Bitcoin Forum
February 29, 2020, 10:32:15 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum 3.3.8 is not opening on Windows 10  (Read 326 times)
MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 11:56:51 AM
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #1

Hello. I can not open Electrum 3.3.8 on my Windows 10 anymore!

I uninstalled and installed Electrum again, many times, but it seems like nothing work.

On Windows Task Manager I can see "Electrum 3.3.8" running on the background but the program never opens.

Even if I kill this task and try to open Electrum.exe again, the software never start.


I tried Windows Installer, Standalone executable and even old Electrum releases but nothing worked.


The Electrum log file wrote this error:
"INFO | daemon | failed to connect to JSON-RPC server: unexpected EOF while parsing (<unknown>, line 0)"


I used Electrum for many years, it never happened before.


What should I do?

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
1582972335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582972335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582972335
Reply with quote  #2

1582972335
Report to moderator
1582972335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582972335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582972335
Reply with quote  #2

1582972335
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BitCryptex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1255


Write @BitCryptex or quote my post to notify me


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2020, 12:03:48 PM
Merited by vapourminer (1), hugeblack (1), o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #2

I uninstalled and installed Electrum again, many times, but it seems like nothing work.

Try uninstalling Electrum and moving 'Electrum' folder located in 'C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Electrum' to your desktop. Don't delete it because your wallet file is inside that folder. Try reinstalling Electrum once you do it. Both standard and standalone versions use that directory. The portable version saves additional data in the same folder as the executable so you can try running it as well.

Royse777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1166


Translation (Eng <> Russ): https://bit.ly/2NFg4H0


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 12:11:48 PM
Last edit: January 21, 2020, 12:27:15 PM by Royse777
 #3

Try uninstalling Electrum and moving 'Electrum' folder located in 'C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Electrum' to your desktop.
I would say to go to this directory:

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Electrum\wallets

[Replace the USERNAME with your PC username]

And copy all the files that you (MR_Roken) have in a safe place. Then do whatever you want to do. Those files are your wallet files so far you have created and the only way for you to get those wallets are these files unless you have the pass phrases of the wallets you have.

.
.
.
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
████████████▀▀░░░░███
███████████▌░░░░░░███
███████████░░░░██████
███████████░░░░██████
████████░░░░░░░░░░▐██
████████░░░░░░░░░░███

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

▀██████████░░░░█████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
█████████████████████
████▀██████▀░░░▀▀▄███
████░░▀▀███░░░░░░▄███
████▀░░░░░░░░░░░▐████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░▄█████

████▀█▄░░░░░░░▄██████

█████▄░░░░░▄▄████████

█████████████████████

█████████████████████

▀███████████████████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████
███░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░███
██░░▄█████████▀▀▄░░██
██░░███▀▀░░░▀▀▄▄█░░██
██░░██▀░▄███▄░▀██░░██
██░░██░░█████░░██░░██
██░░██▄░▀███▀░▄██░░██

██░░███▄▄░░░▄▄███░░██

██░░▀███████████▀░░██

███░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░███

█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████

▀███████████████████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
█████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀████
██████████▀▀░░░░▐████
██████▀▀░░░▄▀░░░█████
████░░░░▄▄▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄▐█░░░░░░██████

███████▌▌░░░░░▐██████

████████▄██▄▄░███████

█████████████████████

█████████████████████

▀███████████████████▀
.
MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 12:28:33 PM
 #4

Hello BitCryptex,

Thanks for trying to help us.

I did the procedure you described, unfortunately it didn't worked.

I still have the same issue I described.

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 12:34:49 PM
 #5

Hello Royse777,

I afraid you did not understand the problem here.

I have all data backup, seed backup, password backup, etc. This is not the problem.

As I described on this post, the problem is that Windows 10 is unable to open Electrum software.

What use does the password and wallet data has if you are unable to start any Electrum software?

Did you understand now?

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
Royse777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1166


Translation (Eng <> Russ): https://bit.ly/2NFg4H0


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 12:37:30 PM
 #6

Did you understand now?
I understood your issue and really do not know how to resolve it but my suggestion was just in case you have not done that practice. Good thing is that you have your seeds backed up. Your wallets are safe in this case.

I hope someone will find a solution for you.

Quote
What use does the password and wallet data has if you are unable to start any Electrum software?
As long as you have the information backed up, you can restore the wallets in any other PC.

Note: I am too using win10 but never have had this issue.

