Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:37:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme Overclock Discussion (Post your stable overclocks)  (Read 14389 times)
russelljohnson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
May 20, 2011, 07:22:58 PM
 #1

There's been a lot of discussion for the Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme all over the place, making it hard to find important information.

Let's have it all condensed into one thread. I'll start first by posting my current settings:

I use Sapphire Trixx to change voltage and MSI Afterburner to change clock and fan speed.

HD5850 Xtreme CrossfireX
ULPS Disabled
Voltage 1.150V
Core: 945
Memory: 300
Catalyst 11.5 / SDK 2.4

357MH/s

I tried 1000MHz @ 1.200V but it got kinda hot so I dropped it down to 1.15V and worked from there. At 1.15V, 950 core, I had a few instances where the miner just stopped mining (no errors or anything) and GPU load dropped down to 0%. So now I'm running it at 945 core and seeing where it takes me.

Post your settings!

If you've found my post helpful, send me some bitcoins!
1FkGxXmesGbhoFewYGrtNEmifzwvNaNCXH
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480718234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718234
Reply with quote  #2

1480718234
Report to moderator
1480718234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718234
Reply with quote  #2

1480718234
Report to moderator
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 08:26:44 PM
 #2

Single Sapphire Xtreme
985/300 @ 1.2V
74-75C @ 75% fan
Guiminer with flags -v -f1
To be honest after 1.2V wattage cost grows faster than income from hashing ( checked with watt-a-kill thing)

PS
at 990/300 @ 1.2V miner crashes after about 2h

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 08:32:21 PM
 #3

Multiple Reference 5850's
Ubuntu 10.10
No Crossfire
ATI 5870 BIOS
900 Core/300 Mem @ 1.08 V
65-70C @ 65% Fan, Open Air and extra slot between cards
Phoenix Miner - VECTORS AGGRESSION=12 BFI_INT (no WORKSIZE)

360 Mh/s

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
May 20, 2011, 09:18:43 PM
 #4

My clocks are at 780/300 at Stock (1.088v), I get around 310MHs with Phoenix with phatk, I know I can run higher but I'm waiting on my new PSU as mine is lacking enough wattage for higher overclocking. Once I get the new PSU I'm planning on upping the voltage to 1.15 and 850+ clockspeed.
um0rion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:41:26 AM
 #5

Im using a Sapphire 5850 Xtreme, overclocked using Trixx

1000mhz core, 800mhz memory @ 1.3v
Windows Vista x64
GUI Miner 5-21-11 version  -v -w128 -f 25
Watercooled, full load @ 43C

374.6 Mhash/s

Im still tweaking the memory settings and just arbitrarily put 1.3v there to ensure stability at 1000mhz core. 1.250v failed after a few hours, and I didnt want to play with finding exactly the right spot. Its on the to-do list.

PabloW
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:43:59 AM
 #6

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?
um0rion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:50:32 AM
 #7

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?

You can do some overclocking with stock voltage, I made it to 325 mhash/s on one of my cards using stock voltage. You can use catalyst control center for that, or download Trixx. Trixx will also let you adjust your voltage up if you want to do that in the future.

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 02:54:30 AM
 #8

403 MH/s
1025 core
225 memory
1.175 v
phoenix with phatk kernel. WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT

runs at 75 C

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:10:30 AM
 #9

Im getting my 5850 this friday. Is it really necessay to change the voltage to do overclock or you can do something with the stock voltages?

Stock the highest I've gone is 860Mhz, and the display driver crashed after a few hours.  No problems so far at 830Mhz stock voltage.  Might try tweaking the voltage later.

I get about 310M/hashes at 830Mhz.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:29:55 AM
 #10

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:59:23 AM
 #11

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

If I touch the mem on my 5830's they lock up. Sad
nzbtc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 07:18:06 AM
 #12

Running one HD5850 on XP.

