Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2019, 06:46:31 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ASUS B250 Mining Expert MB - 19 Cards!  (Read 20917 times)
klintistwood
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161
Merit: 100

Out of the box is where I live


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2018, 10:35:04 AM
 #241

Hi guys

BIIIIIIIIIG problem here
Anyone solved that?

- 13 RX580 8GB XFX on B250 MBO
- last bios updated for MBO
- original BIOS for GPS's
- Using simplemining OS
- no overclock for GPu's

AWFUL RESULTS:
ETH - Total Speed: 14.022 Mh/s, Total Shares: 3, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:22
ETH: GPU0 0.876 Mh/s, GPU1 1.317 Mh/s, GPU2 1.642 Mh/s, GPU3 1.642 Mh/s, GPU4 0.657 Mh/s, GPU5 1.317 Mh/s, GPU6 0.000 Mh/s, GPU7
2.629 Mh/s, GPU8 0.876 Mh/s, GPU9 1.317 Mh/s, GPU10 0.000 Mh/s, GPU11 0.875 Mh/s, GPU12 0.876 Mh/s

Same awful results on any scrypt.
I have tried one full day to mix power suply, risers, all !!!
Any idea?

do you have the same result when you try them one by one ? Have you tried other pcie slots?

13 GPU Nvidia Rig running under Ubuntu 16 (eth hash rate: 300+Mh/s @ 1000W for whole rig): 3x EVGA GTX 1060 3Gb (24MH/s @ 65W) + 6x MSI Armor GTX 1060 3Gb (24MH/s @ 70W) + 1x MSI GTX 1060 (24Mh/s @ 65W) + 3x Zotac GTX 1060 (24MH/s @ 65 W). PSU 2400W, Asrock ASRock H110 Pro BTC+, cheap Chinese risers, Kingston SSD 120Gb, 8Gb memory. Selling some of my GPUs (around 200€, still under warranty), if you're interested, contact me in private.
1558896391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558896391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558896391
Reply with quote  #2

1558896391
Report to moderator
1558896391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558896391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558896391
Reply with quote  #2

1558896391
Report to moderator
1558896391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558896391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558896391
Reply with quote  #2

1558896391
Report to moderator
PLAY OVER 3000 GAMES
LIGHTNING FAST WITHDRAWALS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bumbu100
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 04:03:03 PM
 #242

Hi guys

BIIIIIIIIIG problem here
Anyone solved that?

- 13 RX580 8GB XFX on B250 MBO
- last bios updated for MBO
- original BIOS for GPS's
- Using simplemining OS
- no overclock for GPu's

AWFUL RESULTS:
ETH - Total Speed: 14.022 Mh/s, Total Shares: 3, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:22
ETH: GPU0 0.876 Mh/s, GPU1 1.317 Mh/s, GPU2 1.642 Mh/s, GPU3 1.642 Mh/s, GPU4 0.657 Mh/s, GPU5 1.317 Mh/s, GPU6 0.000 Mh/s, GPU7
2.629 Mh/s, GPU8 0.876 Mh/s, GPU9 1.317 Mh/s, GPU10 0.000 Mh/s, GPU11 0.875 Mh/s, GPU12 0.876 Mh/s

Same awful results on any scrypt.
I have tried one full day to mix power suply, risers, all !!!
Any idea?

do you have the same result when you try them one by one ? Have you tried other pcie slots?

Found the problem... it was my fault, in OC page i leaved bkank OC fields.
Leaving blank those fields does not mean that the GPU will work at stock bios values. Leaving OC fields blank are resulting in 10% mining performance, as you can see....
crackedhead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 08:00:09 PM
 #243

Currently running ten cards on this motherboard and am having trouble getting number eleven to work.

My setup:   Have not connected Molex power connectors onto the motherboard since I am using powered  PCIe 1x -> 16x risers.

  • 16 GB of RAM, Win 10 64 bit Professional, Intel i3 processor
  • Not using the PCIe 16x slot since I was having trouble with the riser cable (long ones were too expensive  Roll Eyes)
  • The first bank of six PCIe 1x slots is running RX 580 cards
  • The second bank of PCIe 1x slots is running two RX 580 cards and two 1070 cards

This configuration was stable and mining 24x7 until I got four additional 1070 cards last night. I like adding cards one at a time so I am focused on getting the 11th card working now. What I'm seeing is that the fan on the new cards spins up for 20 seconds and then shuts off. The card does not show up in device manager after windows boots up.

