Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 06:25:58 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to buy (limit order) on bittrex?  (Read 241 times)
lestat2k7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 12:48:12 AM
 #1

Hi,

I have this UI:

https://i.imgur.com/dIztN2a.png

I read online that if I am not wrong Units specifies how many NEO I want. Price is how many BTC I want to pay for 1 NEO.

Total is total amount of BTC this transaction will cost. I just don't see why when I fill in the first 2 fields the Total doesn't calculate automatically? So my understanding must be wrong?

Also how does Buy When option works?

Can you please show me how to get 1000 NEO for 0.001 BTC each for a total of 1 BTC?



Thanks in advance.
1513405558
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513405558

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513405558
Reply with quote  #2

1513405558
Report to moderator
1513405558
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513405558

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513405558
Reply with quote  #2

1513405558
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pikatju
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


INS Ecosystem


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:16:30 AM
 #2

Conditional means that your order will only enter the order book when the condition is met. Just choose normal limit order.
Put 1000 NEO in the top field. 0.001 btc in the second. The third will fill itself.

Does that help?

lestat2k7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:21:06 AM
 #3

Thanks a lot it did help. Isn't it better to use conditional so I can get it when the price is lower?

Also this system seems not very flexible, i.e. if I get 1000 NEO for 1 BTC when BTC is 7k today, tomorrow 10k, I don't want to pay 10k for the same 1000 NEO when I put the order. With USD/CAD, this is easy to control. But with BTC it seems like I always have to update my orders to make sure I don't overpay?
pikatju
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


INS Ecosystem


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:52:00 AM
 #4

Thanks a lot it did help. Isn't it better to use conditional so I can get it when the price is lower?
You will only pay the price you set the buy order at. Conditional only means whether the order goes into the book or not. If you place a limit order, that is good till canceled, the order will go into the book now and stay forever until executed. The conditional option is more used for when you do not want to show your intent to sell or buy, but only want to reveal your intentions at a current price.

Also this system seems not very flexible, i.e. if I get 1000 NEO for 1 BTC when BTC is 7k today, tomorrow 10k, I don't want to pay 10k for the same 1000 NEO when I put the order. With USD/CAD, this is easy to control. But with BTC it seems like I always have to update my orders to make sure I don't overpay?
Welcome to the world of crypto. Forget about fiat currency. BTC is usually the base and you correlate every purchase against it. If BTC goes up and NEO goes down, then you shouldn't have bought NEO. Buy coins which you believe will do better than BTC


lestat2k7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 09:37:01 AM
 #5

thx i understand better. i use coinsquare and of course to buy BTC I used cad which is easier to specify than BTC to other currencies.
NaissuR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 10:23:57 AM
 #6

wow i did not know that its possible in bittrex
thats how they always fill orders so fast :x
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!