Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 12:34:33 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
  Home Help Search Login Register More  
  Show Posts
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »
121  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][DRK] DarkCoin | First Anonymous Coin | No Premine | DGW | ASIC Resistant on: March 21, 2014, 02:37:02 AM
Still can't get it to sync past block 34139 (git says "Already up-to-date." so latest wallet)

Tried all sorts of peer lists, plenty of connections, no new blocks... any ideas?

I don't want to pull my coins from the pool until I'm fully synced

Code:
2014-03-21 02:34:24 received block 00000000007dda6b77dc0575cca14aecdc36cbdb07afe364d55e8def556304c2
2014-03-21 02:34:24 ERROR: AcceptBlock() : incorrect proof of work
2014-03-21 02:34:24 ERROR: ProcessBlock() : AcceptBlock FAILED

Is that the correct block? If so, looks like there's a bug in the 32bit POW code.

edit: nvm, block explorer confirms that's the right block. BUG?
122  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin, new prime numbers POW coin, CLIENT UPDATE v0.8.7 AVAILABLE on: March 21, 2014, 12:02:59 AM
Hi, all -

As promised, with ypool's update to address the share-vs-block
fairness issue, I'm releasing as open source my miner code.
I've also placed online binaries with the usual dev fee structure:
2% default, which can be disabled from the command line.

Thanks to everyone who supported this with dev fees over the last
few days.  I've taken the time to clean up the code modestly -
it still needs work, but it's not the total mess it was yesterday.
I've integrated the windows/mingw build into the main line and
added -s <maxSieveSize> parameter on the command line to replace
the former set of multiple builds.

Binary releases:
  http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~dga/crypto/ric/

Source release:
  https://github.com/dave-andersen/fastrie
  (in the xptMiner subdirectory)

Note:  If you're running any other miner, it's important to
upgrade to this one ASAP in order to ensure that you're getting
a fair share of the blocks you find!  The change from "first four"
to "any four" means that the miners will all be finding MANY more
shares per block -- so if you're running old code, you will be at
a serious disadvantage.  Something like 30 to 1.  Upgrade ASAP.
The miner will report a different number of chains/sec than it
did before because of the change to shares, but it's roughly the
same code as before - maybe 1% or less slower because of testing
for multiple primes.

Happy mining, and thanks as always to Gatra for creating a great
proof of work, to jh and clintar for the starting codebase,
and to everyone for participating in it.

Note also that jh is releasing a new miner - compare and find the best
one, I don't know which one is faster. Smiley

Any chance of 32 bit miners, windows and linux?

I'm currently GPU mining scrypt under a windows 32 system and would love to mine RIC alongside. Don't have too much faith on being able to compile for linux either when I finally reboot.
123  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][MCR] Macrocoin - RELAUNCHED NOW (FREE MCR GIVEAWAY) on: March 20, 2014, 06:24:35 PM
Just voted for you guys on mintpall (819-824)

Hope my whopping 1.03 coins is worth the mining time when it hits another exchange

9CFzDUwNBK6S6HBjXiYNcbwHKjLnopFKQv
124  Economy / Reputation / Re: Invactus Reputation on: March 19, 2014, 02:06:46 PM
Whatever the issue is I havent had it with other leased LRP rigs and I never got a message or email about  the issue until I checked this thread. Other rig owners have been amazing with communication and understanding, unfortunately for this reason and the above reasons I will not lease this rig again.
What sort of MH/s? the higher the MH/s, the more likely the problem. Seems to take 5+ MH/s at the very least to trigger the problem. AS for just finding out about it now, I'd guess that's probably cause djezo (leaserig owner, and the least reputable person of all people on the site imo) would rather it's not widely known... more scammed profit for him (incidentally, why does a deposit incur a network transaction fee on the receiving end?)


djezo.... what a complete cent.
125  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin, new prime numbers POW coin, CLIENT UPDATE v0.8.7 AVAILABLE on: March 19, 2014, 12:36:30 PM

YAY, more CRLF/CR/LF/Encoding/whatever bullshit... I give up. Please provide some unmangled sourcecode or at the very least, a 32 bit linux build.

I had faith in this coin from launch but it's just been a disappointment to me. Missed the boat due to, seemingly, dev's that take cross platform code, change a line or two (aka/ie, a new coin), and completely fuck up all code portability. Seems like there's only a handful of actual developers in the cryptocurrency community that know what cross-platform/portable means.

If you have sympathy or pity this fool, RAvAQ3TrUNWrG2DDgfuPvdhzaiXtg2wjEu

I'll pay with knowledge...

Install dos2unix or 'sed -e "s/^M$//"' (you'll need to ^V ^M to get the right string).

I understand that not everyone can code or can navigate a unix-ish CLI but is that the fault of a dev?

PS. My Verilog sucks but I don't blame the *coin ASIC miners for that.

