Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 03:23:24 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Preview] Smelter - GPU miner for WhirlpoolX (Vanillacoin)  (Read 131806 times)
macmac__
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:06:50 AM
 #161

Well from the logs in the pictures above I thought it had corrupted the files
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\tzres.dll
C:\Windows\System32\WSHTCPIP.DLL
So I am hesitant to say just deleting is enough  Cry
moral of the story is lock all your wallets, quarks were the only one that I have much in that wasn't locked and now well doesnt have anything

Nope, it doesn't corrupt the files,
it just opens them to access the dll's features.
WSHTCPIP.dll is a WinSock Helper plugin, used in networking.
Tzres.dll is used to manage timezones.

Changing files last modified date back to what it was before is easy.
Attribute changer 7

E: Here are logs from CGminer doing the same things to the dlls

1511364204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364204
Reply with quote  #2

1511364204
Report to moderator
1511364204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364204
Reply with quote  #2

1511364204
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
hobbster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:16:16 PM
 #162

again ty Smiley

i think about crypting my wallets and put testpayments from the pools before getting all from the pool
Pk9499
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 10:39:39 AM
 #163

Is there a specific location I should be saving Smelter and its files to in order to avoid the "couldn't connect to server" issue?  Should it be in with the Quark QT wallet or something?

btw - I didn't get stung by that nasty Quark Stealing fake miner even though I downloaded it. I guess I'd deleted its files before it took the opportunity to steal from my formerly unencrypted wallet.
smolen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 01:28:34 PM
 #164

I imagine smolen is probably snickering at us all right now  Wink
Smolen is pulling his hair being out of all recent events on altcrypto world Smiley

A question about smelter, then, specifically worksize.  When I am pool mining with scrypt, I notice that when I raise my worksize the pool server notes a higher share rate even though my hashrate is less than if I lower my worksize.  Is the same true with solo mining for QRK or SRC with smelter? I notice a hashrate drop of 40% when I increase my WS from 128 -> 256, but will this translate to a 40% drop in block discovery rate or does the worksize compensate for that?
The best indicator is reported hashrate, adjust your settings for the best hashrate, there is no "compensation" or any other accounting tricks. Quark kernel uses too much registers, so increasing worksize lead to so-called "register spill" and GPU power is wasted on useless memory <-> register file transfers.

The ability to specify which gpu to mine would be great..I use my 5870 for normal activities and my second card for mining.
Already in my TODO list Smiley

Help needed. On the latest verison I see that -I is set to 200 is this a typeo or actualy ment to be 200
Meant to be 200. The intensity scaling for Smelter has a bigger range than cgminer or guiminer.
Intensity value is time for a single clEnqueueNDRangeKernel call in milliseconds. 200 ms is a good value for dedicated mining PC, but you'd lower it to gain better desktop interactivity.

Any idea how to use a pool?
Currently Smelter is for solo mining only, don't expect pool server soon Sad

Downloaded the latest version of smelter, edited the sm file, and get "couldn't connect to server"
Try adding "--debug" option, may be there will be a hint in log messages. Error diagnostics in Smelter is rudimentary, I know Sad

Of course I gave you bad advice. Good one is way out of your price range.
verloren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 02:13:09 PM
 #165

Possible to get a version for the Hawaii GPUs?
STT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 03:20:15 AM
 #166

4500 - I shouldnt bother trying to use this on such a lowly gpu I guess



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
....ANGEL TOKEN....


                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀ 
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀ 
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀   
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█    
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █     
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█     
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌    
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌    
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌    
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █     
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌     
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀      
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀        
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀          
                 ▀▀████████▀▀             

danbi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 393


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 07:08:44 PM
 #167

Tried both 0.3 and 0.3a and they both quit with

Failed to read source file: ./quark0td/kernel/kernelQuark.cl
SummonProgram failed
ThreadHost::Thread() unexpected exception:clCreateKernel call failed


BTC: 15cJkRupKAkGr6sTxj1Uzb6uHbvuRyK1GL
DMD: dJZEqNcjiUiMMd8DKBFS9oMWtArAD2GCHr
shark255
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234



View Profile
December 11, 2013, 05:45:39 PM
 #168

there is no linux version of smolens gpu miner - am i right?

Выкупаю ВТС для своего проекта. Только опт. Предложу лучший процент. Строго через ПМ форума.
CoinBuzz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile
December 11, 2013, 10:10:40 PM
 #169

how much is it's performance for example for a 7950 ?

How much better than pure cpu ?

macmac__
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 10:29:43 PM
 #170

Tried both 0.3 and 0.3a and they both quit with

Failed to read source file: ./quark0td/kernel/kernelQuark.cl
SummonProgram failed
ThreadHost::Thread() unexpected exception:clCreateKernel call failed



Try 0.2, it has the same features and speed

there is no linux version of smolens gpu miner - am i right?

yes, there is no common build available

how much is it's performance for example for a 7950 ?

How much better than pure cpu ?

