Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2017, 11:43:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x7970 Mining Results.  (Read 58812 times)
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 02:53:21 PM
 #181

passive cooling?
1493423008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493423008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493423008
Reply with quote  #2

1493423008
Report to moderator
1493423008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493423008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493423008
Reply with quote  #2

1493423008
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493423008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493423008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493423008
Reply with quote  #2

1493423008
Report to moderator
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 02:55:04 PM
 #182

passive cooling?
No. That's the DCII cooler. It looks a little something like this.
ZPK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:26:23 PM
 #183

http://www.3dnews.ru/news/623274/
http://www.3dnews.ru/news/623271/

Novacoin POS mining only now
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:01:19 AM
 #184

A better image of the card, for size comparison:



it comes with 1000 gallons of fuel oil, a trailer to move it around, and when dug into the ground, it doubles as a nuclear protection bunker.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 03:05:04 AM
 #185

A better image of the card, for size comparison:



it comes with 1000 gallons of fuel oil, a trailer to move it around, and when dug into the ground, it doubles as a nuclear protection bunker.
Ahahahaha, nice! BTW, who uses triple slot cards anyways?  Roll Eyes Use a dual slot card, and leave the third slot empty so that the blower can suck in air.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:12:41 AM
 #186

^ Also, if that's the size of their single core cards, I can't wait to see their dual cores (7990). What are they gonna be, quad slot cards? Or maybe they only plug into the motherboard via a PCI-e cable extender, and require a separate case?
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701


Your Minion


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 03:09:25 PM
 #187

I raise you one slot.



http://www.legitreviews.com/news/12307/

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 03:25:57 PM
 #188

I raise you one slot.
I see your quad-slot card and raise you an even larger one.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:26:33 PM
 #189

I raise you one slot.
I see your quad-slot card and raise you an even larger one.


Oh Goddamnit.

Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 04:23:42 PM
 #190

Wow, seriously?  Those heat sinks are huge!  If you're undervolting these cards, the stock heat exchanger is fine IMHO.

Mousepotato
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 04:35:38 PM
 #191

Wow, seriously?  Those heat sinks are huge!  If you're undervolting these cards, the stock heat exchanger is fine IMHO.

lol, can you say photoshop.

even at stock voltage, and overclock, the stock fan is working well for me.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 05:56:33 PM
 #192

* deepceleron remembers when this was the only HSF you needed in your system:

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 06:04:13 PM
 #193



just going to throw some 7970 results in here to make the thread more inline with title.


clock:    1104/1028 
volt:      1068   4x7970   
watts:   1025 @plug   
Mhash:  2630

psu 2x seasonic 650
Mobo:  crosshair V
cpu:    phenom x4
mem:   4g 1600

stock clocks on mobo and mem

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 06:40:48 PM
 #194



just going to throw some 7970 results in here to make the thread more inline with title.


clock:    1104/1028 
volt:      1068   4x7970   
watts:   1025 @plug   
Mhash:  2630

psu 2x seasonic 650
Mobo:  crosshair V
cpu:    phenom x4
mem:   4g 1600

stock clocks on mobo and mem

Is this with 3x 7970?  or 4x? 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 06:56:44 PM
 #195

4

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 06:57:18 PM
 #196



just going to throw some 7970 results in here to make the thread more inline with title.


clock:    1104/1028 
volt:      1068   4x7970   
watts:   1025 @plug   
Mhash:  2630

psu 2x seasonic 650
Mobo:  crosshair V
cpu:    phenom x4
mem:   4g 1600

stock clocks on mobo and mem

Is this with 3x 7970?  or 4x? 
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 07:17:56 PM
 #197



just going to throw some 7970 results in here to make the thread more inline with title.


clock:    1104/1028 
volt:      1068   4x7970   
watts:   1025 @plug   
Mhash:  2630

psu 2x seasonic 650
Mobo:  crosshair V
cpu:    phenom x4
mem:   4g 1600

stock clocks on mobo and mem

Is this with 3x 7970?  or 4x? 

Lol.  My bad. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
despoiler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 02:55:02 AM
 #198

Some nice info I lifted from another forum I am on.  You can check the 7970 binning with the new version of GPU-Z.

Quote from:
Found some interesting info from AMD's own Dave Bauman regarding 7970 binning. With GPU-Z's new ASIC test you can see where your 7970 was binned. If I'm understanding the comments correctly, higher leakage parts require less volts to hit the same speeds as low leakage parts. So AMD lowered the voltage on high leakage chips to narrow the TDP variation amongst all 7970 cards. For low leakage chips they raised the voltage to be able to hit the stock clocks.

Reading through the main thread over at B3D it also looks like there may be a 125mV OVP on the 7970 cards. So the cards with a stock voltage of 1.05V will not be able to run as high a voltage as the cards with 1.175V stock. Makes sense in light of some of the variation we're seeing in overclocking results. Generally the 1.175V cards have no problem running 1.3V while the cards with 1.0250-1.1125V crash at the higher voltage levels (1.25-1.3V).

You can check your ASIC value using GPU-Z 0.5.8. Hopefully we'll see some software tools come out that bypass the OVP.

                     "Originally Posted by Dave Baumann                                
                 Actually, it does the opposite! We  scale the  voltage based on leakage, so the higher leakage parts use  lower voltage  and the lower leakage parts use a higher voltage - what  this is does  narrow the entire TDP range of the product.

Everything is qualified at worst case anyway; all the TDP calcs and the   fan settings are completed on the wors case for the product  range."




                     "Originally Posted by Dave Baumann                                
                 No, the nominal voltage is 1.165V, however  the higher leakage parts do not need as much voltage to run at those  speeds."



"AMD uses the following table to select VID depending on ASIC quality:

up to 2F90 (up to 75% quality) - 1.1750V
up to 34D0 (up to 80% quality) - 1.1125V
up to 3820 (up to 85% quality) - 1.0500V
up to 3A90 (up to 90% quality) - 1.0250V"



jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 03:25:40 AM
 #199


interesting info.  question is, how do you know if the card is a 'good' one before you buy it?

I bot 4 xfx's from newegg, and they are all the higher voltage model. but if I buy more, will they be the right ones?

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 04:15:58 AM
 #200


might not be an issue for miners tho..  i downvolt mine to 1068 and overclock to 1107.  running stable at 2639Mhash    (4)

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!