Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 06:16:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Overclock the Antminer S1 to 200GH/s] The EASY way! - updated to 393.75MHz ASIC  (Read 26058 times)
blackvoice
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 08:48:58 AM
 #101

Updated to 393.75MHz as this produces 200GH/s with a much lower HW errors (I'm getting less than 1%)

Here's an easy way to oc the Antminer S1.  Disclaimers: I'm not responsible for any damages that may result from following these instructions.  This will void the Antminer S1 3-month warranty.   Cheesy

If you want to see a youtube video on how it works; here it is:  How to Overclock the Antminer S1 bitcoin miner [the EASY way]

  • 1.  ssh to your Antminer  (i.e. ssh root@192.168.1.111)
  • 2.  copy and paste everything inside the code box

Code:
clear
cd /etc/config
mv asic-freq asic-freq.before-393MHz
wget -O asic-freq http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/bwbk1wdy0yx1l46/asic-freq.393.75MHz
chmod 664 asic-freq*
read -rsp $'Press enter to continue (Antminer will reboot)... ASICs speed set to 393MHz \n'
reboot


If you must have the 400MHz speed; replace with the code below:
Code:
clear
cd /etc/config
mv asic-freq asic-freq.BitmaintechFactoryVersion
wget -O asic-freq http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/u8thhaxuksnhlw0/asic-freq.400MHz
wget -O asic-freq.375MHz http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/9yuq14py6sou2w3/asic-freq.375MHz
wget -O asic-freq.350MHz http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/o8590pne9clm348/asic-freq.350MHz
chmod 664 asic-freq
chmod 664 asic-freq.3*
ls -la asic-freq*
read -rsp $'Press enter to continue (Antminer will reboot)... ASICs speed set to 400MHz \n'
reboot


Let me know if you have any questions or wish to switch between ASIC speeds (i.e. 180GH/s is 350MHz, ~190GH/s is 375MHz).

  -jeremy

Very nice setting

I have two ASIC machine

If I get your speed, I will be rich

 Grin Grin
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714673778
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714673778

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714673778
Reply with quote  #2

1714673778
Report to moderator
steveo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2014, 06:27:15 PM
 #102

thanks for the great work im getting 204.84 overclocked with the 393 frequency
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 23, 2014, 07:45:19 PM
 #103

thanks for the great work im getting 204.84 overclocked with the 393 frequency

You're welcome.  Thanks for letting us know the result.  I have 2 S1's and one is getting 200.22 GH/s and the other is 201.10 GH/s.

It's the HW errors that are significantly down.  I used to get over 1 percent; but now on one of them I have  808 HW value   out of   791,364 DiffA value.  That's awesome.



halu
AgoraLive
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:06:23 PM
 #104

Hi!

This worked perfect Smiley However Now I have 50% HW, so is there a way to easily roll back to 180GH/s or perhaps 190 to see if that's better?
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:15:08 PM
 #105

Hi!

This worked perfect Smiley However Now I have 50% HW, so is there a way to easily roll back to 180GH/s or perhaps 190 to see if that's better?

Hi, it's easy to roll back to 180 GH/s or if you wish to go to 190  (375MH/z ASIC's).  Let me know which one so I can give you the code to copy and paste.

Also, did you use the 393.75 MHz code?




halu
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 783


better everyday ♥


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 06:19:48 PM
 #106

Hi!

This worked perfect Smiley However Now I have 50% HW, so is there a way to easily roll back to 180GH/s or perhaps 190 to see if that's better?

Easy,Download "Putty" then "Putty" into the Antminer IP address, login with root / root, cd /etc/config, vim asic-freq, hit Insert, then change the 393.75M values to 375M instead like the below.

Code:
package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
    #option 'freq_value'  '4f81' #400M    
    #option 'chip_freq'   '400'    
    #option 'timeout'    '35'    

    option 'freq_value'  '4e81' #375M
    option 'chip_freq'   '375'
    option 'timeout'    '37'
                      
    #option 'freq_value'   '4d81' #350M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '350'    
    #option 'timeout'    '40'    
                      
    #option 'freq_value'  '4c81' #325M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '325'    
    #option 'timeout'    '40'    
                      
    #option 'freq_value'  '0b81' #300M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '300'    
    #option 'timeout'    '45'    
                      
    #option 'freq_value'  '0981' #250M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '250'    
    #option 'timeout'    '55'    
                      
    #option 'freq_value'  '0781' #200M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '200'
    #option 'timeout'    '70'
                      
    #option 'freq_value'  '4f02' #193M
    #option 'chip_freq'   '193'
    #option 'timeout'    '70'

After you've done this, hit ESC then hit :
Type wq ENTER, then exit out of Putty, and do a system reboot from the Antminer GUI.

