Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2017, 05:47:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cpuminer-multi v1.3.1 (Linux + Windows VStudio/MinGW64) GPL Open Source  (Read 183060 times)
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 03:36:54 AM
 #101

Hi Epsylon3,

    Thanks for your work on this cpuminer.

    Would you kindly share a couple of more examples for --cpu-affinity usage.
    Also, sorry for being ignorant here, but the --help shows the --nfactor as "neoscrypt N-Factor" and I was figuring if it were to be followed by a value it my look better as --nfactor=N.

    Is that right?

Kind Regards,
-Chicago
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
Join the Crowdfunding Revolution ►► FundYourselfNow.com ◄◄ Crowdsale with
attractive rewards
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
1498456034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498456034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498456034
Reply with quote  #2

1498456034
Report to moderator
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 07:56:27 AM
 #102

for the cpu-affinity, its a binary mask

so for cores 0 and 2, it's 2^0 + 2^2 = 1 + 4 = 5
and for 1 and 7 its 2^1 + 2^7 = 2 + 128 = 130

ive seen some people doing a commit about that, maybe there is something to fix but seems ok here.

Code:
 1  [||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||100.0%]     Tasks: 71, 61 thr; 3 running
  2  [                                    0.0%]     Load average: 2.91 6.26 7.42
  3  [||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||100.0%]     Uptime: 174 days(!), 13:19:10
  4  [|                                   0.6%]
  5  [|                                   0.6%]
  6  [|                                   0.6%]
  7  [|||                                 3.8%]
  8  [                                    0.0%]
  Mem[|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||1182/7970MB]
  Swp[|                              6/14709MB]

For neoscrypt, i never used the N factor, its for possible variants of the algo (never seen)

the "=" symbol is optional on the command line

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 03:08:08 PM
 #103

Thanks Epsylon3,

    I will test the cpu-affinity with the binary mask as you have described.

    Just 4 cores accessible on this box but I can get on a few larger systems where it would be more complex and I can put together a table.

Kind Regards,
-Chicago
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 04:41:05 PM
 #104

Hi Epsylon3,

    Okay, the cpu-affinity makes sense to me now.

    The confusing piece was having { "threads": 0 } along with any defined cpu-affinity, because in that case all of the available processors would be put to use.
    But, once I adjusted my json to have { "threads": 2 } along with { "cpu-affinity": 12 }, cpuminer ran on just the last two cores as expected.

    Thanks again for describing how the binary mask works.

    Next question is about the max-temp option.
    At idle, lm-sensors reports my Q9550 Intel Core2 Quad CPU with the following temperature.

    coretemp-isa-0000
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 0:       +44.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 1:       +42.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 2:       +44.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 3:       +44.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

----------

    To test the capability of max-temp, I set { "threads": 0 } and { "cpu-affinity": 15 } in order to run on all cores and let cpuminer-multi heat up the CPU for a little bit.

    A short while later, lm-sensors reported the following.

    coretemp-isa-0000
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 0:       +60.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 1:       +53.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 2:       +55.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 3:       +58.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

    Within my json configuration I have set { "max-temp": 45 }, expecting cpuminer-multi to shutoff nearly as quickly as it started.
    Unfortunately, it appears cpuminer-multi does not register my temperature.

    The summary report from the miner's API outputs a TEMP=0.0.

    telnet 127.0.0.1 4048
    Trying 127.0.0.1...
    Connected to 127.0.0.1.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    summary
    NAME=cpuminer-multi;VER=1.2-dev;API=1.1;ALGO=x15;CPUS=4;KHS=0.00;SOLV=0;ACC=0;REJ=0;ACCMN=0.000;DIFF=2.450681;TEMP=0.0;FAN=0;FREQ=0;UPTIME=354;TS=1452097962|Connection closed by foreign host.

    I don't know if this is related, but note above KHS=0.00 as well.

    However, the threads report from the miner's API outputs actual decimal values.

    telnet 127.0.0.1 4048
    Trying 127.0.0.1...
    Connected to 127.0.0.1.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    threads
    CPU=0;KHS=17.45|CPU=1;KHS=17.78|CPU=2;KHS=16.07|CPU=3;KHS=16.27|Connection closed by foreign host.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks so much for your kind support.

Kind Regards,
-Chicago
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 04:59:41 PM
 #105

you need to "modprobe coretemp" kernel module which is common but not loaded automatically

else the api hashrate stats are only updated on shares (you need at least one accept or reject) its there cpuminer do the sum of all threads

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 05:38:53 PM
 #106


  CONFIG_SENSORS_CORETEMP is built-in to the kernel

    I figured the sensor reporting through lm-sensors is using the coretemp driver since it shows "coretemp-isa-0000" as I pasted in the earlier post.
    The kernel documentation says CONFIG_SENSORS_CORETEMP is good for family 6 Core2 processors.
    The /proc/cpuinfo output from my CPU would appear to meet that condition.

