Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:51:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Encrypted wallet.dat, lost password, any solutions?  (Read 172202 times)
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2014, 12:48:57 AM
 #441


It happened to my mom too which makes it worse Sad I didn't want to take responsibility for them. She made a super long complicated password, wrote it down, and a year later we come back to look at it and it has 2 symbols that are either a "t" or an "r" a symbol that is either a "6" or a "b" a third symbol which is either a "1" a "I" or a "l" and an "!" which might be ".'"

Ugh

You're welcome to try my new script (but you'd probably be the first to do so... Revalin is well trusted, and it's easy to see that his scripts aren't doing anything unexpected. Although my script is also viewable as just a text file, unless you're a Python programmer you'd be trusting me at least a little, some dude on the net you've never met...)

Anyways, if you'd like to try it, download the scripts from here: btcrecover download. These are Python scripts, so you also need to install Python, instructions are here: Installation requirements for Bitcoin-qt wallets. You just need Python, the other two libraries are optional for Bitcoin-qt.

Once the scripts file is unzipped, you'll need three files in the same folder as the btcrecover.py script: the wallet.dat file, a file (created with Notepad) named "token.txt" that just contains the password as best as you can tell, and another (Notepad) file that lists out which letters to try swapping for which others called "typos.txt" which should look something like this:

Code:
r t
6 b
1Il 1Il
! .

This just means that wherever there's an 'r' in the original password, try it with both the original 'r' but also with a 't' instead, and so on (there's a space between those two letters in that file). Actually it might be better to do this:

Code:
tr tr
6b 6b
1Il 1Il
!. !.

That way every 't' and every 'r' in the original is tried both as-is and swapped, and every '1', 'I', and 'l' is tried as-is and swapped with the other possibilities on the right, etc.

Then you need open a command prompt and try something like this:

Code:
cd c:\Downloads\btcrecover-directory
c:\Python27\python btcrecover.py --wallet wallet.dat --tokenlist token.txt --typos-map typos.txt --typos-capslock --typos-swap --typos-delete --typos 3

I added on three other types of checks (--typos-capslock --typos-swap --typos-delete); you can keep them, get rid of them if you don't think they'd help, or add other ones (complete list of different typos is here: different types of typos). Finally, that last option (--typos 3) is how many typos, at most, to try in any single guess. The higher it is, and the more of those different types of typos you add, the longer it will take...

Good luck.
1480963908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963908
Reply with quote  #2

1480963908
Report to moderator
1480963908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963908
Reply with quote  #2

1480963908
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963908
Reply with quote  #2

1480963908
Report to moderator
1480963908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963908
Reply with quote  #2

1480963908
Report to moderator
1480963908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963908
Reply with quote  #2

1480963908
Report to moderator
spooderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2014, 10:29:22 AM
 #442

Thanks a lot for the help people. I contacted revalin, and the guy who broken OPs password.

Basically not cracking this password isn't an option for me :|

Society doesn't scale.
ltpenguin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 20, 2014, 04:34:01 PM
 #443

I need the script to generate a password that must contain  6 and 7 within the parameters already set, if someone could help me modify the script that would be great Cheesy
i.e: it would generate
PASSWORD63427
PASSWORD364734

It would always contain 6,7 within the numbers and have the ability to have 6 and 7 more than once

Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby

middle = "PASSWORD"           # The known part in the middle
min_right = 3                  # The minimum number of chars on the left
max_right = 6                  # The maximum number of chars on the left
max_total = 6                 # The max total unknowns
chars = '456789'.chars.to_a # Possible chars to choose from
#chars << '\\'                 # ... plus backslash
#chars << "'"                  # ... plus single quote

def test(phrase)
  print phrase, "\t"
  system("./litecoind", "walletpassphrase", phrase, "20")
  case $?.exitstatus
  when 0
    puts "Found it! #{phrase}"
    exit 0
  when 127
    puts "bitcoind not found in current dir"
    exit 1
  when nil
    puts "Aborting"
    exit 1
  end
end

(1..max_total).each do |length|
  chars.repeated_permutation(length) do |str|
    max_offset = [max_right, length].min
    (min_right..max_offset).each do |offset|
      right = str.join[0,offset]
      left = str.join[offset,99] || ""
      test(middle + right)
    end
  end
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2014, 05:50:37 PM
 #444

I need the script to generate a password that must contain  6 and 7 within the parameters already set, if someone could help me modify the script that would be great Cheesy
i.e: it would generate
PASSWORD63427
PASSWORD364734

If nobody has offered up a modified ruby script yet, I can offer a python script instead...

