Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 04:02:12 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 7nm Avalon ASIC (A3207) • AvalonMiner A9 • 0.06-0.07 J/GH  (Read 2997 times)
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1013


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2018, 08:31:38 PM
Merited by suchmoon (7)
 #1

Looks like redtheminer spilled the beans first:
https://twitter.com/redtheminer/status/1024307705006022657

  • Product: AvalonMiner A9 series
  • Speed: 26.5TH/s - 30TH/s
  • Power: 1720 W (typical)
  • Energy efficiency: 0.06~0.07 J/GH
  • Chip: A3207 7nm ASIC
  • Fan: 1x 14038 fan
  • Note: Subject to changes(translation?)

1540137732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540137732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540137732
Reply with quote  #2

1540137732
Report to moderator
1540137732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540137732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540137732
Reply with quote  #2

1540137732
Report to moderator
1540137732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540137732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540137732
Reply with quote  #2

1540137732
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540137732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540137732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540137732
Reply with quote  #2

1540137732
Report to moderator
1540137732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540137732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540137732
Reply with quote  #2

1540137732
Report to moderator
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 08:38:56 PM
 #2

Sweet. Will be interesting to see the pricing of it.

Along these lines, wonder if Blokforge.com upgraded my recent order for an APW3++ to the 1,800w APW7 (for free) because they know I'll be getting some of these. Safe bet Blokforge knew about these coming out and being the superb company they are them giving the free upgrade would not surprise me in the least Smiley

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2018, 08:44:12 PM
 #3

Cryptouniverse (official Canaan distributor) also posted news about this: https://www.cryptouniverse.at/canaan-announces-avalonminer-a9-the-most-efficient-7nm-bitcoin-miner-in-2018/

toptek12
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 09:05:47 PM
 #4

I wonder if they will get the power usage down more over time not that it matters it doesn't i have solar i can run three of those in my house with no issue the only pain i see is the noise level those fans do 61 Db .. but id like to see the power usage go down as the th goes up that would be nicer to see . but they beat out the one i linked from Blokforge.com some place that maxes out at 33 th i think it was and usages close to 4 k WATS at max, i think it was that claimed to be 7nm due in Nov 2018 .  The GMO miner B3 33TH/S miner Blokforge has as a per order. but the A9 looks like it can be better.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 12:51:17 AM
 #5

the pangolin  M10 is 33,000 gh at 2145 or 65 watts a th

don't know if it has speed settings like the avalon 841 has


the avalon a9 is 26,500 at 1,720 =  64.9 watts a th


don't know if it has speed settings  but reads 26,500 to 30,000


I would love to set it to 1720 watts  as 3 fit on a 30 amp 240 volt nicely  doing 5160

So

 Avalon .....  A9 ...........................64.9 watts
 Pangolin.... M10 .........................65.0 watts
 Innosilicon. T2 Turbo................... 71.0 watts
 GMO......... forgot the name......... 82.0 watts
 BitMain...... S9 .......................... 100 watts

all per th  


So bitmain keeps selling the cheap s9's til ?

I am looking forward to getting some avalons asap

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 34

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2018, 12:55:37 AM
 #6

I wonder if the Avalon will still have the 30 deg C limit? Is that due to only being a single fan?

Shazam!!!
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 157


#takeminingback


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2018, 01:05:54 AM
 #7

I wonder if the Avalon will still have the 30 deg C limit? Is that due to only being a single fan?

I'm not entirely sure if this issue was resolved, but I thought it was firmware related. I've run my 841's all summer at
32°c to 41°c with no issues. Pushed high one day to 42°c and I dropped them to the -1 offset.

Either way, I'm "all in" waiting for this release. Great company!!!

Click these links to learn some truth about Big Corporate mining pools stealing your money and centralizing BTCitcoin!!!
Help support the BTCitcoin community!!! Mine your BTCitcoin at a non-Corporate pool!!! BTC: 1ShazamjsPnpWDNnk3n2tAiKGMdXaSjay
I mine BTCitcoin at a non-Corporate pool with no hidden fees, no empty BTClocks: Kano Pool   ■ get Kano Pool signature banners here ■
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 54

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2018, 01:17:42 AM
 #8

I'm not entirely sure if this issue was resolved, but I thought it was firmware related. I've run my 841's all summer at
32°c to 41°c with no issues. Pushed high one day to 42°c and I dropped them to the -1 offset.

Either way, I'm "all in" waiting for this release. Great company!!!

Same, up to 40C here ambient with mediocre exhaust still . .  not recommended though. Have to watch my PSU's not my avalons at these temps I'm seeing though summer now.

Fun day for announcements, glad Canaan will be ready for market soon. Was there word on pricing? 26-30th/s is broad range for them though. Speculation on end result and wattage?

