Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 11:05:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: S-5 review. It has arrived some info is in!  (Read 19509 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 08:11:16 PM
 #141

it moves a ton of air (150 cfm or more)    but runs at 3600 to 3800 rpm.  it is fine in a garage not attached. or I guess use a speed controller on it.

 push noctua is 2700 rpm pull silverstone is 1900 rpm -  not quite cool as I would like. considering I am letting outside air at -5c into the room via the window,  but 381 freq is giving 1250 gh at 621 watts plus powering the 2 fans. Sound is really good. cost is too high 24 + 16 = 40 and it went up  to 24+20 = 44

HW's are decent.  Would I run this setup 24/7/365  yeah if I was running 1 or 2 s-5's   but if I had 20 or 30 no.  I think I am just a bit too hot see below.

>snip image<

One point-stock fan does not move that much air comparing with SP20 at a low 30 setting. The choice of the fan clearly was not right, since the S5 fan even at 325 (hashing at 1070gh) is MUCH louder than the SP20 fan is at setting 30 (hashing at 1360Gh).
Very much looking forward to see how Noctua-Noctua (expensive at ~$48) or Noctua-Delta ($32) fan combos will work.

honestly, just try powering the stock fan at 5V. molex adapters are cheap and you likely have a few lying around if you bought fans in the past. at 5V the fan is about the same volume as the SP20 at 10-20%, and is sufficient to keep the machine cool at stock speeds (as long as its under ~65C, 55-60C is ideal)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
1513033525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513033525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513033525
Reply with quote  #2

1513033525
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 08:35:53 PM
 #142

it moves a ton of air (150 cfm or more)    but runs at 3600 to 3800 rpm.  it is fine in a garage not attached. or I guess use a speed controller on it.

 push noctua is 2700 rpm pull silverstone is 1900 rpm -  not quite cool as I would like. considering I am letting outside air at -5c into the room via the window,  but 381 freq is giving 1250 gh at 621 watts plus powering the 2 fans. Sound is really good. cost is too high 24 + 16 = 40 and it went up  to 24+20 = 44

HW's are decent.  Would I run this setup 24/7/365  yeah if I was running 1 or 2 s-5's   but if I had 20 or 30 no.  I think I am just a bit too hot see below.

>snip image<

One point-stock fan does not move that much air comparing with SP20 at a low 30 setting. The choice of the fan clearly was not right, since the S5 fan even at 325 (hashing at 1070gh) is MUCH louder than the SP20 fan is at setting 30 (hashing at 1360Gh).
Very much looking forward to see how Noctua-Noctua (expensive at ~$48) or Noctua-Delta ($32) fan combos will work.

honestly, just try powering the stock fan at 5V. molex adapters are cheap and you likely have a few lying around if you bought fans in the past. at 5V the fan is about the same volume as the SP20 at 10-20%, and is sufficient to keep the machine cool at stock speeds (as long as its under ~65C, 55-60C is ideal)

not sure how to power stock fans at 5V if I have just regular PSUs.
Edit: saw the picture, care to give a product link-search for molex has >12 pages of products. Thanks.
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 08:54:27 PM
 #143

http://www.directron.com/zmmc1.html?gsear=1
Powell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 428


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 09:01:12 PM
 #144

Directron is my fav. stop since it's right by our office.  All my little adapters for fans and such for miners came from there lol.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 09:08:10 PM
 #145


great, thanks.
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 09:19:36 PM
 #146

You can also look for ones like these (usually come with Noctua fans, warning they can get warm to hot), they're sold out at this link.  http://www.dx.com/p/3-pin-pc-cooling-fan-speed-noise-reduction-cable-5-piece-set-35818#.VKW5W2fwuUk
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 09:40:12 PM
 #147


yeah that looks good and may be best  solution.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 09:42:21 PM
 #148

good option. searching tech sites and amazon for things like 3pin molex / 5v fan molex / 4pin 5v fan, etc is a good way. Look for one with multiple 5V and/or 7V connections - ignore 12V since that's worse than the PWM. The above link has 2x5v and 2x12V - no 7V options unless you rewire it a little

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:57:00 PM
 #149

good option. searching tech sites and amazon for things like 3pin molex / 5v fan molex / 4pin 5v fan, etc is a good way. Look for one with multiple 5V and/or 7V connections - ignore 12V since that's worse than the PWM. The above link has 2x5v and 2x12V - no 7V options unless you rewire it a little

In your opinion, will 5V support enough speed of the stock fan if intake is ~26C (78F) at least at 325, maybe 350 mhz setting?

