Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:23:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there a "beta" Bitcoin network?  (Read 1124 times)
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:34:08 PM
 #1

It seems that there is going to be a significant change to bitcoin in february, so i was wondering what testing is being done.
For example in WoW and swtor - before any patch is introduced to the live servers it is applied on a few PTR/beta servers that are avaliable for everyone. This way a patch is actually tested by players on a large scale before it goes into the "real" game servers. (and there are still bugs on the live servers)
So, is there a public beta chainblock created for the purpose of testing upcoming changes?
A chainblock for people to play with "beta" bitcoins without risking anything and giving feedback to the developers on any proposed change.
A chainblock that can be safely deleted/purged without any notice.
This will also allow the developer to safely create invalid chainblocks\transactions offline to test the network's response to such an event
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480883038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883038
Reply with quote  #2

1480883038
Report to moderator
1480883038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883038
Reply with quote  #2

1480883038
Report to moderator
1480883038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480883038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480883038
Reply with quote  #2

1480883038
Report to moderator
vuce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:36:48 PM
 #2

Yes, it's called testnet.
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:37:41 PM
 #3

yes there is read this:   https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Testnet

Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:44:00 PM
 #4

Is it safe to run a the client with the testnet option on the same pc as the real network?
blockchain will be overwritten? wallet?
vuce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 11:51:34 PM
 #5

You will have to backup the wallet. Otherwise I don't think why it wouldn't be.
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 12:44:50 AM
 #6

Is it safe to run a the client with the testnet option on the same pc as the real network?
blockchain will be overwritten? wallet?
Yes, it is 100% safe. You can even run them simultaneously. Just make sure that you use -rpcport flag together with the -testnet flag. Otherwise the two instances of bitcoin will try to fight over the same RPC port.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
ThePiachu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 02:47:05 AM
 #7

If one was to implement some revolutionary change in the algorithm, one would need to use a modified testnet in a box:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/testnet-in-a-box/
As otherwise the normal Bitcoin clients working on testnet might not work with the beta code.

1HWbVLhxj7bhewhyapMZpyhqWAeAhJd51E
My Bitcoin Calculator:
http://tpbitcalc.appspot.com/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!