Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:24:47 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stripes and flicker on screen when mining  (Read 1693 times)
codymanix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203

Gir: I'm gonna sing the Doom Song now..


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:04:53 AM
 #1

Hi I have bought a new graphics card (Radeon HD 5850).
But when I start mining, my computer start to get unusable. Just a few seconds after starting mining, stripes fill the whole screen, then a few seconds later the whole screen is blue, then later I see the desktop again, later there are different stripes it is always changing.
The windows cursor is showing strange pixel artifacts. The Computer gets unusable and I have to reboot.

The strange thing the card work well when playing GTA IV at high setting, so what can be wrong?

Iam using Guiminer with Phoenix/Phatk. I have a Chieftec GPS-500AB 500W Power supply, and a MSI 770-C45 mainboard.

Programming tutorials, Tools, Games & Humor http://deutronium.de.vu
My Vircurex referral code for persistant 0.05% trade discount: 750-33267 or use
https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=750-33267
1481171087
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171087

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171087
Reply with quote  #2

1481171087
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481171087
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171087

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171087
Reply with quote  #2

1481171087
Report to moderator
1481171087
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171087

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171087
Reply with quote  #2

1481171087
Report to moderator
1481171087
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171087

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171087
Reply with quote  #2

1481171087
Report to moderator
mmavipc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:05:36 AM
 #2

Hi I have bought a new graphics card (Radeon HD 5850).
But when I start mining, my computer start to get unusable. Just a few seconds after starting mining, stripes fill the whole screen, then a few seconds later the whole screen is blue, then later I see the desktop again, later there are different stripes it is always changing.
The windows cursor is showing strange pixel artifacts. The Computer gets unusable and I have to reboot.

The strange thing the card work well when playing GTA IV at high setting, so what can be wrong?

Iam using Guiminer with Phoenix/Phatk. I have a Chieftec GPS-500AB 500W Power supply, and a MSI 770-C45 mainboard.


Try updating your drivers? Is it overclocked at all?

http://payb.tc/mmavipc

Want to gamble some bitcoins? Click here!
codymanix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203

Gir: I'm gonna sing the Doom Song now..


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:46:19 PM
 #3

The card was overclocked by the vendor, as far as I know. My catalyst control center is up to date.

I find it strange that GTA runs very good with the card, but as soon as I start mining my desktop get destroyed Sad

Programming tutorials, Tools, Games & Humor http://deutronium.de.vu
My Vircurex referral code for persistant 0.05% trade discount: 750-33267 or use
https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=750-33267
Aristotle
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:53:26 PM
 #4

Not a good sign.  That's what video cards do when they're damaged, or the voltage/clock settings are off.  Check the temperature to make sure it's not overheating.

Brother, can you spare a Bitcoin? 18Xe5KqJhmgw5cTjosek2YwnqzG6tDWKNU
EyeRis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 08:02:26 PM
 #5

Yuo have either an over heating GFX card or an insufficient power supply.

http://eyerishacking.blogspot.com/
BTC address: 1D8BYFgQDd1tuARbCrsSiNmXs84CvUMUni
Bitslizer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:42:25 PM
 #6

Yuo have either an over heating GFX card or an insufficient power supply.

+1
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:51:28 PM
 #7

Something is definitely wrong!

Check your temperatures!! You can use GPU-Z for that
snorbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 09:05:59 PM
 #8

I had a similar issue, had to upgrade from a 450watt psu to a 600watt one to fix it.
codymanix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203

Gir: I'm gonna sing the Doom Song now..


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 09:08:30 PM
 #9

Shouldn't 500 Watts be enough? Temperature was OK, if I remember correctly it wasn't more than 80 degrees celsius.

How can I check or the voltage settings? I have never done this before.

Programming tutorials, Tools, Games & Humor http://deutronium.de.vu
My Vircurex referral code for persistant 0.05% trade discount: 750-33267 or use
https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=750-33267
freedominnumbers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31



View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 11:02:40 PM
 #10

Stripes and back to desktop/application indicates a memory issue. Reduce the memory clock and see if that fixes it. If you are at manufacturer clock rates you should RMA. Bad memory happens.

Bitcards - Bitcoins in the palm of your hand.
http://www.bitcard.us
codymanix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203

Gir: I'm gonna sing the Doom Song now..


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:03:55 AM
 #11

I tried to underclock memory but it didn't help either.

Programming tutorials, Tools, Games & Humor http://deutronium.de.vu
My Vircurex referral code for persistant 0.05% trade discount: 750-33267 or use
https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=750-33267
alepintchap
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:29:32 AM
 #12

You shouldn't be using your computer when mining... But you could get another graphics card and mine using only one of them while you're using your computer.
Jessica
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:01:11 AM
 #13

Cool down your graphics card.
Stupidpal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:24:03 AM
 #14

Definitely a case of overheating.

If I helped, tip me! Smiley http://btc.to/a7
The easiest way to earn Bitcoins! BitCatch Randomizer
brocktice
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


Apparently I inspired this image.


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 05:09:31 PM
 #15

I have the opposite problem, I have a card that causes flickers whenever I'm *not* mining. Any ideas? Using Linux.

http://media.witcoin.com/p/1608/8----This-is-nuts

My #bitcoin-otc ratings: http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=brocktice&sign=ANY&type=RECV

Like my post? Leave me a tip: 15Cgixqno9YzoKNEA2DRFyEAfMH5htssRg
brocktice
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


Apparently I inspired this image.


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 07:04:52 PM
 #16

Never mind, apparently this is a known bug in fglrx 11.6, an upgrade to 11.7 fixed it.

http://media.witcoin.com/p/1608/8----This-is-nuts

My #bitcoin-otc ratings: http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=brocktice&sign=ANY&type=RECV

Like my post? Leave me a tip: 15Cgixqno9YzoKNEA2DRFyEAfMH5htssRg
guci22
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 10:01:24 PM
 #17

Your powersupply may be insufficient. I would look into its wattage and your card's reccomended.
leeloulee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 07:32:18 PM
 #18

Im getting that on my 6950 after i changes screen resulution... Embarrassed

SGT longdong
ian209
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 10:07:17 AM
 #19

I had the same problem with Cat 11.6. Updating to 11.7 solved it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!