Instructions: download the scripts from here: btcrecover download. These are Python scripts, so you also need to install Python, instructions are here: Installation requirements for Bitcoin-qt wallets. You just need Python, the other two libraries are optional for Bitcoin-qt.

Just to make sure that I understand, you need something that:
  • Always starts with PASSWORD
  • Ends with between 3 and 6 digits
  • Of those digits, must contain at least one 6 and one 7 (and possibly more)
If that's correct, then create a file with Notepad named exactly "btcrecover-tokens-auto.txt" that contains this:

Code:
#--pause --wallet wallet.dat --autosave progress.sav

# Starts with PASSWORD (required)
+ ^PASSWORD

# Has at least one 6, one 7, and one other digit (required)
+ 6
+ 7
+ %d

# Has up to three other digits (not required)
%d
%d
%d

After unzipping the btcrecover scripts, place the btcrecover-tokens-auto.txt file and a copy of your wallet.dat into the same folder as btcrecover.py and double-click btcrecover.py.

Of course, it's in your best interest to be paranoid: you may want to do all this inside a VM that has no Internet connection, or you may want to unplug your Internet connection while the script is running. If you're really paranoid, you can also take a look at this: extract-mkey README.

Good luck!
ltpenguin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 30, 2014, 07:53:32 PM
 #445

this works on a ltc wallet as well? Also thanks for the help Smiley
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2014, 11:45:55 PM
 #446

this works on a ltc wallet as well? Also thanks for the help Smiley

Yes, it'll work with Litecoin-Qt wallets too, thanks to the fact that they use the same wallet container (BerkeleyDB) and mkey formats. I updated the docs.
ltpenguin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:26:57 PM
 #447

Yes, it'll work with Litecoin-Qt wallets too, thanks to the fact that they use the same wallet container (BerkeleyDB) and mkey formats. I updated the docs.

Thanks for the script but i had no luck Sad could you possibly help me with making it generate 4-7 digits all ranging between 4-8?
telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 04:01:04 PM
 #448

4-7 digits ranging from 4-8 would be implemented as follows:

Code:
%4,7[4-8]
Heli42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2014, 04:28:41 PM
 #449

Dear Guys,

first, good work in this thread. Since 2 Month i have the same problem like forgot details of my passphrase.
I try to write my own modified code for generating a password list with ruby and use this list with john the ripper.
 
i used 2 sentence from the Book "Lord of the Rings" and copy & paste to the passphrase of my wallet and/or i forgot simply to mark some character of the right or left side...

much thank to you guys, i solved this 5min ago Cheesy It was a space character and some line breaks!!!! god, this takes nerves    

martin  Smiley    

[MINERS-POINT.COM]
http://dem.miners-point.com/ -- http://joulecoin.miners-point.com/ --fvz:fGjLGXXxNALwhYTmWkZNgZMP99ehofbScu
Soulpowered
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 05:06:16 PM
 #450

Dear Guys,

first, good work in this thread. Since 2 Month i have the same problem like forgot details of my passphrase.
I try to write my own modified code for generating a password list with ruby and use this list with john the ripper.
 
i used 2 sentence from the Book "Lord of the Rings" and copy & paste to the passphrase of my wallet and/or i forgot simply to mark some character of the right or left side...

much thank to you guys, i solved this 5min ago Cheesy It was a space character and some line breaks!!!! god, this takes nerves    

martin  Smiley    

Shall we prepare an Elven wordlist for the next time? Cheesy
nbtscan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 09:30:35 AM
 #451

For everyone asking about Multibit: Sorry, I don't have time to write an interface for it right now.  If someone creates a command line or JSON-RPC API I can use to test a password I'll be happy to plug my script into it.

