Bitcoin Forum
February 29, 2020, 07:41:45 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum 4.0.0.a0 - New Feature  (Read 343 times)
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2270

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 03:12:56 AM
Merited by Abdussamad (2), Quickseller (2), LoyceV (2), ETFbitcoin (1), hatshepsut93 (1), Heisenberg_Hunter (1), Husna QA (1)
 #1

While messing about with Electrum 4.0.0a0... I stumbled across a relatively minor change which I think is actually a huge improvement to the UI and might help prevent some confusion for new users:



A simple change that I think clearly shows the difference between opening an existing wallet file and creating a new one when you start up. Thoughts?

1582962105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582962105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582962105
Reply with quote  #2

1582962105
Report to moderator
1582962105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582962105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582962105
Reply with quote  #2

1582962105
Report to moderator
1582962105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582962105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582962105
Reply with quote  #2

1582962105
Report to moderator
100% First Deposit Bonus Instant Withdrawals Best Odds 10+ Sports Since 2014 No KYC Asked Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582962105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582962105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582962105
Reply with quote  #2

1582962105
Report to moderator
pooya87
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932
Merit: 2390


Remember tonight for it's the beginning of forever


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 05:00:06 AM
 #2

i think it is helpful but not by a lot. people who have been missing the fact that they are "opening" an already existing  wallet even though the GUI was clear about it could similarly miss that additional button and still click next instead to end up opening the existing (default_wallet) file.

HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2270

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 06:11:44 AM
 #3

I guess they'll fall into the same group as the "Didn't read the 2FA explanation dialog and are now wondering why they are now 'missing' 0.001 BTC" users.

You just can't help some people Tongue

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1256



View Profile
February 04, 2020, 07:19:45 AM
Merited by HCP (2), ETFbitcoin (1), Heisenberg_Hunter (1), Husna QA (1)
 #4

That is a good change. Lots of people get confused about this.

There was talk of copying the layout of MS office or libreoffice's open dialog box. A collection of links to recent wallets and a big ass new wallet button. Bauerj was brainstorming it on github:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/3916
hugeblack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1179


Avatar for Rent. PM me


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 08:04:24 AM
 #5

The whole box that shows the word "wallet:" looks very misleading. I think it would be better if there is an option for the user as follows:

 - Create a new wallet:
 - open your old wallet:

* If your wallet is not present in the wallet files, insert it by clicking here or drop it here.

NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1496


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 08:07:18 AM
 #6

I also think that's a good change.

Maybe at some point in the future we'll also see a popup (obviously with a "never show this again" option) after each start asking if the user wants the current wallet or another one (existing or new). I've noticed that File->New is (for some) not as straightforward as we'd expect.

A collection of links to recent wallets and a big ass new wallet button. Bauerj was brainstorming it on github:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/3916

Yep, this would be great, but at every startup, not at install, as the window title suggests.

Coin-Keeper
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 502



View Profile
February 04, 2020, 07:19:08 PM
 #7

I like the change too.  Personally I think I would know whether or not the wallet I am opening is a new one or not, but I can visualize how a newer person might get confused.  Another thing that causes "pain" is when a person transfers BTC into a watching wallet, only to realize they lost the matching private keys.  Disabling this possibility is outside of Electrum's capabilities but any warnings about it helps.

BTC: 1PYSBbuKM3kW19xe9TXJQfq64rPhd8XorF
Staked and Verified: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.msg17102755#msg17102755
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1570


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← lightning theory


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 09:04:04 PM
 #8

I like the change too.  Personally I think I would know whether or not the wallet I am opening is a new one or not, but I can visualize how a newer person might get confused.  Another thing that causes "pain" is when a person transfers BTC into a watching wallet, only to realize they lost the matching private keys.  Disabling this possibility is outside of Electrum's capabilities but any warnings about it helps.

There is a watching only warning?



It'd be nice if they had something like the seed input there where it suggests all the wallets avaliable as a bavigatable drop down scroller.
(I have a default_wallet and a bech32 native segwit one - and typing in the 6 letters gets tedious when I could just use 4 "be" <arrow down><enter>".


BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1347


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2020, 09:58:11 PM
 #9

Did you try to enable the Lightning? I can't seem to find the option to open a channel from -testnet.
I already have some testcoin but I can't find where I can enable the off-chain feature.

I tried to enable the "Run as daemon after the GUI is close" but nothing shows something like channel tab? Also tried to use the command "add_lightning_request" or any lightning command but the results are nothing.


HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2270

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 10:11:52 PM
 #10

Did you try to enable the Lightning? I can't seem to find the option to open a channel from -testnet.
The functionality seems "disabled" for me on Mainnet... as you can see from this screenshot, the lightning options are both grayed out in the menus:



I'm guessing it is either not fully enabled as yet or requires an Electrum server that is compatible with Lightning... or both? Huh

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1347


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2020, 10:32:45 PM
 #11

Weird I don't have that option even mainnet/testnet.