My sapphire 7950 used to mine around 1,45Mhash/s at 1050/1400 clocks at 1.1v
3570k running at 4,2GHz got to 750khash/s

Mining SRC or QRK is pretty much waste of time considering network speeds and block rewards, if one without botnet wants those, best way would to buy them and mine something more profitable´or usable (like curecoin ^^)
FSB
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 05:11:35 AM
 #171

After 2-3 hours miner work, speed suddenly drops to "0". GPU load is also 0%. Helps only restart miner. What could be the problem?
roganbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13

newbit


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 04:16:31 AM
 #172

Really hoping pool support is in the works  Smiley


buying BTC at coinbase     //   cpumining Securecoin at coinmine.pl
Trading crypto at Cryptsy  //    gpumining BTC at middlecoin.com
Pk9499
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 11:41:42 AM
 #173

I really want to get this working and I've tried so many times and failed due to the "Cannot connect to server issue". I've decided to delete everything and start again, hopefully someone can tell me where I'm going wrong!

1. Downloaded Smelter 0.3a from http://rghost.net/49940688
2. Found the folder where my Quark QT wallet is installed and extracted the 3 files from the zip into this folder:
  • smd.cmd
  • smelter
  • smelter.exe
3. In the same folder I created quarkcoin.conf, Offering.conf and securecoin.conf and added the following information
Quote
listen=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcport=8772
server=1
4. Checked the smd.cmd file to make sure it had the same username/password. I didn't alter this file, even left the original wallet file is as this is just a test.
5. Double clicked smd.cmd.... Smelter opens.... Error: curl_easy_perform() failed: Couldn't connect to server

http://i43.tinypic.com/2d0ynt4.png

HELP! PLEASE! I'm going insane

6. Added --debug to the smd.cmd file and ran again and got the following:

http://i40.tinypic.com/2hz242v.png
verloren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 02:26:48 PM
 #174

I really want to get this working and I've tried so many times and failed due to the "Cannot connect to server issue". I've decided to delete everything and start again, hopefully someone can tell me where I'm going wrong!

3. In the same folder I created quarkcoin.conf, Offering.conf and securecoin.conf and added the following information
Quote
listen=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcport=8772
server=1
4. Checked the smd.cmd file to make sure it had the same username/password. I didn't alter this file, even left the original wallet file is as this is just a test.
5. Double clicked smd.cmd.... Smelter opens.... Error: curl_easy_perform() failed: Couldn't connect to server


quarkcoin.conf goes in C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\Quarkcoin
Pk9499
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:30:42 PM
 #175

Thanks, moved the file to that folder and I got the same problem - Cannot connect to server.
roganbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13

newbit


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:48:05 PM
 #176

Thanks, moved the file to that folder and I got the same problem - Cannot connect to server.

Try changing the port in your cmd file to the one you have in your .conf file.


buying BTC at coinbase     //   cpumining Securecoin at coinmine.pl
Trading crypto at Cryptsy  //    gpumining BTC at middlecoin.com
Hilux74
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 909



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 08:23:17 PM
 #177

I really want to get this working and I've tried so many times and failed due to the "Cannot connect to server issue". I've decided to delete everything and start again, hopefully someone can tell me where I'm going wrong!

1. Downloaded Smelter 0.3a from http://rghost.net/49940688
2. Found the folder where my Quark QT wallet is installed and extracted the 3 files from the zip into this folder:
  • smd.cmd
  • smelter
  • smelter.exe
3. In the same folder I created quarkcoin.conf, Offering.conf and securecoin.conf and added the following information
Quote
listen=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcport=8772
server=1
4. Checked the smd.cmd file to make sure it had the same username/password. I didn't alter this file, even left the original wallet file is as this is just a test.
5. Double clicked smd.cmd.... Smelter opens.... Error: curl_easy_perform() failed: Couldn't connect to server



HELP! PLEASE! I'm going insane

6. Added --debug to the smd.cmd file and ran again and got the following:




You have your Quark wallet open right?  It has to be running and up to date. Smiley

Also your smd.cmd file shows 8385 as port while your config files shows 8772.  They have to match to connect.

Also your .conf files should be in the respective coins appdata folder not in teh smelter folder.
MrMirkin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 08:25:48 PM
 #178

Tried both 0.3 and 0.3a and they both quit with

Failed to read source file: ./quark0td/kernel/kernelQuark.cl
SummonProgram failed
ThreadHost::Thread() unexpected exception:clCreateKernel call failed



Try 0.2, it has the same features and speed

there is no linux version of smolens gpu miner - am i right?

yes, there is no common build available

how much is it's performance for example for a 7950 ?

How much better than pure cpu ?

My sapphire 7950 used to mine around 1,45Mhash/s at 1050/1400 clocks at 1.1v
3570k running at 4,2GHz got to 750khash/s

Mining SRC or QRK is pretty much waste of time considering network speeds and block rewards, if one without botnet wants those, best way would to buy them and mine something more profitable´or usable (like curecoin ^^)


So what kind rewards on average do you guys get?  Average time to find a block?  Im interested, but seems the rewards is pretty low atm?
LiteMine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 09:35:49 PM
 #179

Will this fire up all GPU's by default, or only by a particular command?

Thank you
TheMightyX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350

Vires in Numeris


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 10:25:41 PM
 #180

Hey Smolen,
Thanks for your work on these miners.
I'm not sure how I feel about the 1/10th reward share at this time (as I'm not able to run the miner), but in theory I think its a viable business model.
That being said I have a decent Radeon 4850 and a Nvideo 280 GTX. Not new by any standards but decent ass cards.

Unfortunately I'm getting the errors:
Failed to read source file: ./quark0td/kernel/kernelQuark.cl
SummonProgram failed
ThreadHost::Thread() unexpected exception:clCreateKernel call failed

Any chance of getting this to run on my rigs or is it a lost cause?
I've tried v2 and v3.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!