Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2018, 03:53:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: LTC mining with Reaper on a 7970  (Read 32772 times)
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 08:06:33 AM
 #41

Reaper reports higher hashrate compared with cgminer but keep this in mind:

Quote
Now finally, and you can believe me or not on this, but raper sends work to the GPU WITHOUT CHECKING if it was accepted, and gets the return buffer WITHOUT CHECKING if it actually did any work, and then adds the number of hashes it would have expected the GPU to do with that work sent to it. This means that when you start with lots of threads, some of them may not even be doing anything. Or if you've set some borderline invalid values, it will appear to be working fine, report back a big hashrate, but generate less valid shares. So I implore you to check the share rate generation and pretty much ignore the reported hashrate when comparing notes. Remember that cgminer AND raper use virtually identical kernels so should hash at virtually identical rates.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=92887.msg1048114;topicseen#msg1048114

Best bet would be to squeeze (properly) as much performance as you can from both apps, mine with both for few hours and compare share rates as they are reported by the pool.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526918034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526918034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526918034
Reply with quote  #2

1526918034
Report to moderator
live627
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 06:18:58 AM
 #42

I find reaper to be the best doin 760Kh/s on my 5970  Wink

protocol litecoin

worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 10
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 5632
zclock speeds?
Liquid
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


Crypto Somnium


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 02:18:27 PM
 #43

800Mhz

SmartCash A Unique Self-Funding Governance Model Built On A Privacy-Focused, Community-Centered Crypto-Currency with Smart Rewards. Join Smart Cash Today -  https://smartcash.cc
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2012, 02:21:48 PM
 #44

cgminer is the best, and can give more then reaper, its have been proven Smiley

Just need to configure right Smiley

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
Liquid
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


Crypto Somnium


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 02:36:37 PM
 #45

I use it for BTC and PPC but i cannot get LTC to work it keeps saying rejected Huh

SmartCash A Unique Self-Funding Governance Model Built On A Privacy-Focused, Community-Centered Crypto-Currency with Smart Rewards. Join Smart Cash Today -  https://smartcash.cc
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2012, 02:37:36 PM
 #46

I use it for BTC and PPC but i cannot get LTC to work it keeps saying rejected Huh

what is you're cgminer conf?

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
Liquid
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


Crypto Somnium


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 02:44:11 PM
 #47

well i dont have to configure for BTC & LTC and i get the best hashrate and best results without lag on my system cos i use my computer

but when i try to use a configured bat file for LTC with all the correct settings i get lower hashrate and lag  Huh

SmartCash A Unique Self-Funding Governance Model Built On A Privacy-Focused, Community-Centered Crypto-Currency with Smart Rewards. Join Smart Cash Today -  https://smartcash.cc
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 25, 2012, 02:50:02 PM
 #48

cgminer is the best, and can give more then reaper, its have been proven Smiley

Just need to configure right Smiley

using -shaders i get 550kh/s and 99% hardware errors

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2012, 03:12:28 PM
 #49

cgminer is the best, and can give more then reaper, its have been proven Smiley

Just need to configure right Smiley

using -shaders i get 550kh/s and 99% hardware errors

what card?, and what --shader are you using?, and what else?

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 25, 2012, 03:27:11 PM
 #50

cgminer is the best, and can give more then reaper, its have been proven Smiley

Just need to configure right Smiley

using -shaders i get 550kh/s and 99% hardware errors

what card?, and what --shader are you using?, and what else?

7950, --shader 1792 -w 256 -v 1 -g 1

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2012, 03:50:55 PM
 #51

cgminer is the best, and can give more then reaper, its have been proven Smiley

Just need to configure right Smiley

using -shaders i get 550kh/s and 99% hardware errors

what card?, and what --shader are you using?, and what else?

7950, --shader 1792 -w 256 -v 1 -g 1

in what O/C ? if you'r doing that

also, you don't need -w and -v

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 25, 2012, 04:30:44 PM
 #52

in what O/C ? if you'r doing that

also, you don't need -w and -v

1GHz core / 1450mhz RAM

if i don't set flags i lose performance

cgminer is setting the thread concurrency with --shader to ~8192, which is too small.  cgminer has a bug where it can't use thread concurrencies over 8192 (gives a memory size error).  in order to achieve max hashing rates for a 7xxx series card you need to set the concurrency to 64 * (memory bus size in bits).

in the meantime i'm getting 550kh/s in reaper and finding blocks

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
live627
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 07:06:42 AM
 #53

800Mhz
May I also know the memory clock?
Liquid
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


Crypto Somnium


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 09:03:40 AM
 #54

1000Mhz

SmartCash A Unique Self-Funding Governance Model Built On A Privacy-Focused, Community-Centered Crypto-Currency with Smart Rewards. Join Smart Cash Today -  https://smartcash.cc
Tomatocage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1140

brb keeping up with the Kardashians


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 09:57:49 PM
 #55

1GHz core / 1450mhz RAM

if i don't set flags i lose performance

cgminer is setting the thread concurrency with --shader to ~8192, which is too small.  cgminer has a bug where it can't use thread concurrencies over 8192 (gives a memory size error).  in order to achieve max hashing rates for a 7xxx series card you need to set the concurrency to 64 * (memory bus size in bits).

in the meantime i'm getting 550kh/s in reaper and finding blocks

Interesting.  I'm getting the same error in Reaper as well when I go above 8192.

