Bitcoin Forum
March 30, 2017, 04:58:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Motherboards: What Works w/Four or More GPUs? List Them  (Read 49557 times)
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 28, 2011, 12:50:08 PM
 #41

a noob question, but windows still limited to 4 gpus?
No.
Up to 8 GPU supports in Windows 7

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
|Your Digatal Network | 10MB Chain
| Algo XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
|Join our Bitsend Airdrop ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| Over 350+ Airdrop members

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
1490849911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490849911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490849911
Reply with quote  #2

1490849911
Report to moderator
1490849911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490849911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490849911
Reply with quote  #2

1490849911
Report to moderator
1490849911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490849911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490849911
Reply with quote  #2

1490849911
Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490849911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490849911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490849911
Reply with quote  #2

1490849911
Report to moderator
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722


View Profile
September 28, 2011, 09:44:58 PM
 #42

a noob question, but windows still limited to 4 gpus?
No.
Up to 8 GPU supports in Windows 7

I got 5 gpus to load in windows...  but the guiminer only showed 4.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 29, 2011, 02:13:50 AM
 #43

Check device manage if their is 5 GPU's.
Actually only GUIMiner can able to detect more than 4 GPU's, AOCLBF will say put card number manually. Seems CGminer also detects more than 4 GPU's.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
|Your Digatal Network | 10MB Chain
| Algo XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
|Join our Bitsend Airdrop ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| Over 350+ Airdrop members

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
hmongotaku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2011, 05:39:26 PM
 #44

thanks for the confirmation, was freaking out that I might actually have to learn linux to run 5 gpus on a setup.

amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
September 29, 2011, 09:07:02 PM
 #45

Has anyone used a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 (not the -D3 version, but -UD3)?  Considering getting a few of those.


Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
October 23, 2011, 02:51:31 AM
 #46

Has anyone used a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 (not the -D3 version, but -UD3)?  Considering getting a few of those.



I didn't use them, but like I said earlier in this topic, if you want to boot with an USB key, this brand of motherboard can really be a pain in the ass.

likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
October 23, 2011, 09:29:06 PM
 #47

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: MSI
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: Big Bang Masrshal B3 8x PCIe x16 slots
Power Supply Brand & Model: Antec HC 1200 & Antec HP 750
Number & Model GPUs: 8x 5870
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 8 x16 -> x16 Risers no molex

Works in BAMT & Windows 7. LinuxCoin final periodically crashes after 15mins to 1 hour. 1550W, 124V & 15Amps at peak load 3.2GHs.

This thing is a beast but a major pain in the ass build & not recommended to anyone that isn't technically inclined or hasn't built quite a few rigs.

minero1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 03:30:08 AM
 #48

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: EVGA
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: P55v/P55Sli 2 x Pci-e x16; 2 x Pci-e x1
Power Supply Brand & Model: Artesyn IBM blade server PSU 1000W
Number & Model GPUs: 2x 5970 & 2x 5830
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 2 x16 & 2 x1-> x16 Risers no molex

WHAT sort of WORKS
Motherboard Brand: MSI
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: 790FX-GD70 4 x Pci-e x16; 1 x Pci-e x1
Power Supply Brand & Model: Artesyn IBM blade server PSU 1000W
Number & Model GPUs: 2x 5970 & 2x 5830
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 2 x16 & 2 x1-> x16 Risers no molex
Only works if you plug 4th card to x1 Pci-e, plug it in the 4th x16 pci-e and it boot loops


 
         ▄▄█████████▄▄
      ▄█████████████████▄
   ▄████▀            ▀████▄
  █████                █████▄
 ███████████████████████████▄
████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▄
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
 ████▄      ██████      ▄████
  ▀████     ██████    ▄████▀
    ▀████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████▀
      ▀▀██████████████▀▀
TIDEX



BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 05:03:52 AM
 #49

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: Gigabyte
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: GA-EP45-UD3P; 2 x16, 3 x1
Power Supply Brand & Model: OCZ ZX1250W
Number & Model GPUs: HD 5870 Reference (AMD) x5
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 2 x16 to x16 extenders w/o power, 3 x1 to x16 extenders with molex power

Tested and working on both Ubuntu and Debian (BAMT). Note that X output is piped to the card on the first x16 slot and basic standard output (terminal w/o X) is piped to the first card. (on an x1 slot)

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 08:30:00 AM
 #50

MSI 890FXA-GD70 MSI 890FXA-GD70 MSI 890FXA-GD70 MSI 890FXA-GD70 MSI 890FXA-GD70

thats all you need to know.
Been trying to buy one off Ebay for my target 'under $100' and those suckers are always goin for 110-140, with alot of snipers. **sons-of-bitches
This board has got to be broken to sell under $100.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 11:05:18 PM
 #51

just a suggestion, but could you make a list of the mobo's that work? Cheesy

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:16:48 AM
 #52

No, I'm done with this thread. Some else is welcome to aggragate the info here though.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:51:43 AM
 #53

