Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 02:40:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [RELEASE] Avalon Reference  (Read 17377 times)
dan99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 03:14:55 AM
 #41

Anyone have an idea how much sample chips will be send for a batch of 10.000 chips?

Speculating here... but my guess is a minimum of 32 and a maximum of 100, per 10K order.

should be enough to make a couple of board to test and tweak.. any way hope they will send out the chip in a couple of weeks
1508596854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508596854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508596854
Reply with quote  #2

1508596854
Report to moderator
1508596854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508596854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508596854
Reply with quote  #2

1508596854
Report to moderator
1508596854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508596854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508596854
Reply with quote  #2

1508596854
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
szym00
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 07:27:29 AM
 #42

...there are some FPGA circuits, they should be programmed I think so.
Felipeo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


bitelon.com


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 11:21:53 AM
 #43

Much appreciated Yifu.  

We would also appreciate it if, due to the enormously time-sensitive nature of receiving Batch #2 or Batch #3 units, you gave us some kind of option to expedite shipping.  It's been >90 days since my order and I feel my brain literally melting each day that goes by.

+1

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 02:33:41 PM
 #44

Weird, on the hash unit, the SS34 diode is missing from the schematic (PDF).
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1455


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 03:02:50 PM
 #45

Maybe the uploaded data is not the latest revision? Also one screw-hole is missing on the hash unit.
Anyhow, nobody should use it without really understanding it - and this is not so difficult in this case. The know-how hardly lies in the PCB's in this case.
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 04:39:38 PM
 #46

The only thing missing is the FPGA bitstream, right? (At least I couldn't find it.)

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
flyonwall
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


Centerus Inc


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 05:11:57 PM
 #47

If Yifu Guo also provides the bitstream for the Spartan-6 chip, then we're done.  Grin

ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 05:18:43 PM
 #48

Well, it should be possible to read the bitstream from the flash chip on the control unit.
Someone with an Avalon just needs to do it ;-) (Maybe start a bounty?)

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
je1p7u7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 07:52:49 PM
 #49

Well, it should be possible to read the bitstream from the flash chip on the control unit.
Someone with an Avalon just needs to do it ;-) (Maybe start a bounty?)

You'd think that if they want people to to make pcb/miners they'd release the bitstream and hdl source, right? Maybe it's just a matter of time. We are not overly anxious, right? Right? RIGHT?!?
funkmunk30
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 09:45:11 AM
 #50

So, after looking over the design and PCB and BOM of the ASIC, it seems that all that's needed to build a clone of Avalon s units is the FPGA firmware?  everything else seems to be online that's needed to the plans off to a PCB factory and get populated boards back.   I doubt at an individual level the costs of building a clone would be worth it, but if someone was building a large miner why wouldn't this be a better route to go then redesigning a whole new system
KS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 09:58:10 AM
 #51

So, after looking over the design and PCB and BOM of the ASIC, it seems that all that's needed to build a clone of Avalon s units is the FPGA firmware?  everything else seems to be online that's needed to the plans off to a PCB factory and get populated boards back.   I doubt at an individual level the costs of building a clone would be worth it, but if someone was building a large miner why wouldn't this be a better route to go then redesigning a whole new system

BKKcoins is working or will start working on an FPGA-less firmware for an FPGA-less design of his own. Seems the better route than simply cloning.

“In Putin’s Russia bitcoin exchanges you.” - http://www.coindesk.com/ceo-bitcoin-officially-bans-china/
List of major BTC scams https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=576337
Bitstamp "no transfer" banks/countries list: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=270716.0
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2013, 10:00:25 AM
 #52

@BitSynCom,

When you get a chance can you provide some supply current estimates for the 3.3V and the AVCC 1.2V reference supplies per chip? I gather that AVCC drives the clock gen circuit and you have a separate supply to keep noise minimal on that line?

Thx!

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2013, 01:35:26 AM
 #53

Weird, on the hash unit, the SS34 diode is missing from the schematic (PDF).

It turns out that what Yifu released is a new revision of the hash unit PCB that does not need this diode. Most likely this is the revision that batch 2 and 3 will be built on.

Intra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 07:03:12 AM
 #54

Some resistors and inductors in Control Unit circuit are undefined. What does it mean "MB" an "NC"? And which value have:
FB1
FB2
FB3
FB4

R11
R13
R23
R24
R35
R4
R5
R8
R33
R34
sharky101
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 08:32:13 AM
 #55

Much appreciated Yifu.  

We would also appreciate it if, due to the enormously time-sensitive nature of receiving Batch #2 or Batch #3 units, you gave us some kind of option to expedite shipping.  It's been >90 days since my order and I feel my brain literally melting each day that goes by.


+1

ASICMINERTUBE
   
  The Best $/Gh Bitcoin Miner So Far
   ►►►   DISCOVER NOW !!!   ◄◄◄
Intra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 11:17:28 AM
 #56

And what exactly 2SMX and 4SMX crystals need for Control Unit board? I found nothing about it model or even frequency..
goodney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 07:07:39 PM
 #57

Some resistors and inductors in Control Unit circuit are undefined. What does it mean "MB" an "NC"? And which value have:
FB1
FB2
FB3
FB4

R11
R13
R23
R24
R35
R4
R5
R8
R33
R34

/Edit because I should research before I post...

As mentioned below by fasmax, the FB parts are probably ferrite beads for EMI suppression. In doing some research there are also small surface mount inductors used for the same purpose. These are probably what the MB parts are. If you look closely at the pictures of the control unit you can see R8 and R11 which are "MB" parts on the schematic look like what chip inductors should look like.

If someone could post a better picture of the power section on the hashing module we could probably answer this question for sure.

As for values, lets get the BOM released!

-a[g
strombom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 07:18:42 PM
 #58

/topic as promised.

https://github.com/BitSyncom/avalon-ref

will be updated continuously within a next few days.

Would you mind uploading gerber and pick&place files?

Best regards
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:02:01 AM
 #59

Some resistors and inductors in Control Unit circuit are undefined. What does it mean "MB" an "NC"? And which value have:
FB1
FB2
FB3
FB4

R11
R13
R23
R24
R35
R4
R5
R8
R33
R34

FB = Ferrite Bead.  Its an inductor that passes DC current and blocks AC (noise) it is low resistance at DC.
MB  I don't know what this stands for but it also looks like an inductor similar to FB but could have a more inductance and resistance.
The purpose is to provide a clean DC supply free of AC noise.
NC - Could that mean not connected ? Maybe someone could look and see if the NC parts are installed.
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 12:35:25 AM
 #60

How is the BOM and comms protocol coming along for release?

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!