All 7V adapters are expensive on amazon and since 7V is 30% louder than 5V, I am not sure that it will change the sound enough (I will experiment with 2 fans setup anyway, since they are coming already).
I know that you posted/tried 5V at 5C intake, which was OK. There is a cold spell right now, so I can theoretically open windows and close the door in the "mining" room, but I am looking at something more stable.

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 12:30:28 AM
 #150

Be aware that some 12V fans won't start with 5V, so you want to test that with your particular fan first.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 12:36:52 AM
 #151

Be aware that some 12V fans won't start with 5V, so you want to test that with your particular fan first.

Thanks, good point, but 5V should work on stock fans, since OP already did it.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 03:08:30 AM
 #152

good option. searching tech sites and amazon for things like 3pin molex / 5v fan molex / 4pin 5v fan, etc is a good way. Look for one with multiple 5V and/or 7V connections - ignore 12V since that's worse than the PWM. The above link has 2x5v and 2x12V - no 7V options unless you rewire it a little

In your opinion, will 5V support enough speed of the stock fan if intake is ~26C (78F) at least at 325, maybe 350 mhz setting?

All 7V adapters are expensive on amazon and since 7V is 30% louder than 5V, I am not sure that it will change the sound enough (I will experiment with 2 fans setup anyway, since they are coming already).
I know that you posted/tried 5V at 5C intake, which was OK. There is a cold spell right now, so I can theoretically open windows and close the door in the "mining" room, but I am looking at something more stable.

With the stock fan, 5V seems sufficient to get it spinning at a good speed, and creates significant airflow. I would suggest making a cover for the unit if too much air seems to escape upwards, as I feel like it improves air movement through the back half of the heatsink. (I used about 4 strips of clear packing tape)

at 26C intake and 5V i doubt youll achieve 350MHz. 325MHz is likely the limit. At 5C I can achieve 381.25MHz+, but at 15C running closer to 360MHz creates the same temperature readings.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
surfariver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 03:39:33 AM
 #153

I acknowledge this is an extremely stupid question, but its so stupid, I'm wondering if I'm just missing something or have just been drinking too much watching New Years college football.

A PSU like the EVGA 1300W SuperNova G2 has 8 - 8 pin ports (listed as VGA & CPU) and 6 - 6 pin ports (listed as SATA & RERP).  I understand the S5 needs 4 - 6 pin connectors as does the SP20.

So how does the math work here?  For the SP20, you just use the 4 SATA ports and you've maxed out the power.  But with you've got enough power for 2x S5s but only 6 - 6 pin connectors?
   
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 03:46:49 AM
 #154

I acknowledge this is an extremely stupid question, but its so stupid, I'm wondering if I'm just missing something or have just been drinking too much watching New Years college football.

A PSU like the EVGA 1300W SuperNova G2 has 8 - 8 pin ports (listed as VGA & CPU) and 6 - 6 pin ports (listed as SATA & RERP).  I understand the S5 needs 4 - 6 pin connectors as does the SP20.

So how does the math work here?  For the SP20, you just use the 4 SATA ports and you've maxed out the power.  But with you've got enough power for 2x S5s but only 6 - 6 pin connectors?
  

This question comes up quite frequently. The answer is that EVGA G2 has eight PCI-E connectors, not six as sometimes being posted. The reason is that there are 4 single and two branched connectors (4+2X2=8). Also, you are not using SATA, but VGA ports on the PSU.
surfariver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 03:55:32 AM
 #155

http://images.craigslist.org/00606_jBOhOMWRRQg_600x450.jpg

Got it, so somehow the 8 pin goes down to a 6 pin.  So I imagine something like this would only be good for 7 ports then?  Unless is it reasonable to try to replace the melted plastic?