Another thing that I noticed is this feature when making a transaction as an advanced preview.

Indymoney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 30

★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile
February 04, 2020, 10:38:06 PM
 #12

Weird I don't have that option even mainnet/testnet.






Another thing that I noticed is this feature when making a transaction as an advanced preview.

I just check I also have no options even mainnet this is wired Sad

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
PLINKO    |7| SLOTS     (+) ROULETTE    ▼ BIT SPINBITVESTPLAY or INVEST ║ ✔ Rainbot  ✔ Happy Hours  ✔ Faucet
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
TryNinja
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1839



View Profile
February 04, 2020, 11:14:01 PM
 #13

Where did you guys get this version? Did you all build it by yourself from the source code?

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1347


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2020, 11:24:05 PM
 #14

Where did you guys get this version? Did you all build it by yourself from the source code?
Yea, but not build by myself I got the copy from HCP because I can't build on my very slow laptop.

pooya87
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932
Merit: 2390


Remember tonight for it's the beginning of forever


View Profile
February 05, 2020, 04:31:15 AM
Merited by ETFbitcoin (1)
 #15

I guess they'll fall into the same group as the "Didn't read the 2FA explanation dialog and are now wondering why they are now 'missing' 0.001 BTC" users.

You just can't help some people Tongue

exactly what i had in mind. although as i said it is a helpful change nonetheless.

Another thing that I noticed is this feature when making a transaction as an advanced preview.

i believe this feature is about BIP-174 and the Partially Signed Bitcoin Transactions where it "joins" the transaction with another or merges their signatures.

nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1037


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2020, 05:08:03 AM
Last edit: February 05, 2020, 05:18:24 AM by nc50lc
 #16

Weird I don't have that option even mainnet/testnet.
Mine shows the options but grayed-out like HCP's, whether the lightning setting in the preferences are filled-up or not.


*I just highlighted "Local Watchtower" but it's not clickable too.

I'm running it directly through python 3.8 (not compiled) on Windows10.

-edit-

There's an "enable" button after 'lightning' in the Wallet->Information window.
But it always ends up with an error whenever I click it.

Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1553


⚔ Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat ⚔


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2020, 01:43:20 PM
 #17

Where did you guys get this version? Did you all build it by yourself from the source code?

I was interested in the same thing because the only 4.0.0 version I know of is that fake wallet that is using original Electrum for phishing. I hope this doesn't confuse some beginners or maybe even the more experienced ones to search for this version online. The latest official version is still 3.3.8 and can be downloaded from the official Electrum site https://electrum.org/#download

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1347


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2020, 07:32:53 PM
 #18

I'm running it directly through python 3.8 (not compiled) on Windows10.

There's an "enable" button after 'lightning' in the Wallet->Information window.
But it always ends up with an error whenever I click it.

I don't also have this button on the information window. I'm using Windows 7 and installed python recently but I can't still find those buttons. It seems it works on Windows 10 and Linux based OS.

I found this guide below
Quote from: Luke Childs
- Make sure you have libsecp256k1 dep installed
- Run from Electrum from master branch
- Go to Wallet > Information > Lightning > Enable
- Try and break stuff
Source: https://twitter.com/lukechilds/status/1195760853703749632

It seems you will need to install libsecp256k1 dep to make lightning buttons works. I didn't try it yet since the lightning buttons don't show on my end.
Try it and maybe it will work on Windows 10.

nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1037


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2020, 03:04:54 AM
 #19

It seems you will need to install libsecp256k1 dep to make lightning buttons works. I didn't try it yet since the lightning buttons don't show on my end.
Try it and maybe it will work on Windows 10.
I can confirm that I don't have secp256k1 installed as I'm having trouble with it on Windows10.
My log also indicated that the error message that I'm getting after clicking "enable" is about lacking the said library.

I'll just try it after a few google searches Smiley

HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 2270

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
February 10, 2020, 05:53:41 AM
Last edit: February 10, 2020, 07:25:02 AM by HCP
Merited by BitMaxz (1), Heisenberg_Hunter (1)
 #20

Unfortunately, I just don't have much time this week due to "work stuff"™ requiring most of my attention... but if I find a couple of hours, I'll see if I can figure out the "libsecp256k1" stuff... I vaguely recall seeing some errors relating to this while I was building the Windows binaries. Tongue

EDIT:

With Ubuntu 18.04 VM:
Code:
sudo apt-get install libsecp256k1-dev
Code:
sudo -H pip3 install libsecp256k1

I can run Electrum 4.0.0a0 within the Ubuntu 18.04 VM using ./run_electrum and then after using the "enable" button on the "wallet->information" dialog, I got a message saying lightning keys had been enabled and the wallet would be closed. Restarting Electrum and re-opening the wallet... I can see this:



clicking the lightning bolt gives this:



I'll have to see if this now works on Windows 10 after compiling the Windows binaries.



EDIT2:

The answer is yes... the Windows binaries appear to function the same Wink

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!