Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:12:13 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: HD7770 & HD7750 mining thread  (Read 41142 times)
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:01:39 AM
 #1

So I figured I'd start an official mining thread for the Hd 77xx series..

Just got my first 7770 today, and I must say I'm less than impressed.. BFI_INT doesn't seem to be supported, as any miner that has it enabled, default or otherwise will just exit.

So far I have tried the DiakGCN kernel for Phoenix, as well as phatk and phatk2, tried using phoenix 1.7.4 (about to try with 2.0 rc1) and I get 131MH/s at 1000MHz, 9 aggression, vectors (just VECTORS, 2, 4 or 8 decrease performance), and worksize 128 (256 decreases slightly, and 64 makes no difference)

Using 12.2 drivers for 7700 series, SDK 2.6 (started at 2.5, read that 2.6 was better for GCN so I upgraded and it made no difference [fortunately it didn't seem to decrease my hash rate on my 6950, maybe due to the 12.2 drivers]) and Windows 7 64bit

Anybody who is able to get over 131.5MH/s at 1000MHz clock speed, PLEASE post all your specs, including miner, and the parameters fed to it.
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:14:33 AM
 #2

149 MH/s at stock speed now: Phoenix 2.0 rc1, autoconfigure = enabled, VECTORS = true, BFI_INT = disabled, DiakGCN doesn't seem to work with Phoenix 2 atm

NOTE: autoconfigure slects opencl as the kernel, not phatk2. Not sure if this means anything to anyone since I get higher MH/s using this kernel, also I thought that kernel was only for use with CPUs.. strange I get higher MH/s with it..

Anyone tried Diablo or cgminer yet? Supposedly they have built in support for GCN, although I haven't tried them yet
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:29:38 AM
 #3

Anyone tried Diablo or cgminer yet? Supposedly they have built in support for GCN, although I haven't tried them yet

IMO you should be trying diablo and cgminer first.

Going to try them next; never used them before so I was trying to avoid them.. Dont need all the fancy overclocking and fan options cgminer has, and I don't like the idea of a Java miner..

EDIT: I made a mistake on my original post, I was actually running at 1100MHz when I got the origonal MH/s rate.. It's actually less at stock  Angry only 131MH/s with Phoenix 1.7, and 149 MH/s Phoenix 2.0 when using the opencl kernel for some odd reason.. only good news is GPU is on auto fan and only 55*C at 1100MHz
Isepick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:37:04 AM
 #4

We bought ckolivas (the guy who does cgminer) a 7970 specifically so he could tune cgminer for the GCN architecture. He has been working on a kernel and helping Diapolo integrate his kernel into cgminer. I get my 7750 tomorrow, I'll post my results here, though I may do a detailed review thread as well.
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 02:39:00 AM
 #5

We bought ckolivas (the guy who does cgminer) a 7970 specifically so he could tune cgminer for the GCN architecture. He has been working on a kernel and helping Diapolo integrate his kernel into cgminer. I get my 7750 tomorrow, I'll post my results here, though I may do a detailed review thread as well.

7770 seems fairly different from 7970 though.. BFI_INT does not appear to be supported for one, and most kernels now have it enabled by default; I will try cgminer after I make something to eat  Grin

EDIT: BFI_INT does work with 2.6 SDK bundled with 12.2 preview drivers, doesn't help much though.. Diablo started up but didn't start hashing.. maybe is was user error though, never used that before.. cgminer didn't start either but that was also probably me  Huh
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 11:19:30 AM
 #6

Try DiabloMiner and cgminer because they are the only ones to be working with 7XXX cards.

Report back if you can. Thank you !
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:02:44 PM
 #7

Any power consumption numbers yet?

Mousepotato
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:27:31 PM
 #8

Try DiabloMiner and cgminer because they are the only ones to be working with 7XXX cards.

Report back if you can. Thank you !

I tried diablo which started up on all four GPUs, even recognized the 7770 as Capeverde, but none of my GPUs started hasing, it just idled saying 0.00 MH/s..

cgminer wouldn't start either, saying failed to initialize GPU 0.. not sure how to configure that though really, tried going through this guide that had me install mingw32, and Microsoft SDK and a bunch of other steps, but I still couldn't get it so start..  Sad sorry, still a noob at some of this.

Supposedly DiakGCN kernel with Phoenix works 99% as well as cgminer using diakgcn though, according to Dia who wrote the kernel for both miners.

Will try and post some power consumption rates later today.. I managed to get 1240MHz core on stock voltage though (1.17v), going to try and get 1300< on 1.2v

Hashing at 183MH/s @1230MHz using Phoenix 2.0 running OpenCL kernel.. Anybody have any idea why this kernel would result in better hashrate than diakgcn or phatk2 using the same miner?
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:45:05 PM
 #9

Here is you best option. Install the latest 12.2 drivers and use diablominer get the latest one updated yesterday. run with no flags that should do good. (maybe -w 128 might be faster) I have my 7970 on those settings getting 690Mhash each.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:47:09 PM
 #10

Here is you best option. Install the latest 12.2 drivers and use diablominer get the latest one updated yesterday. run with no flags that should do good. (maybe -w 128 might be faster) I have my 7970 on those settings getting 690Mhash each.

