Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:10:14 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyway to fix a radeon 5870 ?  (Read 1488 times)
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 02:36:59 AM
 #1

Yesterday I had an AMD/ATI radeon 5870 working just fine. ( never overclocked )

Today the computer will not complete POST. I have tried the card in 2 different systems:
- Award BIOS postcode stops at 26
- AMI BIOS postcode stops at 2A


The computer boots up with other video cards, just not the 5870.


Is there anything I can try to get this card working again ?
1481184614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184614
Reply with quote  #2

1481184614
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
squall1066
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


www.squallcoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 01:00:45 PM
 #2

both codes point to ram!, strange but true.

asuming ami bios is pheonix then 2A - Initializes different devices through DIM.
are they paired or are you clocking the memory? If another card works in this system then i'm stumped.

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
◥◤
◢◣
.
JOIN THE CLUB !
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄

Bitrated user: squall1066.
exotime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 05:48:27 PM
 #3

Have you been overclocking? What were the temperatures like when mining? It looks like you've damaged one of the memory chips - in which case, there's probably not much you can do.

1ExotimeUMZ4xvGXQdT2zVNACtzGZt
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 11:41:34 PM
 #4

The card is working again. I think this card has to "warm up" before it will complete the POST.

On a cold boot it stopped at 2A. Seeing that it was broken I just kept rebooting it and noticed the post code got a little farther than 2A. I waited some more to heat up, rebooted and it finally booted into the OS. ( Either that or the position of one of the PCI express power connectors was under a little pressure. )

I saw posts online of people baking their gpu in the oven to fix it. Before I went that far I was going to try a few other things. Now it is back to mining.


mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 01:11:10 AM
 #5

My GPU has been running at 85 degrees.

I wanted to mine at a safe level without any overclocking. So I followed the executive summary of:

Single pool, dedicated miner:
cgminer -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -I 9

That results in gpu running at 85 degrees. The readme said all the defaults should be safe values.

I have now added --auto-fan so that the temp comes down to 75 degrees.

What is a safe temperature to mine at ?

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 01:46:00 AM
 #6

The lower the better. I usually run mine at 75, but that's just me.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 03:54:47 PM
 #7

The lower the better. I usually run mine at 75, but that's just me.

Me too. 

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
Sekioh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


FirstBits: 1sekioh


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 04:06:53 PM
 #8

I'm pissed, I just lost a card yesterday too.

Noticed I checked on my mining and had no shares submitted in like 20hrs, and go to restart the machine and couldn't remote, it was hard locked so I restarted it and it had like 5 rapid beeps and the GPU fan started at 100% throttle. Powered fully down and turned off PSU, turned all on, and it starts to windows (no monitor so software-wise) and I can log in remotely since VNC uses software rendering, but as soon as I try to start mining fan jumps up and computer hard locks. :|

It was running 80-85 under normal conditions of full mining, I had fans set with a 85 ramp up as it approached up to 100% so that it kept that as a ceiling.

I find it really interesting that it's letting it POST from a cold boot until put under load. A warm restart is the only time it doesn't post after an error locked it up.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 18, 2012, 04:31:18 PM
 #9

I'm pissed, I just lost a card yesterday too.

Noticed I checked on my mining and had no shares submitted in like 20hrs, and go to restart the machine and couldn't remote, it was hard locked so I restarted it and it had like 5 rapid beeps and the GPU fan started at 100% throttle. Powered fully down and turned off PSU, turned all on, and it starts to windows (no monitor so software-wise) and I can log in remotely since VNC uses software rendering, but as soon as I try to start mining fan jumps up and computer hard locks. :|

It was running 80-85 under normal conditions of full mining, I had fans set with a 85 ramp up as it approached up to 100% so that it kept that as a ceiling.

I find it really interesting that it's letting it POST from a cold boot until put under load. A warm restart is the only time it doesn't post after an error locked it up.
well there's your problem

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 04:36:19 PM
 #10

Perhaps the default settings in the miners should have a lower temperature to run the hardware safely. ( 75 sounds like the recommended temp )

Then only allow the overclockers to run it hotter.


How long had you been running the card from 80-85 ?
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 07:36:15 PM
 #11

Perhaps the default settings in the miners should have a lower temperature to run the hardware safely. ( 75 sounds like the recommended temp )

Then only allow the overclockers to run it hotter.

You can overclock a 5870 and still keep it at 75 or lower.  I use MSI Afterburner

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 18, 2012, 09:43:17 PM
 #12

From the cgminer docs:

Quote
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY ON USAGE:
Single pool, dedicated miner:

cgminer -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -I 9

That maintains an 85 degree gpu.

All I am saying is that when that exact command is issued it should keep the gpu at 75 degrees.
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 19, 2012, 10:05:46 PM
 #13

The card worked for about 24 hours and now it stopped again.

I see people are selling GPUs as parts or repair.... how much is a 5870 worth when sold as parts/repair ?
on9isrock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
July 20, 2012, 07:30:49 AM
 #14

you can go to electronics shops/services to change the gpu part

my address :18TTx6qBr2LTiyRu6SuLDX1SFwDCQyeJRC
mores
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
July 21, 2012, 11:46:39 AM
 #15

I guess they do have some value. Here is a non-working one currently bidding about $50 http://www.ebay.com/itm/HIS-ATI-Radeon-HD-5870-AS-IS-non-working-/221075979574
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!