Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:03:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU Tuning?  (Read 1703 times)
oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 11:33:46 PM
 #1

I sit here quite hours and looking for differences for my old Seasonic SS330-GB and look the pictures for a SS380 and a Corsair VX450W. But the only differenz i can find is the capacitor, that seem to be more bigger in the VX450.
So here is the idea, replace the org. capacitor ( org. 180µF ) to a bigger one 250-280 for example and get more output Power on all rails?

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
1481450630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450630
Reply with quote  #2

1481450630
Report to moderator
OneMINER
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 11:39:16 PM
 #2

That's a very bad idea. Never open a PSU. You could be killed by messing with what's in there. Modding a PSU is also an incredibly bad idea. You are more likely to burn out your whole system than get some performance increase.
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 05, 2012, 11:47:08 PM
 #3

After a few hours being disconnected a PSU should be fully discharged. Safe to poke around and have fun with, they are interesting little creatures, but I'd never electrically MOD one.

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 12:03:12 AM
 #4

That's a very bad idea. Never open a PSU. You could be killed by messing with what's in there. Modding a PSU is also an incredibly bad idea. You are more likely to burn out your whole system than get some performance increase.
I know i still dont get more mh/s with tuning that thing.  Grin
Not every thing belongs to performance, i'm looking to improve my old but good 80+ atx2.2 psu.
Replacing a capacitor is not that heavy thing, just want to know does it belongs to the size of the capacitor?

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
faidsaid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 12:15:02 AM
 #5

I sit here quite hours and looking for differences for my old Seasonic SS330-GB and look the pictures for a SS380 and a Corsair VX450W. But the only differenz i can find is the capacitor, that seem to be more bigger in the VX450.
So here is the idea, replace the org. capacitor ( org. 180µF ) to a bigger one 250-280 for example and get more output Power on all rails?

If you cannot read and explain the schematic diagram of the device you are modifying you are just guessing. Why would increasing the capacitance of the component in question change anything?

“There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old's life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.”
― John Rogers
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 06:03:57 AM
 #6

A bigger cap is most likely not going to net you more capacity. The power output capacity on a modern day SMPS is limited by the MOSFETs.

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 09:05:50 AM
 #7


So here is the competition. I count same numbers of mosfet. Can be there a little more bigger than my psu (under).
But here you see clearly the much more bigger capacitor.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 11:59:04 AM
 #8

The capacitors have no bearing on output power or capacity if the rest of the components are the same. FWIW, the smaller one appears to be a 180μF cap. I can't tell for sure, but it looks like it is rated for 400 volts, which would mean that it is likely used in the secondary stage of the PSU, not the output stage. (Could be wrong about that.) Although the number of MOSFETs may be the same, it is possible to get different ratings in the same package size.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 12:29:00 PM
 #9

mosfets are silicon devices.

It is like looking at a Pentium II and a Core i-7 saying they look the same thus must have roughly the same amount of performance.
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 01:18:31 PM
 #10

How can you tell if the PCB is identical without a schematic?
Looking at the 2 pics the two PCB's are dissimilar. In both pics, compare the printing on the left side just above the Caps you want to change. One says 10/15x5 while the other states blah/25x4. I haven't seen the specs for your PSU's but this may indicate # of rails and the amperage available to each rail.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 01:59:30 PM
 #11

I just don't think it is worth the man hours of staring at it trying to find a difference and possibly replacing one part that may or may not do anything.

If you need more power then get a bigger PSU.  I never get too attached to my hardware, there is always something better out there. Grin

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 06, 2012, 02:01:35 PM
 #12

I also imagine the control circuitry would need to replaced. Even if it were possible, I cant imagine it being worth he hassle and risk.

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 10:12:37 PM
 #13

The two pcb are identic.  Wink
But i say allready, the mosfet on the Corsair seem to be bigger.
But at all, i find out that my soldering iron is broken.  Cry

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
May 06, 2012, 11:09:26 PM
 #14

But the only differenz i can find is the capacitor, that seem to be more bigger in the VX450.

But at all, i find out that my soldering iron is broken.  Cry
...luckily for you since you really shouldn't mess with that PSU of yours.

It's mostly the bridge rectifiers and power mosfets one needs to worry about in a PSU.
You won't find any obvious differences between these because they come in industry standard packages (e.g. TO-220).
You need to study the datasheets to learn the exact specifications.
The fact that you're not even aware of this is proof positive that you shouldn't think of tampering with the PSU.

BTW, capacitors are merely used for filtering and ripple suppression.
Replacing that "grain silo" will not increase the output power.
oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 07, 2012, 01:28:49 AM
 #15

thx.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!