Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2019, 07:21:08 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Block Erupter Prisma (>=1.4 T/device, 0.75-0.78 W/G, <1 BTC/T, October Shipping)  (Read 107596 times)
Blazed
Casascius Addict
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1110



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2014, 01:31:39 AM
 #501

To me it feels like they just send them out the door without testing... I think they look nice, and for the price do not expect them to be as nice as say Bitmain or others, but shipping bad boards and controllers is just pathetic. I really have no idea why they are like this  Undecided
1563348068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563348068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563348068
Reply with quote  #2

1563348068
Report to moderator
1563348068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563348068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563348068
Reply with quote  #2

1563348068
Report to moderator
1563348068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563348068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563348068
Reply with quote  #2

1563348068
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563348068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563348068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563348068
Reply with quote  #2

1563348068
Report to moderator
1563348068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563348068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563348068
Reply with quote  #2

1563348068
Report to moderator
cathoderay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 379
Merit: 250


Welcome to dogietalk.bs


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:33:04 AM
 #502

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.

That doesn't sound like Canary.  You must have really pissed him off.

Did you make sure the boards were chained in incremental order?  (Example: 01:17,02:18,03:19,04:20,05:21...)  I understand it is crucial.

I agree. I had hoped for more from Canary as well, especially since I've bought dozens if not hundreds of miners from his buys in the past. I imagine he's getting lots of complaints and just didn't want to deal with it.

I've tried lots of dip switch settings. I get errors anytime more than 1 board is hooked up at a time and 1 of the boards is missing a capacitor and won't hash at all.

Wow. That sux.

Sorry about that, man.

You might want to mention this to Doggie, so he takes it into account on their ratings in his Manufacturer Trustworthiness guide.


That guide is a joke  Roll Eyes he gets paid from a few of them...also Avalon is 2nd highest rated lol. Yes Prisma is garbage and AM does not do any QC of the hardware. These are the absolute bottom of the line miners I have ever seen. I got screwed buying a tube also...avoiding anything AM directly makes in the future. It does seem that other companies using their chips do pretty good though..RM and BTCGarden etc.. If you have not bought one of these yet then save yourself the hassle..really late and tons of issues + no support or documentation.

+100!!

Mention it to dogie my arse - WTF? This forum is piled high with dogie poop as it is........the fact that he gets paid to write his crap is absurd on it's own, but that anyone actually believes it is just too much....... Huh Roll Eyes

Have you been a victim of dogie insults, neg-rep'd for no reason or been falsely accused by him? If so, air your experiences here:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.0
Avoid manipulative Exchanges - Localbitcoins.com
Blazed
Casascius Addict
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1110



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2014, 01:34:23 AM
 #503

Well I think his guides are nice, but also he states it is his opinion...not like it is some official thing.
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:38:31 AM
Last edit: November 12, 2014, 01:53:26 AM by mrpark
 #504

The one guide  I read said to use a block erupter, it also said to use a 12v @6 amp adapter. Popular opinion is that the BE doesn't work, so the guides are not correct in regards to these tubes. I will try the RPI just because I have no choice from what actual users are telling me. I won't say anything like this on you know who's guides because he will claim I am a troll to him, blah blah blah... Don't ever try to make suggestions on the guide or you will get your head ripped of. I have all guide writer and their guides on ignore, I will just ask people directly. Those guide are highly bias and especially in regards to the AMT Miners many of us lost thousands to.

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1698


I 💚 Bitcoin


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:52:51 AM
 #505

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.
Shall we make our PMs public to see where I said something is your fault and where I told you to fuck off??

I have no desire to bicker back and forth publicly or privately.  You sold me a miner that had a missing capacitor and does not function.  You are unwilling to replace it or accept a return.  If you are willing to do something, feel free to let me know.  Up until now all you have done is told me to contact AsicMiner, who does not respond.  I expected more.  If it is outrageous for me to assume that I would get a functioning miner in exchange for my BTC, then I apologize.

How to catch a Polar Bear
Step 1: Dig a hole in the ice and put some peas in it.
Step 2: When the polar bear comes to take a pea, kick him in the ice hole.
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:56:12 AM
 #506

Even hypothetically if Ognasty said something (I don't really know either way), he should not be denied customer service and be given help since he is a paying customer.