After rebooting your Ant, your miner status should say 375M, your HW should decrease, and your hashrate should be around 190 GH/s.

Good luck.

CharityAuction
          ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄   
       ▄▄███████▀▀▀▀███████▄
     ▄████▀▀           ▀▀████▄
   ▄███▀▀   ▄▄████████▄▄   ▀▀███▄
  ████▀   ████▀██████████    ▀███▄
 ████   ▄███▀▄  ▀    ██████   ▀███▄
▄███   ████▄    ▄█▄  ▀██████    ███▄
████  ▄███▀     ▀█▀      ▀███▄  ████
████  ████▄▄█▄      ▄█▄   ████  ████
████  ▀████████▄   ███▀  ▄███▀  ████
▀███   █████████▄   ▀   ▀████   ███▀
 ████   ▀████████   ▄ ▀▄▄██    ████
  ████▄   ███████▄▄██▄▄███   ▄████
   ▀███▄▄   ▀▀████████▀▀   ▄▄███▀
     ▀████▄▄            ▄▄████▀
       ▀▀███████▄▄▄▄███████▀▀
           ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
          ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄   
       ▄▄███████▀▀▀▀███████▄
     ▄████▀▀           ▀▀████▄
   ▄███▀▀   ▄▄████████▄▄   ▀▀███▄
  ████▀   ████▀██████████    ▀███▄
 ████   ▄███▀▄  ▀    ██████   ▀███▄
▄███   ████▄    ▄█▄  ▀██████    ███▄
████  ▄███▀     ▀█▀      ▀███▄  ████
████  ████▄▄█▄      ▄█▄   ████  ████
████  ▀████████▄   ███▀  ▄███▀  ████
▀███   █████████▄   ▀   ▀████   ███▀
 ████   ▀████████   ▄ ▀▄▄██    ████
  ████▄   ███████▄▄██▄▄███   ▄████
   ▀███▄▄   ▀▀████████▀▀   ▄▄███▀
     ▀████▄▄            ▄▄████▀
       ▀▀███████▄▄▄▄███████▀▀
           ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
ColdScam
AgoraLive
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:26:35 PM
 #107

Thank you, put after reading the thread I see some calculating should be made regarding the HW error %

I have:

HW = 1550
DiffA = 187984
DiffR = 480
DiffS = 0

That comes to 0.008 (I guess 0.8%) with the HW / (HW+Diffa+DiffR+DiffS) formula


If this correct? I see hashing power at 200 (poolside)
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 783


better everyday ♥


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 06:32:27 PM
 #108

Thank you, put after reading the thread I see some calculating should be made regarding the HW error %

I have:

HW = 1550
DiffA = 187984
DiffR = 480
DiffS = 0

That comes to 0.008 (I guess 0.8%) with the HW / (HW+Diffa+DiffR+DiffS) formula


If this correct? I see hashing power at 200 (poolside)

Easier way:

http://instacalc.com/20772

0.81% isn't terrible.  I'd stick with it.

CharityAuction
          ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄   
       ▄▄███████▀▀▀▀███████▄
     ▄████▀▀           ▀▀████▄
   ▄███▀▀   ▄▄████████▄▄   ▀▀███▄
  ████▀   ████▀██████████    ▀███▄
 ████   ▄███▀▄  ▀    ██████   ▀███▄
▄███   ████▄    ▄█▄  ▀██████    ███▄
████  ▄███▀     ▀█▀      ▀███▄  ████
████  ████▄▄█▄      ▄█▄   ████  ████
████  ▀████████▄   ███▀  ▄███▀  ████
▀███   █████████▄   ▀   ▀████   ███▀
 ████   ▀████████   ▄ ▀▄▄██    ████
  ████▄   ███████▄▄██▄▄███   ▄████
   ▀███▄▄   ▀▀████████▀▀   ▄▄███▀
     ▀████▄▄            ▄▄████▀
       ▀▀███████▄▄▄▄███████▀▀
           ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
          ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄   
       ▄▄███████▀▀▀▀███████▄
     ▄████▀▀           ▀▀████▄
   ▄███▀▀   ▄▄████████▄▄   ▀▀███▄
  ████▀   ████▀██████████    ▀███▄
 ████   ▄███▀▄  ▀    ██████   ▀███▄
▄███   ████▄    ▄█▄  ▀██████    ███▄
████  ▄███▀     ▀█▀      ▀███▄  ████
████  ████▄▄█▄      ▄█▄   ████  ████
████  ▀████████▄   ███▀  ▄███▀  ████
▀███   █████████▄   ▀   ▀████   ███▀
 ████   ▀████████   ▄ ▀▄▄██    ████
  ████▄   ███████▄▄██▄▄███   ▄████
   ▀███▄▄   ▀▀████████▀▀   ▄▄███▀
     ▀████▄▄            ▄▄████▀
       ▀▀███████▄▄▄▄███████▀▀
           ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
ColdScam
AgoraLive
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:39:50 PM
 #109

