Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 01:53:20 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to Optimize cgminer for 5870  (Read 6054 times)
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 02:12:39 AM
 #1

Just tested two 5870 on Ubuntu with cgminer and crossfire (can't detect two GPU without using crossfire), but I am only having about 600 mhash/s .  Wonder what is the best commands for it to maximize the hashes?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513562000
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513562000

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513562000
Reply with quote  #2

1513562000
Report to moderator
1513562000
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513562000

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513562000
Reply with quote  #2

1513562000
Report to moderator
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 01:59:53 PM
 #2

Change the intensity to 9 or so. Never used crossfire. I was able to use my second card without a VGA dummy plug in Win7. But using one is better for me. Now i can change the settings the way i want. That was not possible before.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 02:09:36 PM
 #3

Prob is without cross fire, my cgminer can only recognize 1 GPU using Ubuntu Linux, will Windows recognize two without cross fire?
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 02:35:59 PM
 #4

Prob is without cross fire, my cgminer can only recognize 1 GPU using Ubuntu Linux, will Windows recognize two without cross fire?

It should.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
November 27, 2011, 03:10:10 PM
 #5

600MH? Thats weird. Its too much a single card and not enough for two.
And you shouldnt have to use crossfire

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 03:31:42 PM
 #6

I think 600 MH/s is two in crossfire

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 03:40:56 PM
 #7

Yeap it is two in cross fire, or should I be using windows and guiminer?
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 04:32:24 PM
 #8

You can stick with cgminer in windows. Works well.

coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 360



View Profile
November 27, 2011, 10:14:47 PM
 #9

1. Disable crossfire and remove the plug
2. Run as root or sudo "aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all"
3. reboot
4. In a new terminal run "export DISPLAY=:0"
5. Then run "cgminer --gpu-memclock 300 --gpu-fan 100 --gpu-engine 900 --gpu-vddc 1.1625 -o http://xxx.xxx -u user -p pass -I 9"

That should get you over 400mh per card as a baseline.  Hit "G" to confirm clocks and voltage.  If it's stable, adjust the gpu-engine up by 5-10 mhz at a time (or voltage down, fan, etc) until you are happy with temp and perf.  You may add --cpu-threads 1 if you have the max cpu bug to isolate to a core.


http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
November 27, 2011, 10:27:11 PM
 #10

Try to get it working at default gpu clock and voltage before tinkering with those.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 11:11:08 PM
 #11

As coretechs said "aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all" is probably what was missing. It sounds like you only had one GPU configured and the second is limping along purely by being attached by crossfire. You shouldn't need crossfire.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2011, 04:47:40 AM
 #12

I think I will reinstall, any recommendations?  Ubuntu 11.10 or 10.4?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 29, 2011, 06:31:45 AM
 #13

11.04 Tongue
See my sig
(and don't update it to 11.10 - not needed and not enough space if you use a USB to run updates)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2011, 06:41:27 AM
 #14

11.04 Tongue
See my sig
(and don't update it to 11.10 - not needed and not enough space if you use a USB to run updates)

Thanks a million, your sig is just what I need!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!