Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:44:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm mining problems with 6950  (Read 14990 times)
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 06:15:08 PM
 #1

had 5870 and 5970 (both working in another dedicated machine now) and almost all possible driver & stream combinations - everything worked fine

yesterday i swapped 5970 in my desktop with 6950 and problems started

when i have poclbm running (poclbm.exe --verbose --vectors --worksize=128 --frames=120 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=xxxxx@xxxxx --pass=xxxxx --device=0)

i have 297-335 Mhash/s (depending if it is overclocked and shaders unlocked or not)

but my system freeze instantly (before playback actually starts) when try to play any video in media player classic or flash video in browser

that never happened before with 5870 or 5970, psu is fine and i can put 5970 and 5870 at the same time without problems

6950 seems completely stable (furmark, crysis warhead, futuremark) and i can play videos for hours without any problems (with both oc or default, and same with shaders) and stays below 80 celsius

what i tried so far:
uninstalled and used driver sweper on all ati stuff, tried fresh installations of 10.11, 11.2 and 11.4
it is mining ok, but it stays the same - i have instant (with 10.11 not instant - i can move cursor for few more seconds) freeze - happens only with poclbm running

will try diablo tomorrow, anyone have any other ideas what to check?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 08:17:28 PM
 #2

small update:

it is just graphic card that freezes
i can continue skype call for another 20 minutes without any problems even when nothing changes on the screen, mouse and keyboard seems dead though

happened again when i just entered 'video' tab in catalyst control centre during skype conversation so i guess it may be just some software glitch

will try to setup another windows installation tomorrow and will see if it happen again
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 03:08:23 AM
 #3

I have the same problem too. It's very likely driver related, since it also happened on the 5850, but it was fixed on that around catalyst 10.3. Whenever the UVD functions are accessed on the card when GPGPU / Stream applications are running, the thing locks up HARD. It also affects other gpgpu apps, I can confirm ighashgpu doing it.

What OS are you running? I had the problem on Vista x86 with a 5850 (fixed in Catalyst 10.3), and now on Win7 x64 with a 6950 (not fixed so far).

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
os008
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 11:27:35 AM
 #4

Just some guesses, but try it without "--vectors --worksize=128". Also, does it happen when you have it overclocked or otherwise?

2x5850 @ 600[M|K]H/s
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 12:01:43 PM
 #5

Driver issue related buddy, was you using youtube/flash player/video player at the same with ? If yes, your screen will be freeze when you turn poclbm on =D , I'm using 6950 and have exactly the same problem.
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 12:41:02 PM
 #6

I have the same problem too. It's very likely driver related, since it also happened on the 5850, but it was fixed on that around catalyst 10.3. Whenever the UVD functions are accessed on the card when GPGPU / Stream applications are running, the thing locks up HARD. It also affects other gpgpu apps, I can confirm ighashgpu doing it.

What OS are you running? I had the problem on Vista x86 with a 5850 (fixed in Catalyst 10.3), and now on Win7 x64 with a 6950 (not fixed so far).

just found your another post - it is w7 x64 and i can confirm gpuz issue too
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 12:54:40 PM
 #7

My idea is install 11.2 & 2.3 for both the cards.
When installing, install only these 4 & don't install anyother.
ATI display driver, APP 2.3, Ati catalyst install manager, VC++ These 4 only.
Before installing this, uninstall everything of ati drivers using some uninstallers like REVO uninstaller.
In REVO uninstaller select advanced to completely remove everything of ati drivers.
It must solve your problem.
You need to install drivers 2 times. First install 5000 series card & driver, then insert 6000 series card in system & install driver for that.  

Also in pocblm use these flag only -v -w128. only these 2, -v= vectors & -w=worksize
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 03:18:05 PM
 #8

The way you install your drivers, or how you are running poclbm, they won't make a difference. Any combination of Stream/gpgpu work + UVD will lock the card.

Since the 10.4 early preview doesn't have it fixed, chances are we will have to wait at least until the 10.5 drivers for a fix.

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 03:46:30 PM
 #9

The way you install your drivers, or how you are running poclbm, they won't make a difference. Any combination of Stream/gpgpu work + UVD will lock the card.

Since the 10.4 early preview doesn't have it fixed, chances are we will have to wait at least until the 10.5 drivers for a fix.