If there is some sort of guide to this that I missed, please let me know so I'm not clogging this up with already asked questions.  Thanks!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 03:56:18 AM
 #156

I acknowledge this is an extremely stupid question, but its so stupid, I'm wondering if I'm just missing something or have just been drinking too much watching New Years college football.

A PSU like the EVGA 1300W SuperNova G2 has 8 - 8 pin ports (listed as VGA & CPU) and 6 - 6 pin ports (listed as SATA & RERP).  I understand the S5 needs 4 - 6 pin connectors as does the SP20.

So how does the math work here?  For the SP20, you just use the 4 SATA ports and you've maxed out the power.  But with you've got enough power for 2x S5s but only 6 - 6 pin connectors?
  


that unit above can not do what I wrote below.. you need to repair it.  btw it was most likely melted by using the 2 head pcie cable incorrectly. thus pulling too much power from that plug.

on the s-5 if you plug the two heads on the double cable into one board.  a board pulls 300 watts.  and you melt the plug.



okay I am a bit buzzed but here goes

the s-5 has a pair of pcie jacks. on the left board

it has a pair of pcie jacks on the right board

at freq  350 the unit pulls 600 watts.

each board pulls 300 watts

(shame shame shame on you for bringing up anything but pcie cables> buzzed humor at its worst)

so take 1 pcie cable  color red plug it into a red pcie jack on the evga plug it into the left board. (use a single red pcie cable)

so take 1 pcie cable color red plug it into a red pcie jack on the evga plug it into the right board (use a single plug pcie cable)

now take  a double  plug pcie cable.  plug the single end into the psu. then plug the double plug into the left and right boards of the s-5

so three cables plug into the psu pcie jacks and  feed into the s-5.  if you do it the way I say the s-5's power is divided to the  three cables equally.  since 1 s-5 pulls 600 watts each cable is doing 200 watts.

run the 1 s-5 at stock 350 freq feel the cables a few times all should be okay since the cable are load balanced correctly.

then do the other 3 cable the same wat to the s-5.  the evga 1300 g2 will be doing about 1215 watts at a kwatt meter.  and each cable will pull about 200 watts.

I am a bit buzzed so test this very carefully . and check it every hour or so  for the first 6 hours at least.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
surfariver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 04:05:37 AM
 #157

Alright, so it (probably) can be fixed.  Any recommendations on where to buy the repair parts?
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 04:24:47 AM
 #158

Alright, so it (probably) can be fixed.  Any recommendations on where to buy the repair parts?
It looks like those use the non-conventional 8pin PCIe graphics keying. Unfortunately, those are a huge PITA to find. It might be pretty tough.
However, you could snip the end off the bad cable, and wire it with a standard 8 pin Minifit Jr, and then plug it into the CPU spot.
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 04:25:49 AM
 #159



Got it, so somehow the 8 pin goes down to a 6 pin.  So I imagine something like this would only be good for 7 ports then?  Unless is it reasonable to try to replace the melted plastic?

If there is some sort of guide to this that I missed, please let me know so I'm not clogging this up with already asked questions.  Thanks!

It has a 10 year warranty

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 04:51:10 AM
 #160

Not sure that I understand how this works.
For example, would this work (say, with CX750M that has only split connectors):

D D
|  |
|  |
|  |
|  |
D D
 ^
fan

I think that it should, I always used doubles on S3 like this. Or has it to be

D---D


D---D
  ^
 fan

Or criss-cross? Or does it matter?  I thought that a single rail system will balance the power draw at each 8 pin connector at the PSU (actually this is where he melted it). That is, I thought that 200W power would be drawn into each 8pin connector if you have 3 cables connected (at the PSU level) to a single 600W miner. Incidentally, since CX750M has only two cords, each would definitely draw ~300W at each 8pin connector while powering S5 at the default speeds.
Maybe I was wrong thinking about PSU balancing power, but would like to hear the physics behind the setups.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!