Here is the JSON-RPC for recovering Multibit passwords.
This in only for Multibit, i'm working on Armory as well.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/71434563/rpc-service.jar
hanoosh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

LION Devloper, Graphics Designer!


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 03:04:26 AM
 #452

is there any script to do random password ? or any .bat file that can try every letter,number,symbol for 8 char password ?

For any Graphics Design PM me Wink
LION https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=649055
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
May 07, 2014, 12:54:59 AM
 #453

is there any script to do random password ? or any .bat file that can try every letter,number,symbol for 8 char password ?

No... there are just too many, sorry...

Even if we leave out all non-US-ASCII letters, there are about 95 characters to choose from. That comes out to 6.6 quadrillion password permutations. Let's say you bought 4 of these (assuming it's a real product, I frankly have no idea...) for about $25,000 (USD) total, hired a software engineer to write custom software to use them for password searching instead of mining (maybe another 25-50k ??), paid for electricity and cooling (another 15k or so), then it would probably take less than 6 months to try all of them. Or you could use your home PC with mostly off-the-shelf software and be done in perhaps just 200,000 years, take your pick....  Sad

edited to add: sorry if I came off as snarky... I should have tried actually being helpful instead, like DannyHamilton has graciously done.
DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
May 07, 2014, 12:14:06 PM
 #454

is there any script to do random password ? or any .bat file that can try every letter,number,symbol for 8 char password ?
It would be better if you could remember some things about the password that would reduce the number of possibilities you need to try.

  • Is it all uppercase letters?
  • Is it all lowercase letters?
  • If only some of the letters are uppercase, do you remember how many?
  • If only some of the letters are uppercase, do you remember which ones? (first character, last character, only vowels, only consonants, etc)
  • Are there any numbers?
  • How many numbers?
  • Do you remember the position of the numbers?
  • Are there any symbols?
  • How many symbols?
  • Do you remember the position of the symbols?
  • Are there any real words (even misspelled ones)?

The more details you can remember about the password, the fewer possibilities that need to be attempted, and the more likely that a custom program can be written to help you.

The quality of posts has dropped to such a low level that all users who are participating in a paid signature campaign are added to my ignore list. If you'd like a copy of the list to improve your browsing experience, you can find it here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=973843.0 (Updated 2016-1-4)
mrflibblehat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 10, 2014, 06:47:00 AM
 #455

is there any script to do random password ? or any .bat file that can try every letter,number,symbol for 8 char password ?

Do you remember anything about the passphrase at all, I may be able to help you. roughly how many characters long it was? what it started with? or ended with?

Regards,

MrF

clochard
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 06:47:33 PM
 #456

Hey guys,

I have a new pc, my old one was not working anymore and I installed Bitcoin Client to restore my bitcoins from the wallet from the other computer. I made a back-up last year around December. The old wallet was encrypted with a password that I have used multiple times, I have written down and I am 100% is correct.

Edit: there is one thing I should also mention and I am not sure if it is related to this. The last time I tried to open my bitcoin client in the old computer I received a blockchain error: database corrupted.

I tried to send my Bitcoins today from my Bitcoin client to electrum, and it requested a password.

When I installed the new Bitcoin client however, I felt a bit insecure and put a new password on it. I typed it twice and wrote it down and I am pretty sure also this password is correct. The coins and transactions showed up however.

Today when I was going to transfer the coins, I was confused which password I had to use: the old one, or the new one? So I have tried them both multiple times, but the Bitcoin client keeps repeating that it is the wrong password.

What is happening here? Both passwords I am more than 100% certain about.

I have done already the following things:

- Changing the name of the wallet.dat to wallet1.dat and putting the old back-up wallet.dat in the same folder, restarting Bitcoin client and attempting to make a transfer. I put the password, but again wrong...
- Trying variations on the passwords, with capital letters, without, etc.