75c, Clock = 890MHz, MemClock = 995MHz, running at 330Mhash/s. Stable (4 days uptime)

13EXX23oQX7CA1qLrM2EDemnYNZDdmngsS
bitlackey
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:10:56 AM
 #13

Just a note, I've seen reports of highest megahashes per second from people using the latest stream SDK (2.4 I believe) + the latest PhatK kernel for phoenix.
Also lowering your memory to 300 MHz and then playing with bumping it up random amounts to find the sweet spot works well too, and cuts heat output (compared to 1000 MHz memory)

If I touch the mem on my 5830's they lock up. Sad
I had that problem using msi afterburner, I had to set it to 600 and restart the program to set it in the 300 range w/o lockups. I switched to trixx which doesn't limit the memory frequency range .
5830@300MH/s, 1000/300 @1.163v(stock), appears stable

Nilarium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:18:36 AM
 #14

x2 sapphire xtreme 5850
stock voltage 850 clock, 328mhash
phoenix 1.46 phatk
temp 75and 77,fan auto

Dyaheon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:35:33 AM
 #15

5850 Xtreme
960/375 @ 1200mV
~75C at 70% fan

383 MHash/s, Phoenix 1.4 + phatk kernel VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11
Cat 11.4 SDK 2.4

Btw, anyone with a wattmeter know how much power these take while mining? Would be nice to know the difference between stock voltage and 1.2V
Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:07:59 PM
 #16

I have run at 875/300 for about 12h now with stock voltage. Fan is locked at 55% speed and temp is about 74C constant when mining.
This gives me 345Mh/s.

I have run before at 900/1000 with stock voltage but it causes the display driver to crash after a few hours if left alone and more frequently if computer is used.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:05:21 PM
 #17

4x Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme
Core: 807Mhz
Mem: 269Mhz
Voltage: 1.040V
Fans: Auto, 83-93%
Temps: 80°-88°C at 27°C Ambient
(I consider 88°C too high, but will let it run before difficulty goes insane)
Phoenix poclbm
SDK2.1, Driver 10.12
Windows XP
~620W at plug
~325MHash/s (1st ~315MHash/s so reaction time is faster)

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:30:51 PM
 #18

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...

The best one is in a one-card board, stable doing 370-375 MH/s at 1.25V 960/300 (core/mem) under Win 7 with phoenix/phatk.

Most of them are in 3- and 4-card mobo's running under ubuntu (where I can't tweak the voltage nor way underclock the memory) doing 300-345 MH/s at stock voltage and 800-890/900-1000 (core/mem).  The outermost cards tend to do best (they get the most fresh air) and mostly run at 890 or 880 core.  The inner card(s) tend to like 850 core and can do 325-330 MH/s at that speed.   A handful of duds will only go 800-820 and just break 300 MH/s at that rate.  The ubuntu's are all 11.04 using ATI APP SDK 2.4, the current fglrx driver from ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates and latest phoenix/phatk

I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:47:04 PM
 #19

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...
[...]
I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!

30+?    Shocked

I thought that would be easy on linux with amdoverdrivectrl - as easy as with my new tool on windows that is =)

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:21:23 PM
 #20

I have 30+ of these in all different configurations in my office...
[...]
I'm looking for a way to raise the voltage and/or downclock the memory under Ubuntu 11.04 from the cli... if you know how, or have a link to a specific bios that enables it on the Sapphire Xtreme 5850's, please hit me up!

30+?    Shocked

I thought that would be easy on linux with amdoverdrivectrl - as easy as with my new tool on windows that is =)

Yeah, we actually have 40 here, but they're not all running because we keep blowing breakers.  My electrician is bringing more juice in next week.

amdoverdrivectrl doesn't want to go outside the overdrive (ccc) ranges set in the bios on this card.  I have used trixx in windows and that's how we got the solo card I mentioned to go to 375 MH/s.  Trixx is windows-only, doesn't let you choose which card to apply settings to, and I don't want to run windows on all the dedicated miner boards... so I'm still looking for a way to tweak this model under linux.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!