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.
Shall we make our PMs public to see where I said something is your fault and where I told you to fuck off??

I have no desire to bicker back and forth publicly or privately.  You sold me a miner that had a missing capacitor and does not function.  You are unwilling to replace it or accept a return.  If you are willing to do something, feel free to let me know.  Up until now all you have done is told me to contact AsicMiner, who does not respond.  I expected more.  If it is outrageous for me to assume that I would get a functioning miner in exchange for my BTC, then I apologize.

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1020


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:30:00 AM
 #507

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.
Shall we make our PMs public to see where I said something is your fault and where I told you to fuck off??

I have no desire to bicker back and forth publicly or privately.  You sold me a miner that had a missing capacitor and does not function.  You are unwilling to replace it or accept a return.  If you are willing to do something, feel free to let me know.  Up until now all you have done is told me to contact AsicMiner, who does not respond.  I expected more.  If it is outrageous for me to assume that I would get a functioning miner in exchange for my BTC, then I apologize.
I didn't sell you a miner as I'm not a reseller.  you participated in a group buy and I combined orders and re shipped it to you once they arrived same day.  I explained to you that I do not have anything to replace it with and for that or a refund, I'd be more than happy to support your contact to AM.  Don't try to twist what I said or to make me your scapegoat when you're pissed at bad hw.  Anyway, let's not sling stuff, we can PM.
unrealistic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 05:46:52 AM
 #508

So are these devices already in production ?
SEGMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2014, 06:59:37 AM
 #509

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.

That doesn't sound like Canary.  You must have really pissed him off.

Did you make sure the boards were chained in incremental order?  (Example: 01:17,02:18,03:19,04:20,05:21...)  I understand it is crucial.

I agree. I had hoped for more from Canary as well, especially since I've bought dozens if not hundreds of miners from his buys in the past. I imagine he's getting lots of complaints and just didn't want to deal with it.

I've tried lots of dip switch settings. I get errors anytime more than 1 board is hooked up at a time and 1 of the boards is missing a capacitor and won't hash at all.

[We did not participate in group buys, this is our own experience]

Hi, so, this has been a total nightmare.  But, I found this information posted by CrazyGuy to be reliable https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.0 and he points out flaws with the dip switches and notes on the "virtual boards".

Also, 3/16 of the prismas I've received had caps rattling around the boxes.  I have 5 of our own I've yet to open, 4 from a customer I've yet to inspect.  These all came straight from AM.  Also the Tube we received, I'm guessing as compensation, had components that had fallen off in the shipment.  This has been a total disaster. 


SEGMINING Miner Co-Location in Vancouver, WA
$75/KW/Month with VPN access to your hardware
http://segmining.com
ferncreekminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 06:47:11 PM
 #510



[We did not participate in group buys, this is our own experience]

Hi, so, this has been a total nightmare.  But, I found this information posted by CrazyGuy to be reliable https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.0 and he points out flaws with the dip switches and notes on the "virtual boards".

Also, 3/16 of the prismas I've received had caps rattling around the boxes.  I have 5 of our own I've yet to open, 4 from a customer I've yet to inspect.  These all came straight from AM.  Also the Tube we received, I'm guessing as compensation, had components that had fallen off in the shipment.  This has been a total disaster. 


[/quote]

Question as to the packaging - are your units packed with the 4 blue tubes keeping the prisma in place or did they have 4 white squares shaped pieces of foam to keep the prismas from shifting?

I have 2 working units from CG GB on hand my batch1 unit had 4 white square pieces of foam & the prisma had shifted in shipment. the 2nd unit I got AM had changed to using blue foam tubes (a bit bigger) and the unit had not shifted during shipment.

Got another unit on the way from Canary's GB.