ChuckBuck  ---> Thank you Smiley
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 06:47:57 PM
 #110

Thank you, put after reading the thread I see some calculating should be made regarding the HW error %

I have:

HW = 1550
DiffA = 187984
DiffR = 480
DiffS = 0

That comes to 0.008 (I guess 0.8%) with the HW / (HW+Diffa+DiffR+DiffS) formula


If this correct? I see hashing power at 200 (poolside)

Less than 1% HW is very good so I would stick with it...


halu
broken_pixel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:22:31 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 03:33:52 AM by broken_pixel
 #111

Thanks for posting the code. i used the 400MHz code on one of my miners that has 0.002% HW errors. The S1 with better Q ASIC chips that I received a few days ago has a crack in the bottom area of the heatsink forward on blade #2 heatsink, meh! The temps vary 3 C on that side. I set up a push pull fan configuration for both of my AMS1s that lowered the temps by 3-4 C.

#2 is OC to 400MHz HW errors, 0.0587326999 %
Chain#   ASIC#   Frequency   Fan   Temp   ASIC status
1
32
400
2520
49 C
xooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
2
32
400
0
46 C
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

#1 is default freq @ 350MHz, she is already in the range of 0.29% HW error rate, still good. zthe cooler I get them at default the less HW errors are produced.

Chain#   ASIC#   Frequency   Fan   Temp   ASIC status
1
32
350
2100
45 C
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
2
32
350
0
45 C
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo


GA-990FXA-UD5, 1x 7970L, 2x S1, AX1200i, RIVBE, 2x R290x, NEX1500, BTC: 1G9cQix8bMgh35MQ9wY3Rb9yNSSCtnoRmK, DGC: DFo9FcKYsutv9Vx5c5xUzkrt7VJdECZWTM, LTC: LaAN33aktPGaimN5ALL9kjHjuJekfmKfTh
broken_pixel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:37:46 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 04:01:09 AM by broken_pixel
 #112

Well this suck, the S1 that performs the least amount of HW errors when deafult or OC gets an x on one of the blades. I will try the 393MHz
AntMiner config, if not time for default 350MHz with nill HW errors.

Chain#   ASIC#   Frequency   Fan   Temp   ASIC status
1
32
400
2520
49
xooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
2
32
400
0
46
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

reboted the S1 and shows no x on an ASIC chip, for now, it has been 2 min Smiley

AntMiner
Chain#   ASIC#   Frequency   Fan   Temp   ASIC status
1
32
400
2520
49
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
2
32
400
0
46
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

So far so good now at 400MHz. . . . . .  Tongue

GA-990FXA-UD5, 1x 7970L, 2x S1, AX1200i, RIVBE, 2x R290x, NEX1500, BTC: 1G9cQix8bMgh35MQ9wY3Rb9yNSSCtnoRmK, DGC: DFo9FcKYsutv9Vx5c5xUzkrt7VJdECZWTM, LTC: LaAN33aktPGaimN5ALL9kjHjuJekfmKfTh
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 04:42:11 AM
 #113

Well this suck, the S1 that performs the least amount of HW errors when deafult or OC gets an x on one of the blades. I will try the 393MHz
AntMiner config, if not time for default 350MHz with nill HW errors.
..............
reboted the S1 and shows no x on an ASIC chip, for now, it has been 2 min Smiley
..............
So far so good now at 400MHz. . . . . .  Tongue


Smiley

Everything's good.  From time to time, the xx's appear.  Sometimes a reboot fixes it, most times, going to the Miner configuration and putting a space at the end of any field and taking it out (basically not changing anything) and hitting save and apply, and voila, xx's gone.

Are you upgraded to the latest firmware?

xx's used to bother me.  Nowadays, I don't even pay attention to them on my 2 S1's.  If they are there, the hash goes down by a few GH/s, sometimes no difference in GH/s performance.  Not enough to worry with the btc diff so high...   Of course, I'm not the best guy to ask on these performance impacts, as I've already gotten much more than my BTC costs I spent so my thoughts now are of the time when I have to turn these S1's off as they are producing less than the electricity costs...  I will be sad when that happens as they're like "pets" in our living room and (I have, dunno about my wife, lol) gotten accustomed to them...





halu
broken_pixel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 07:40:16 AM
 #114

Does anyone know what parameters to change to be able to clock higher than 400MHz? Say 420-450MHz?

