run ./cgminer-cpuonly it says

bash: ./cgminer-cpuonly: cannot execute binary file

when I write a script file with the # and everything it says

./cgminer-cpuonly: 1: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

You know - in WINDOWS this just up and ran first time. No trouble.
[/quote]

If you really want an answer, you should head over to the thread I pointed you to, that is where cgminer discussion & development is happening.

I can't really help you with ubuntu package names, since I use debian. However, the configure script shouldn't depend on a package version as much as the files in that package. Also, did you misspell the package name? The required packages should be:
FAQ:
What dependencies do I need on linux to build it?
libncurses, libncurses-dev, libcurl, libcurl-dev AMD ATI SDK.

Cgminer comes with a README, which contains detailed instructions on how to build it.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:00:40 AM
 #487

Hi,

Sorry for a newbie question: but how do I
run that miner on the testnet ?

P.S. on the prod it works fine for me
with that script:

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:8332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]


Thanks in advance.
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:03:38 AM
 #488

Hi,

Sorry for a newbie question: but how do I
run that miner on the testnet ?

P.S. on the prod it works fine for me
with that script:

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:8332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]


Thanks in advance.
The testnet RPC port is 18332 by default, so:

Code:
./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://deepbit.net:18332/ --userpass [user]:[pw]

romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:13:34 AM
 #489

Just tried it and it doesn't seems to work ,
should I use the usame u/p from the prod,
or I have to create a new account ?
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:15:15 AM
 #490

Just tried it and it doesn't seems to work ,
should I use the usame u/p from the prod,
or I have to create a new account ?
As far as I know Deepbit doesn't mine on the testnet. You'll have to mine against a local instance of the Bitcoin daemon.

romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:26:28 AM
 #491

Lets see if I do understand:

First, I should download and install a bitcoin client , e.g.

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/bitcoin/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.1/bitcoin-0.5.1-linux.tar.gz

Then to run it on the testnet.

afterwards to run the miner without pool URL specified

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64  --userpass [user]:[pw]


Is that correct ?




mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:43:34 AM
 #492

Lets see if I do understand:

First, I should download and install a bitcoin client , e.g.

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/bitcoin/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.1/bitcoin-0.5.1-linux.tar.gz

Then to run it on the testnet.

afterwards to run the miner without pool URL specified

./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64  --userpass [user]:[pw]


Is that correct ?
  • Download and install a client, personally I prefer the command-line daemon (bitcoind), but you can go with the graphical version as well.
  • Compile it if you've downloaded the source.
  • Launch with (add "-daemon" if you're using the daemon):
Code:
./bitcoin -testnet -server -rpcuser=username -rpcpassword=password
          (set username and password to your liking)
  • Now you may mine against that, by using 127.0.0.1 (localhost) as your "pool URL". Like this:
Code:
./minerd --threads $cpus --algo sse2_64 --url http://127.0.0.1:18332/ --userpass username:password
    (setting username and password to the values you set above)

romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 11:10:23 AM
 #493

Doesn't seems that bitcoind opens any port on 18332 for that command:

Code:
./bitcoind -testnet -server -rpcuser=romantest -rpcpassword=romantest
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 11:47:38 AM
 #494

Doesn't seems that bitcoind opens any port on 18332 for that command:

Code:
./bitcoind -testnet -server -rpcuser=romantest -rpcpassword=romantest
Try passing it manually:
Code:
-rpcport=18332

romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:20:33 PM
 #495

Finally got it to work with the .conf file. Let's see how much time will take to generate a block on a testnet.

Thanks a lot !!!
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:24:54 PM
 #496

Finally got it to work with the .conf file. Let's see how much time will take to generate a block on a testnet.

Thanks a lot !!!
It's probably not even worth trying assuming Gavin's testnet difficulty calculation changes aren't live yet.

Try Testnet in a box. You can "use CPU mining to create blocks every 10 minutes as normal or a GPU miner for blocks every few seconds".

romanticon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 12:50:48 PM
 #497

Yep , great feature, but I am dying to generate my first block shown
on the blockexplorer event if it is only on the test net.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 10:36:25 PM
 #498

I started a fork of jgarzik's miner a few months ago. The original goal was to provide an optimized miner for Litecoin, an alternative chain that uses a completely different hashing algorithm from Bitcoin. Over time, however, I have also added a number of new features and bugfixes. You can find a complete list of all important changes in the NEWS file; they include:

  • Optimized work handling, resulting in a much better getwork efficiency.
  • Support for HTTP and SOCKS proxies.
  • Support for many different operating systems and architectures, including big-endian ones. The miner has been reported to build successfully on Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, Mac OS X and Windows (using mingw).
  • Clear --help output. (Please read it before using the miner!)

Now for the reason I'm writing this here.
Starting with version 2.2 of this fork, I have re-included support for Bitcoin mining, writing a new implementation of the hashing algorithm. This implementation is different in that the single --algo=sha256d option should provide the best performance on all systems.
On K10-based processors (such as the Phenom) this fork is only slightly faster than the old "4way" algorithm, but on all other systems you should notice a significant increase in mining speed. The miner is also capable of using AVX and XOP instructions on CPUs that support them, resulting in an even greater speedup.

Here's a link to the git repository:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer
Under the "Downloads" tab you will also find a source tarball and a couple Windows binaries.

I don't know if anybody is still interested in CPU mining. The main reason why I want to maintain this miner is because I enjoy coding; also, I like jgarzik's miner because, unlike many others, it conforms to the KISS design principle.
Given that CPU mining support has been discontinued for cgminer, I hope that people will find this fork useful.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1001


View Profile
April 04, 2012, 02:44:23 AM
 #499

Given that CPU mining support has been discontinued for cgminer, I hope that people will find this fork useful.

Really?

Maybe we should reactive jgarzik/cpuminer then. and start merging pull requests.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 04, 2012, 12:43:03 PM
 #500

Given that CPU mining support has been discontinued for cgminer, I hope that people will find this fork useful.

Really?

I'd say so, judging from this post:

I'd say the votes are pretty conclusive. Thanks everyone for your input. For simplicity I'll be making it a compile time selection for now, default off. This has already been committed to the git tree and will be in the next version. I will no longer be releasing binaries with CPU mining support built in and if it proves innocuous in this fashion, it will be left that way. Should issues arrive, it will be deprecated entirely in a future version.


Maybe we should reactive jgarzik/cpuminer then. and start merging pull requests.

Honestly I don't think this is necessary, since very few people still mine Bitcoin on CPU. In addition, cgminer has never been the only miner with CPU support (there's Ufasoft's miner, for instance).
I also think that, as a core Bitcoin developer, your time would probably be best spent elsewhere.
All this to say: I would be more than happy to take this project over, especially considering that I've rewritten a lot of the old code already. Cheesy

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!