.
.
.
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
████████████▀▀░░░░███
███████████▌░░░░░░███
███████████░░░░██████
███████████░░░░██████
████████░░░░░░░░░░▐██
████████░░░░░░░░░░███

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

███████████░░░░██████

▀██████████░░░░█████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
█████████████████████
████▀██████▀░░░▀▀▄███
████░░▀▀███░░░░░░▄███
████▀░░░░░░░░░░░▐████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░▄█████

████▀█▄░░░░░░░▄██████

█████▄░░░░░▄▄████████

█████████████████████

█████████████████████

▀███████████████████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████
███░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░███
██░░▄█████████▀▀▄░░██
██░░███▀▀░░░▀▀▄▄█░░██
██░░██▀░▄███▄░▀██░░██
██░░██░░█████░░██░░██
██░░██▄░▀███▀░▄██░░██

██░░███▄▄░░░▄▄███░░██

██░░▀███████████▀░░██

███░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░███

█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████

▀███████████████████▀
▄███████████████████▄
█████████████████████
█████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀████
██████████▀▀░░░░▐████
██████▀▀░░░▄▀░░░█████
████░░░░▄▄▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄▐█░░░░░░██████

███████▌▌░░░░░▐██████

████████▄██▄▄░███████

█████████████████████

█████████████████████

▀███████████████████▀
.
RapTarX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 506



View Profile WWW
January 21, 2020, 03:52:18 PM
 #7

Probably off topic-
Can you confirm you are using the authenticate Electrum wallet? If you have followed what BitCryptex said and still no luck, then I guess probably your wallet source code is not correct. Have you updated your wallet recently? If so, from where?


[ Mix coins ]
 
Your BITCOIN Transaction
made Truly ANONYMOUS
 

███████
█████████████████
████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████                    ██████████
█████████                          █████████
███████                                    ████████
          ███████                                        ███████        ██
          █████████████████████████████████████      ███
          █████████████████████████████████████  █████
          ████████████████████████████████████  ██████
        ██████████████████████████████████████████
  █████████████████████████████████████████
█████                                        ████████████
                                  ██████████████
██                          █████████████████████          ██     
█████              ███████████████████████          ████     
█████████████████████████████            █████████     
██████████████████                      ████████████       
██████████████████████████████████████     
████████████████████████  ███████ 
    ██████████              █████
                      ████████
      ████████████████    █
        ██████████████████
                  █████      ███
                      █████
                    ████

Blender
 
The ULTIMATE BITCOIN Mixer
with an ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY
 

███████████   
███████████████████████   
████████████████████████████     
██████████████████████████████     
██████████████████████████████   
 

                                          █████████████
                                          ███████████
██████
                                          ███████████
██████
                                          ███████████
        ██
                                        ████████████
        ██
    ██                              █████████████
        ██
    ████                      ███████████████
        ██
    ██████              █████████████████
        ██
    █████████████████████████████
          ██ 
      ███████████████████████████
          ███
      ██████  ████████████████████
        ████
      ██████████████████████████
  ██████
      ██████████████████████████
███████
  █████      ████████████████████
███
████          ████████████████
████ 
████          ████████████████       
████████████████████████


 
█████████████████████████       
███████████████████████████       
█████████    ██    ███    ██████████     
███████████    ██    ███     ██████████       
███████████    ██    ███     ███████████     
██████████████████████████████████     
██████████████████████████████████       
DireWolfM14
Copper Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 1408


https://bitcoin.watfordfc.com


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2020, 06:55:18 PM
 #8

I seem to recall having an issue with this once upon a time.  First thing to do is back up your wallet files, and save them some place safe.  Then try uninstall, restart the PC, then reinstall.  That should work.  Restore your wallet files once you confirm it's working again.

  ▄▄█████▄▄███████▄▄
 ███████████
     ▀▀███▄
█████████████        ▀██▄
█████████████          ██▄
███████████            ██▄
██▀▀█████▀▀              ██
██                       ██
██                       ██
▀██                     ██▀
 ▀██                   ██▀
  ▀██▄               ▄██▀
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
███████   INDUSTRY LEADING CRYPTO SPORTSBOOK   ███████
MULTI
CURRENCY
ONLINE
   CASINO  
DAILY PRICE
BOOSTS
FAST & SECURE
PAYMENTS
█████████████████████████
███████▀▀       ▀▀███████
████▀   ▄ ▀███▀ ▄   ▀████
███  ▄████▄ ▀ ▄████▄  ███
██  ▄ ▀███▀ ▄ ▀███▀ ▄  ██
█  ▄██ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ██▄  █
█  █▀ ▄█ ███████ █▄ ▀█  █
█   ▄███▄ █████ ▄███▄   █
██  ████▀ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▀████  ██
███  ▀ ▄ ▀█████▀ ▄ ▀  ███
████▄  ▀▀▄ ███ ▄▀▀  ▄████
███████▄▄       ▄▄███████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████▀▀ █████ ▀▀███████
████▀    ▄█████▄    ▀████
█████▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄█████
██▀███▀ ▄███▀███▄ ▀███▀██
█   █ ▄██▀     ▀██▄ █   █
█   █ ██         ██ █   █
█   █ ▀██▄▄█ █▄▄██▀ █   █
██▄███▄ ▀██▄▄▄██▀ ▄███▄██
█████▀▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀▀█████
████▄    ▀█████▀    ▄████
███████▄▄ █████ ▄▄███████
█████████████████████████
.
.REGISTER NOW!.
Report To
MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 07:41:26 PM
 #9

RapTarX,

Yes, I´m sure about that.

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 07:58:09 PM
 #10

DireWolfM14,

I tried it many times. It not worked too.

