Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:54:53 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What speed are your getting CPU mining TENEBRIX?  (Read 12232 times)
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 08:19:34 PM
 #101

Damn it !!! How can I optimize my crap 2600K !?

You folks with AMD Phenom II at 3.6 GHz getting 16 khash/s on only 5 cores
Me with Intel 2600K at 4.2 GHz getting 9 khash/s on all 8 threads

Fuck Intel !

The 2600K doesn't have 8 real cores.  It merely tricks the OS into thinking there are 2 cores for each real core to keep the CPU more efficiently loaded. Internally there are 4 actual cores.  


HT isn't a performance doubler because the CPU only has 4 physical cores not 8.  Some applications perform slightly faster w/ HT.  Some perform faster w/ HT off.  All out database servers have HT turned off for example because we see higher throughput w/ HT turned off.  The more the pipeline can be kept full the less advantage HT provides (eventually reducing performance when pipeline is continually full).   

Your comparison should be based on 4 cores not 8. The 2600K has 4 cores and will perform as 4 core processor when performance per thread is maxed out.

Damn it ! Should have waited till Bulldozer with 8 REAL cores !!! FU Intel.
1481277293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277293
Reply with quote  #2

1481277293
Report to moderator
1481277293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277293
Reply with quote  #2

1481277293
Report to moderator
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481277293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481277293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481277293
Reply with quote  #2

1481277293
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 08:21:14 PM
 #102

new windows binaries

http://www.wuala.com/jbw9/pub/Bitcoin/Tenebrix/miner/win/

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 08:34:29 PM
 #103


Like THAT will help. Scrypt just sucks on Intel because of architecture just like Nvidia sucks at SHA256 etc.

Use SC2. Probably a trojan in there too.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 10, 2011, 08:47:01 PM
 #104

Damn it ! Should have waited till Bulldozer with 8 REAL cores !!! FU Intel.

Intel makes true 8 core chips. 
http://ark.intel.com/products/53575/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E7-8850-(24M-Cache-2_00-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI)

10 core even
http://ark.intel.com/products/53677/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E7-8830-(24M-Cache-2_13-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI)
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 10, 2011, 08:50:37 PM
 #105


Any possibility of a core i7 AVX build?

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
October 10, 2011, 09:02:55 PM
 #106


Like THAT will help. Scrypt just sucks on Intel because of architecture just like Nvidia sucks at SHA256 etc.

Use SC2. Probably a trojan in there too.

Intel doesnt suck that much actually. I have a g6950 @ 3.8ghz doin nearly 3.7kh / core. Also, my i3 550 @ home @ 4ghz does 4kh/core
Sure, still not as good as AMD but a lot closer then some of the posted results ive seen in the forum.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 09:06:11 PM
 #107


Paying 2000 USD just for the CPU = EPIC !

Care to explain please with idiot proof instructions on 64bit linux

Quote
Intel doesnt suck that much actually. I have a g6950 @ 3.8ghz doin nearly 3.7kh / core. Also, my i3 550 @ home @ 4ghz does 4kh/core
Sure, still not as good as AMD but a lot closer then some of the posted results ive seen in the forum.

If I can get my 2600K to do 30 khash/s in total then it is worth it. Otherwise, no. AMD folks easily getting 34 khash/s with their junk chips.
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 09:15:47 PM
 #108

I think that Intel makes and markets them only for the very narrow niche where some "enterprise software" licenses are sold "per-socket".

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 10, 2011, 09:25:50 PM
 #109

I think that Intel makes and markets them only for the very narrow niche where some "enterprise software" licenses are sold "per-socket".

Which is exactly where we use them.  You either pay intel or you pay Microsoft.  Either way you are going to pay.  Personally I prefer paying Intel.  Too bad AMD DB performance is craptastic (well that is an exaggeration) or someday we may have a some AMD heavy iron.  Then again if you are old enough you remember the saying "Nobody ever got fired buying IBM".  Well today it is "Nobody ever got fired buying Intel".  Not sure I would be willing to put my career on the line for a $20K+ AMD Server. 
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 09:29:52 PM
 #110

I think that Intel makes and markets them only for the very narrow niche where some "enterprise software" licenses are sold "per-socket".

Which is exactly where we use them.  You either pay intel or you pay Microsoft.  Either way you are going to pay.  Personally I prefer paying Intel.  Too bad AMD DB performance is craptastic (well that is an exaggeration) or someday we may have a some AMD heavy iron.  Then again if you are old enough you remember the saying "Nobody ever got fired buying IBM".  Well today it is "Nobody ever got fired buying Intel".  Not sure I would be willing to put my career on the line for a $20K+ AMD Server. 