Recommended Exchanges: Binance.com | Altcoin.io
GPG ID: 4880D85C | 1% Escrow | 8% IPO/ICO Escrow services Temporarily Closed | Bitcointalk is the ONLY place where I use this name (No Skype/IRC/YIM/AIM/etc) | 13CsmTqGNwvFXb7tD9yFvJcEYCDTB8wQTS | Beware of these SCAM sites! | *Sponsored Link
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 26, 2012, 10:57:32 PM
 #56

Interesting.  I'm getting the same error in Reaper as well when I go above 8192.

Your thread concurrency needs to be a multiple of 64, but otherwise any thread_concurrency within the memory size should work.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Tomatocage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1140

brb keeping up with the Kardashians


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 11:33:01 PM
 #57

Interesting.  I'm getting the same error in Reaper as well when I go above 8192.

Your thread concurrency needs to be a multiple of 64, but otherwise any thread_concurrency within the memory size should work.

Thanks... but anything I try that yields a buffer size over 512MB doesn't work.  My card is supposed to have 3GB too :-/

Recommended Exchanges: Binance.com | Altcoin.io
GPG ID: 4880D85C | 1% Escrow | 8% IPO/ICO Escrow services Temporarily Closed | Bitcointalk is the ONLY place where I use this name (No Skype/IRC/YIM/AIM/etc) | 13CsmTqGNwvFXb7tD9yFvJcEYCDTB8wQTS | Beware of these SCAM sites! | *Sponsored Link
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:51:18 AM
 #58

Interesting.  I'm getting the same error in Reaper as well when I go above 8192.

Your thread concurrency needs to be a multiple of 64, but otherwise any thread_concurrency within the memory size should work.

Thanks... but anything I try that yields a buffer size over 512MB doesn't work.  My card is supposed to have 3GB too :-/

What is an example of something that didnt work for you?

The setup I run on my 7950 uses 1.5gb on each of my cards and 3gb of system ram.

Make sure you have lots of system ram ready available.

              ▄▄▄█████████████▄▄▄
           ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▄
        ▄██████▀▀             ▀▀██████▄
      ▄█████▀▀                    ▀▀█████▄
     █████▀                          ▀█████
    ████▀          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▀████
   ████▌        ▄██▀▀▀    ▀▀▀██▄        ▐████
  ████▌       ▄██▀            ▀██▄       ▐████
 ▐████       ██▀   ▄▄█▀▀▀█▄▄    ▀██       ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▀  ▄▄   ▀▀             ▐████
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
▐████       ██  ▐█  ▐█                     ████▌
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▄  ▀▀   ▄▄    ██▀      ▐████
 ▐████       ██▄   ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀    ██▌       ████▌
  █████       ▀██▄            ▄██▀       █████
   █████        ▀██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄██▀        █████
    █████          ▀▀███████▀▀         █████
     █████▄                          ▄█████
      ▀█████▄▄                    ▄▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄             ▄▄██████▀
           ▀████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀
              ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀▀
Global Cryptocurrency
          ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

  DECENTRALISING PRODUCTION, LOGISTICS AND PAYMENT 
                ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   3D SERVICE      32 BAY     GCC WEBWALLET
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

Tomatocage
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1140

brb keeping up with the Kardashians


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 04:37:54 AM
 #59

Interesting.  I'm getting the same error in Reaper as well when I go above 8192.

Your thread concurrency needs to be a multiple of 64, but otherwise any thread_concurrency within the memory size should work.

Thanks... but anything I try that yields a buffer size over 512MB doesn't work.  My card is supposed to have 3GB too :-/

What is an example of something that didnt work for you?

The setup I run on my 7950 uses 1.5gb on each of my cards and 3gb of system ram.

Make sure you have lots of system ram ready available.

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 13
threads_per_gpu 4
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192

I'm seeing only 2Gb out of 6Gb total system ram being used right now.  Anything beyond 8192 for gpu_thread_concurrency yields an error:

LTC buffer size: 1024MB.
Buffer too big: allocation failed. Either raise 'lookup_gap' or lower 'gpu_thread_concurrency'.

Recommended Exchanges: Binance.com | Altcoin.io
GPG ID: 4880D85C | 1% Escrow | 8% IPO/ICO Escrow services Temporarily Closed | Bitcointalk is the ONLY place where I use this name (No Skype/IRC/YIM/AIM/etc) | 13CsmTqGNwvFXb7tD9yFvJcEYCDTB8wQTS | Beware of these SCAM sites! | *Sponsored Link
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 05:10:38 AM
 #60

change thread_per_gpu to 1

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!