Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:37:25 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: how to keep 4 close by graphics cards cool?  (Read 2710 times)
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 03:03:07 AM
 #1

I need help cooling my 6870s

They are running in the upper high 70 degrees (77-80s C)

This is an open case rig with CM Storm Trooper.

Also keep in mind that this is COLD air being blown into the cards from outside ... I don't know why they're still hot. Autofan with CGMiner 85% fan speed

Here are some pics:




1480869445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869445
Reply with quote  #2

1480869445
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869445
Reply with quote  #2

1480869445
Report to moderator
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 03:47:29 AM
 #2

Yikes.  There's barely any room there for the cards to get any airflow.  Be glad you're getting high 70's (which isn't horrible at all, BTW). 

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
kjlimo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 04:06:37 AM
 #3

between 70 & 80 degrees C is what mine run at... I have 3 AMD 5970's running right now.

CampBX for buying BTCs, Coinbase for selling BTCs or Vircurex or Cryptsy for trading alternate cryptocurrencies like DOGEs

PM me with any questions on these sites!  Happy to help!

Bitcoin Poker at Seals                  Strike Sapphire Casino  Free games every hour & day!
  Get Free Bitcoins here.

Spondoolies-Tech or KnC Miner for the fastest mining hardware available!

Bitpay to help your business accept bitcoin payments!
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 09, 2012, 04:31:47 AM
 #4

I need help cooling my 6870s

They are running in the upper high 70 degrees (77-80s C)

This is an open case rig with CM Storm Trooper.

Also keep in mind that this is COLD air being blown into the cards from outside ... I don't know why they're still hot. Autofan with CGMiner 85% fan speed

Here are some pics:






I have two 12cm 110cfm Coolermaster fans in front of them. The fans are held in place with cable ties. The fans are on top of each other - the bottom fan cools the two graphics cards at the bottom and the top fan cools the two graphics cards at the bottom. Works for me. But don't waste your time with 70cfm fans or something puny like that. Make sure they have in excess of 100cfm, each.
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 04:41:34 AM
 #5

I need help cooling my 6870s

They are running in the upper high 70 degrees (77-80s C)

This is an open case rig with CM Storm Trooper.

Also keep in mind that this is COLD air being blown into the cards from outside ... I don't know why they're still hot. Autofan with CGMiner 85% fan speed

Here are some pics:






I have two 12cm 110cfm Coolermaster fans in front of them. The fans are held in place with cable ties. The fans are on top of each other - the bottom fan cools the two graphics cards at the bottom and the top fan cools the two graphics cards at the bottom. Works for me. But don't waste your time with 70cfm fans or something puny like that. Make sure they have in excess of 100cfm, each.


I have 130cfm scythe kazes I can use. but my case is standing up and not laying down. how can I use those fans? zip tie them to the cards?
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 04:07:29 PM
 #6

PCI-e extenders - that is all  Grin

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:13:43 PM
 #7


I have 130cfm scythe kazes I can use. but my case is standing up and not laying down. how can I use those fans? zip tie them to the cards?

I have this exact config sorta. 4 5850s in a case and a scythe zip tied right behind them. it keeps the temps in the mid to low 70s.
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:40:49 PM
 #8

PCI-e extenders - that is all  Grin

Pretty much or ditch the case and put wedges of paper or whatever between the cards.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 07:44:21 PM
 #9

what's to worry about? 70C is very cool. if you don't hit 100+C, then i wouldn't be worrying.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 09:22:09 PM
 #10

100C is FUD unless you plan on keeping the cards for 2-3 months...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 09:40:13 PM
 #11

Get rid of those crossfire cables and wedge the cards apart with cardboard or similar material.
Or, get a thin piece of steel and drill holes along it and use small nuts & bolts to space the cards apart using the default fixing holes in the gpus (That's what I do)

Some people will tell you it damages the pcie slot on the mobo but I have been running mine for a good 6+ months and no problems at all.

ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 09, 2012, 10:04:22 PM
 #12

Get rid of those crossfire cables and wedge the cards apart with cardboard or similar material.
Or, get a thin piece of steel and drill holes along it and use small nuts & bolts to space the cards apart using the default fixing holes in the gpus (That's what I do)

Some people will tell you it damages the pcie slot on the mobo but I have been running mine for a good 6+ months and no problems at all.

why do I need to get rid of crossfire cables?
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 10:07:47 PM
 #13

Get rid of those crossfire cables and wedge the cards apart with cardboard or similar material.
Or, get a thin piece of steel and drill holes along it and use small nuts & bolts to space the cards apart using the default fixing holes in the gpus (That's what I do)

Some people will tell you it damages the pcie slot on the mobo but I have been running mine for a good 6+ months and no problems at all.

why do I need to get rid of crossfire cables?
It lowers performance and they might not be long enough by the time you space the cards out correctly.

sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:10:26 AM
 #14

I'm confused why people think that running in Crossfire lowers mining performance.  I don't know who started that rumor, but it's the same unless you are gaming while mining (even then, it's almost a wash).  I've ran some 5870s, some 6870s, and some 7970s in Crossfire now in my gaming rig and the performance is identical to my dedicated rigs.

If this is a dedicated rig, there's no reason for the Crossfire bridges.  It's not hurting anything though (in Windows...  I can't vouch for the Linux driver behavior with Crossfire).

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:23:08 AM
 #15

I'm confused why people think that running in Crossfire lowers mining performance.  I don't know who started that rumor, but it's the same unless you are gaming while mining (even then, it's almost a wash).  I've ran some 5870s, some 6870s, and some 7970s in Crossfire now in my gaming rig and the performance is identical to my dedicated rigs.

If this is a dedicated rig, there's no reason for the Crossfire bridges.  It's not hurting anything though (in Windows...  I can't vouch for the Linux driver behavior with Crossfire).
+1, There is no hash rate impact (positive or negative) with crossfire enabled. However, there is quite a bit higher CPU usage when crossfire is enabled, so that means more power used.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 02:52:27 AM
 #16

+1, There is no hash rate impact (positive or negative) with crossfire enabled. However, there is quite a bit higher CPU usage when crossfire is enabled, so that means more power used.
Odd.  I've never seen one...

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 04:22:29 AM
 #17

I actually use the XF bridge to make the cards even if that make sense O.o
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 05:24:59 AM
 #18

I actually use the XF bridge to make the cards even if that make sense O.o
Not at all.  :-/

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 11:06:36 PM
 #19

The PCIE spec dictates up to 1.5cm freeplay or something like that. Use spacers:

http://ck.kolivas.org/pictures/Mining/IMG_1240.JPG

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 11:17:16 PM
 #20

The PCIE spec dictates up to 1.5cm freeplay or something like that. Use spacers:

http://ck.kolivas.org/pictures/Mining/IMG_1240.JPG


this won't harm the graphics card?
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!