--
bsunau7
heh, I actually did try dos2unix among other sed/perl/python/etc one-liners but all failed due to not mangling the sourcecode even further (and all in different ways, which I think backs up my higgledy-piggledy theory of encoding)

But as for the last I error I got
Code:
fatal error: gmp.h: No such file or director
That actually seems to be unrelated to the line termination/encoding issues. Stuck for a fix though (installed all lib-devs that look relevant, no joy)

I understand that not everyone can code or can navigate a unix-ish CLI but is that the fault of a dev?
Navigating a CLI? No, but forking opersource crosspatform software and messing up one or both of those main features (yes, they are main features) is the fault of the/a dev

The gmp.h error is because you a are missing one of the dependencies: gmp (package libgmp-dev or you can get it from http://gmplib.org/ as stated in the README file)

Yes, it's possible that I messed up the CR/LF, I edited the files in some crappy windows editor and it changed my line endings.
Oddly enough, I had libgmp-dev. What worked for me was the addition of "libboost-all-dev" (I had parts, not all )as suggested by the link trny provided. Thanks trny

gatra, stop using "crappy windows editors" unless you like assholes like me bitching and moaning Tongue

Oh and it messed up more than just CR/LF, think it messed with the encoding cause after retyping the "/config.status" non comment parts of "./configure" it went a step further. ".in'ig.status: error: cannot find input file: `" seems like an encoding issue
126  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][MCR] Macrocoin - RELAUNCHED NOW (FREE MCR GIVEAWAY) on: March 19, 2014, 12:19:23 PM
I've mined a whopping 1.24 so far. Any help appreciatred...

9CFzDUwNBK6S6HBjXiYNcbwHKjLnopFKQv, TIA
127  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin, new prime numbers POW coin, CLIENT UPDATE v0.8.7 AVAILABLE on: March 19, 2014, 11:14:21 AM

YAY, more CRLF/CR/LF/Encoding/whatever bullshit... I give up. Please provide some unmangled sourcecode or at the very least, a 32 bit linux build.

I had faith in this coin from launch but it's just been a disappointment to me. Missed the boat due to, seemingly, dev's that take cross platform code, change a line or two (aka/ie, a new coin), and completely fuck up all code portability. Seems like there's only a handful of actual developers in the cryptocurrency community that know what cross-platform/portable means.

If you have sympathy or pity this fool, RAvAQ3TrUNWrG2DDgfuPvdhzaiXtg2wjEu

I'll pay with knowledge...

Install dos2unix or 'sed -e "s/^M$//"' (you'll need to ^V ^M to get the right string).

I understand that not everyone can code or can navigate a unix-ish CLI but is that the fault of a dev?

PS. My Verilog sucks but I don't blame the *coin ASIC miners for that.

--
bsunau7
heh, I actually did try dos2unix among other sed/perl/python/etc one-liners but all failed due to not mangling the sourcecode even further (and all in different ways, which I think backs up my higgledy-piggledy theory of encoding)

But as for the last I error I got
Code:
fatal error: gmp.h: No such file or director
That actually seems to be unrelated to the line termination/encoding issues. Stuck for a fix though (installed all lib-devs that look relevant, no joy)

I understand that not everyone can code or can navigate a unix-ish CLI but is that the fault of a dev?
Navigating a CLI? No, but forking opersource crosspatform software and messing up one or both of those main features (yes, they are main features) is the fault of the/a dev
128  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin, new prime numbers POW coin, CLIENT UPDATE v0.8.7 AVAILABLE on: March 19, 2014, 09:15:02 AM
I tried to jump on this coin at launch but had endless issues compiling a 32 bit wallet. Gave up; time passes.

Now I'm trying again (missed the boat, I know) and while I have the wallet, I still need a miner but... nothing but problems Sad

Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads $ unzip rminerd-sources.zip
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads $ cd cpuminer/
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ ./autogen.sh
bash: ./autogen.sh: Permission denied
Okay. That's common enough among the endless sporkcoins so...
Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ chmod +x autogen.sh
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ ./autogen.sh
bash: ./autogen.sh: /bin/sh^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
Sure, CRLF/CR/LF/Encoding/whatever issues (I thought we were past this. It's LF and ASCII/UTF8 or STFU...) anyway, so lets just run the contents of autogen.sh manualy
Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ set -e
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ aclocal
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ autoheader
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ automake --gnu --add-missing --copy
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ autoconf
Fine. Then on one system
Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ ./configure
./configure: line 5611: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5611: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.15.2, ,'
And on another
Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ ./configure
configure: creating ./config.status
.in'ig.status: error: cannot find input file: `
Fun times. Love it when identical VM images act differently... anyway, some voodoo later (manual retyping of 2 lines on the latter system's (the easier fix) configure file)
Code:
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ ./configure
who_the_f@ckcares ~/Downloads/cpuminer $ make
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing     -g -O2 -MT rminerd-cpu-miner.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/rminerd-cpu-miner.Tpo -c -o rminerd-cpu-miner.o `test -f 'cpu-miner.c' || echo './'`cpu-miner.c
cpu-miner.c:41:17: fatal error: gmp.h: No such file or directory
 #include "gmp.h"
                 ^
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [rminerd-cpu-miner.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/who_the_f/Downloads/cpuminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/who_the_f/Downloads/cpuminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2
YAY, more CRLF/CR/LF/Encoding/whatever bullshit... I give up. Please provide some unmangled sourcecode or at the very least, a 32 bit linux build.

