Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 07:38:12 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S3 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 158098 times)
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
July 17, 2014, 08:26:02 PM
Last edit: January 25, 2015, 12:58:05 PM by goxed
Merited by ABCbits (3)
 #1

Code:
The default IP address of the miner is 192.168.1.99, 

[code][b]Username:root, Pwd:root[/b]

Overclocking

You can overclock the S3 to 250MHz by first ssh'ing into the device,
and then uncomment the 250M clock speed lines and
 making sure other clock speeds are commented out.
The overclocked device hashrate is ~500GH/s at 250MHz.

I have tried 275MHz and 300MHz, and were no-go since the chip voltage in the S3 is set at 0.784V.

Run the following command from a Linux machine. If you have changed your device IP then use that below, instead of 192.168.1.99.

Code:
ssh 192.168.1.99 -lroot
password:root


vim /etc/config/asic-freq

Following steps are from allcoinminer. Thanks!


  • Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
  • Open it and put your antminer ip address.
  • Put root as username and password when asked.
  • Then, type and enter the below.

Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.

Uncomment the desired clock speed as shown below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Code:
config 'asic-freq' 'default'

        option 'freq_value'    '0982'  #250M
        option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        option 'timeout'       '16'

        #option 'freq_value'    '1286'  #237.5M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '237.5'
        #option 'timeout'       '17'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0882'  #225M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '225'
        #option 'timeout'       '18'

        #option 'freq_value'    '1106'  #218.75M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '218.75'
        #option 'timeout'       '18'

Results of overclocking


[/code]

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
1713555492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555492
Reply with quote  #2

1713555492
Report to moderator
1713555492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555492
Reply with quote  #2

1713555492
Report to moderator
1713555492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555492
Reply with quote  #2

1713555492
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713555492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713555492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713555492
Reply with quote  #2

1713555492
Report to moderator
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
July 17, 2014, 08:26:12 PM
Last edit: July 20, 2014, 01:23:40 AM by goxed
 #2

A tiny red LED is visible when the board starts hashing



4xPCIE6pin power receptacles and  1 x RJ45 Ethernet port.




Operational. The board beeps real loud twice, after power up! Beeping can be disabled in the miner configuration menu.



Link for sound deadening the pesky buzzer Wink. Thanks philipma1957
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=76.0

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
hanti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 01:51:11 AM
 #3

power draw diference ?

jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 02:29:42 AM
 #4

The default IP address of the miner is 192.168.1.99, Username:root, Pwd:root

You can overclock the S3 to 250MHz by first ssh'ing into the device,
and then uncomment the 250M clock speed lines and
 making sure other clock speeds are commented out.
The hashrate is ~500GH/s at 250MHz.

I have tried 275MHz and 300MHz, and were no-go since the chip voltage in the S3 is set at 0.784V.

Code:
ssh 192.168.1.99 -lroot
password:root

vim /etc/config/asic-freq

Code:
config 'asic-freq' 'default'

        option 'freq_value'    '0982'  #250M
        option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        option 'timeout'       '16'

        #option 'freq_value'    '1286'  #237.5M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '237.5'
        #option 'timeout'       '17'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0882'  #225M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '225'
        #option 'timeout'       '18'

        #option 'freq_value'    '1106'  #218.75M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '218.75'
        #option 'timeout'       '18'

Results of overclocking


Solution to random beeping issues

General questions about the S3 now that mine have been hashing for a few hours...

1) Why in the name of all that's holy does it randomly beep?  Every now and then it just goes "BEEEEEP!" It's not like it's rebooting... it just decides to let everyone know, "Hey, I'm here!  Pay attention to me!"
2) I know the "o" in the miner status means "OK" and that "x" means "error".  What does "-" mean?

General comments:

1) At stock clocks it hashes almost exactly to spec on p2pool (my local node).  Initially it was around 450GH/s, but after settling down and going for a few hours now, it's about 439GH/s.
2) Overclocking it has far less effect on p2pool than on another pool.  For example, at 250, I get about 455GH/s on p2pool.  I get 500GH/s elsewhere with the same settings.
The beep is internet connection lost or failed to get work. It will retry to get work or listen for the internet connection up to a point. If it keeps hashing then its doing what its supposed too.
The config now allows you to turn it off if it is really annoying.
I did turn it off, yet it still will randomly just let out a beep.  It hashes away happily...then BEEP...still hashing...I think I'll beep now...

It happens at all clock speeds on every pool I've configured (my local p2pool node, another p2pool node, Eligius, BTCGuild, and yes, the pool that shall not be named).

My miners were doing the same random beep as you describe, I setup the dchp server to fix an ip for each and the beeping stopped. Too many iDevices on the network seemed to cause too much conflict for temp. leases.



Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 06:39:35 AM
Last edit: July 19, 2014, 05:26:25 PM by allcoinminer
 #5

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Press ESC and Type
Code:
:wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.
jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 03:54:33 PM
 #6

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Thanks Ill give that a try!
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 10:35:59 PM
 #7

And difference of W without OC and overclocking to  250MHz?
And is this secure?? I mean... there´s no risk S3 explodes or something? xD

Temp goes so high with 250 MHz? thx! Wink
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 10:48:46 PM
 #8

can someone tell me if opkg is locked down?

edit: also, what's the flash utilization ('df -h')?
fragout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1279
Merit: 1018


View Profile
July 18, 2014, 11:02:05 PM
 #9

Tks for the guide. I am still awaiting delivery. Do you need to connect the other 2 power connectors to OC? and what is the temp difference between OC and default?
Opnsrc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2014, 11:22:46 PM
 #10

power draw diference ?