Luckily both of my units so far are working great since I have moved from the BE Controller to the Minera RPi image that CG created. When on the BE Controller it couldn't handle 8 hashboards - 1 board would cause the unit to stopping hashing after 1hr - 1.25 hrs.
Even on the RPi the unit seems to have issues if I use a pool port that is set for vardif - using a port set to difficulty 2048 works great though.

http://i.imgur.com/0RRLSU0.png
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 07:33:28 PM
 #511

 I got the feeling the Prisma was a little rushed to market.  I don't understand how they can be so problematic - I mean this isn't their first miner... it's the 4th or 5th?!  
This is (as far as I'm aware) their first string miner, which is a whole different can of worms.
SEGMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2014, 09:37:00 PM
 #512



[We did not participate in group buys, this is our own experience]

Hi, so, this has been a total nightmare.  But, I found this information posted by CrazyGuy to be reliable https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.0 and he points out flaws with the dip switches and notes on the "virtual boards".

Also, 3/16 of the prismas I've received had caps rattling around the boxes.  I have 5 of our own I've yet to open, 4 from a customer I've yet to inspect.  These all came straight from AM.  Also the Tube we received, I'm guessing as compensation, had components that had fallen off in the shipment.  This has been a total disaster. 



Question as to the packaging - are your units packed with the 4 blue tubes keeping the prisma in place or did they have 4 white squares shaped pieces of foam to keep the prismas from shifting?

I have 2 working units from CG GB on hand my batch1 unit had 4 white square pieces of foam & the prisma had shifted in shipment. the 2nd unit I got AM had changed to using blue foam tubes (a bit bigger) and the unit had not shifted during shipment.

Got another unit on the way from Canary's GB.

Luckily both of my units so far are working great since I have moved from the BE Controller to the Minera RPi image that CG created. When on the BE Controller it couldn't handle 8 hashboards - 1 board would cause the unit to stopping hashing after 1hr - 1.25 hrs.
Even on the RPi the unit seems to have issues if I use a pool port that is set for vardif - using a port set to difficulty 2048 works great though.


[/quote]

1 of the damaged units was batch 1

2 of them were batch 2

I'm going to put a little more effort into using CrazyGuy's RPi image tonight.

Right now I'm having a strange situation where I switched controllers and then switched back to my original controller that used to work.  Now I can only get about 2/5 hashing at full speed.

SEGMINING Miner Co-Location in Vancouver, WA
$75/KW/Month with VPN access to your hardware
http://segmining.com
dankefoss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 03:07:07 AM
 #513

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.

That doesn't sound like Canary.  You must have really pissed him off.

Did you make sure the boards were chained in incremental order?  (Example: 01:17,02:18,03:19,04:20,05:21...)  I understand it is crucial.

I agree. I had hoped for more from Canary as well, especially since I've bought dozens if not hundreds of miners from his buys in the past. I imagine he's getting lots of complaints and just didn't want to deal with it.

I've tried lots of dip switch settings. I get errors anytime more than 1 board is hooked up at a time and 1 of the boards is missing a capacitor and won't hash at all.


  I got the feeling the Prisma was a little rushed to market.  I don't understand how they can be so problematic - I mean this isn't their first miner... it's the 4th or 5th?!  

Brand new Prisma user. Have four Antminer S3's. Got mine up and running in a half hour following CrazyGuy and Dogies Guide for the Tube. Part of both. Hashing at 1.43 THs for 4 days now.

Dan
jdany
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500


Inspired


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 03:17:36 AM
 #514

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.

That doesn't sound like Canary.  You must have really pissed him off.

Did you make sure the boards were chained in incremental order?  (Example: 01:17,02:18,03:19,04:20,05:21...)  I understand it is crucial.

I agree. I had hoped for more from Canary as well, especially since I've bought dozens if not hundreds of miners from his buys in the past. I imagine he's getting lots of complaints and just didn't want to deal with it.

I've tried lots of dip switch settings. I get errors anytime more than 1 board is hooked up at a time and 1 of the boards is missing a capacitor and won't hash at all.

Using a Pi?  or a BE controller?


  I got the feeling the Prisma was a little rushed to market.  I don't understand how they can be so problematic - I mean this isn't their first miner... it's the 4th or 5th?!  

Brand new Prisma user. Have four Antminer S3's. Got mine up and running in a half hour following CrazyGuy and Dogies Guide for the Tube. Part of both. Hashing at 1.43 THs for 4 days now.

Dan
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 2232



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 03:27:31 AM
 #515

My Prisma has never gotten more than 350GH/s. My opinion is that they are pieces of shit and should not be purchased. I can't even return this piece of shit because my reseller (Canary) basically blamed me and told me to fuck off even though it arrived with missing parts. Be warned if you buy one of these. You will waste more of your time then they're worth and will be disappointed.