U meaning UVD by saying accelerated video output (overlay), using hardware acceleration?
If yes, then is it the one in red circle in this post?
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4533.msg66990#msg66990

Then as i said in that post, i am running miner with out any problem when watching videos with -f1.
My miners got never affected, but my videos get affect. It moves frame by frame & audio is slightly slow i can say. But watching video is frame by frame on a mkv, avi, dflv,divx.....files. But miner never gets affected & so do core clock or mem clock.
I think you installing the catalyst control center comes with ati driver..& hydra....many extra things that causes the problem.
As i said before, just install ati display driver, app 2.3, catalyst INSTALL manager (NOT CONTROL) & vc++. The system must be fine at least with one card.
I can't able to test with 2 cards as my mobo has one pci ex only. If not i can easily check with my old 9400GT.
I am using now windows 7 32 bit, HD6870 card & mining at 270 Mhash/s after some Over clocking.
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 04:27:01 PM
 #10

The 6870 isn't affected, the 6950 is...

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 06:48:21 PM
 #11

The third digit is the relative quality, within a series- a 5850 is less powerful than a 5870
3rd digit here is 5 & 7 at 5850 & 5870.

Typically, a card of a higher series will always have more processing power than a card in a lower series, even if the relative quality is better (a 5770 will be outperformed by a 5850).

Means a 5870 will be speeder than a 5850 & also a 5950 will be speeder than or equal to 5850 , but speeder than 5870.
(I know 5950 doesn't exist, just for theoretical comparison)

The max speed order will be like
5950
5870
5850

or
5950>=5870
5870>5850

The second digit also says about performance. the higher the number the more the speed/performance.

so, naturally a 6950 >= 6870

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon#Naming_scheme


5000 series works best with 10.12 & 2.1 sdk, & 6000 series works with 11.2 & 2.3 APP
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 06:50:03 PM
 #12

Can confirm same issues when trying any video playback (Youtube, MPC-HC, etc.)

6950 with w7 x64 - 11.4 and OpenCL2.4 (same issue with OCL 2.3 and 11.2).

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 10:29:16 PM
 #13

as for mpc-hc it will work just fine with output set to vmr-9 instead of default evr

most annoying thing is flash, even with flashblock i keep forgetting and have 2-3 restarts a day

typo corrected
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 04:47:19 PM
 #14

VMR-9?

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
Drako
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
March 29, 2011, 06:09:11 PM
 #15

anyone tried new catalyst 11.3 to see if it fixed the freezing problems?

m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
March 29, 2011, 06:43:09 PM
 #16

no changes still hangs,

they include amdocl.dll version 2.4.595.9 in 11.3 and in 11.4 released on 23th march

i see ~5000 khash/s drop with 6950 comparing to amdocl.dll 2.4.595.0 that is included in 7th march 11.4

11.3 are not worth downloading from mining point of view

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/Catalyst114earlypreview.aspx

but as for 23th march 11.4 - significant improvement there  Tongue - it now hangs instantly (i could move cursor for around for 10 sec with 7th march 11.4, 11.3 & 11.2)
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
April 10, 2011, 05:02:21 PM
 #17

Apparently, the 6990 (with catalyst 11.3) locks up too, but it can perform a driver reset and recover without rebooting. It is still not possible to watch movies + do gpgpu apps together, however.

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
Dr. Arnold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
April 10, 2011, 06:46:09 PM
 #18

Same problem with my 6950 and this is the main reason I don't mine when I actually want to use my computer.
For flash objects if you right click, go to settings and uncheck "enable hardware acceleration" it shouldn't use your gpu any longer. Could be a problem if your cpu isn't powerful enough render full screen flash videos though.
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
April 11, 2011, 03:17:27 AM
 #19

Same problem with my 6950 and this is the main reason I don't mine when I actually want to use my computer.
For flash objects if you right click, go to settings and uncheck "enable hardware acceleration" it shouldn't use your gpu any longer. Could be a problem if your cpu isn't powerful enough render full screen flash videos though.
It will still crash with hardware acceleration disabled in flash. I guess the problem is more related to the video overlay than UVD itself?

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
April 16, 2011, 11:50:31 AM
 #20

Have 6950 1GB version and same problem.

Fixed flash issues with disabling the acceleration from right clicking flash and unticking it. I also unticked hardware acceleration from firefox 4 settings.

But I still have trouble trying to watch videos... Is there any video player that doesn't want any help from gfx card?

Found this link also:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=128404&enterthread=y

Hope for fix x-x

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!