Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 02:22:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Images now proxied  (Read 9020 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2014, 12:38:42 PM
 #101

Great idea with image proxy! But I get an error for this image:  . Why?

It has no headers or extension

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511014968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014968
Reply with quote  #2

1511014968
Report to moderator
1511014968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014968
Reply with quote  #2

1511014968
Report to moderator
1511014968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014968
Reply with quote  #2

1511014968
Report to moderator
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1155


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 02:00:30 PM
 #102

Great idea with image proxy! But I get an error for this image:  . Why?

It has no headers or extension

Oh, thanks! Smiley

subvolatil
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Cypherpunk and full-time CryptoAnarchist


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:23:43 PM
 #103

nice.
JorgeStolfi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
January 18, 2014, 08:22:53 PM
 #104

Some of the plots I have posted here (as PNG files) appear truncated on this site.  Like this one

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178336.msg4556363#msg4556363

https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ic.unicamp.br%2F~stolfi%2Ftemp%2Fworldcomm-closing-price-log-extrap.png&t=536&c=WA3sNDQidG_reA

However they are OK when fetched directly:

http://www.ic.unicamp.br/~stolfi/temp/worldcomm-closing-price-log-extrap.png

Is there an image size limit?  Could it be a server speed problem?

Academic interest in bitcoin only. Not owner, not trader, very skeptical of its longterm success.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 08:46:20 PM
 #105

Some of the plots I have posted here (as PNG files) appear truncated on this site.

I believe that that can only happen if:
- Your server is taking too long to return the entire image.
- Your server gives an incorrect Content-Length.
- Your server gives no Content-Length and your image is above the 2.5 MB size limit.

Otherwise, the proxy will detect errors before it starts returning the image.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 09:05:57 PM
 #106

Specifically, the proxy times out in the middle of displaying the image if any of the following are true:
- More than 3 seconds have elapsed since the image data first started being downloaded.
- No response is received for 3 seconds.
- Your server sends a total of more than 20 packets containing no image data.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile WWW
January 18, 2014, 09:10:11 PM
 #107

Some of the plots I have posted here (as PNG files) appear truncated on this site.  Like this one

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178336.msg4556363#msg4556363

https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ic.unicamp.br%2F~stolfi%2Ftemp%2Fworldcomm-closing-price-log-extrap.png&t=536&c=WA3sNDQidG_reA

However they are OK when fetched directly:

http://www.ic.unicamp.br/~stolfi/temp/worldcomm-closing-price-log-extrap.png

Is there an image size limit?  Could it be a server speed problem?


I see no difference between the two images.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
JorgeStolfi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
January 19, 2014, 11:26:36 AM
 #108

Specifically, the proxy times out in the middle of displaying the image if any of the following are true:
- More than 3 seconds have elapsed since the image data first started being downloaded.
Hm, that may be the problem... The 3 second timeout seems too short for an internet transfer of up to 3 MB.

My images are about 100-200 kB at most.  I use the department's HTTP server that has to fetch the file from the department's NFS and then send it out through the internet connection shared by the whole university.  It is a very broad connection that is usually fast enough, but sometimes it does take a few seconds to complete.

I presume that there may be delays also at the proxy's end if it gets too many image requests at the same time.  This forum must have thousands of readers, the average page has dozens of images, the proxy may be used by many other services...

The broken/truncated image problem is VERY common and is not specific to my images. (The creator of that thread posts automatically generated charts every hour.  After the proxy was enabled sometimes his chats are broken, rather randomly. )

But the problem is not reproducible, and the same image may be truncated at different places, or not at all, when the page is refreshed.

In any case, if the proxy fails it is better to display "invalid image" than a truncated image.  The latter confuses readers, e.g. if the plot shows but the labels at bottom are cut off.
 

 

Academic interest in bitcoin only. Not owner, not trader, very skeptical of its longterm success.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2014, 09:31:22 PM
 #109

Different hosts may have random responsiveness lags in addition to different bandwidth. Here's a study showing that shared hosts may have random multi-second latency.

http://www.wpsitecare.com/performance-of-7-top-wordpress-hosting-companies-compared/

IP doesn't guarantee delivery, TCP may have to retry until it gets data. However, the bitcointalk image proxy also will have resources consumed by waiting for multiple unresponsive hosts. One post in the "wall observer" can have 100 image hits in a few minutes.

AdamT
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 461


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 12:46:50 AM
 #110

Quote
Images now proxied

What does this mean exactly? Why can't I post imgur images? Just get the "bitcointalk.org image proxy: invalid image". Sort of annoying.

