Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:36:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: LTC mining with Reaper on a 7970  (Read 31971 times)
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 10:13:46 AM
 #101

Can anyone tell me...

if I rig up 2 7970's on one mother board and "link them", will that be just as effective as having them in separate pc's, or would there be some sort of performance loss?

BTC:   1PZnh9xRt4ajDGsXggeyV1N76URKXqLEqB
LTC:    LRyJq7gCCzonZe6a8e4S4TdJpkMJ8ULkkp
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912579
Reply with quote  #2

1480912579
Report to moderator
1480912579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912579
Reply with quote  #2

1480912579
Report to moderator
1480912579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912579
Reply with quote  #2

1480912579
Report to moderator
W-M
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

In Crypto we Trust.


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 10:23:32 AM
 #102

Can anyone tell me...

if I rig up 2 7970's on one mother board and "link them", will that be just as effective as having them in separate pc's, or would there be some sort of performance loss?
I'm not an expert, but I believe they should be equally effective. In fact, it would be even better for you, because you won't have to pay for the extra electricity for the second motherboard/CPU/etc. I'm not really sure if you have to link them using Crossfire or if the script works on both cards separately, but they should be just as effective of having them in different PC's.

SatoshiCarnival.co ♢ Refreshing ♥ Fair ♧ Bitcoin Casino

WMCode ~ Web Development ~ Design
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 10:42:41 AM
 #103

I'm not really sure if you have to link them using Crossfire or if the script works on both cards separately

hmm good point

I was sort of figuring that with the cards being linked together the script would just automatically use them both, but I may be wrong...

BTC:   1PZnh9xRt4ajDGsXggeyV1N76URKXqLEqB
LTC:    LRyJq7gCCzonZe6a8e4S4TdJpkMJ8ULkkp
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 03:51:30 PM
 #104

You don't have to put the cards in crossfire Smiley
The only detriment to performance with a multi-GPU system is increased heat. If your computers don't ventilate well (small areas, etc.) then two cards in the same place might just be too much heat and cause some throttling. If you have good (air or water or oil) cooling, you should be good to go. Smiley

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 06:51:16 PM
 #105

You don't have to put the cards in crossfire Smiley
The only detriment to performance with a multi-GPU system is increased heat. If your computers don't ventilate well (small areas, etc.) then two cards in the same place might just be too much heat and cause some throttling. If you have good (air or water or oil) cooling, you should be good to go. Smiley

Nice, thanks  Smiley  Can you clarify if I can just keep running reaper with the same configuration when I add the second GPU?  Or will I have to make some sort of changes (like running it twice, or changing the concurrency)?

BTC:   1PZnh9xRt4ajDGsXggeyV1N76URKXqLEqB
LTC:    LRyJq7gCCzonZe6a8e4S4TdJpkMJ8ULkkp
peacefulmind
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 06:58:34 PM
 #106

I have pulled my hair out over the last week over 7970s.

See last post here:https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.520

Taco can you take a look at my problem quoted below?

Quote
Okay - need some help on this anomaly.

First rig - Sapphire 7970 standard edition with Vapor X, used settings suggested in Taco's thread - out of the box 650k/H per second.

Second rig - two (2x) Sapphire 7970 "GHZ Editions", used exact same settings in Taco's thread - out of the box - only about 350 k/H per second.

I have spent the last week in "newbie purgatory" so have been unable to discuss this issue.  Finally on the second rig, I was able to get 500k/H per second/card by putting aggression back to 13, and overclocking the memory to 1680Mhz.

Can anyone tell me WHY do two of the same brand/manufacturer, same model, have such huge variance in performance?

Why would the two "Ghz editions" VASTLY under-perform the standard one?

Does anyone have any suggestions experience with a Sapphire "GHZ Edition" that could explain the variance?  The standard one was plug and play @ 650k.   The better ones have taken a week of tweaking to even reach 500k/H, and NONE of the recommended settings worked.  I know it is not bad cards because they both perform the same - what is different about the "GHZ editions" that is hurting them so much, and made them so finicky?

First rig is Q6600 65nm, 4GB DDR2, PCI-E 2.0, Win7 Pro 64, Sapphire 7970 - 650kH/s

Second rig is 22nm Quad i5 Ivy Bridge, 8GB DDR3, PCI-E 3.0, Win7 Pro 64, 2 x Sapphire 7970 "GHZ Editions" - 990kH/s (both cards)

I followed all instructions in this thread.  The second rig would only do about 300 per card until I overclocked the RAM on both cards to 1700Mhz and dialed back aggression to 13.  Any variance from that setting and I get LESS than 500kH per card.

I would REALLY like to get the potential out of these supposedly "better" Sapphire 7970 Ghz editions.


Quote from: FrictionlessCoin
"I think you are to hung up on this notion about 'pre-mining' being a No-No."
- from journeys into the dark depths of the alt coin forum....
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 07:59:38 PM
 #107

You don't have to put the cards in crossfire Smiley
The only detriment to performance with a multi-GPU system is increased heat. If your computers don't ventilate well (small areas, etc.) then two cards in the same place might just be too much heat and cause some throttling. If you have good (air or water or oil) cooling, you should be good to go. Smiley

Nice, thanks  Smiley  Can you clarify if I can just keep running reaper with the same configuration when I add the second GPU?  Or will I have to make some sort of changes (like running it twice, or changing the concurrency)?

Yeah, if you used the device 0 setting you will need to add device 1 as well. That's about it for all of that stuff, since they are the same card they should work with the same threadconc. Smiley

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291



View Profile
April 07, 2013, 04:35:21 AM
 #108

You don't have to put the cards in crossfire Smiley
The only detriment to performance with a multi-GPU system is increased heat. If your computers don't ventilate well (small areas, etc.) then two cards in the same place might just be too much heat and cause some throttling. If you have good (air or water or oil) cooling, you should be good to go. Smiley

Nice, thanks  Smiley  Can you clarify if I can just keep running reaper with the same configuration when I add the second GPU?  Or will I have to make some sort of changes (like running it twice, or changing the concurrency)?

Yeah, if you used the device 0 setting you will need to add device 1 as well. That's about it for all of that stuff, since they are the same card they should work with the same threadconc. Smiley

Thanks again,

are you saying the reaper config file should look like this?

Quote
kernel reaper.cl
save_binaries yes
enable_graceful_shutdown no
long_polling yes
device 0
# device 1


mine litecoin

BTC:   1PZnh9xRt4ajDGsXggeyV1N76URKXqLEqB
LTC:    LRyJq7gCCzonZe6a8e4S4TdJpkMJ8ULkkp
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!