Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 07:56:00 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222]
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S2 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 354491 times)
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
June 01, 2015, 11:27:01 AM
 #4421

Edit: if you (or anyone) wants me to add more settings there in the base firmware, just let me know and I'll add them in so next release has the extra settings.
You need to tell me the settings you want i.e. as above "40:196:5f06"
The numbers are "timeout:frequency:regdata"

Thank you for your work on S2s!  Wink

Many times we have discussed here on the forum the results of S2s overcklocking. Personally I would like you to add my maximum stable result of OCing. It was:

    option 'freq_value'     '5102'  #219M
    option 'chip_freq'      '218.75'
    option 'timeout'        '38'

Probably values for 225 MHz could be OK too since I have 1200 Wt Corsair PSU inside my S2. But I'm not sure about exact values for this frequency.

Probably all mindtrip's values can be included too: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=629997.msg7012357#msg7012357

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
1539806160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539806160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539806160
Reply with quote  #2

1539806160
Report to moderator
1539806160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539806160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539806160
Reply with quote  #2

1539806160
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539806160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539806160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539806160
Reply with quote  #2

1539806160
Report to moderator
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


ARNA | PreSale - September 21st


View Profile
June 01, 2015, 11:41:36 AM
 #4422

One of my antminers s2 has a steady hashrate of about 1015 Gh/s for a couple of days and then the hashrate falls to 900 GH/s. When I check the temperature it is always around 40-43 Celsuis. If I power it off and on it goes back to 1015GH/s. A remote restart doesn't do it, I have to physicaly disconnect it from the power outlet. Do you think I need to change the thermal paste on the blades?  

██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
▄█▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀█▄
▄█▀░░░░░░░░██░██░██░░▀█▄
▄▀░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░▀▄
▄█░░░░░░░░▀▀░░░░░░░▀▀░░░░░█▄
█░░░░░░██░░░░░░░░░░██░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░░░░░░█
▀█░░░░░██░░░░░░░░░░██░░░░░█▀
▀▄░░░░▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░▄▀
▀█▄░░▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀░░▄█▀
▀█▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄█▀
▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
[.
.WHITEPAPER.
.ANN THREAD.
]██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 09, 2015, 06:36:14 AM
 #4423

My settings won't save if I reboot or turn off since I updated the firmware with Kano's.. Any suggestions?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 09, 2015, 12:14:42 PM
 #4424

My settings won't save if I reboot or turn off since I updated the firmware with Kano's.. Any suggestions?
Check the /config/cgminer.conf
That is where the settings are saved and that directory /config/ and everything below it is a write enabled partition on the SD card.
If it has the wrong file privs not allowing the web interface to write to it that may stop it saving them.
I added changes in some places to override the file privs to attempt to fix that.

To see the SD setup when you login with putty or ssh:
df -h
On my SD it looks like this:
Code:
root@antMiner:~# df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs                240.7M         0    240.7M   0% /dev
/dev/mmcblk0p3            1.6G    470.4M      1.1G  30% /config
/dev/mmcblk0p1           69.5M     50.5M     18.9M  73% /mnt/mmc1

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 13, 2015, 07:48:37 AM
 #4425

I'm missing this but everything else matches yours.

Code:
/dev/mmcblk0p3            1.6G    470.4M      1.1G  30% /config

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 13, 2015, 10:17:57 AM
 #4426

I'm missing this but everything else matches yours.

Code:
/dev/mmcblk0p3            1.6G    470.4M      1.1G  30% /config
That's the writeable /config partition
So yeah without that mounted, it can't save any settings that survive a power off.

The command to see the SD card setup is:
fdisk -l

This will explain what's wrong.
In should be:
Code:
Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 7909 MB, 7909408768 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 961 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

        Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks  Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1   *           1           9       72261   c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/mmcblk0p2              11          19       72292+  c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/mmcblk0p3              20         239     1767150  83 Linux

If it's not the same, then it will needs correcting.

If it is the same then that means the /config (/dev/mmcblk0p3) partition is corrupt and needs fixing with fsck or reformatting.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 07:39:05 AM
 #4427


If it's not the same, then it will needs correcting.

If it is the same then that means the /config (/dev/mmcblk0p3) partition is corrupt and needs fixing with fsck or reformatting.

Is the same. How would I fix it?

Thanks for your help btw.

Code:
root@antMiner:~# fsck /dev/mmcblk0p3
fsck (busybox 1.20.2, 2014-10-24 14:38:29 CST)
fsck: fsck.auto: No such file or directory
root@antMiner:~#[code]
[/code]

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 01:17:08 AM
 #4428

Looks like you'll need to take the SD out and fsck or reformat /dev/mmcblk0p3 on a computer.

If you don't have linux on a PC, you get get a linux live distribution and boot that on any PC (choose the try/trial option, not the install option) and use fsck or mke2fs from that live distro e.g. ubuntu

I'll look into adding what's needed into my firmware so it can be fixed in the S2 directly.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
August 03, 2015, 05:56:57 AM
 #4429

I've put up a new master cgminer AntS2 firmware in my cgminer-binaries git
of current git cgminer 4.9.1+ modified from the last Bitmain firmware 29-Oct-2014 and including all the changes I did last year
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS2

I have just flashed my S2 with this FW. Thanx kano!  Smiley

But what should I input in "API Allow" field for M's Miner Monitor to display the hashing speed of this S2?  Huh

Now it says that Speed(5s) and Speed(avg) are ZERO.