How do you determine what's working when you have conflicting reports on some boards?
P.S. Try Googling "ga h61 d2h-b3". That board does not compute.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:47:48 PM
 #54

WHAT WORKS
1)
Motherboard Brand: Asus
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: P5Q-E, 3x PCIe x16 and 2x PCIe x1
Power Supply Brand & Model: Corsair TX850v2
Number & Model GPUs: max. 5GPUs tested so far: 3x HD 5850 1GB @ 945/280/1.088 + 1x HD 5830 800/200/0.9V + 1x HD 6770 @ 825/180/0.82V
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 5850s and 5830 on extenders and HD 6770 in PCIe x16 slot
none of the extenders are powered

PCIe x1 slots require shorting pins (A1-B17).

Max. 4 GPUs under 12.1, 5 GPUs (all pcie slots are used) under previous driver versions.


2)

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: Gigabyte
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: GA-965-S3, 1x PCIe x16 and 3x PCIe x1
Power Supply Brand & Model: Tagan TG1000-U33II 1000W
Number & Model GPUs: 3x HD 5870 between 910 and 1000/210 + 1x HD 5850 900/300 all stock voltage
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 5870 on normal unpowered extenders, 5850 in slot

NOTE: the x16 slot stopped working (no device in that slot gets recognized) after a few weeks and now only PCIe x1 slots work
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:56:11 PM
 #55

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: ASUS
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: P8P67 WS Platinum 1503 BIOS, 4 PCIE-16X + 3 PCIE-1X
Power Supply Brand & Model: KingWin LAZER 1050W
Number & Model GPUs: 3x 6950 + 3x 6570
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: 3x 6950s using 1X risers, no power, 3x 6570s seated in X16 slots, no risers

All 6 GPUs recognized and mining on Windows 7 64bit @1.57GH/s, 11.12 driver (12.1 DOES NOT WORK!) 2.5 SDK.
ZPK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
April 03, 2012, 10:25:00 PM
 #56

WHATS WORK
Sempron 145 ... UCC OFF
ASRock 970 Extreme 4
2GB ram + HDD 2.5" 250Gb
6970(950/340)+5870(950/300)+5850(900/300)+5870(950/300)=1590+ mhs avg...
*DEAD PSU Chieftec BPS-1200C - work <3 months
*NEW PSU Corsair AX1200
*DEAD Gigabyte 5850
*DEAD Sapphire Dual-X 7970 06-40G 1/2 fan stop
Win 7 x64 SP1

WHATS WORK
Core E4400
Gigabyte 945P-S3 rev 1.0
2Gb ram + 250Gb HDD
5870 (950/300) + 2*5850 (shit work on 900/300,350) + 5770 (950/300) = 1378 mhs avg
PSU Corsair 750WTXV2
Win 7 x64 SP1 (maybe go to BAMT in future)

Novacoin POS mining only now
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 07:37:59 AM
 #57

WORKS: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7 with 4x ATI 6990.

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 12:59:32 PM
 #58

WHAT WORKS

MSI 785G-E53 (1 16x, 3 1x)
Tested with 4 5830s, running for 1.5 months now!.
ModusPwnd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 09:17:15 AM
 #59

Has anyone used a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 (not the -D3 version, but -UD3)?  Considering getting a few of those.



I didn't use them, but like I said earlier in this topic, if you want to boot with an USB key, this brand of motherboard can really be a pain in the ass.



Older post, but I will echo the words.  I have that model of mobo packaged up for return right now because it wont boot off of my USB key  (not sure if its the UD3 or D3...)
ModusPwnd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 10:04:26 AM
 #60

WHATS WORK
Sempron 145 ... UCC ON 2 core 3ghz
ASRock 970 Extreme 4
2GB ram+250Gb 2.5" HDD
6950(70)+5870+5850+5770=1440mhs avg.....want to build 6970+5870+3*5850(or maybe 6970+2*5870+2*5850)...no money....)))
PSU Chieftec BPS-1200C open rig

Win 7 x64 SP1

I have the same board, and it does work with 4 GPUs.  I am actually running 5 on one right now.  (same CPU too)

BUT, the last two I have bought have a bunk PCIe x16 slot!  Both of the last two I bought had a bad PCIE4 slot, that is the middle x16 slot.  I have a third coming from NewEgg right now...  I hope it works, because I like this board otherwise!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!