Thanks for the break down philipma, always appreciated.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 01:38:07 AM
 #9

They run at 40 c  but drop efficiency  841's do this.

30c  they are more efficient

but -1 or -2 settings help efficiency .

This year we had 1 hot week  and my 841's ran in 92f 95f 97f 94f   days with zero issues ... both the s9's and t1's dropped boards with those temps

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 38

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 02:18:00 AM
 #10

Interesting to note that 1720 watts is right up against the power limit for running (2) on a 220V 20amp circuit continuouosly. 

20 amps /2 = 10 amps * 80% max = 8 amps * 220V = 1760Watts.

Nice design point!

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 02:21:34 AM
 #11

Interesting to note that 1720 watts is right up against the power limit for running (2) on a 220V 20amp circuit continuouosly. 

20 amps /2 = 10 amps * 80% max = 8 amps * 220V = 1760Watts.

Nice design point!

yeah works for 10 amp circuits =rare
20 amp common
30 amp common
50 amp less common

would really like a mini version  13000gh and 850 watts  but that is not going to happen.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mgoz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 25


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 01:33:56 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #12

I have seen recent activity on the Avalon 851 firmware and guessing it's probably for this unless they are releasing a slower model first like they did with the 821. Hopefully you'll be able to chain these with the 8's.


So bitmain keeps selling the cheap s9's til ?

I'd guess that they are just waiting to shit on the competition. If they already have something similar or more efficient, they could sell it at 2x's current S9 price and still be cheaper than everyone else.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 02:35:46 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #13

Hopefully you'll be able to chain these with the 8's.

Why? Is a bad idea...
As with the 7 & 8's the miners will be using different firmware and unless ran at default settings will no doubt want different Vcore voltage/offset tweaks. Even mixing within 1 family is not a good idea, aside from the tweaks, if you update firmware ALL miners on the controller are updated to it. Trust me: a 721 does not like thinking it just became a 741.-- been there, done that and fortunately was easy to back out of. Same for the 8's. RasPi's are cheap so it is best to just take the most sensible course

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1362


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 03:09:32 PM
 #14

Why? Is a bad idea...
As with the 7 & 8's the miners will be using different firmware and unless ran at default settings will no doubt want different Vcore voltage/offset tweaks. Even mixing within 1 family is not a good idea, aside from the tweaks, if you update firmware ALL miners on the controller are updated to it. Trust me: a 721 does not like thinking it just became a 741.-- been there, done that and fortunately was easy to back out of. Same for the 8's. RasPi's are cheap so it is best to just take the most sensible course

yeah   3 avalon long chains are close to bullet proof.
that is 12 per rasp pi.
and a rasp pi can be built for under 80 dollars

https://www.amazon.com/CanaKit-Raspberry-Starter-Premium-Black/dp/B07BCC8PK7/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?

so pick up  a few of them.
it only runs into a big expense if you go to a 1200 miner build as  105 at 80 = 8040
if you go to this level  you should consider a server  that does more the 4 usb ports. chains that a rasp pi does.

chains of 5 have a bit more errors then chains of 4 which have a bit more errors then chains of 3 which are close to error free.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mgoz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 25


View Profile
August 01, 2018, 03:46:10 PM
 #15

Why? Is a bad idea...

Mainly so I don't have to add a switch, more controllers, cabling, and create more points of failure. I fully understand the issues with upgrading firmware and that under/overclocking settings will apply to all units. I run on default settings and currently mix 821 and 841 units without issues.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1013


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2018, 07:50:17 PM
 #16

https://twitter.com/stevenmosher/status/1024605157902835712

7nm  256 cores per chip  ( 2x)  the 16nm



https://twitter.com/stevenmosher/status/1024605165200932864

chips bring up

Thetaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 108


View Profile
August 02, 2018, 10:41:07 AM
 #17

Looking forward to this Smiley
Steamtyme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 392

Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2018, 04:57:16 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #18

Hmmm.

Now I have to find somewhere to Install another 30 amp circuit.

Can't wait to see if this offers the same flexibility in voltage settings. They've been a lifesaver running the 841 during the hot summer.

Maybe they'll bundle 3 together and sell them like the "moose", call it the "deer". A nice home miner setup.

minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 54

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2018, 07:19:56 PM
 #19

Hmmm.

Now I have to find somewhere to Install another 30 amp circuit.

Can't wait to see if this offers the same flexibility in voltage settings. They've been a lifesaver running the 841 during the hot summer.

Maybe they'll bundle 3 together and sell them like the "moose", call it the "deer". A nice home miner setup.

That would be nice, so a 30A 240v will run three? Maybe I'll wait on some upgrades if this is the case.

mgoz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 25


View Profile
August 02, 2018, 08:13:50 PM
 #20

so a 30A 240v will run three?

Listed wattage would put you around 21.5 amps for 3 units and 14.3 amps for 2 units.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!