Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:58:17 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Motherboards: What Works w/Four or More GPUs? List Them  (Read 48759 times)
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 08:38:40 PM
 #81

Hi, yes I did it myself, it was time consuming to do it but I wanted something really strong, that I could fit in a rack later (its 44 cm wide for a reason Cheesy ) and, if I need it, dissasemble entirely with ease (the entire case is screwed in the aluminium directly).
I cut the parts with a bench circular saw (from a friend, I don't own one, the only thing I have is a small bench black & decker driller machine) that was it.
I'm building the second one right now Smiley

Take pictures and write up a walk-through, please! :-)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481270297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270297
Reply with quote  #2

1481270297
Report to moderator
1481270297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270297
Reply with quote  #2

1481270297
Report to moderator
mxc0bbn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


Welcome to Miami!


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 07:21:28 PM
 #82

With 4 7950s you should be making >2gh/s
?
Why only 1gh/s

induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 07:58:07 PM
 #83

With 4 7950s you should be making >2gh/s
?
Why only 1gh/s

Well..., I already had 2x 7850 I used with hashcat a lot, so I decide for this first miner stick with those cards, so I bought 2 more identical ones.

I'm building the next rig, they will have 2x 7950 now Cheesy (and 4 x 7950 when I bought another PSU)

and I want to compare power consumption vs production because my measures doesn't match what I have read on the forum, so I will have to test both combinations and see which ones are more power efficient.

Money is about the same because 7850 costs half the 7950's.
will do the tests and post here this weekend (if my cards arrive on time Cheesy )

Quote from: Marrs
Take pictures and write up a walk-through, please! :-)

Sure, give me time I will prepare something and post here.
mxc0bbn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


Welcome to Miami!


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 08:35:13 PM
 #84

I'm starting to re-think the 4gpu on one motherboard scenario...

Based on pricing for mb/psu...would you recommend just buying two mb/cpu/psu (750w) and just building two systems instead of one?

I don't mind the extra work I just want to make sure and get the most performance out of them and it's starting to seem like putting more gpus on a single mb makes me have to cool them alot harder as well as the components being a lot more costly than components for 2/mb...

opinion?



induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 01:58:12 AM
 #85

Hello
I don't think I am in a position to recommend you, I have been mining for only 1 month, this miner is the first one fully assembled by me (although I have 2 more (just 5830 on a small motherboard over a cardboard box Cheesy which I use for testing because they are not cost effective (consumes too much power)).

That aside, I think that you should think what weights more for you, MH/s vs Power consumption or MH/s vs Hardware cost.

In my case is the first, because, for now, power cost is something I will have all the time, hardware is something I buy and I can use for other things besides mining, so I still have to test the performance of two 7950 vs four 7850 to tell you more precisely what is best in terms of power usage vs MH/s

However I will, in the end assemble 4 to 5 GPU per rig, because I think it's more power efficient, but still don't know which cards will I use.

the power consumption of the motherboard, processor and hard drive is quite significant, so the more GPU per computer the better, IMHO.
please if someone with more experience than me think different, comment, i will love to hear your educated point of view.
meyerbtc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 01:13:38 PM
 #86

Still not clear to me. Is there a motherboard which can support  4 x HD7950 without having to short A1-B17 pin?
qiuness
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:49:30 PM
 #87

Hi,

does anyone have any feedback on?

   
GA-H61M-D2-B3
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3773#ov

4 Slots.. should hold 4 cards

BTC: 14dGrvoqs3SZEMSVSHKoqe1xrcDucUc1yD | LTC: LcRyBF83GVegnKpAqdbU538Br229cLCyuH
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 03:25:08 AM
 #88

Still not clear to me. Is there a motherboard which can support  4 x HD7950 without having to short A1-B17 pin?
I am using Gigabyte GA 970A-D3 motherboards, has 5 PCI-E ports (one 16x, one 4x (with 16x size) and three 1x), I'm using 4 cards on this mobo, and no jumper necessary, but I'm using cablesaurus powered extender cables, they are not cheap but works perfectly.
but this is under windows 7 x64, I still haven't tested under linux, booting from USB which is my finally goal.
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 01:10:17 PM
 #89

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: Gigabyte
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: 990 FXA-UD3
Power Supply Brand & Model: FSP Aurum Pro 1200W
Number & Model GPUs: 4 x 6950 (1 each of ASUS, XFX, MSI and Sapphire)
Extender Cables w/Molex Power? 1 x PCIE 16x extender and 3 x PCIE x16 to x1 extenders.  No molex power extenders.