Need to know this  Smiley

This.
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1023


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2014, 12:11:25 AM
 #11

Goxed,

You got a really nice unit if it's remaining stable at 250 clock and 504GH/s, congrats!  Mine apparently are part of the batch that caused Bitmain to set the clocks back to 218.75.  I tried 225, 237.5 and 250.  I would consistently get "x" and "-" in the ASIC stats and the units never got anywhere near the 504GH/s you're showing.  I left them running like that for 7 hours while I slept last night, hoping things might get better over time.  When I woke up and checked, Ant 1 was averaging 450GH/s and Ant 2 was averaging 387.  At 250 clock.  I set them back to stock and after 13 hours I'm at 441 and 439 with 0.0002% and 0.0004% HW errors.  All ASICs are "o".  It's definitely not a power issue - I've got an EVGA 1300 G2.  I even went so far as to hook only 1 up at a time on the PSU to see if it made a difference.  All 4 PCI-e connected.

Also, that solution for the random beeping did not work for me unfortunately.  They still randomly beep at me.  It's like they're just letting me know they're still going.  If somebody does come up with a valid solution to this, I'd be very much... well, my little lady will be very much appreciative of it Wink

As for temps and fans, mine are in an ambient 22C room.  Ant 1 shows 38/39 and Ant 2 shows 39/40 on stock speeds.  Fans are 1560/1380 and 1620/1380, respectively.  With the same PSU as I have, philipma1957 reported 665W at the wall to run them both at stock.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1067


Christian Antkow


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 06:47:58 AM
 #12

And is this secure?? I mean... there´s no risk S3 explodes or something? xD
This has me curious as well. I never did overclock the S1's I had, but I'm thinking of overclocking these dudes. I'm really hesitant, though, on the count of them already needing to clock them to 218.75 stock :|

Was thinking of nudging one up to 225, but don't want to risk burning my house down.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 08:10:58 AM
 #13

And is this secure?? I mean... there´s no risk S3 explodes or something? xD
This has me curious as well. I never did overclock the S1's I had, but I'm thinking of overclocking these dudes. I'm really hesitant, though, on the count of them already needing to clock them to 218.75 stock :|

Was thinking of nudging one up to 225, but don't want to risk burning my house down.

i have my S1´s overclocked and no problem. But with S3 im not that confident to OC Grin

I would like to know difference of W for OC and non OC and temperature also
jamesc760
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 19, 2014, 02:49:35 PM
 #14

Anyone with info on overclocking steps between the 218.75M and 225M? Like 220M. What are the values to add in?
jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 03:08:57 PM
 #15

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Thanks for the help.  I was able to login via putty and get the screen with the freq values.  However, not sure where on the screen to type the "i" and "!wq" commands.
Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 03:39:49 PM
 #16

Pre <esc> then type :wq
This will take you back to the prompt. Then type "exit" to ensure you close the connection. At this point you can close your terminal program. Reboot or power cycle the Antminer to complete the change.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 05:27:27 PM
 #17

Thanks for the help.  I was able to login via putty and get the screen with the freq values.  However, not sure where on the screen to type the "i" and "!wq" commands.

Just press "i" on the keyboard when the file is opened.
The other one was a typo. After editing you need to press ESC button and type the below code and press ENTER to save the edited file.
Upon window close PUTTY will auto close the connection. Or may manually exit as said in the earlier post.
CODE:
Code:
:wq
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 07:18:38 PM
 #18

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Thanks for the help.  I was able to login via putty and get the screen with the freq values.  However, not sure where on the screen to type the "i" and "!wq" commands.

do yourself a favour and install nano, it's an easier to use (albeit less capable) text editor.
opkg update
opkg install nano
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 08:06:06 PM
 #19

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Thanks for the help.  I was able to login via putty and get the screen with the freq values.  However, not sure where on the screen to type the "i" and "!wq" commands.

do yourself a favour and install nano, it's an easier to use (albeit less capable) text editor.
opkg update
opkg install nano


A bit OT but maybe you can answer this for me.

Either in nano or vim - is there a shortcut for select all? I can't seem to find it and replies from searches online don't work for me.

Its not possible to use a single shortcut the select all in nano or vim.
Multiple shortcuts will work that's a hard job. Using mouse will be more easy.
An enhanced version of vim called vim-enhanced may be used.
https://apps.fedoraproject.org/packages/vim-enhanced
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 01:27:46 AM
 #20

Total noob here.  Could you please provide a step by step guide to overclocking the S3. Thanks.

Download putty from here first. http://www.putty.org/
Open it and put your antminer ip address.
Put root as username and password when asked.
Then, type and enter the below.
Code:
vim /etc/config/asic-freq
vim is a text file editor. The asic-freq file is opened now.
Type
Code:
i
and comment by putting # in the default values and uncomment by removing # from the frequency set(freq_value,chip_freq,timeout) you want to set.
Type
Code:
!wq
to save and exit the file.
Type the below now and close putty. Restart Antminer S3 and you are running now at the new frequency.

Thanks for the help.  I was able to login via putty and get the screen with the freq values.  However, not sure where on the screen to type the "i" and "!wq" commands.

do yourself a favour and install nano, it's an easier to use (albeit less capable) text editor.
opkg update
opkg install nano


A bit OT but maybe you can answer this for me.

Either in nano or vim - is there a shortcut for select all? I can't seem to find it and replies from searches online don't work for me.
You can try that in visual mode
sorry! visual mode does not work on the antminer's vim.
:v
:gg
:shift+gg

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!