Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:08:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Real Time Charting, Order Book, and Time & Sales  (Read 82096 times)
RoadTrain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148

The most centralized thing in Bitcoin is expertise


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 10:42:14 PM
 #401

Yeah, I have seen this problem before. I instruct socket.io to force a new connection each time. That could be the issue: an 'error' connection comes back to life and starts getting data or something.

Going with something like socket.io means that there is a bit of black-box to it.

I will continue to tweak and see if it helps.
Thanks.
Btw, I can't get it to work on Firefox. Should I tweak something or is it supposed to be that way?

"The centralization measure is the cost of the option to create a new full node" - Measuring Decentralization
Why Bitcoin XT is a piece of nonsense
I AM HODLING
1481234880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481234880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481234880
Reply with quote  #2

1481234880
Report to moderator
1481234880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481234880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481234880
Reply with quote  #2

1481234880
Report to moderator
1481234880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481234880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481234880
Reply with quote  #2

1481234880
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 10:43:24 PM
 #402

Btw, I can't get it to work on Firefox. Should I tweak something or is it supposed to be that way?

Well it's supposed to work everywhere ;-) That's what socket.io is for.

However, right now if it doesn't work, I would continue to blame Gox until it gets a far more robust streaming solution hosted.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 04:26:00 PM
 #403

I'm having an issue getting the HTML5 Canvas to display in any of my browsers on OS X 10.8.3

I've got it working in Firefox, and moving my scroll wheel up scrolls in, but I can't scroll back out (OS X Natural Scrolling enabled) -- but if I switch it works in Firefox, but no change in Safari in Chrome.

Ok, so the canvas element is accelerated on the graphics card in some browsers. You could be having issues with browser/OS/graphics card incompatibility, though on an Apple computer, it should be pretty tested before release. You could try to disable GPU acceleration of canvas in chrome. I think it's under chrome://flags .

As for scrolling, Firefox fires different events than Chrome and others, and I try to take that into account. As for Natural Scroll, I don't know how that factors into the DoM event model, but after a search, I have not found anything really firm to support OS X scrolling events.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
jordan.dev
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 151



View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 09:35:59 PM
 #404

I'm having an issue getting the HTML5 Canvas to display in any of my browsers on OS X 10.8.3

When I originally opened the site, I scrolled in with my touchpad and it eventually went out of scope and I couldn't get it back.

So far I've tried:

  • Double-clicking (reset) no change.
  • I've also tried clearing my cache in all browsers

Any idea what the issue might be?

I've got it working in Firefox, and moving my scroll wheel up scrolls in, but I can't scroll back out (OS X Natural Scrolling enabled) -- but if I switch it works in Firefox, but no change in Safari in Chrome.




Also some weird output:


Pinching my track pad actually fixed the view in chrome - firefox - but safari is still wacky! too bad mtgox's API falls down so hard at times.

BLOG | PGP | Bitcoin Trading Professionals | Bitfinex Affiliate Code: kwr9f922HS - 10% of trading fees for 30 days | Live Bitfinex Charts
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 01:14:41 PM
 #405

would be nice to see the CURRENT DATE.
i use screenshots of this for tax purposes, and a date would help.
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2013, 02:37:19 PM
 #406

would be nice to see the CURRENT DATE.
i use screenshots of this for tax purposes, and a date would help.

The console output at the bottom of the screen timestamps its messages with the current local time.

Do you want Time & Sales / Chart to be local time?

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 06:44:48 PM
 #407

I have added a real-time lag indicator in the footer, now that MtGox provides the lag figure through the WebSocket.

Before, I was polling from the server and sending that down with the user count, but now it comes directly from MtGox at might higher rates.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
genuise
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 07:24:43 PM
 #408

I have added a real-time lag indicator in the footer, now that MtGox provides the lag figure through the WebSocket.

Before, I was polling from the server and sending that down with the user count, but now it comes directly from MtGox at might higher rates.

Hi, Clark, I took a look into gox stream api page and could not find any lag figure definition. Can you please give a link to the doc where this is described? or if possible can you answer just here?
In what channel, in what message, in which format?

Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 10:03:15 PM
 #409

I have added a real-time lag indicator in the footer, now that MtGox provides the lag figure through the WebSocket.

Before, I was polling from the server and sending that down with the user count, but now it comes directly from MtGox at might higher rates.

Hi, Clark, I took a look into gox stream api page and could not find any lag figure definition. Can you please give a link to the doc where this is described? or if possible can you answer just here?
In what channel, in what message, in which format?

MagicalTux mentioned it in the #mtgox channel on freenode.