    Any way to debug it?
    I'll try on another system to see if temperature is reported via the API there.
    Also, any thoughts on whether the checkout from HEAD could be problematic?
    I'm using the commit from 12/27/2015, fb137363702141114c45c3e20a5aecb4c69cd919

Kind Regards,
-Chicago

    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 6
    model           : 23
    model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q9550  @ 2.83GHz
    stepping        : 10
    microcode       : 0xa0b
    cpu MHz         : 2826.259
    cache size      : 6144 KB
    physical id     : 0
    siblings        : 4
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 4
    apicid          : 0
    initial apicid  : 0
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 13
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 xsave lahf_lm dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
    bugs            :
    bogomips        : 5652.51
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 05:41:13 PM
 #107

in recent kernels and/or cpu its :
Code:
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +66.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 0:         +66.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:         +65.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 2:         +64.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 3:         +64.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

note the extra physical one.. if required, edit sysinfos.c

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 07:16:13 PM
 #108

in recent kernels and/or cpu its :
Code:
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +66.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 0:         +66.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:         +65.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 2:         +64.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 3:         +64.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

note the extra physical one.. if required, edit sysinfos.c

I have a couple of questions.

While mining some algos I get very few accepts and in some case none for over 30 minutes. Also the hash
rate reported at the pool is very low or zero, much lower than the miner's display.

I presume that no blocks are being found because there are no validation errors and no rejects. Is this a
difficulty issue and is there a way around it?

I also have a question about lyra2v2. I was looking forward to it due to the exceptional performance of cpuminer-multi
on lyra2 (v1). IIRC you were stuck because one of the sub-algos was non standard. Is there any progress or have you
dropped it for other projects?

I'm also working on something you might be interested in, more on that at a later time.

Edit: I sorted out the low hash rate issue, the problem was at my end.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
mobidirmob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
January 15, 2016, 10:32:40 AM
 #109

i never mining its very dificult

thankyou.............
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
January 16, 2016, 04:39:48 AM
 #110

i never mining its very dificult

thankyou.............

And dangerous.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2016, 06:47:04 PM
 #111

i never mining its very dificult

thankyou.............

And dangerous.
Grin

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
gregbe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 27, 2016, 01:36:10 PM
 #112

Would someone be kind enough to post a compiled version for Windows of the newest release?

Thanks!
geenius
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 06:44:23 PM
 #113

Hi,
can someone help me how to configure this cpuminer-multi to use multiple pools? I mean in case when the first one will be down. If yes, could the second pool use different algo?
Thank you
Gee  Smiley
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2016, 07:51:25 PM
 #114

its not yet in current version... Only made tests in a branch which need to be rebased... in 1.3 maybe

else yes, will do some binaries... but most were already published by cryptominingblog and by the Vanilla team

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
coinsplz777
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
February 05, 2016, 11:09:47 PM
 #115

Hello Epsylon3, do you think you could add the riecoin algo?

this is the official miner (cpuminer-rminerd) : https://github.com/gatra/cpuminer-rminerd

Thanks
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
February 06, 2016, 01:22:59 AM
 #116

Hi,
can someone help me how to configure this cpuminer-multi to use multiple pools? I mean in case when the first one will be down. If yes, could the second pool use different algo?
Thank you
Gee  Smiley

I usually use a script for that., whether windows or linux. There are even some GUI managers that can be
a front end for profit switching and failover.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
February 06, 2016, 01:24:47 AM
 #117

Hello Epsylon3, do you think you could add the riecoin algo?

this is the official miner (cpuminer-rminerd) : https://github.com/gatra/cpuminer-rminerd

Thanks

Forgive me for barging in to Epsylon3's thread, but can you tell me more about his algo? What coins use it
and are they in any pools?

I might have a look at it.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
coinsplz777
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
February 06, 2016, 02:11:46 AM
 #118

Hello Epsylon3, do you think you could add the riecoin algo?

this is the official miner (cpuminer-rminerd) : https://github.com/gatra/cpuminer-rminerd

Thanks

Forgive me for barging in to Epsylon3's thread, but can you tell me more about his algo? What coins use it
and are they in any pools?

I might have a look at it.
Hi joblo, this algorithm is only used on riecoin, this is the official thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=446703.4380
its a good coin for cpu mining, and there are currently 2  pools, you can check them in the official thread.


Regards.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
February 06, 2016, 04:10:08 AM
 #119

Hello Epsylon3, do you think you could add the riecoin algo?

this is the official miner (cpuminer-rminerd) : https://github.com/gatra/cpuminer-rminerd

Thanks

Forgive me for barging in to Epsylon3's thread, but can you tell me more about his algo? What coins use it
and are they in any pools?

I might have a look at it.
Hi joblo, this algorithm is only used on riecoin, this is the official thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=446703.4380
its a good coin for cpu mining, and there are currently 2  pools, you can check them in the official thread.


A recent post would suggest the CPU mining days are over. Could just be FUD.

I'll look into merging it with cpuminer-opt.


Edit: follow me here...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.msg13542056#msg13542056

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
coinsplz777
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
February 06, 2016, 01:22:21 PM
 #120

A recent post would suggest the CPU mining days are over. Could just be FUD.

I'll look into merging it with cpuminer-opt.


Edit: follow me here...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.msg13542056#msg13542056

they were talking about primecoin  wich is only gpu since more than a year ago, riecoin is still only cpu for now.

also the miner I posted before, from gatra, is not the most new or optimized but since it was a fork from cpuminer I thought it would be easier to add it to this miner, just like copy pasting Wink

the latest miner for riecoin is here https://github.com/dave-andersen/fastrie , one of the pool owners optimized this miner for the intel cpus but he have it closed source for now.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!