I'm trying to understand it reading API-README, but I doubt I'll find it by myself...

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 03, 2015, 08:38:16 AM
 #4430

Well if your home network is 192.168.X.Y
W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.X/24
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README#L18

If you want to give the world read access also Tongue
W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.X/24,R:0/0

There are (as can be seen) no spaces in any of that.

DON'T use W:0/0
That's what Bitmain puts in there for everyone ... and means ANYONE who has network access can change anything including the pools and usernames and setting and ... and ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
August 03, 2015, 10:00:33 AM
 #4431

Still ZERO.



I tried to write there "W:127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24", "W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.1/24" - still ZERO. Even with R:0/0.  Huh

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 03, 2015, 11:36:09 AM
 #4432

Then you need to get him to update his monitoring code.
He probably looks for the non-standard API.

He had to change his code for S3.
No idea why that doesn't mean it's fixed for S2/everything else also.

cgminer has the same API format for all devices everywhere for summary,pools,devs,etc,etc
The main part that varies per device (has different fields) is 'stats' and I also state that in the API-README back when I wrote it:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README#L295

Bitmain's forked cgminer screwed with summary, devs and pools, and I guess the people who wrote monitors ignored allowing the standard API Tongue
Why? No idea. Foresight - I see little of it in the bitcoin world.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
September 01, 2015, 06:05:42 AM
 #4433

It works now with latest beta of MMinerMonitor53b1:


From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
bbOOmm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277
Merit: 250

Hunh? Wha da fff...... WOAH!


View Profile
November 05, 2015, 07:51:14 PM
 #4434

I'm looking for information on how to tell what batch number S2 are. Wether it be design features or board numbers....

Design features - It seems that batch 1 had a plain cover and the hash boards had 2 piece heatsinks per the pictures I'm finding...

I have an S2 that has a plain cover, foam strips to hold the hash boards in place and the hashboards have a 1 piece heatsink that covers the whole board. No hole in the chassis for a PSU fan.

I also have several S2's that have ANTMINER pressed into the cover, a metal plate that holds the hashboards in place, and a hole in the chassis for a PSU fan.

Again, I'm looking for how to identify the batch numbers....

thanks

smartoneonline
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 06, 2015, 08:04:03 PM
 #4435

I need a little help. I have two Antminer S2's and they both have a 0 acceptance rate and very high stale rate over 10,000 and counting for one day. I had this problem with my S3's as well but they started working correctly.
Any ideas or solutions would be greatly appreciated.
firetreeactual
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 08, 2015, 10:00:00 PM
 #4436

Well I just might give in and buy an S2 off amazon... Yes or no?

I understand this is late, but I've been really busy with the farm lately and not keeping up. I bought a used S2, and it has been running on my wire shelving rack for about three months. HOWEVER, I also have several S3s. If I had a choice, I would buy two S3s rather than an S2. Here's why:
     1. The S2 puts out about 1.1Th/s consistently. Not bad. However, two S3s will put out 0.9Th/s on less power, and they don't overheat if not overclocked. Two S3s are run off the same capacity power supply as one S2.
     2. If you're concerned about reliability (every minute you're down you're losing money), then more smaller units (to a certain degree) producing nearly the same volume is better.
     3. I live on Kaua'i Island in Hawai'i. My average indoor temp in winter is 80F. The S2 began to overheat immediately upon firing it up on its arrival. See following for how we had to handle it. Bottom line...S2s are notorious for overheating.

We had to (1) remove the cover, (2) add two case fans blowing into the case from the psu side; we removed the virtually useless magnetic drive fan on the internal psu, placing the case fan over the opening where it used to be; the other is at the front side of the frame, blowing into the blade cavity (Blade 10 side), and (3) add a floor fan blowing into the case from the other (Board 1) side. The case fans run off the psu. It is now stable...although fairly noisy (also more so than two S3s).

My feeling is that the psu should never be in the same case as the blades. It's just too much heat energy radiating back and forth between the psu cavity and the blade cavity at #10, and the thin sheet metal barrier isn't sufficient to shield one from the other. Once we fixed the blades overheating (by removing the case and adding the floor fan), the psu would then fail after a few minutes, but this was fixed by the case fan mods.

Dunno if that's any help.

To infinity and beyond...on two 741s and one of only 3...nope, make that 4...full nodes in Hawaii...on <30A. (I have other gear on the Hoth ice planet)
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 815
Merit: 508



View Profile
February 21, 2016, 07:28:40 PM
 #4437

S2 PSU finally died.  What should I do?  Sell the parts or replace the psu....

Thinking about selling it for parts....

            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1089



View Profile
August 10, 2016, 01:51:18 AM
 #4438

S2 PSU finally died.  What should I do?  Sell the parts or replace the psu....

Thinking about selling it for parts....


The PSU was the only part of value. There are also the 4 fans which are good for a computer.

The rest is scrap metal.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2016, 07:31:44 PM
 #4439

Also if you have some other Antminers, you could save the BeagleBone Black board for a spare part.

Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!