GA-990FXA-UD5, 1x 7970L, 2x S1, AX1200i, RIVBE, 2x R290x, NEX1500, BTC: 1G9cQix8bMgh35MQ9wY3Rb9yNSSCtnoRmK, DGC: DFo9FcKYsutv9Vx5c5xUzkrt7VJdECZWTM, LTC: LaAN33aktPGaimN5ALL9kjHjuJekfmKfTh
broken_pixel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 07:43:34 AM
 #115

palawan,

Thanx for the reply, yes my S1s are running the latest FW, the x went away after I rebooted #2.

When it becomes a Cryptographic Currency we consume by mining as you will always be in a loop buying hardware to generated during the current market flux as your wallet within time will always obtain Bitcoins or BTCdust as the market will.

Any Bitcoin dust is beter than no Bitcoin dust no matter the Kw/h, could be 1 = 1.00 or 1= 1200 and so on, damn Xtra IPA Torpedo's.

GA-990FXA-UD5, 1x 7970L, 2x S1, AX1200i, RIVBE, 2x R290x, NEX1500, BTC: 1G9cQix8bMgh35MQ9wY3Rb9yNSSCtnoRmK, DGC: DFo9FcKYsutv9Vx5c5xUzkrt7VJdECZWTM, LTC: LaAN33aktPGaimN5ALL9kjHjuJekfmKfTh
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4116
Merit: 7824


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2014, 02:09:42 PM
 #116

Hi guys I have used the youtube video to oc my ant miner s-1's


and I am creating a master list of s-1's  oc and dc freq's



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=589429.msg6460009#msg6460009


I have

400
393
387
375
350
325
300
250
200
193


You can use this to help with the ssh that you do.

I want to get every possible freq with the hex number value and the timeout number.  I am willing to test every one supplied to my thread.

You use my thread with the op's youtube video to do your ssh   oc and dc.

  my testing has shown enough variance in s-1 to s-1 to say having 40 or 50 freqs would be worth while.

 I want to thank the op for his youtube video as that is how I learned to do ssh.

   And ssh is easier to do on a mac with osx 10.8 or 10.9.   So I end up using a mac mini to do all my ssh work.


▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 09:35:44 PM
 #117

Does anyone know what parameters to change to be able to clock higher than 400MHz? Say 420-450MHz?

Going above the 400MHz ASIC's speed is not a good idea and in addition to that, it will most likely give you less performance.  There's a few posts on page 3 or 4 of this thread, I think, but the details are on another thread that I ran into a while back.

Smiley


halu
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 09:43:12 PM
 #118

Hi guys I have used the youtube video to oc my ant miner s-1's


and I am creating a master list of s-1's  oc and dc freq's



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=589429.msg6460009#msg6460009


I have

400
393
387
375
350
325
300
250
200
193


You can use this to help with the ssh that you do.

I want to get every possible freq with the hex number value and the timeout number.  I am willing to test every one supplied to my thread.

You use my thread with the op's youtube video to do your ssh   oc and dc.

  my testing has shown enough variance in s-1 to s-1 to say having 40 or 50 freqs would be worth while.

 I want to thank the op for his youtube video as that is how I learned to do ssh.

   And ssh is easier to do on a mac with osx 10.8 or 10.9.   So I end up using a mac mini to do all my ssh work.



Very nice thread!  Thank you very much.  I think I'm done with mining as summer is approaching us here where we live.  ssh is the same on osx  and Linux which is nice.




halu
broken_pixel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 04, 2014, 04:45:40 PM
Last edit: May 04, 2014, 04:59:32 PM by broken_pixel
 #119

Hey palawan, can you post the commands for the default frequency of 350MHz and for 375MHz? Much appreciated the heat is building up outside in East Texass as I vent the ass end by a window.  Tongue


GA-990FXA-UD5, 1x 7970L, 2x S1, AX1200i, RIVBE, 2x R290x, NEX1500, BTC: 1G9cQix8bMgh35MQ9wY3Rb9yNSSCtnoRmK, DGC: DFo9FcKYsutv9Vx5c5xUzkrt7VJdECZWTM, LTC: LaAN33aktPGaimN5ALL9kjHjuJekfmKfTh
palawan (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 06:19:29 PM
 #120

Hey palawan, can you post the commands for the default frequency of 350MHz and for 375MHz? Much appreciated the heat is building up outside in East Texass as I vent the ass end by a window.  Tongue


Sadly, I know what you mean  Sad    The codes depend if you used my scripts.  Are you on 400MHz or 393.75MHz?


halu
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!