Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2019, 04:11:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BTC Miner Snow Panther B1+  (Read 1324 times)
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
October 16, 2018, 06:13:31 AM
Last edit: October 16, 2018, 09:40:32 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (5), dbshck (2)
 #21

So here are more pics.

It has 4 hash boards, 2 PCIe on each 6 pin, 4 pin on control board and another 2 pin connector also on the controller board.
It uses ASIC Boost so you need a pool with that, I use Slushpool, Bitfily suggests "www.dpool.top slushpool.com and www.poolin.com/"
The Miner console is well done and typical, has a bug that shows IP as 0.0.0.0 so do jot down the IP.
They start up and run full speed in about 5 minutes, I had an issue because of trying to connect to Antpool and they don't accept ASICBoost, when I switched to Slushpool they hashed real well right away, see Status screen capture, temps are wonderful and stable, much better than the T9+'s next to them.
One shows the red "fault" light blinking but since it's happily hashing am not gonna reboot till Wednesday when I have to disconnect for a power setup change.
Packaging just like Antminers but they include the PSU in the same box.

Very happy camper here.

https://i.imgur.com/hlnpVc3.png
https://i.imgur.com/RsEzmHd.png
https://i.imgur.com/wpT5As9.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/xlSOwoo.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/BYIbwFL.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/NX6Gmgz.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/5KIBIKQ.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/iAGkqP3.jpg



I was also wondering did you have to get it through a re seller? The website has a MOQ of 100 when I check. I've been watching your updates and gathering info before adding them to that pinned thread.
Thanks for taking the time to update the community.

My sales person can pool a few of us together, even with different shipping addresses since I am working with possible distributors in Mexico.

Glad I can contribute.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 89


View Profile
October 16, 2018, 01:41:15 PM
 #22

Thank you for the pics and reviews!

Miners:
Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2, Avalon 821 x 6, Innosilicon A4+, L3+ x 3
vincl
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 330
Merit: 18


View Profile
October 16, 2018, 02:03:46 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 12:05:32 AM by frodocooper
 #23

So here are more pics.

It has 4 hash boards, 2 PCIe on each 6 pin, 4 pin on control board and another 2 pin connector also on the controller board.
It uses ASIC Boost so you need a pool with that, I use Slushpool, Bitfily suggests "www.dpool.top slushpool.com and www.poolin.com/"

slushpool works for you? on slush i only get about 19-20 TH/s with this miner
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1303


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 16, 2018, 03:06:49 PM
 #24

...
It uses ASIC Boost so you need a pool with that, I use Slushpool, Bitfily suggests "www.dpool.top slushpool.com and www.poolin.com/"
In addition to those, current list of pools supporting AB:
http://kano.is
https://bitminter.com
http://solo.ckpool.org
http://ckpool.org
https://www.f2pool.com

May be more, but I don't care as I only mine at Kano (and have no miners that use AB).

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1151



View Profile WWW
October 16, 2018, 03:24:43 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 12:06:34 AM by frodocooper
 #25

Thanks for the updates. I'll add them to the current hardware thread, with a link here for the discussion about the miner.

My sales person can pool a few of us together, even with different shipping addresses since I am working with possible distributors in Mexico.

Just to be sure when you bought your it was part of a 100 unit order? Sounds like you were pooled in with others/businesses.

Any chance you have or took a photo of the shipment? I'm just trying to get an idea of how many of these they were able to deliver or ship out so far. Anyways I'm satisfied that I've seen at least one.

ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 10:37:47 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2018, 10:46:01 PM by frodocooper
 #26

Thanks for the updates. I'll add them to the current hardware thread, with a link here for the discussion about the miner.

Just to be sure when you bought your it was part of a 100 unit order? Sounds like you were pooled in with others/businesses.

Any chance you have or took a photo of the shipment? I'm just trying to get an idea of how many of these they were able to deliver or ship out so far. Anyways I'm satisfied that I've seen at least one.

I was pooled with others, can do it again. They have in stock a batch of 23.5 TH/s if interested, next batch unknown date.

By shipment, you mean photo of the boxes arriving? No, they pooled me in with others but shipped direct to me.



slushpool works for you? on slush i only get about 19-20 TH/s with this miner

Yeah, had a "scoring hash rate" of 50.27 with both before I had to power down for other issues.
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1028



View Profile
November 02, 2018, 04:30:09 AM
 #27

DO pay close attention to the power specs for this! The miner CANNOT use a normal PSU. It requires 2 different voltage inputs, one for the control board and a higher voltage one for the hash boards.
From their site:
3. If the voltage for the miner’s control board doesn’t range from 10.8V to 13.2V and the voltage for the hash boards doesn’t range from 14.5V to 15.5V, the miner may fail to work or even breaks.

If you look at their PSU for the miner it is dual voltage out...

Just like Innosilicon's T2 miners... It looks that this is a common practice these days...