I was able to get diablominer working! Stupid me, I had http:// in front of my pool URL, which was causing it not to be able to connect I guess, anyway:

Latest Diablominer as of 2/17/2012, 12.2 with bundled 2.6 SDK, Win7 64bit, clocked at 1230MHz: 183MH/s vs 181 MH/s Phoenix 2.0 with fine-tuned paramaters; will experement with differant paramaters later this evening, I'm pretty sure I can get more MH/s out of it, as diablo defaults to 256 worksize, which is not optimal for 7770. I'll bet I can get at least another 5MH/s out of it with -w 128. Still, I was hoping for 200-220 MH after a 20% OC, which is about what the 6770 gets  Undecided

Also, Dia is going to send me an updated kernel for Phoenix 2.0 which isn't available on github; I'm hoping that will work even better as Phoenix 2.0 is already getting almost as much as diablo. Will post results of this as well as power consumtion tests later this evening. Also going to try overvolting and higher OCs this evening too! @1230MHz atm at stock.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 05:47:06 AM
 #11

There was a problem with earlier cgminer releases and the new 12.2 ATI driver release. This should be fixed in cgminer 2.2.7 so this should work with these cards.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 09:07:27 AM
 #12

 So, 7770 is 1.5 times slower than 5770?  Shocked What a waste of money on this junk.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 09:52:35 AM
 #13

So, 7770 is 1.5 times slower than 5770?  Shocked What a waste of money on this junk.

What do you expect ?

It has got less shaders.

GCN shaders are not faster than VLIW5 shaders ...
maxll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 955


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 09:53:50 AM
 #14

Well, with my 5750 I can get about 190 Mhashes/sec at 890Mhz/0.98V/65C with cgminer 2.1.2.


█████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
more than a coin
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 11:23:57 AM
 #15

So, 7770 is 1.5 times slower than 5770?  Shocked What a waste of money on this junk.

What do you expect ?

It has got less shaders.

CGN shaders are not faster than VLIW5 shaders ...

you mean gcn. graphics core next.

e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 12:51:36 AM
 #16

Any power consumption numbers yet?

Sorry for the delay on this, the following is assumed when taking these measurements:

7770HD is GPU 3 in my system, with no monitor attached, I am assuming 5 watts idle board power (IBP) (supposedly 3 watts), thanks to AMD Zero Core
Memory is not under-clocked, I wasn't able to use ATI tray tools on this GPU since it is not GPU 0 or the same type of GPU as 0, 1125MHz GDDR5, you could probably shave off a few watts if you downlcoked it to 300.
165 Watts total system power idle, from the plug, measured with Kill-a-Watt
System is using an 80-plus bronze certified PSU

Drum roll please:
Stock voltage and clocks: 1,000MHz @ 1.175v, ~150MH/s using Phoenix 2.0 (Diablo is slightly faster) 165watts > 211 watts (rounded up .5 watts) + 5watt IBP = ~50 Watts, or 3MHs/Watt with current drivers and kernels
1250MHz @ 1.215v, 184MH/s using Phoenix 2.0 (Diablo is slightly faster) 165 Watts > 225 watts (rounded up 1 watt) + 5 watt IBP = ~65 watts, or 2.83MHs/Watt with current drivers and kernels.
Not too shabby if you can overlook the high $/MHs

Anyone who thinks these numbers are low, consider that with the architectural improvements, the graphics core consumes only slightly more power than the GDDR5 memory would under full load, hence the 80 watt TDP. I wonder if this card will boot without a 6 Pin PCIE connection..

Also note that even with a high fan speed (bought the XFX double fan edition) this card gets rather warm in my server rack with extremly good air flow, hotter than my shader unlocked 6950's do running at 920MHz  Shocked
Could it be the die simply dosen't have the surface area to dissipate that much heat into the heatsink? Industrial manufactured diamond-based heatsinks now plz!
Miner612
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

FPGA convert


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 01:24:35 AM
 #17

I am working on my 7770 as we speak.  Getting very similar numbers OP is.  NOT happy at all.  Glad I kept all my new 5850s.

I buy and sell GPUs, most 5850s and 7970s. 
jimzolorenzo@gmail.com  -- Make an offer.
http://myworld.ebay.com/i_buy_5850s  -- current inventory
I have a couple bare bone mining rigs for sale as well.

--------------

I bought silver from [ccliu] 5 star transaction!
I bought silver from [TECSHARE] -- shipping still
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 01:44:35 AM
 #18

I am working on my 7770 as we speak.  Getting very similar numbers OP is.  NOT happy at all.  Glad I kept all my new 5850s.

I hear ya  Undecided at least the MHs/Watt is alright I guess.. Maybe in a year when the price is around $110 they'll be a better option.. I'm hoping for some fairly serious kernel improvements as well, maybe slightly better drivers too, but you can't expect too much improvement in that field from AMD these days.

You could always try 1500MHz @1.4v lol, haven't tried pushing that hard yet  Grin
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 10:03:39 AM
 #19

You could always try 1500MHz @1.4v lol, haven't tried pushing that hard yet  Grin

Next on Bitcoin talk, how to let all the magic smoke out of your components and turn them into doorstops.  Grin

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
Dark Shroud
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 10:35:50 AM
 #20

Well AMD has shrunk the line up a bit so we'll have to wait and see how the HD 7800 cards do and their prices.

It's probably going to be four months before AMD is putting out steady driver updates for GCN.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!