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2272

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 09:14:43 PM
 #11

It might be a permissions issue stopping it from starting up properly. Have you tried running Electrum as an Administrator? Huh

dkbit98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 752


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2020, 11:12:03 PM
 #12

If you are doing automatic windows updates  (that is something I don't advise anyone doing)  it is possible that permissions are changed or updated.
Often times new win updates screw a lot of things in OS, so it is better to wait and update them later manually.
Do manual updates, and try to tun with admin rights, like HCP suggested.

MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 21, 2020, 11:44:52 PM
 #13

My Windows 10 OS is updated. I schedule my updates.

And yes, I run Electrum with admin rights. Unfortunately that's not the problem.

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1348


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2020, 11:52:11 PM
 #14

DireWolfM14,

I tried it many times. It not worked too.

Maybe your windows defender blocking your Electrum from opening.

How about trying to disable the windows defender first and check if the Electrum is running or not.
I have an old issue with my AV before but after I exclude the Electrum folder from scanning my Electrum wallet it fixed my issue.

So try to disable windows defender first to try and then make sure that Electrum is not running on the background.

Just in case if it doesn't work try to stay turn off the AV/windows defender then uninstall and reinstall the Electrum then test it again while the AV is turned off.

MR_Roken
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 3


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 01:11:34 AM
 #15

Yes, I tried it too.  Even with all AV disabled the problem still occurs.



Well, I opened an issue for the Electrum´s team. I´m afraid there is no further action we can do in that so specific case.

Thank you for all contributions.

ZERO TRADING FEE EXCHANGE –> https://www.cobinhood
bL4nkcode
Copper Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 895


Crypto Mixer - https://bitmix.biz


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 05:02:58 AM
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #16

I see you made lots of work to be able to use the wallet. But maybe you should open a thread on their github issues page as well https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues

I encountered an issue same like this before, I all need was backup the wallet files, delete the whole electrum folder, uninstall the app on Programs and features, download and install the latest version and it works, same as I'm using win 10.

..bustadice..         ▄▄████████████▄▄
     ▄▄████████▀▀▀▀████████▄▄
   ▄███████████    ███████████▄
  █████    ████▄▄▄▄████    █████
 ██████    ████████▀▀██    ██████
██████████████████   █████████████
█████████████████▌  ▐█████████████
███    ██████████   ███████    ███
███    ████████▀   ▐███████    ███
██████████████      ██████████████
██████████████      ██████████████
 ██████████████▄▄▄▄██████████████
  ▀████████████████████████████▀
                     ▄▄███████▄▄
                  ▄███████████████▄
   ███████████  ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
               ████▀      ██     ▀████
 ███████████  ████        ██       ████
             ████         ██        ████
███████████  ████     ▄▄▄▄██        ████
             ████     ▀▀▀▀▀▀        ████
 ███████████  ████                 ████
               ████▄             ▄████
   ███████████  ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
                  ▀███████████████▀
                     ▀▀███████▀▀
           ▄██▄
           ████
            ██
            ▀▀
 ▄██████████████████████▄
██████▀▀██████████▀▀██████
█████    ████████    █████
█████▄  ▄████████▄  ▄█████
██████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
       ████████████
......Play......
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1348


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2020, 07:01:58 PM
Last edit: January 22, 2020, 08:55:53 PM by BitMaxz
 #17

~snip~

Have you tried to exclude the Electrum folder? Both the Electrum folder from your program files and AppData should be excluded from the windows defender.

Just try to follow this how-to exclude the Electrum folder both in program files and AppData from here Guide to Exclude files/folder from Windows Defender

Let's see if it still doesn't work.




Let me also ask if what version of your OS?
Are you using an optimized OS and downloaded from an unknown source?
Is it 64 or 32 bit?


o_e_l_e_o
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 3695


Decent


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 08:34:32 PM
 #18

delete the whole electrum folder
Yeah, I've read about issues in the past with files left behind after uninstalling preventing or corrupting future installs. Once your wallet files are backed up, uninstall Electrum, and entirely delete the Electrum folder from both AppData\Roaming as well as anything left behind from wherever you installed Electrum (Program Files is the default location on Windows). Once everything is deleted, restart and then install again. I'd also re-download the installer to make sure it wasn't corrupted during download.

The Electrum log file wrote this error:
"INFO | daemon | failed to connect to JSON-RPC server: unexpected EOF while parsing (<unknown>, line 0)"
Many Electrum logs will report a failure to connect to JSON-RPC servers for a variety of reasons but still work just fine. This error shouldn't stop your client from opening. Can you post your full logs?

HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2272

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 23, 2020, 05:35:31 AM
 #19

I'm also wondering if there might be an issue with the wallet file that is causing Electrum to hang during startup...

@MR_Roken, did you try backing up your wallet file (and/or making sure you have your seed mnemonic) and then deleting it... Then trying to open Electrum? (Note: uninstalling Electrum does NOT delete your wallet file, you'll need to manually delete it)

idc4000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2020, 04:35:40 PM
 #20

Hey,

try running the Program Compatibility troubleshooter, worked for me
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!