Bitcoin Forum
February 26, 2017, 03:35:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RPC Api with client?  (Read 1442 times)
martin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2010, 10:57:00 PM
 #1

A simple question which I can't find the answer to, and I'm not at a computer with a bitcoin client at the moment so I can't test - does the windows bitcoin client (with GUI) run the Json Rpc Api, or is that only run from the headless client?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488080157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488080157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488080157
Reply with quote  #2

1488080157
Report to moderator
1488080157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488080157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488080157
Reply with quote  #2

1488080157
Report to moderator
1488080157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488080157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488080157
Reply with quote  #2

1488080157
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 11:00:46 PM
 #2

You can run it with the "-server" switch to have it run the RPC server.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
martin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2010, 11:17:23 PM
 #3

Ah, that sounds promising, and it still shows the normal UI etc?

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 11:38:51 PM
 #4

Yes.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
martin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2010, 12:31:14 AM
 #5

Thanks theymos.

I'm back at my development machine now, and I've successfully got a java applet communicating with the client via the Json Rpc. I wonder if you could help me with some specifics of the API?

Sending a string like this to the server:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"json test", "method": "getinfo", "params": [] }

Returns a response like this:

{"result":{"balance": 0.00000000000000,"blocks":67486,"connections":8,"proxy":"","generate":true,"genproclimit":4,"difficulty":45.38582234101263},"error":null,"id":"json test"}

All well and good. However, sending a string like this:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"send money to testaddress from web ui", "method": "sendtoaddress", "params": [1DoMXge6kToHZN8m4B2my43anCPbD4rJgE, 0.25] }

Gets me a http 500 error, which isn't great. Is my string malformed in some way?

EDIT:: Fixed, of course the bitcoin address is a string, and I wasn't enclosing it in quotes, silly me.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!