Solution?
MakeBelieve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 12:48:31 AM
 #111

Quote
Images now proxied

What does this mean exactly? Why can't I post imgur images? Just get the "bitcointalk.org image proxy: invalid image". Sort of annoying.

Solution?

The image may be to big to display the images are limited in size.

On a mission to make Bitcointalk.org Marketplace a safer place to Buy/Sell/Trade
hilariousandco
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1470


How does one bitcoin?


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2014, 11:29:39 AM
 #112

Quote
Images now proxied

What does this mean exactly? Why can't I post imgur images? Just get the "bitcointalk.org image proxy: invalid image". Sort of annoying.

Solution?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

Just resize them. It's probably because they're too big.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2014, 12:56:38 PM
 #113

Quote
Images now proxied

What does this mean exactly? Why can't I post imgur images? Just get the "bitcointalk.org image proxy: invalid image". Sort of annoying.

Solution?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

Just resize them. It's probably because they're too big.

Or you're using an html and not the actual image

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
ahmedjadoon
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1162

Admin @ FreeCoinTalk.org


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2014, 02:36:58 PM
 #114

I get proxy error for many images.

          ▄████▄
          ██  ██
 ▄▄▄▄     ▀████▀     ▄▄▄▄
██▀▀██     ▄▄▄▄     ██▀▀██
██▄▄███▄▄██▀▀▀▀██▄▄███▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀ ▀██▀▄████ ▀██▀ ▀▀▀▀
       ██ ██     ██
 ▄▄▄▄  ██▄▀████ ▄██  ▄▄▄▄
██▀▀██  ▀██▄▄▄▄██▀  ██▀▀██
██▄▄██     ▀██▀     ██▄▄██
 ▀▀▀▀     ▄████▄     ▀▀▀▀
          ██  ██
          ▀████▀
.Coinlancer.
          ▄▄████████▄▄
      ▄▄████████████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████████▄
   ▄████████████████████████▄
  ████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████████▀
  █████████████████████████
   ▀███████████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████████▀
      ▀▀████████████████▀▀
          ▀▀████████▀▀
CL
[WHITEPAPER]     [ANN THREAD]
Coinlancer
FACEBOOK     TWITTER     MEDIUM     TELEGRAM
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
!!
MakeBelieve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 02:48:48 PM
 #115

I get proxy error for many images.

Because the person who posted them or you got it wrong and the image is to big.

On a mission to make Bitcointalk.org Marketplace a safer place to Buy/Sell/Trade
CoinsOrDie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2014, 01:15:48 PM
 #116

To improve privacy and eliminate mixed content warnings, images in posts and PMs are now proxied through images.weserv.nl. Tell me if this broke anything.

Yes, many images are not loading at all. Also is there a max size of images? What happens when the original image goes broken or updated, will it still serve the original one from the proxy?

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
March 22, 2014, 04:30:12 PM
 #117

If images aren't working (and the source image is working and smaller than 2.5 MB), post links here and I will investigate.

What happens when the original image goes broken or updated, will it still serve the original one from the proxy?

No. The proxy never saves images to disk. It will pass on Expires headers, though, so your browser might cache the image.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2014, 03:04:30 AM
 #118

If images aren't working (and the source image is working and smaller than 2.5 MB), post links here and I will investigate.

What happens when the original image goes broken or updated, will it still serve the original one from the proxy?

No. The proxy never saves images to disk. It will pass on Expires headers, though, so your browser might cache the image.

Some of them work intermittently. Like in one of my guides (sig), sometimes it just decides not to load any of them until I refresh a few times. I've noticed as well imgur generally doesnt load quite a lot for me - people often say "look at this pic" and then I have to quote to be able to find the link. Adblock off on all related sites.

dserrano5
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile
March 26, 2014, 08:57:55 AM
 #119

people often say "look at this pic" and then I have to quote to be able to find the link. Adblock off on all related sites.

Ah, I've also noticed this but since I just started using a new computer, new OS, new browser… I thought it would be my problem, not the forum's.

Next thread I'm reading, an image is only half displayed:



The original image is 446 KiB in size.

(funny this very image of mine doesn't fully load either Smiley). I'm not sure whether the proxy even retrieved the full image(s) in the first place.

tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


Keep it real


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 11:38:36 AM
 #120

It looks like all outside images are broken right now, I'm not seeing any of them loading.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!