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
November 27, 2018, 01:48:40 AM
 #28

Since Antpool now supports ASIC Boost I switched 2 of this there and they do hash but at about 20 TH/s, almost 20% drop from Slushpool, not sure if this happens with other AB miners.
chipi48
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 8


View Profile
November 28, 2018, 10:34:37 PM
 #29

hey ZimbaCardi, do you speak spanish? I can't send you a pm. I am facing some serious problem regarding the psu.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
December 08, 2018, 03:10:10 AM
 #30

Sorry for the late reply, tried PMing you but you have it so newbies can't PM you.
I do speak spanish.
This miner comes with it's own PSU, if you are trying something else I'm afraid it'll be an engineering project of it's own.
Other than that; How can I help?
chipi48
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 8


View Profile
December 21, 2018, 09:56:08 PM
Last edit: December 24, 2018, 10:57:49 PM by chipi48
 #31

@ZimbaCardi, PM'd you. At least, I tried  Tongue
It's just about temperature conditions, my B1+'s psu cannot handle 32C and above, it makes the miner crash. Have you experienced something similar?
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 06:01:07 PM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #32

Like Chipi48 said there is an issue with some of the PSU's when at 32C or above, 2 even shorted the cable connecting the mainboard, 1 PSU survived other had to be replaced, Bitfily did replace the cables and connectors at no cost to my Freight forwarder in China (Cost to get here is a different story).

They asked to receive the damaged PSU before sending the replacement. I just bought another one since shipping to China was USD $75, they will send and extra cable and Mainboard for my troubles so I am very happy with their customer support, they are just far is all.
chipi48
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 8


View Profile
March 27, 2019, 03:02:08 PM
Merited by ZimbaCardi (1)
 #33

I am glad to know that, ZimbaCardi. I have positive feedback too about post-sale service of Bitfily, but same as you, I had to pay customs taxes.  They have send me a PSU that is capable of handle hotter conditions. Is OK now.
One thing that has helped me is use 2 PSU per Asic. I mean, one psu for 2 hashboards. It works very well.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
March 28, 2019, 02:02:37 AM
 #34

Great idea, thank you, merit given, Try that with some regular computer PSU's I have laying around? Smiley

I believe the only "odd" current on The B1+ is for the Mainboard. Any idea if the Hashboards are the the usual 12V?

Have to read the manual before I go try this, hope it is regular PCIe voltage.
chipi48
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 8


View Profile
March 28, 2019, 02:58:59 PM
Last edit: March 29, 2019, 11:02:49 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #35

Hey, thank you for the merit @ZimbaCardi  Cheesy

I am not a electronic specialist like many here, but I think is not very good idea to connect conventional Psu to B1.

User NotFuzzyWarm already talked about that

DO pay close attention to the power specs for this! The miner CANNOT use a normal PSU. It requires 2 different voltage inputs, one for the control board and a higher voltage one for the hash boards.
From their site:
3. If the voltage for the miner’s control board doesn’t range from 10.8V to 13.2V and the voltage for the hash boards doesn’t range from 14.5V to 15.5V, the miner may fail to work or even breaks.

If you look at their PSU for the miner it is dual voltage out...

It seems it is very difficult to find a replacement for B1's Psu.

Rabinovich also talked about other Asic that uses 14-15v PSU. Innosilicon T2.

Maybe this Psu can work with B1?
http://www.innosilicon.com/html/2200w-psu/index.html
But, it´s 14v not 15v.

I will keep searching.
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
March 28, 2019, 03:02:19 PM
 #36

Thank you and NotFuzzy, saved me from diging it out, will search for options also.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1303


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 28, 2019, 03:13:26 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #37

Another *possible* replacement may be the PSU for Whatsminer M10 series available through Pangolinminer. The M10 also uses a split supply with the high side being around 15v.

The catch to using other PSU's is that all of the split supplies have communications between the controller and PSU to set the voltage fed to the chip strings on the hash boards. What the com signals are and where they feed into the PSU remains to be seen.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
hatem31
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 09, 2019, 08:45:11 PM
 #38

hello I just delivered your asic b1 +, I try to turn it on but there is a problem that I can not solve:
1- the blue lights on the three sets of hash board PCI-e connectors is not keep on.
2 - the configuration page does not show any status it remains blocked.

https://imgur.com/a/0T4AV9U
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1151



View Profile WWW
August 09, 2019, 09:07:32 PM
Last edit: August 10, 2019, 12:32:46 AM by frodocooper
 #39

Hey sorry to hear you are having troubles. Not positive but I think the company has gone out of business - can't even check their site anymore.

To try and help though. How long are you leaving the machine on before trying to log in and monitor. Gear is tricky, sometimes you can log in right away sometimes it's a few minutes. If you've given it plenty of time check to see if there are any loose connections. You may wind up having to open the machine, not sure.

Might want to check with one of the people in this thread who bought one for additional troubleshooting.

ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113
Merit: 29


View Profile
August 10, 2019, 01:07:24 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #40

hello I just delivered your asic b1 +, I try to turn it on but there is a problem that I can not solve:
1- the blue lights on the three sets of hash board PCI-e connectors is not keep on.
2 - the configuration page does not show any status it remains blocked.

https://imgur.com/a/0T4AV9U

Those blue lights will blink when it starts hashing, the connections look good and that screen will change in a few minutes.

Steamtyme is right, be a little patient. There are a few of us here that have those, so hope we can help because the company is gone now.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!