Also not seeing the POST screen that shows the status of each slot since my monitor stays blank until the system boots into Windows. I have found that connecting my monitor to a different card will display the POST screen but it seems to move around!

Question 1:Is there a BIOS setting or other way to reliabily get one particular graphics card / HDMI output to show the POST screen since its the best feature of this motherboard?

Things that I have tried already to get my 11th card working are:

  • Swapped out the riser
  • Swapped out one of the working 1070 cards with the new card (all other connections remained unchanged) - this resulted in the new card getting detected

Question 2:Any leads on what else I can try to get the 11th Card (3rd 1070) working? It looks like something in the BIOS / MB is preventing it.
Question 3:Do I need to hook up a third power supply for when I get to Card 13 and 14 (power draw wise I think I am ok)? But will using the third bank of slots require a 3rd PSU ?

Thanks in advance for your help.
abhi9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 27, 2018, 09:37:49 PM
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #244

Ok, quick updates. I have got 19 gpus to post (finally) with below configurations:
1. 12 RX 5(7/8)0 + 1 standard 1060/1070 (non mining) + 6 P106 mining cards (will try 13 RX + rest P106 when i get my hands on the 13th card)
2. 13 Standard 1050/1060/1070 (non mining) + 6 P106 mining cards.

System config:
1. B250 Mining expert
2. Intel 4400
3. 8GB ram (you need 8gb. With 4GB i had issues mining. Ethminer takes up close to 5GB to mine, claymore not tested)
5. 16GB USB thumb drive
6. CentOs 7.
7. BIOS Ver 1001

Changes to bios - None
Changes to RX card bios - Custom bios to hit 30mhz
Changes to standard NVIDIA cards - None (i dont think bios flash is an option here)
Changes to Mining NVIDIA cards - None

NOTE: The first 6 slots in the board (including the 16 pin) needs to be connected to the mining card (P106). Else it does not work. Also this means we dont need 8 as per Asus manual/website https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1034921 Roll Eyes.

I am still performing few post install setups, should be done in a day or so. Will post pics of the rig once done. If you guys have any questions, feel free to ask. Will try to guide/help.
ctuprde
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 12:04:04 AM
 #245

Heres my setup, but i cant get to work. any thoughts appreciated.

System config:
1. B250 Mining expert
2. Intel 3930 Celeron
3. 4GB RAM (4 more on order)
5. 60GB SSD
6. Linux OR Windows, i have access to both
7. 12 x AMD RX480 Sapphire, 8GB OC Edition (BIOS mod to 30m/s in windows)

What would be the best OS to use for this setup?
Dragstar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 12:49:23 AM
 #246

is this board worth buying it or go with the asus z270a with non mining card?
BTstarter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 07:58:42 AM
 #247

[...]
Changes to bios - None
[...]
Also not PCI-E Gen. 1/2?
I've still problems with putting the 10th RX 580 in it. (I've only 10 RX 580 due to lack of availability of cards. (like the rest of the world...))
As soon as I do that the rig hangs during boot (EthOS)
I put them in the 1st 10 slots.
Boriss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 114



View Profile WWW
January 28, 2018, 08:46:54 AM
 #248

is this board worth buying it or go with the asus z270a with non mining card?

It all depends, so few things to consider

The price you can grab the board, cards you currently have, how many PSU you are planing to use and so on.
Put on paper how much it costs to have one big rig or two smaller ones.

If you already have some HDD, CPU, MEMORY to spare and you don't need to buy all the stuff, maybe 2 smaller rigs isn't so bad decision.
When problem occurs with one rig, other one is still mining, and problem will appear sooner or later, anyd you will need to experiment with faulty risers, unstable psu or something else.

So the answer is never applicable to all people, and cannot be best option for everyone.




