Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:46:46 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with CGMiner 2.4.1 and Singles?  (Read 2287 times)
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:00:19 PM
 #1

Is anyone else having this problem? Just downloaded version 2.4.1, and saw this



Couldn't find any reference to this problem in the cgminer thread, so I thought I would ask here.
1481122006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122006
Reply with quote  #2

1481122006
Report to moderator
1481122006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122006
Reply with quote  #2

1481122006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481122006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122006
Reply with quote  #2

1481122006
Report to moderator
Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:03:41 PM
 #2

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:04:09 PM
 #3

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce


All the official binaries are.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:05:01 PM
 #4

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce



[EDIT]

You can run CGMINER as is but you can only use COM1-COM9 and you'll still get the Test Failed messages but it'll run

Scared
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:05:49 PM
 #5

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce


All the official binaries are.

I wish it was but it's not. I'm in the process of compiling them again with --enable-bitforce.

Is it possible that the windows version only supports COM1-COM10 then?
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:10:31 PM
 #6

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce


All the official binaries are.

I wish it was but it's not. I'm in the process of compiling them again with --enable-bitforce.

Is it possible that the windows version only supports COM1-COM10 then?
For high COM numbers, you need to use "\\.\COM25" for example. Anything over 9 requires \\.\COMxx

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:14:25 PM
 #7

But as you all can see, those things were done. I think it was epoch that told me how to use the ports above 9 originally...
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 10:20:59 PM
 #8

You need a version of CGMINER compiled with --enable-bitforce


All the official binaries are.

I wish it was but it's not. I'm in the process of compiling them again with --enable-bitforce.

Is it possible that the windows version only supports COM1-COM10 then?
The official binary most definitely is compiled with bitforce support.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:27:19 PM
 #9

And as an aside, 2.3.6 works perfectly.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:38:56 PM
 #10

The order of detection has changed since Bitforce detection messed up Icarus detection
Looks like on your setup Icarus detection is also messing up Bitforce detection.

You can force the detection you want by:
 -S bitforce:\\.\COM10
or
 -S icarus:\\.\COM10

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:06:54 AM
 #11

With those changes, now this

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:09:02 AM
 #12

Then the bitforce code isn't detecting your singles.
Run it with -D --verbose -T and pastebin the output and post a link (or come to IRC Freenode/#cgminer and ask there since this will take forever on the forum)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
fuuka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 11:33:07 AM
 #13

Does "-S auto" not work on windows?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 01:06:04 PM
 #14

Does "-S auto" not work on windows?
auto doesn't work on windows (as the README says)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:51:52 PM
 #15

So...update.

I spent a couple hours on it last night. I could not get any meaningful information other than it saying that it failed to detect bitforce, even when I manually specified ports (ie -S bitforce:\\.\COMx)

Went back to 2.3.6 and am having no problems.

And still couldn't find any logs generated. Oh well, works great now!
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 07:35:34 PM
 #16

So...update.

I spent a couple hours on it last night. I could not get any meaningful information other than it saying that it failed to detect bitforce, even when I manually specified ports (ie -S bitforce:\\.\COMx)

Went back to 2.3.6 and am having no problems.

Yes, I've stayed with 2.3.6. Its bitforce support/compatibility is solid and I've been running it on multiple hosts with multiple Singles for weeks at a time (Win7/64) without any issues.

IMHO the 2.4.x branch has been getting too many issue reports for me to bother with it; improvements in newer versions are welcome, but it is frustrating/disappointing when things which used to work are broken in the process. 2.3.6 is solid. As the saying goes, a known devil is often better than an unknown angel. And, in the case of 2.3.6, the 'devil' is more than satisfactory.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:01:19 PM
 #17

It is a bit disappointing, and odd because one of the main changes to the 2.4 branch was better icarus detection.

So maybe it's a bit ironic that it detects icarus better, but BFL not at all anymore  Tongue
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:01:26 PM
 #18

That's strange I haven't had any issues with 2.4.1 recognizing my BFLs or running funny.  weird.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:48:03 PM
 #19

It is a bit disappointing, and odd because one of the main changes to the 2.4 branch was better icarus detection.

So maybe it's a bit ironic that it detects icarus better, but BFL not at all anymore  Tongue
The change was simply to detect Icarus before BFL rather than BFL before Icarus.
(since it was reported that BFL detection was messing up Icarus and that was the ... ... that someone else supplied ...)

Anyway, with the names added to the front, there should be no difference at all between the detection in 2.3.6 and 2.4.1 since the names (another ... ... that someone else did quite a while back) would force the devices to never even be looked at by the other driver
i.e. with a name like bitforce:\\.\COM10 - the Icarus detection would never touch the \\.\COM10 port before the Bitforce detection gets a look at it.
Hmm - maybe I should actually force that rather than let the code work the way it was implemented.

i.e. there is likely be some other problem ... and ckolivas suggestion to try this with a single BFL on your rig is probably the best chance at sorting it out
Remember you can run your rig with 2.3.6 using all but one BFL and then run testing on the last BFL with 2.4.1 at the same time (and switch that one between 2.3.6 and 2.4.1 as needed)

Anyway, if you get a chance come back and visit #cgminer again and if I'm around and have time then I'll see if we can resolve it with a single BFL

(P.S. the translation of '... ...' is 'hack' Tongue)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 05, 2012, 10:50:47 AM
 #20

... and I've put up a pull request change earlier today to get rid of that 2nd hack I mentioned above.
There are 3 source code file changes to tidy that up (and help with the windows problem)
See the pull request here:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/215

The problem seems to be when you have more than 6 BFL's on xDGDZEx's version of Windows7
(it will only handle 6)
This change should fix that.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!