Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:40:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x7970 Mining Results.  (Read 57676 times)
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 11:47:01 PM
 #121

Ah.  Well, the PSU isn't making much of a difference then.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
1481136048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481136048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481136048
Reply with quote  #2

1481136048
Report to moderator
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 01:44:10 AM
 #122

And for those of you with cheap electricity:

2486 Mhash/sec @ 793 watts -- 3.13Mhash/watt  (1056mV, 1075Mhz/200Mhz).  Stable.

You achieved this with 4x 7970?

That is incredible.....720 MH/s per card?  the 7990 is going to slay all comers if this is the case.  A single card pushing 1.5 GH/s. 

Just wondering if you can verify these numbers were on a 4x 7970 setup?  I might have to go buy if it is....

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 02:07:07 AM
 #123

Just wondering if you can verify these numbers were on a 4x 7970 setup?  I might have to go buy if it is....

Yep.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 02:26:48 AM
 #124

Just wondering if you can verify these numbers were on a 4x 7970 setup?  I might have to go buy if it is....

Yep.

amazing.  Cant wait to see what a 7990 can do. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 02:49:31 AM
 #125

I could not wait.....just bought as many as I could on Newegg.  I am a sucker for this sh*t.

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 03:51:14 AM
 #126

Nice.  I'm not sure how you came up with 720Mhash per card though.  Just noticed that.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 04:02:15 AM
 #127

Nice.  I'm not sure how you came up with 720Mhash per card though.  Just noticed that.

Jesum Chro.....I have no idea how I came up with that.  I am embarrassed. 

Oh well....600+ per card is pretty awesome none the less.

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 09:19:07 AM
 #128

but since there probably aren't any programs for Linux that will allow me to change the clocks/voltage on these cards yet (besides what's allowed in aticonfig), I'm using Windows to test this.


You mean that atitweak (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25750.0) doesn't work with 7970s?

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2012, 06:34:32 PM
 #129

Wow, so Tom's Hardware totally bullshitted their "bitmining" results?  Ha.

tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2012, 07:26:28 PM
 #130

I could not wait.....just bought as many as I could on Newegg.  I am a sucker for this sh*t.


So you're the reason I couldn't buy one right away on launch day.. Wink  Tongue
 
I had to wait 3 solid days to find a website that actually had some!

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 09:17:45 PM
 #131

You mean that atitweak (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25750.0) doesn't work with 7970s?

No clue.  If they're anything like the 6000 series chips, then no.  Well...  sort of.  With the 6000 series cards, you couldn't drop the memory clocks down lower than 125Mhz below the core clock.  If you were running at 1000Mhz, you couldn't go lower than 875 (etc).  You also couldn't adjust the voltage.  With the 5000's, the code in AMDOverdriveCtrl interacted directly with the hardware to change the voltage.

I ended up flashing the BIOS on all of my 6000 cards to custom clocks/voltages to get around the problem.  I'm not sure if a program came out since that will adjust them (in Linux).

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 09:19:37 PM
 #132

Wow, so Tom's Hardware totally bullshitted their "bitmining" results?  Ha.
Not really.  They didn't have any software that would even run correctly on the cards.  They probably also didn't know enough about it to realize that significantly dropping memory clocks doesn't hurt hashing performance.  It doesn't look like they tried undervolting the cards either.  Most are more concerned with how they overclock.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 12:09:47 PM
 #133

My dedicated 5870 rigs are getting about 2.3Mhash/watt on 80+ Gold PSUs.
What clock and voltage are you using to reach this performance per watt figure?
My mining rig (~95W idle power draw) with only its 5870 running can get around 1.72 MH/W. With both the 5770 and 5870 running it gets around 1.83.
But then again it's overclocked to 930 MHz for the 5870 and 1000 MHz for the 5770. I'm thinking about undervolting to reach a better MH/W figure, but I'm not sure which voltage/clock combinations are stable.
Jabba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 12:17:37 PM
 #134

Get the 'Clocktweak' tool (for windows) from Phelix (link can be found on the forum) and check out which voltages / corespeed / memspeed works best for your cards.