❒ SWISS ALPS ❒        ▬ MINING & ENERGY ▬      ❒ SWISS ALPS ❒
█████          The Smart Mining Company           █████
Telegram Get a piece of COLD 6 220 238 SAM █    Twitter
RIGED
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:34:08 AM
 #249

FFS

read the damn manual, it clearly states no more than 8 standalone AMD cards are supported


this means you can have up to EIGHT AMD GPUs on this mobo
but go ahead and complain if your 8+ amd setup is not working

i never build rigs above 6 Vegas (i only use vega64, + FE) and they run boringly stable at 44MH/s Ethash, 1980H/s Cryptonight

for details on how to achieve this visit my thread
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2549085.msg25986603#msg25986603

to mine or not to mine,
is not a question...
nitrobg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 415
Merit: 17


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:42:19 AM
 #250

FFS

read the damn manual, it clearly states no more than 8 standalone AMD cards are supported
...or more than 8 NVIDIA cards. That was all prior to the Windows 1709 update where the WDDM max GPU limit was lifted and the limits are no longer relevant.
Bigdrago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 298
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:57:47 AM
 #251

FFS

read the damn manual, it clearly states no more than 8 standalone AMD cards are supported
...or more than 8 NVIDIA cards. That was all prior to the Windows 1709 update where the WDDM max GPU limit was lifted and the limits are no longer relevant.

Correct. 13 should work now.
abhi9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 05:34:04 PM
 #252

Heres my setup, but i cant get to work. any thoughts appreciated.

System config:
1. B250 Mining expert
2. Intel 3930 Celeron
3. 4GB RAM (4 more on order)
5. 60GB SSD
6. Linux OR Windows, i have access to both
7. 12 x AMD RX480 Sapphire, 8GB OC Edition (BIOS mod to 30m/s in windows)

What would be the best OS to use for this setup?

If AMD only setup, then ethos else simplemining. Do you have time and patience? then install centos7/ubuntu and compile the miners yourself (thats what i do).
I stay away from windows mostly because i am comfortable with linux. Note, you will see a drop of about .5mhz - 1mhz in linux (claymore). But i think you can ignore that.
abhi9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 05:41:35 PM
 #253

FFS

read the damn manual, it clearly states no more than 8 standalone AMD cards are supported


this means you can have up to EIGHT AMD GPUs on this mobo
but go ahead and complain if your 8+ amd setup is not working

i never build rigs above 6 Vegas (i only use vega64, + FE) and they run boringly stable at 44MH/s Ethash, 1980H/s Cryptonight

for details on how to achieve this visit my thread
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2549085.msg25986603#msg25986603


Ok, no... 8 GPU is OS (Windows) limitation not the motherboard. If you have used this motherboard then you would know that it does not POST (boot screen with company logo does not come) if you put more than 13 standard (non mining) GPU. Now, my post has shown that it can work.

Yes, 6+ rigs on vega need not be considered (due to power consumption and other reasons), but RX 500 or RX400, or NVIDIA's 1060, i would slap on 12 if not a 19 rig blindly to maximize PSU utilization.

Finally, reason why people are so pissed about this board is because Asus advertised this as 19GPU rig without making the terms clearly (terms where you need mining graphics card for more than 13 gpu).
x8664amd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 6

Long term HODLer since 2014


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 05:51:44 PM
 #254

FFS

read the damn manual, it clearly states no more than 8 standalone AMD cards are supported


this means you can have up to EIGHT AMD GPUs on this mobo
but go ahead and complain if your 8+ amd setup is not working

i never build rigs above 6 Vegas (i only use vega64, + FE) and they run boringly stable at 44MH/s Ethash, 1980H/s Cryptonight

for details on how to achieve this visit my thread
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2549085.msg25986603#msg25986603


Ok, no... 8 GPU is OS (Windows) limitation not the motherboard. If you have used this motherboard then you would know that it does not POST (boot screen with company logo does not come) if you put more than 13 standard (non mining) GPU. Now, my post has shown that it can work.

Yes, 6+ rigs on vega need not be considered (due to power consumption and other reasons), but RX 500 or RX400, or NVIDIA's 1060, i would slap on 12 if not a 19 rig blindly to maximize PSU utilization.

Finally, reason why people are so pissed about this board is because Asus advertised this as 19GPU rig without making the terms clearly (terms where you need mining graphics card for more than 13 gpu).

Yeah... that's why I always think it's so much easier to configure big rigs in Linux. I mine using ethOS, super simple to use.