I could still try desintalling Bitcoin client from this pc, delete all folders including the wallet.dat, install Bitcoin client again and putting there the old wallet.dat, without encrypting the new wallet with a new password. I am not sure if this is supposed to work?

Are there any other options to solve this issue? Luckily, I have written down the password at the time I made it (and used it some times), so even if there is a typo somewhere it should be something very close to what I wrote.

Feedback is highly appreciated!

Best,

Clochard
mrflibblehat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 07:49:53 PM
 #457

Hey guys,

I have a new pc, my old one was not working anymore and I installed Bitcoin Client to restore my bitcoins from the wallet from the other computer. I made a back-up last year around December. The old wallet was encrypted with a password that I have used multiple times, I have written down and I am 100% is correct.

Edit: there is one thing I should also mention and I am not sure if it is related to this. The last time I tried to open my bitcoin client in the old computer I received a blockchain error: database corrupted.

I tried to send my Bitcoins today from my Bitcoin client to electrum, and it requested a password.

When I installed the new Bitcoin client however, I felt a bit insecure and put a new password on it. I typed it twice and wrote it down and I am pretty sure also this password is correct. The coins and transactions showed up however.

Today when I was going to transfer the coins, I was confused which password I had to use: the old one, or the new one? So I have tried them both multiple times, but the Bitcoin client keeps repeating that it is the wrong password.

What is happening here? Both passwords I am more than 100% certain about.

I have done already the following things:

- Changing the name of the wallet.dat to wallet1.dat and putting the old back-up wallet.dat in the same folder, restarting Bitcoin client and attempting to make a transfer. I put the password, but again wrong...
- Trying variations on the passwords, with capital letters, without, etc.

I could still try desintalling Bitcoin client from this pc, delete all folders including the wallet.dat, install Bitcoin client again and putting there the old wallet.dat, without encrypting the new wallet with a new password. I am not sure if this is supposed to work?

Are there any other options to solve this issue? Luckily, I have written down the password at the time I made it (and used it some times), so even if there is a typo somewhere it should be something very close to what I wrote.

Feedback is highly appreciated!

Best,

Clochard

If your pretty sure you know the password you may be one character out, Upper/lower case, you should use Revalin's script. (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=85495.msg942017#msg942017)

telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 08:59:16 PM
 #458

When I installed the new Bitcoin client however, I felt a bit insecure and put a new password on it. I typed it twice and wrote it down and I am pretty sure also this password is correct. The coins and transactions showed up however.

Did you delete the old wallet.dat file? If not, you can use it to get your coins back and you can set a "new new password"
clochard
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 09:18:29 PM
 #459

Of course I did not Wink The old wallet.dat file is still backed-up on several usb sticks and since no transactions have been done since installing the new wallet, I suppose they should still work.

So I should go for deinstalling Bitcoin client from my pc, delete the new wallet.dat file, download again bitcoin client, deleting that new wallet.dat file as well, putting the old wallet.dat file in that folder and open the bitcoin client?

If I do that, I suppose it will still ask for a password when I want to do a transfer, but this will be my old password isn't it?

And if I am not misstaken, the old password should work like it has always done.

Am I right in these assumptions?

Thanks!

Clochard
telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 09:46:38 PM
 #460

Of course I did not Wink The old wallet.dat file is still backed-up on several usb sticks and since no transactions have been done since installing the new wallet, I suppose they should still work.

So I should go for deinstalling Bitcoin client from my pc, delete the new wallet.dat file, download again bitcoin client, deleting that new wallet.dat file as well, putting the old wallet.dat file in that folder and open the bitcoin client?

If I do that, I suppose it will still ask for a password when I want to do a transfer, but this will be my old password isn't it?

And if I am not misstaken, the old password should work like it has always done.

Am I right in these assumptions?

Thanks!

Clochard

No need to deinstall the client. Just rename your new wallet as newwallet.dat  and move a backup old wallet named wallet.dat  into the folder. Restart bitcoin-qt and you should be able to use the old password to change the password on the wallet.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!