Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:16:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Intel HD Graphics 4000?  (Read 40764 times)
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:51:32 PM
 #1

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?
1481163412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163412
Reply with quote  #2

1481163412
Report to moderator
1481163412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163412
Reply with quote  #2

1481163412
Report to moderator
1481163412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163412
Reply with quote  #2

1481163412
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:52:31 PM
 #2

specific model?  If I'm correct, all 4000 series is under 110 mhash

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:56:14 PM
 #3

There's only one model, with many different clockspeeds. 16 execution units...

110 M/hash? That's pretty damn good if true.
ZPK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 02:08:09 PM
 #4

screenshot in studio)

Novacoin POS mining only now
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 02:12:02 PM
 #5

Based on it's OpenCL benchmarks it should be around 100MH/s for desktop HD4000 MHz speeds. However Intel has licensed Nvidia IP so I'm not sure what the actual MH rate will be. Any bitcoin miner with a 3570K, 3770K or IB notebook who could find out what the real world numbers are?
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 02:13:21 PM
 #6

Based on it's OpenCL benchmarks it should be around 100MH/s. However Intel has licensed Nvidia IP so I'm not sure what the actual MH rate will be. Surely there is a bitcoin miner with a 3570K, 3770K or IB notebook who could find out what the real world numbers are.

I'm getting my T430s from Lenovo in two weeks, so I'll run a miner when I get it. This has to get a better performance per watt than my GTX 560 Ti, which does only 60-80 M/hash...
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:01:08 PM
 #7

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?

It's not even a proper gpu, would be worth with 48xx with free/stolen electricity, otherwise you'll be losing money. Anything lower than that and you are also losing your time.
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:06:17 PM
 #8

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?

It's not even a proper gpu, would be worth with 48xx with free/stolen electricity, otherwise you'll be losing money. Anything lower than that and you are also losing your time.

100 M/hash for only 25 watts of electricity sounds like a good deal to me. Especially if Intel's OpenCL drivers are up to snuff.
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:15:51 PM
 #9

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?

It's not even a proper gpu, would be worth with 48xx with free/stolen electricity, otherwise you'll be losing money. Anything lower than that and you are also losing your time.

100 M/hash for only 25 watts of electricity sounds like a good deal to me. Especially if Intel's OpenCL drivers are up to snuff.

umm i do not think you are going to get 100mhash/s on that... if you do let us know and we will stop buying fpgas...

If you were buying FPGAS, I dont see how these cpus outprice the current fpgas on the market.

Street Price: 3570K - £179.99 3770K - £259.99 excluding motherboard/memory/psu etc. which would add between 50-100% on that per cpu usable unit for mining for only 100mh, sounds like a terrible investment.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:22:42 PM
 #10

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?

It's not even a proper gpu, would be worth with 48xx with free/stolen electricity, otherwise you'll be losing money. Anything lower than that and you are also losing your time.

100 M/hash for only 25 watts of electricity sounds like a good deal to me. Especially if Intel's OpenCL drivers are up to snuff.

umm i do not think you are going to get 100mhash/s on that... if you do let us know and we will stop buying fpgas...

If you were buying FPGAS, I dont see how these cpus outprice the current fpgas on the market.

Street Price: 3570K - £179.99 3770K - £259.99 excluding motherboard/memory/psu etc. which would add between 50-100% on that per cpu usable unit for mining for only 100mh, sounds like a terrible investment.

But what if you needed a new computer and CPU anyway? Those costs would be factored in. Just electricity.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:55:00 PM
 #11

Those things aren't going to hit 100 MH/s are you kidding? Try 10 MH/s.

The integer performance of a 6770M (what I have in my laptop) far outstrips what the HD4000 is capable of and it only gets 75 MH/s.

XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:58:36 PM
 #12

Those things aren't going to hit 100 MH/s are you kidding? Try 10 MH/s.

The integer performance of a 6770M (what I have in my laptop) far outstrips what the HD4000 is capable of and it only gets 75 MH/s.

Hmm... I think 40-50 M/hash might be more realistic, then.

But at any rate, the HD 4000 is the most power efficient mining chip out there, with the exception of FPGAs.
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 05:11:21 PM
 #13

Those things aren't going to hit 100 MH/s are you kidding? Try 10 MH/s.

The integer performance of a 6770M (what I have in my laptop) far outstrips what the HD4000 is capable of and it only gets 75 MH/s.

Hmm... I think 40-50 M/hash might be more realistic, then.

But at any rate, the HD 4000 is the most power efficient mining chip out there, with the exception of FPGAs.

2 MH/J is power efficient? What? Even at the proposed 100 MH/s (4MH/J) is not all that impressive.

XX55XX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 05:13:46 PM
 #14

Those things aren't going to hit 100 MH/s are you kidding? Try 10 MH/s.

The integer performance of a 6770M (what I have in my laptop) far outstrips what the HD4000 is capable of and it only gets 75 MH/s.

Hmm... I think 40-50 M/hash might be more realistic, then.

But at any rate, the HD 4000 is the most power efficient mining chip out there, with the exception of FPGAs.

2 MH/J is power efficient? What? Even at the proposed 100 MH/s (4MH/J) is not all that impressive.

Pardon me, I am coming from mining on an Nvidia GPU and the numbers look impressive.
joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 05:16:19 PM
 #15

I get around 20mhash with a 3770k stock, using all cores with Ufasoft. I don't know how to mine with the HD graphics though.

AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 05:29:48 PM
 #16

I get around 20mhash with a 3770k stock, using all cores with Ufasoft. I don't know how to mine with the HD graphics though.

I believe a kernel needs to be written for it, although you could try playing around with one of the OpenCL miners like poclbm.

ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 06:22:22 PM
 #17

Lol whoever said around 100mhash is mad.

Intel HD4000 is hardly better than Radeon HD6450 so 20mhash is max.
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 10, 2012, 02:43:04 AM
 #18

Lol whoever said around 100mhash is mad.

Intel HD4000 is hardly better than Radeon HD6450 so 20mhash is max.

shit, mybad.  I thought he was talking about radeon HD4xxx series LOL

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 03:08:15 AM
 #19

http://www.computerbase.de/artikel/grafikkarten/2012/test-intel-graphics-hd-4000-und-2500/drucken/

Has some decent OpenCL grunt, but I did say since it's based partly on Nvidia licensed IP that it will probably not perform well for Bitcoin purposes. Is there an OpenCL benchmark that can be used to gauge Bitcoin performance? Would save the trouble of trying to get an actual miner running.

Lol whoever said around 100mhash is mad.

Intel HD4000 is hardly better than Radeon HD6450 so 20mhash is max.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 02:29:55 AM
 #20

I just bought a Thinkpad with this new graphics chip, and apparently, it's OpenCL capable. Has anyone tried running a miner on it yet? If so, what are the numbers like?

When I first got my new processor, I went to see if I could mine on my Intel HD graphics 2000, the miners in GUIMiner don't even show my gpu.

Are any miners picking up your 4000?
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!