Bitcoin Forum
May 10, 2024, 06:40:16 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RPC Api with client?  (Read 8698 times)
martin (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2010, 10:57:00 PM
 #1

A simple question which I can't find the answer to, and I'm not at a computer with a bitcoin client at the moment so I can't test - does the windows bitcoin client (with GUI) run the Json Rpc Api, or is that only run from the headless client?
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715323216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715323216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715323216
Reply with quote  #2

1715323216
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5194
Merit: 12982


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 11:00:46 PM
 #2

You can run it with the "-server" switch to have it run the RPC server.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
martin (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2010, 11:17:23 PM
 #3

Ah, that sounds promising, and it still shows the normal UI etc?
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5194
Merit: 12982


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 11:38:51 PM
 #4

Yes.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
martin (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2010, 12:31:14 AM
Last edit: July 15, 2010, 12:49:09 AM by martin
 #5

Thanks theymos.

I'm back at my development machine now, and I've successfully got a java applet communicating with the client via the Json Rpc. I wonder if you could help me with some specifics of the API?

Sending a string like this to the server:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"json test", "method": "getinfo", "params": [] }

Returns a response like this:

{"result":{"balance": 0.00000000000000,"blocks":67486,"connections":8,"proxy":"","generate":true,"genproclimit":4,"difficulty":45.38582234101263},"error":null,"id":"json test"}

All well and good. However, sending a string like this:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"send money to testaddress from web ui", "method": "sendtoaddress", "params": [1DoMXge6kToHZN8m4B2my43anCPbD4rJgE, 0.25] }

Gets me a http 500 error, which isn't great. Is my string malformed in some way?

EDIT:: Fixed, of course the bitcoin address is a string, and I wasn't enclosing it in quotes, silly me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!