Fearful when others are greedy and greedy when others are fearful. Just HODL.
Boriss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 114



View Profile WWW
January 28, 2018, 06:49:40 PM
 #255



Ok, no... 8 GPU is OS (Windows) limitation not the motherboard. If you have used this motherboard then you would know that it does not POST (boot screen with company logo does not come) if you put more than 13 standard (non mining) GPU. Now, my post has shown that it can work.

Yes, 6+ rigs on vega need not be considered (due to power consumption and other reasons), but RX 500 or RX400, or NVIDIA's 1060, i would slap on 12 if not a 19 rig blindly to maximize PSU utilization.

Finally, reason why people are so pissed about this board is because Asus advertised this as 19GPU rig without making the terms clearly (terms where you need mining graphics card for more than 13 gpu).


As a customer people have right to return the product if they are not satisfied with it. Don't see why would people be pissed on Asus if they didn't read exactly what they are buying. Manual can be downloaded without any obligation and on page number 16 you have this picture:



Currently this board is on waiting list so  I am almost sure if someone returns his board it will be sold few hours later to someone else.


❒ SWISS ALPS ❒        ▬ MINING & ENERGY ▬      ❒ SWISS ALPS ❒
█████          The Smart Mining Company           █████
Telegram Get a piece of COLD 6 220 238 SAM █    Twitter
Dragstar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 07:41:06 PM
 #256

is this board worth buying it or go with the asus z270a with non mining card?

It all depends, so few things to consider

The price you can grab the board, cards you currently have, how many PSU you are planing to use and so on.
Put on paper how much it costs to have one big rig or two smaller ones.

If you already have some HDD, CPU, MEMORY to spare and you don't need to buy all the stuff, maybe 2 smaller rigs isn't so bad decision.
When problem occurs with one rig, other one is still mining, and problem will appear sooner or later, anyd you will need to experiment with faulty risers, unstable psu or something else.

So the answer is never applicable to all people, and cannot be best option for everyone.





I can run 13 non mining card in 1 rig with asus z270 btw I can't buy mining cards in my country.
crackedhead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 04:00:14 PM
 #257

Quote

Currently this board is on waiting list so  I am almost sure if someone returns his board it will be sold few hours later to someone else.

Microcenter in chicago has 4 in stock at 300$ each. Thats double of what it was a month ago. That negates CPU and RAM savings for anyone thinking of getting one of these boards now.

Maybe they will go on sale soon.
crackedhead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 04:07:52 PM
 #258

Currently running ten AMD and 2 nvidia cards on this motherboard and am having trouble getting number eleven to work.

Sorry if this is a noob question but any inputs on how to get the POST screen to show up consistently from a particular HDMI output would be appreciated. I could not find anything searching on google or in the motherboard manual.
Bigdrago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 298
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 04:32:15 PM
 #259

Currently running ten AMD and 2 nvidia cards on this motherboard and am having trouble getting number eleven to work.

Sorry if this is a noob question but any inputs on how to get the POST screen to show up consistently from a particular HDMI output would be appreciated. I could not find anything searching on google or in the motherboard manual.

In bios u should find a setting to enable onboard gpu as default
klintistwood
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161
Merit: 100

Out of the box is where I live


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2018, 07:49:30 PM
 #260

Has someone managed to run more than 13 GPU (nvidia) on Linux ? I currently have an Asrock card with 13 GPU from Nvidia and was tempted to go for a 19 gpu mining rig but before doing this, I'd like to make sure it works. I wrote to Asus and the only thing they can provide is a recommendation but with their recommendation you never reach 19 GPU of the same brand so it defeats the purpose of going for this card in my case.

13 GPU Nvidia Rig running under Ubuntu 16 (eth hash rate: 300+Mh/s @ 1000W for whole rig): 3x EVGA GTX 1060 3Gb (24MH/s @ 65W) + 6x MSI Armor GTX 1060 3Gb (24MH/s @ 70W) + 1x MSI GTX 1060 (24Mh/s @ 65W) + 3x Zotac GTX 1060 (24MH/s @ 65 W). PSU 2400W, Asrock ASRock H110 Pro BTC+, cheap Chinese risers, Kingston SSD 120Gb, 8Gb memory. Selling some of my GPUs (around 200€, still under warranty), if you're interested, contact me in private.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!