You will be surprised how efficient a 5870 can be! 2.x MH / W can be reached easily.

Jabba
omo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 12:28:51 PM
 #135

Are your cards installed in a linux box? what's ur linux distribution/driver version?

I just bought a HIS7970 and I can't make it work on my centos/fedora box.
I installed catalyst11.12 driver,  aticonfig report "No supported adapters detected"
while "lspci|grep -i vga" shows: 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 6798

BTC:1Fu4TNpVPToxxhSXBNSvE9fz6X3dbYgB8q
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 12:45:02 PM
 #136

Can OP or anyone else who has a 7970 benchmark vanitygen?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.0

You want to use oclvanitygen.exe

It should only take a minute or two.  Make sure the device you are going to  use is not in use (if you are using cgminer you don't need to stop just (G)pu menu (D)isable, then GPU #)

oclvanitygen -d 0 1Bitcoinz    (0 = device # and the string is the address searching for 1Bitcoinz is impossibly long which prevent the generator from getting lucky too soon)

Then just let it run for 30 seconds or so to normalize any variance.  You should see a line like

Code:
Difficulty: 50656515217834
[13.61 Mkey/s][total 1981808640][Prob 0.0%][50% in 29.9d]

PRovide the MKey's and the core/mem clocks. 

Thanks

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 12:50:57 PM
 #137

Can OP or anyone else who has a 7970 benchmark vanitygen?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.0

You want to use oclvanitygen.exe

It should only take a minute or two.  Make sure the device you are going to  use is not in use (if you are using cgminer you don't need to stop just (G)pu menu (D)isable, then GPU #)

oclvanitygen -d 0 1Bitcoinz    (0 = device # and the string is the address searching for 1Bitcoinz is impossibly long which prevent the generator from getting lucky too soon)

Then just let it run for 30 seconds or so to normalize any variance.  You should see a line like

Code:
Difficulty: 50656515217834
[13.61 Mkey/s][total 1981808640][Prob 0.0%][50% in 29.9d]

PRovide the MKey's and the core/mem clocks. 

Thanks



Is there any table or something where we can see the performance for a 5870, 5970 etc. with Vanitygen ?

Maybe we can add these results to that table / page ?
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 12:52:51 PM
 #138

Get the 'Clocktweak' tool (for windows) from Phelix (link can be found on the forum) and check out which voltages / corespeed / memspeed works best for your cards.

You will be surprised how efficient a 5870 can be! 2.x MH / W can be reached easily.

Jabba

I'm using Linuxcoin, so AMDOverdriveCtrl is what I'm using. I'd like to know where to start though. Stability testing can be a lengthy affair, so I'd really like to know his stable voltage/clock combinations.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 01:31:14 PM
 #139

Is there any table or something where we can see the performance for a 5870, 5970 etc. with Vanitygen ?
Maybe we can add these results to that table / page ?

Kinda.  There is the first post of vanitygen thread, however it is somewhat vague though.
Code:
AMD Radeon 58XX, 68XX GPUs: up to 23.5 Mkey/s.
AMD Radeon 69XX GPUs: up to 19.5 Mkey/s.

For the record a 5970 gets ~14 MK/s PER GPU @ 860/150 (28 MK/s for entire card).  Don't reduce memclock for vanitygen
For the record a 5970 get ~20 MK/s PER GPU @ stock (725/1000)  (40 MK/s for entire card).
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 02:37:31 PM
 #140

Is there any table or something where we can see the performance for a 5870, 5970 etc. with Vanitygen ?

Maybe we can add these results to that table / page ?
My 5870 gets around 31 Mkeys/s with 935 core clock: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.msg610714#msg610714
Don't underclock the memory when using vanitygen, it reduces the key rate drastically.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!