Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:34:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: LOTS of connection problems for everyone!  (Read 10833 times)
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 03:48:30 PM
 #21

will i have to launch that command line each time i want to open the client for now?

if you use terminal app only to start bitcoin.app then all you need to do is hit the "up" arrow
and it will display the command (from the terminal history file) and just press enter.

the up arrow is a cool idea except that i have to enter "cd desktop" first.

i'm quite sure you don't need to do cd desktop. just type the whole path to bitcoin executable first followed by the -addnode part
as a one line command. worked for me this way (open terminal, hit arrow up & enter)

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480854894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854894
Reply with quote  #2

1480854894
Report to moderator
1480854894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854894
Reply with quote  #2

1480854894
Report to moderator
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:12:13 PM
 #22

I have a nice shiny 114 connections. Huh

What did you change to allow you to get more than eight connections?

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:13:04 PM
 #23

I have a nice shiny 114 connections. Huh

What did you change to allow you to get more than eight connections?

Open the 8333 port
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 01:30:00 AM
 #24

I have a nice shiny 114 connections. Huh

What did you change to allow you to get more than eight connections?

Open the 8333 port

How do I do that while going through TOR? Huh

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 03:09:14 AM
 #25

On Tor network you won't have as many connections as on the normal Internet because there simply aren't that many peers
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2011, 09:38:26 AM
 #26

I made a transaction a few hours ago with .01 fee and it is 0/unc, not in any block in blockexplorer and not in the list of unconfirmed tx at bitcoincharts. I did not look to see if I had connections at the time I sent it. I am bouncing between 1 and 2 connections now. I'm guessing that I had none or a dead end when I sent and no one has heard about my tx, is that probably what happened? It will rebroadcast forever, right?

edit: Already in the unconfirmed list. I have 3 connections now. I should mention that I did restart the computer and didn't turn Bitcoin on right away so this didn't really take several hours, not sure exactly how long, but at least 15 minutes after I got the computer back on.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 10:38:59 AM
 #27

You could try a rescan. I'm not sure how to do this on windows but using a linux box its

Code:
/path/to/bitcoin/bin/64/bitcoin -rescan
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
 #28

You could try a rescan. I'm not sure how to do this on windows but using a linux box its

Code:
/path/to/bitcoin/bin/64/bitcoin -rescan

on windows XP it would be:

click start
click run
type: cmd
hit enter
in the command line type: cd\program files\bitcoin
hit enter
then type bitcoin -rescan
hit enter

i have been trying all day to get bitcoin to receive more blocks with no luck.  i have disabled windows security center and shut down the virus protection software, added 8333 port, -addnode'd 6 IPs, and still no luck.  getting 8 (only 8 ) connections but no new blocks...  is there something else to try?  or is it possibly dsl? (it has been wonky all day)
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:51:54 PM
 #29

You could try a rescan. I'm not sure how to do this on windows but using a linux box its

Code:
/path/to/bitcoin/bin/64/bitcoin -rescan

on windows XP it would be:

click start
click run
type: cmd
hit enter
in the command line type: cd\program files\bitcoin
hit enter
then type bitcoin -rescan
hit enter

i have been trying all day to get bitcoin to receive more blocks with no luck.  i have disabled windows security center and shut down the virus protection software, added 8333 port, -addnode'd 6 IPs, and still no luck.  getting 8 (only 8 ) connections but no new blocks...  is there something else to try?  or is it possibly dsl? (it has been wonky all day)

You need to open/forward port 8333 on your router
If you have already 8 connections it should be just a matter of time
To try a quick fix, you could download the whole blockchain manually and then copy it to your Roaming\Bitcoin folder. Search this forum for a link
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:58:41 PM
 #30



i have been trying all day to get bitcoin to receive more blocks with no luck.  i have disabled windows security center and shut down the virus protection software, added 8333 port, -addnode'd 6 IPs, and still no luck.  getting 8 (only 8 ) connections but no new blocks...  is there something else to try?  or is it possibly dsl? (it has been wonky all day)

You need to open/forward port 8333 on your router
If you have already 8 connections it should be just a matter of time
To try a quick fix, you could download the whole blockchain manually and then copy it to your Roaming\Bitcoin folder. Search this forum for a link

i am just using a modem, no router.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:03:11 PM
 #31

Well, 8 connections is usually a sign of port 8333 being closed. Which protocol did you open 8333 port on your computer, TCP or UDP? Try opening both
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:23:11 PM
 #32

Well, 8 connections is usually a sign of port 8333 being closed. Which protocol did you open 8333 port on your computer, TCP or UDP? Try opening both

opened it with UDP, doesn't seem to help.  still only 8 connections.  and no new blocks.

edit:  i am mapping these ports in "Network Connections" and I checked the box in the Bitcoin GUI for "Map port using Upnp"

is there another step i am leaving out?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:31:47 PM
 #33

I'm not overly familiar with XP. You should open ports in your firewall in XP - I'm not sure if it's under "Network Connections"
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:36:57 PM
 #34

Well, 8 connections is usually a sign of port 8333 being closed. Which protocol did you open 8333 port on your computer, TCP or UDP? Try opening both

opened it with UDP, doesn't seem to help.  still only 8 connections.  and no new blocks.

edit:  i am mapping these ports in "Network Connections" and I checked the box in the Bitcoin GUI for "Map port using Upnp"

is there another step i am leaving out?

at this pt i wouldn't complain about "only" 8 connections
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:39:59 PM
 #35

Well, 8 connections is usually a sign of port 8333 being closed. Which protocol did you open 8333 port on your computer, TCP or UDP? Try opening both

opened it with UDP, doesn't seem to help.  still only 8 connections.  and no new blocks.

edit:  i am mapping these ports in "Network Connections" and I checked the box in the Bitcoin GUI for "Map port using Upnp"

is there another step i am leaving out?

at this pt i wouldn't complain about "only" 8 connections

lol, yeah the no new blocks coming in is a bigger pain.
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:43:58 PM
 #36

okay, solved my "no new blocks coming in" problem by uninstalling bitcoin, erasing the database folder, and reinstalling bitcoin.  ::shrug::  sometimes you just have to use a sledgehammer...
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 10:35:00 PM
 #37

I have a nice shiny 114 connections. Huh

What did you change to allow you to get more than eight connections?

Open the 8333 port

whats the equivalent terminal commands for Win 7 to add nodes?
rograz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 575


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 10:57:11 PM
 #38

Open the 8333 port

thx, seems to have fixed it for me went from 5-10 connections to 80+
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 11:18:15 PM
 #39

I have a nice shiny 114 connections. Huh

What did you change to allow you to get more than eight connections?

Open the 8333 port

whats the equivalent terminal commands for Win 7 to add nodes?

On a 32bit system you do something like:
Code:
cd c:\program files\bitcoin

Code:
bitcoin.exe -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 12:21:31 AM
 #40

Open the 8333 port

thx, seems to have fixed it for me went from 5-10 connections to 80+

how do i open 8333 on a macbook pro?  i run both macOS and win7 on this laptop (thru VMware Fusion).
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!