Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 02:29:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASRock X79 Extreme11.  (Read 1617 times)
xzion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 10:25:33 PM
 #1

so i heard you like overkill.



14 sata ports and 4 16x PCIE3 lanes. wow. wonder how expensive this baby will be?

Tips: 1xzionJBueq1AkPSmexA7suWkztAkNwSs
1480732164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480732164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480732164
Reply with quote  #2

1480732164
Report to moderator
1480732164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480732164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480732164
Reply with quote  #2

1480732164
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480732164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480732164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480732164
Reply with quote  #2

1480732164
Report to moderator
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 11:35:12 PM
 #2

The board itself has double 8pins, yeesh that needs to be one beefy PSU.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 07, 2012, 12:14:25 AM
 #3

They couldn't find a better location for the PCIe molex than squished between your video card and your cpu cooler?

But other than that.... HOLY SHIT I want!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 02:48:34 AM
 #4

All those sata ports as well!

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:00:27 AM
 #5

Overkill? That's just excessive.
Overkill is 40 CPU phases.
http://images.anandtech.com/doci/5946/IMGP6089.JPG
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:05:53 AM
 #6

Why the hell do they still stick to the molex for extra power. Its 2012 and only a few boards so far have used the more readily available sata power ports for extra power.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:05:16 AM
 #7

Why the hell do they still stick to the molex for extra power. Its 2012 and only a few boards so far have used the more readily available sata power ports for extra power.

Gotta save those SATA power plugs for all those 14 SATA SSDs!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:13:21 AM
 #8

Doesn't look that special, but I use an MSI X79 Big Bang XPower-II. Looks pretty much identical to my board, except it uses a PCI-E power plug instead of molex for extra power.

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 12:04:43 AM
 #9

so i heard you like overkill.




For mining that board, for what you need a So2011 CPU on GPU mining with 4 Channel Memory?

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 09, 2012, 03:00:18 AM
 #10

so i heard you like overkill.




For mining that board, for what you need a So2011 CPU on GPU mining with 4 Channel Memory?

socket 2011 cpu? yes. 4 memory modules? no. you can use only 1 if you want

oldDirty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


roundhouseminer


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 07:19:37 AM
 #11



socket 2011 cpu? yes. 4 memory modules? no. you can use only 1 if you want
your right, but what sense make a 2011 CPU for mining?
There are many other board wih less power consumption than this one.
I think this board is perfect for a rendering machine or photographs that will use very much memory for huge hdr Pics.

CrunchingCulture

/// FREE ASSANGE \\\
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 11:24:54 AM
 #12

I guess in the future you may want 14 hard drives to hold the block chain database if bitcoin really takes off...

I kid of course. This sure as hell wouldn't be an optimal dedicated mining motherboard, but I can think of plenty of applications where someone might want S2011, 8 DIMMs, and 14 SATA ports and adding 4 GPUs to mine to pay off the rig might be a good idea.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!