Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:43:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970, CGMiner 2.4.0, Win7x64 - 100% CPU, Dummy Plugs, MemDiff  (Read 8032 times)
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:43:57 PM
 #1

I think I just wet myself.....

7970's are the 'Tits'.

I just realized that my test rig running 2 cards is also running a simple little Corsair 600W 80+ Power Supply and running 1.3GH/s, not skipping a beat.
(for how long, I can only guess, but I will get proper power to the permanent rigs.....LOL)

I am pleased....



I just got my first batch of 7970's and I am struggling a bit.....
I have been a miner for a year now and have a complete handle on it, but this jump to 7xxx cards has turned me back into a newb.

Test Setup:
- MSI 770-G45 Motherboard, Sempron 145 CPU
- 2x 7970 Reference Models
- CAT 12.3 (using included SDK) *NO CCC Installed*
- Win7 x64
- CGMiner 2.4.0 (-I 11 --gpu-powertune 5 --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memdiff -150)

THE GOOD:
- Insane Performance.
- Good Card Temps.


THE BAD:
- CPU Usage @ 100% Using -I 9 without any problems now.
- No Secondary Card MEM control unless I use a DUMMY PLUG (tried with CCC installed, then removed, same result) I'll just use dummy plugs for now.

Could anyone who is currently running Windows, using multiple cards, please share your experiences ?
Going back to 100% CPU usage and dummy plugs SUCKS...
Please help.[/size]


Cheers,
bitlane.

1480884227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884227
Reply with quote  #2

1480884227
Report to moderator
1480884227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884227
Reply with quote  #2

1480884227
Report to moderator
1480884227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884227
Reply with quote  #2

1480884227
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480884227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480884227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480884227
Reply with quote  #2

1480884227
Report to moderator
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:08:34 PM
 #2

Using 'Dynamic Intensity' (rather than I 11 as suggested for 7970's) seems to have solved the CPU being pegg'd @ 100%....although I have taken a performance hit.

Any Windows 7xxx miners care to chime in ?

<EDIT>
-I 9 seems to let the CPU Idle nicely (and the performance hit isn't as bad as using Dynamic Intensity). -I 10 and above peggs the CPU to 100% (for me in Windows anyways).

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 10:25:06 PM
 #3

You can only run intensity over 9 on linux without the CPU usage shooting up.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:34:12 PM
 #4

You can only run intensity over 9 on linux without the CPU usage shooting up.

Thanks.

How about the need for dummy plugs again in Windows ?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 10:36:04 PM
 #5

You can only run intensity over 9 on linux without the CPU usage shooting up.

Thanks.

How about the need for dummy plugs again in Windows ?
That's a broken driver issue. I thought only 12.4 suffered that but you said you're on 12.3. Apparently it's ULPS being enabled. I've heard you can go into regedit and find all instances of ULPS and disable it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:50:33 PM
 #6

Is it worth going back to CAT 12.2 ?

Scratch that idea..... I'll stick with dummy plugs for now.

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 11:18:17 PM
 #7

My second 5850 is also set I=14 ( CGm + Diablo ) with result of higher CPU utilisation.
So i thing the 7970 with its hugh performance need much more CPU time than the 5850.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 11:38:30 PM
 #8

Are Windows users able to specify Voltage settings in CGMiner using 7970's ? (and have them work correctly ?)

af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 15, 2012, 04:36:09 PM
 #9

Are Windows users able to specify Voltage settings in CGMiner using 7970's ? (and have them work correctly ?)

See my post
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=79889.0

Basically, use AB, set the voltage in cgminer and ignore what cgminer reports.  Use GPU-Z sensors' page along with killawatt to verify your undervolting.

You can undervolt 7970 and run cgminer with it.  Just lower voltage slowly until you get to the point where AMD driver crashes too frequently. 
Then increase the voltage back a bit until you reach a "stable" setting.
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
May 15, 2012, 05:42:17 PM
 #10

See my post
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=79889.0

Basically, use AB, set the voltage in cgminer and ignore what cgminer reports.  Use GPU-Z sensors' page along with killawatt to verify your undervolting.

You can undervolt 7970 and run cgminer with it.  Just lower voltage slowly until you get to the point where AMD driver crashes too frequently.  
Then increase the voltage back a bit until you reach a "stable" setting.

That's more or less what I have been testing over the last couple days before I switch over to permanent rig setups with my 7970's.
I ended up going back to Afterburner as well (as suggested by a few people now) and it seems to be working quite well.

I was really hoping that things would have been 'HD5xxx-Friendly' using CGMiner, but alas, Afterburner (for VDDC control) to the rescue.

I still can't get over the gains in power savings achieved by a small undervolt, yet still a small overclock. I won't lie, I was hoping for HUGE mh/s performance, but in the end, I am happy that it at least all runs smooth...FINALLY....lol

Thanks to everyone who helped during this difficult time...lol
bitlane

<EDIT>
I should also add that I was surprised to find (perhaps only applies to my setup) that stability in Windows while mining and attempting to run memory clocks too far under 900Mhz was nearly non-existent at times, while trying to cut voltage....regardless of the voltage setting(s).
For now, I have settled on using 900Mhz as my memory clocks across the boards. Again, this is using all Gigabyte Reference Cards (YMMV).

Going back to an RC/Beta Driver (thanks jim) has also given me the ability to run 5 card rigs (and have them actually boot), so I am pleased with that as well.
I was starting to loose faith in CAT 12.3....lol. The driver package I am using actually reports as being CAT 11.12 (again, perhaps not and simply a 11.12-based beta/release candidate).

chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 03:39:07 PM
 #11

Would you post where I can download 11.12 for 7970?
Do you mind posting your Cgminer settings?

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 04:20:07 AM
 #12

Would you post where I can download 11.12 for 7970?
Do you mind posting your Cgminer settings?

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/hotfix/radeon_7900_series/amd_radeon_hd7900_win7_64.exe

**Win7 x64 ONLY

Before launching CGMiner, I use Afterburner to lower the voltage to 1.025V, then use the following settings:

-I 9 --gpu-engine 970 --gpu-memclock 820 --auto-fan --temp-target 69

End result is 578-580 MH/s per card, 66c-68c & 50-60% Fan (currently running 3x 5-card 7970 rigs @ ~2900MH/s each)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!