Tried a 5th 6950 (XFX) but it wouldn't work.  The MB has 6x PCIE slots total, would have been nice...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg1950922#msg1950922

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 01:28:07 PM
 #90

WHAT WORKS
Motherboard Brand: Gigabyte
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: 990 FXA-UD3
Power Supply Brand & Model: FSP Aurum Pro 1200W
Number & Model GPUs: 4 x 6950 (1 each of ASUS, XFX, MSI and Sapphire)
Extender Cables w/Molex Power? 1 x PCIE 16x extender and 3 x PCIE x16 to x1 extenders.  No molex power extenders.

Tried a 5th 6950 (XFX) but it wouldn't work.  The MB has 6x PCIE slots total, would have been nice...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg1950922#msg1950922
Can you try connecting the 5th & 6th slot using 16x extender cable with molex connector?

Gigabyte 890FXA-UD7, has 6 slots, but so far i can make it to work in only FOUR cards, but with different slots which confuses me.
Yesterday i can able to connect 3 cards using 16x extender cable WITHOUT molex connector in 16x_1, 16x_2, 8x_2 & i hope i can make it work in 8x_1 slot also using 16x extender cable(which i don't have).

But this is opposite to me due to this https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=38872.msg475736#msg475736
Here i used 16x & 4x slot, instead of yesterday 16x & 8x.

I hope maybe with 16x extender cable with/without molex can make this board to use all the 6 slots
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 01:48:44 AM
 #91

I don't have any of the extender cables with a molex connector, I'd never heard of them when I ordered my parts. Do you plug your power supply into them to boost the PCIE power?
I guess it could help when running a lot of cards.
Maybe it can work with more than 4 cards... Smiley

I busted one of the PCIE slots and bent one of the pins (the TCK one I think), is it important?  Otherwise I only have 5 slots that work.

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 06:06:10 AM
 #92

Yes, cables with molex to boost power to pci-e.
Mother boards are designed with the idea to play games, watch in high definition.....
Its not designed to run 100% 24/7 to mine.
http://cablesaurus.com/PCIe-x16-Extender-Cable-w-Molex-Connector

I don't know what you saying by TCK, maybe a pic will be better to show busted slot & bent pin.
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 12:07:33 PM
 #93

Ok thanks.

See pinout here for the TCK pin: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express

I pulled out one of my cards and the PICE slot came with it Smiley

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 12:31:24 PM
 #94

thats bad.
Try connecting 5 cards using FIVE 16x extender cables, then see windows detects 5 cards or not.
If windows detects then its good.
If windows detects only 4 card, then that board can accept 4 cards only.
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 01:59:09 PM
 #95

I don't have 5 x16 extenders, I only have 1 and I can't really be bothered ordering more as I've got plenty of x1's and it seems to (mostly) work.  My 5th card is just in my everyday pc for now, I just have to start and stop mining when I use it. Thanks though.

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 06:12:19 PM
 #96

WORKS
Motherboard Brand: Biostar
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: A870U3 (2x16, 2x1)
Power Supply Brand & Model: Corsair TX850 (Pulling ~615W at the wall)
Number & Model GPUs: 4x Sapphire 5830 Xtreme (Overclocked & undervolted)
Extender Cables w/Molex Power?: No

Motherboard automatically unlocks 2nd core of Sempron 140.
I have a mix of 5870 and 5850, overclocked, no voltage change. the mobo fried up within a few weeks.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 06:14:42 PM
 #97

I've learned that it is VERY  important to first try a 4+ GPU rig at STOCK card clocks, then if that proves stable gradually OC each card until it becomes unstable then back off 10MH/z. Do this for each card until they are all running 24/7, in both mild and hot weather, without a problem. You will likely notice that some cards will OC very well and some will NOT. One unstable card can bring down the entire mining rig. Stability RULES!
Yes, especially with multiple rigs. I have mine all running stock speed and stock voltage.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
bitminer1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 01:43:39 AM
 #98

Does anyone know if the Asrock970 extreme 4 will work with 5 gpus's in a win 64 enviro easily?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262
MrBilling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:28:56 PM
 #99

Does anyone know if the Asrock970 extreme 4 will work with 5 gpus's in a win 64 enviro easily?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262



I dont know about Windows but that mobo is listed on the BAMT hardware compatibility list as working with 5 GPUs.

MrBilling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:32:57 PM
 #100

WHAT WORKS

Motherboard Brand: Gigabyte
Motherboard Model & PCIe Slots: GA-970A-D3; two X16, 3 X1
PSU Brand & Model: Silverstone 1200W SST-ST1200-G Evolution
Number & Model GPUs: 4x Sapphire 7950 21196-00-20G Boost Models
Extender Cables: 2 X16 extenders, 2 1X to 16X adapters, works unpowered or powered


tried to put 5 th card in wont finish booting.  NOT the boot problem other Gigabyte boards have.  It will boot it just locks up.  Tried underclocking cards.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!