AMD + Linux = you don't pay anyone Wink
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 10:17:52 PM
 #111

AMD + Linux = you don't pay anyone Wink

You don't have to pay system admin's.  Wow.
Spoken like a 14 year old script kiddie with no concept of Total Cost of Ownership.

Linux isn't free.  Hate to break it to you but the cost of the OS is almost immaterial in the total lifecycle cost of most projects.

So moving  140TB production and mission critical database to Linux platform would be free?
Buying AMD servers, benchmarking them, and ensuring they can handle system load would be free (don't forget salary time spent doing so)?
Converting couple million lines of T-SQL into PL-SQL or equivalent would be free?
Putting my entire career on the line to save a couple thousand dollars (pennies in our IT budget) would be free?
Firing our 24/7 windows/SQL Server support team, hiring and training Linux & Oracle admins would be free?

Any system disruptions, delays, downtimes, and reduced performance on a 24/7 mission critical server would be free?

In the real world companies really don't care about cost when it comes to mission critical hardware.  Nobody looks to save a nickle if there is a risk to uptime.  I sure as hell am not going to suggest a move from a stable known platform to a completely unknown platform just to save a couple grand.  We tend to upgrade servers once every 4 years.  Say we could save $500 per CPU x 8 CPU = $4000 every 4 years = $1000 annually.  Not even 0.1% of IT budget.  Ditching SQL Server would save us some coin but Oracle would cost even more.  Windows Enterprise + SQL Server Datacenter COMBINED is cheaper than equivelent Oracle license.  Moving our mission critical server to MySQL or PostgreSQL?  I am not going to be the one pushing for it.

Seems like you know your stuff. Well done. I was talking about home PCs though Smiley
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 10:32:17 PM
 #112

Which is exactly where we use them.  You either pay intel or you pay Microsoft.  Either way you are going to pay.  Personally I prefer paying Intel.  Too bad AMD DB performance is craptastic (well that is an exaggeration) or someday we may have a some AMD heavy iron.  Then again if you are old enough you remember the saying "Nobody ever got fired buying IBM".  Well today it is "Nobody ever got fired buying Intel".  Not sure I would be willing to put my career on the line for a $20K+ AMD Server. 
Yeah, I do agree with you to a large extent. Intel has a much better control of their sales channel than the AMD. Intel is also better at publishing the utilities that allow for testing the CPU without disassembling the heatsinks.

But historically Intel also had problems with the resellers of their whitebox server line. (I'm not sure if they are still making the whole servers, for sure they do whitebox motherboards that carry no prominent "Intel" mark.)

In summary I'd say that the current version of this maxim would be: "You are much less likely to get fired for buying Intel than for buying AMD."

By the way, on our tests IOMMU in 64-bit AMDs provides generally better performance than the comparable Intel technology. However we use custom-written database engines, not the obvious market leading ones. Overall I'm pretty much agnostic in this battle, we support Intel&AMD&others 32&64-bit, Intel Itanium, IBM POWER&z/Arch,Sun/Fujitsu/Oracle SPARC. We still have happy paying customers for Digital Alpha,HP PA/RISC, only the SGI MIPS machines dropped out of support.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 02:53:01 AM
 #113

Less than one day until we see another difficulty increase

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 03:20:30 AM
 #114

Less than one day until we see another difficulty increase
Thanks for the windows compile,would send 1 TBX for your work if there was an address available.


Cheers !

If you believe this post has helped,please donate-

1JfwAiV8WbT9HtmQVvnkJ6KwUy9gLjzxdK
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2011, 03:47:25 AM
 #115


Seems like you know your stuff. Well done. I was talking about home PCs though Smiley

Which is it? He knows' his shit or he knows' he's shit?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 04:29:02 AM
 #116


Seems like you know your stuff. Well done. I was talking about home PCs though Smiley

Which is it? He knows' his shit or he knows' he's shit?

LOL epic one mate. He knows his stuff. Enough said !
panerai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 02:33:22 PM
 #117

64bit for windows would be awesome
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 08:56:02 PM
 #118

Do people trust tacotime to run binaries from him on their machines? (i suck at remembering people's names, so i dunno if i saw him elsewhere doing things that would've earned my trust)

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 11, 2011, 10:25:04 PM
 #119

64bit for windows would be awesome

If you got Intel then TBX sucks !
If you running Windows then TBX sucks !

They are too lazy to make optimizations so that Intel = AMD and Linux = Windows. Mine SC2 !
panerai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
October 12, 2011, 02:06:19 AM
 #120

64bit for windows would be awesome

If you got Intel then TBX sucks !
If you running Windows then TBX sucks !

They are too lazy to make optimizations so that Intel = AMD and Linux = Windows. Mine SC2 !


im sure 'they' will catch up and get to it eventually, no rush. Shit, if I knew how I'd do it myself...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!