That doesn't sound like Canary.  You must have really pissed him off.

Did you make sure the boards were chained in incremental order?  (Example: 01:17,02:18,03:19,04:20,05:21...)  I understand it is crucial.

I agree. I had hoped for more from Canary as well, especially since I've bought dozens if not hundreds of miners from his buys in the past. I imagine he's getting lots of complaints and just didn't want to deal with it.

I've tried lots of dip switch settings. I get errors anytime more than 1 board is hooked up at a time and 1 of the boards is missing a capacitor and won't hash at all.


  I got the feeling the Prisma was a little rushed to market.  I don't understand how they can be so problematic - I mean this isn't their first miner... it's the 4th or 5th?!  

Brand new Prisma user. Have four Antminer S3's. Got mine up and running in a half hour following CrazyGuy and Dogies Guide for the Tube. Part of both. Hashing at 1.43 THs for 4 days now.

Dan

 Well that's great.  Glad to hear you got it working so quickly without issues.  Nice to hear AM success stories!

SEGMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 13, 2014, 04:59:35 AM
 #516

So, we made some progress on one of our miners that was "misbehaving" by running it with CrazyGuy's RPi image.  The original five I was having trouble with, magically started working again for no reason.  I'm not disappointed in them working, but for 2 days they gave me hell.  I did absolutely nothing new and they started working again.  We'll see if they survive the night running well.

One unit that was previously not being detected correctly was remedied by using a new cable.

Luckily the damaged units seem to just be weak solder and one of my friends is going to fix that for us.

I do suggest CrazyGuy's pi image and following the instructions in his group buy thread.  It's spot on for most issues.

We now have 100% of Prismas that are deployed up and running, we still have some more to deploy though and some to fix.

SEGMINING Miner Co-Location in Vancouver, WA
$75/KW/Month with VPN access to your hardware
http://segmining.com
qiqiji
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:12:25 PM
 #517

So, we made some progress on one of our miners that was "misbehaving" by running it with CrazyGuy's RPi image.  The original five I was having trouble with, magically started working again for no reason.  I'm not disappointed in them working, but for 2 days they gave me hell.  I did absolutely nothing new and they started working again.  We'll see if they survive the night running well.

One unit that was previously not being detected correctly was remedied by using a new cable.

Luckily the damaged units seem to just be weak solder and one of my friends is going to fix that for us.

I do suggest CrazyGuy's pi image and following the instructions in his group buy thread.  It's spot on for most issues.

We now have 100% of Prismas that are deployed up and running, we still have some more to deploy though and some to fix.


Where is CrazyGuy's group buy thread please? I can't find it
Blazed
Casascius Addict
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1110



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2014, 12:52:13 PM
 #518

So, we made some progress on one of our miners that was "misbehaving" by running it with CrazyGuy's RPi image.  The original five I was having trouble with, magically started working again for no reason.  I'm not disappointed in them working, but for 2 days they gave me hell.  I did absolutely nothing new and they started working again.  We'll see if they survive the night running well.

One unit that was previously not being detected correctly was remedied by using a new cable.

Luckily the damaged units seem to just be weak solder and one of my friends is going to fix that for us.

I do suggest CrazyGuy's pi image and following the instructions in his group buy thread.  It's spot on for most issues.

We now have 100% of Prismas that are deployed up and running, we still have some more to deploy though and some to fix.


Where is CrazyGuy's group buy thread please? I can't find it

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.0
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 2232



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 01:02:07 PM
 #519

 I got the feeling the Prisma was a little rushed to market.  I don't understand how they can be so problematic - I mean this isn't their first miner... it's the 4th or 5th?!  
This is (as far as I'm aware) their first string miner, which is a whole different can of worms.

 Good point.
jdany
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500


Inspired


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 01:19:33 PM
Last edit: November 14, 2014, 05:09:12 AM by ckolivas
 #520

Brand new Prisma user. Have four Antminer S3's. Got mine up and running in a half hour following CrazyGuy and Dogies Guide for the Tube. Part of both. Hashing at 1.43 THs for 4 days now.

Dan

Are you using a Pi or a BE controller?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!