Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 10:29:10 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin cash bcc and bitcoin btc use the same port number 8332 and 8333?  (Read 85 times)
myapple
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 08:12:27 AM
 #1

Thanks
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
1539944950
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539944950

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539944950
Reply with quote  #2

1539944950
Report to moderator
cellard
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1152


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 12:50:49 PM
 #2

Thanks

Bitcoin Cash uses a client called "Bitcoin ABC", so you need to google "Bitcoin ABC port number" or whatever. I wouldn't be surprised if the ports are exactly the same. They didn't even bother changing the address format which confused a lot of newbies, so I don't see why they would bother trying to get their own port number set up.

By looking at this:

https://bitnodes.earn.com/nodes/?q=Bitcoin%20ABC:0.16.1

I see ports 8333 and 8334 are used, whatever that means.

ScripterRon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 106


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 01:44:55 PM
Merited by Jet Cash (2)
 #3

Bitcoin-ABC uses the same ports and the same data directory as Bitcoin Core.  On Windows, it also uses the same registry entries.  This causes problems if you want to run both programs on the same system.  I run both on the same Ubuntu VPS by changing the port numbers and the data directory for Bitcoin-ABC (it is easiest to use shell scripts so you don't forget to override the data directory when entering commands manually)
myapple
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 02:57:32 PM
 #4

1 So if these two wallet connected there will be a problem?the one with longer Blockchain will kickoff the shorter one
2 you change the port?how can the wallet communicate if you change the port
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1094

Somewhat inactive.


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2017, 03:59:34 PM
Merited by Jet Cash (2)
 #5

1 So if these two wallet connected there will be a problem?the one with longer Blockchain will kickoff the shorter one
No. There are a key number of differences between Bitcoin Cash and Bitcoin. First of all, there are apparent block size change which Bitcoin does not have. Per the reference nodes, these are invalid and Bitcoin Core will reject any blocks with a block weight of 4MB.

However, since Bitcoin Cash doesn't have Segwit, each byte of the normal transaction will count as 4 byte in the block weight.

Secondly, with the different Sighash, those transactions generated on the Bitcoin Cash client will not be valid on the Bitcoin network and any blocks with those transactions are also rejected.

Hence, Bitcoin Core will not consider the other Blockchain as valid, even if it has a longer proof of work.
2 you change the port?how can the wallet communicate if you change the port
You can. Both clients have a list of nodes which they can connect to first. You don't need to portforward the clients to get connections(outgoing) since you're connecting to others.

myapple
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 05:44:31 PM
 #6

Thanks
If I want to change the bitcoin name. Whether I can only change the port number to keep the other stuff and use the same genesis block.  Or maybe I can also change the number of coins generated in each block to create a new coin based on bitcoin ?and it will be independent from bitcoin?
nullius
Copper Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 758


Help! I’ve got the Pleurodelinaemia! @nym.zone


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2017, 12:48:46 AM
 #7

So-called “Bitcoin Cash” is a rip-off which changes just enough to cause trouble, while keeping just enough the same so as to cause more trouble.  You should not look to it for guidance; if you’re making an altcoin, change the port number (among many other things) as I told you in one of the many other threads you’ve started.  You don’t want to be a rip-off, right?

P.S., myapple, please keep your closely related questions on the same subject matter within one topic, rather than spreading many redundant topics with minor variations of the same questions.


Bitcoin-ABC uses the same ports and the same data directory as Bitcoin Core.  On Windows, it also uses the same registry entries.  This causes problems if you want to run both programs on the same system.

I think that’s hilarious, in the sense that people who run that junk deserve any mischief it may cause them.  So, not only will it make users lose money due to the identical address format:  It will also clobber your Bitcoin installation?  I am asking.  I wouldn’t know.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!