Need to send:
Code:
{"op":"mtgox.subscribe", "type":"lag"}

Messages come in with private: lag. Then the lag data structure is:
Code:
{"qid":"af0760d1-4753-480b-9262-94f8768a9691","stamp":"1364335295159812","age":727548}}

Stamp is the timestamp of the measurement. Age is the lag value in microseconds. Qid must be some sort of query ID.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
genuise
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 10:05:08 PM
 #410

thank you for sharing Smiley

chriswilmer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2013, 03:09:39 PM
 #411

Could you update the "group by price" choices? The max is $1 which is starting to be not large enough.
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2013, 04:19:23 PM
 #412

Could you update the "group by price" choices? The max is $1 which is starting to be not large enough.

Heh  Smiley

I guess you're right!

I've added 2.50, 5.00, 10.00, 25.00, 50.00 intervals.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
chriswilmer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2013, 06:00:24 AM
 #413

Could you update the "group by price" choices? The max is $1 which is starting to be not large enough.

Heh  Smiley

I guess you're right!

I've added 2.50, 5.00, 10.00, 25.00, 50.00 intervals.

Thanks, that's awesome! Time to send you a tip...

EDIT: What's your preferred donation address - the one in your forum signature or the address at the bottom of the real-time charts page?
zhalox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


XMR = BTC in 2010. Rise chikun.


View Profile
March 30, 2013, 06:50:52 AM
 #414

Tonight I noticed that the market depth/order book is not updating correctly for some strange reason - if I freshly load the page, the order book will usually show old/incorrect order book data from an earlier point in time.  Eventually it will merge into newer data, but it is still incorrect.  If I leave the page open, orders are usually added & removed fairly often which tends to make it more correct, but it is usually out of date nevertheless.  Is there perhaps cached order book data being stored somewhere that is causing this?  I've noticed it happen on multiple computers this evening, especially when some large bids came in above $90, but when I refreshed the page they disappeared and it displayed incorrect cached? data.  I also tried testing in a Chrome incognito window and it did the same thing too...

FanaticMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 30, 2013, 12:28:33 PM
 #415

Tonight I noticed that the market depth/order book is not updating correctly for some strange reason - if I freshly load the page, the order book will usually show old/incorrect order book data from an earlier point in time.  Eventually it will merge into newer data, but it is still incorrect.  If I leave the page open, orders are usually added & removed fairly often which tends to make it more correct, but it is usually out of date nevertheless.  Is there perhaps cached order book data being stored somewhere that is causing this?  I've noticed it happen on multiple computers this evening, especially when some large bids came in above $90, but when I refreshed the page they disappeared and it displayed incorrect cached? data.  I also tried testing in a Chrome incognito window and it did the same thing too...

I'm seeing this too since late evening 3/29. Asks list is slightly incorrect, Bids list is severely distorted - whole price regions are missing. Tried FF14, MSIE9, Chrome24 - all show the same. "Group by price" doesn't help too. Clark, please have a look at it when you will have a chance! Thank you in advance!

Give me coins or give me death!
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2013, 02:58:34 PM
 #416

I'm seeing this too since late evening 3/29. Asks list is slightly incorrect, Bids list is severely distorted - whole price regions are missing. Tried FF14, MSIE9, Chrome24 - all show the same. "Group by price" doesn't help too. Clark, please have a look at it when you will have a chance! Thank you in advance!

Fixed. I've got a long-running process that polls the MtGox order book, and it works most of the time...

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
FanaticMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 30, 2013, 04:51:15 PM
 #417

I'm seeing this too since late evening 3/29. Asks list is slightly incorrect, Bids list is severely distorted - whole price regions are missing. Tried FF14, MSIE9, Chrome24 - all show the same. "Group by price" doesn't help too. Clark, please have a look at it when you will have a chance! Thank you in advance!

Fixed. I've got a long-running process that polls the MtGox order book, and it works most of the time...

Back to perfection! Thank you so much!

Give me coins or give me death!
zhalox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


XMR = BTC in 2010. Rise chikun.


View Profile
March 30, 2013, 07:22:18 PM
 #418

Yes, I just noticed today that it will load the page once and the time & sales does not display trades  any more - it never updates...

Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:31:09 PM
 #419

Yes, I just noticed today that it will load the page once and the time & sales does not display trades  any more - it never updates...

If the 'lag' measure is updating in the footer, then there is data coming over the socket. That metric comes in often.

I'm not relaying, or in any way controlling, the MtGox data: it comes directly from the exchange. Any connection problems are from MtGox.

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
Clark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540


So much code.


View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:32:00 PM
 #420

EDIT: What's your preferred donation address - the one in your forum signature or the address at the bottom of the real-time charts page?

Either  Grin

PGP KEY | 1Bitcoin3Tg2KWyAq3wzivdqwYqGwKYaGd
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!