Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:19:12 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: p2pool mining. Am I doing it correctly? [pics included]  (Read 4901 times)
hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 08:15:03 AM
 #1


Okay, I have no clue how to mine using p2pool and I'm trying to make the change from deepbit. In the screenshot above, am I mining bitcoins? And if so, where do the bitcoins go because I didn't provide an address.

EDIT: i'm getting more stale than valid :\

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
1481213952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213952
Reply with quote  #2

1481213952
Report to moderator
1481213952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213952
Reply with quote  #2

1481213952
Report to moderator
1481213952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213952
Reply with quote  #2

1481213952
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
eviltt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:33:06 PM
 #2

Looks pretty good.

I just made the switch from traditional pool mining to p2pool myself.  definitely something feels off at first so I know how you feel.  Just let it crunch away for a bit and see what happens.  As for the stales, that might be guiminer, I tried with GuiMiner on my 4870x2, and it was just bad overall.
wabber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
February 25, 2012, 05:52:31 PM
 #3

Are you running bitcoin-qt only? Then your mining reward will go directly to your wallet you can see with your bitcoin client. The only thing you should take a look at is the Local hashing rate, p2pool says is around 50MH/s but GuiMiner says its 250MH/s. Did you make that screen shot right after you launched p2pool?

Check http://localhost:9332/graphs if your Local hashing power is around 250MH/s

It will take a while until you get your first payment from p2pool but in total you will get way more than from deepbit if run it for a few weeks.
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 08, 2012, 08:08:42 AM
 #4

I also notice you don't have any incoming connections.  Try opening port 9333 in your router/firewall for the computer p2pool is running on. I might be wrong, but this can help with stales or rejects since you get your work announced to more people faster.
hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 01:01:30 AM
 #5



Okay I've been mining like this for a couple of hours now but the Current Payout: 0.0000 BTC is a little concerning. How long does it take to get some payout? Also I have no idea wtf is happening in both command prompts, I'm scared of command line. It'd be great if someone told me what all those random letters and numbers mean.

EDIT: I found 1 share in about 5 hours and my BTC payout is now .0063 BTC. Is this normal?

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 02:06:10 AM
 #6

Alright, lets see here.

I'll start with what your seeing.

cgminer gives you a lot of info, I know Q, A, R and HW are queue, accepted, rejected, and hardware errors, not sure what all the next line is but it is in the cgminer thread somewhere.  

The real important numbers (or at least what most people watch) are the GPU temp, its fanspeed, and the hashrate.  From what I'm seeing that all looks normal (of course I don't know what card you have, so I can't tell you if the hashrate is right, but you probably know where it is supposed to be)

All of the longpoll requests are also perfectly normal, because P2Pool finds a block about every 10 seconds, so everyone ends up with that many long polls.  

On to the P2Pool window.

The P2Pool lines are stats about P2pool, including total hashrate, total stale rate, and how long it will take P2Pool to find another block  (on average)

The next line starting local is stats having to do with your miners.  It should be a total of all the miners you have, and in your case it looks about right again.  This number can fluctuate a bit wildly with P2Pool sometimes, something to do with how it calculates hashrate.  The one in cgminer will always be accurate.  The local dead on arrival stat is how many shares your miners submitted that got to your P2Pool too late.  Yours a bit high, you might want to try running cgminer with the -g 1 option (1 thread per GPU) this can help reduce the number of local doas and the amount of longpolls you see.

Last line is about your shares.  This counts P2Pool shares, so it will be much lower than the accepted number in cgminer.  You should be getting a share about every 2.5 hours based on your screenshot.

Finally it tells you your stale rate, which isn't always accurate because it starts over every time you restart p2pool, but should become pretty accurate after it has been running long enough.  Effeciency has to do with your stale rate compared to everybody else's, The higher you are on the range shown, the better, although anything above 100% is fine.  These numbers will stay at "Huh?" (those are supposed to be question marks, but I don't feel like digging to see how to turn off autosmilies) until you actually find a share and it has some actual math to do.

When you find another share, your payrate should go up, until you have been mining for about 24 hours on P2Pool, then it should stabilize and only change when P2Pool total hashrate changes.

Well, there we go. It's a lot of information I know.  I hope it's helpful, and if I made any mistakes someone please point them out to me.

hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 07:16:06 AM
 #7

Thanks so much. That was really useful. All the longpolling things were scaring me. One last thing though. When I try to OC the card using cgminer it gives me "Failed to modify engine clock speed". Then when I try to use MSI afterburner, the settings don't save and the same with Catalyst. Why can't I OC my card when using cgminer?

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 10:04:21 AM
 #8

If you can't change your settings with the tools, they are probably limited by your graphics cards BIOS, and you would have to flash it to change them.  Having never done that I can't really help you out, although I know it is easier to do on reference cards.
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 01:28:46 PM
 #9

I find OC-ing using Sapphire Trixx the easiest. No need for flashing and the kind.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 05:14:20 PM
 #10

The thing is that I can always OC when cgminer isn't running. But when cgminer is running, I can't OC on cgminer or any other tools.

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!