I had faith in this coin from launch but it's just been a disappointment to me. Missed the boat due to, seemingly, dev's that take cross platform code, change a line or two (aka/ie, somenewcoin2.0), and completely fuck up all code portability. Seems like there's only a handful of actual developers in the cryptocurrency community that know what cross-platform/portable means.

If you have sympathy or pity this fool, RAvAQ3TrUNWrG2DDgfuPvdhzaiXtg2wjEu
129  Economy / Reputation / Re: Invactus Reputation on: March 19, 2014, 05:45:05 AM
For what it's worth, in defence/support of Invactus, I had problems with another leased rig that was using LRP and I THINK (not 100% confirmed, but most likely explanation) it might have something to do with some pools being "incompatible" with LRP. I also now think that maybe this is the problem I had during my lease of this rig, hence the huge variation in leaserig stats that I mentioned in my first post.

See https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=497338.msg5694857#msg5694857 (Jump to "UPDATE" and read on)... short version, some pools disconnect workers when there's too many connections (which is more likely with high MH/s LRP rigs since there's more workers).

djezo and some rig owners blame the pools, leasers are most likely to blame it on the rig owners.. personally I think it's due to protection measures set to limit the number of conections (I've seen a few pools put that number at 15 per IP) to prevent/mitigate DDOSs rather that pool owners varying from stratum specification as djezo suggests. but I also think rigs owners using LRP should maybe have a warning/disclaimer about some pools not being compatible. Or better still, leaserig should have a sitewide notice for all rigs it knows to be using LRP.

Or even better still would be some system whereby you can check how a particular pool works with an LRP rig before you lease it (not sure how it could be done that's fair, reasonably accurate and unexploitable but I'm sure it could be done with some thought).

Really we could do with a dedicated thread to discuss this publicly with djezo but I'm too tired for that now...

Rented for 3 hours, first 13 minutes was mining on his poo(noy sure if thats mine or his fault)l.
You probably didn't select a pool before clicking the hire button, I think I might have done that too but realised quicker
130  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][SHA]SHACoin - First pure Pos SHA256 based coin - On Exchange Now on: March 18, 2014, 11:55:36 PM
Anymore SHA for bounty  Huh my miner is so slow  Cry
doubt it's slower than mine Sad
131  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][DRK] DarkCoin | First Anonymous Coin | No Premine | Hard Fork At 34140 (DGW) on: March 18, 2014, 10:59:21 PM
Is there a proper solution to get the wallet to sync past block 34139?

I started with no user data and a freshly compiled wallet from newest github revision, the nodes from 10-20 pages back and still no full sync. Tried without those nodes, again no user data, and same issue.

Any help?

I just compiled a new node list, not complete yet. Its p2p pool nodes and random connected nodes to my other nodes, all those nodes are pretty much 24/7 currently.
try at your own risk

http://pastebin.com/ERfv92JF

i just loaded a fresh compiled qt wallet wit hthese nodes in 3 minutes


Code:
23:08:26

getinfo


23:08:26

{
"version" : 90000,
"protocolversion" : 70002,
"walletversion" : 60000,
"balance" : lolthastmylilsecret,
"blocks" : 35920,
"timeoffset" : 0,
"connections" : 31,
"proxy" : "",
"difficulty" : 217.37163291,
"testnet" : false,
"keypoololdest" : 1393894916,
"keypoolsize" : 101,
"paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
"mininput" : 0.00001000,
"unlocked_until" : 0,
"errors" : ""
}


Thanks but those nodes give me the same result for some reason (even after deleting the blockchain).

Could this be a build specific issue (this is a 32 bit linux build) maybe
132  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN][DRK] DarkCoin | First Anonymous Coin | No Premine | Hard Fork At 34140 (DGW) on: March 18, 2014, 09:55:53 PM
Is there a proper solution to get the wallet to sync past block 34139?

I started with no user data and a freshly compiled wallet from newest github revision, the nodes from 10-20 pages back and still no full sync. Tried without those nodes, again no user data, and same issue.

Any help?
133  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN] RHINOHORNS [CPU/GPU HYBRID] SAVE THE RHINO! LAUNCHED! on: March 18, 2014, 03:10:17 AM
Speaking of nodes and conf files... linux conf filename? Doesn't seem to be "~/.Rhinohorn/rhinohorn.conf"

edit to add, not sure if it's a bug but coins are added to confirmed balance before they reach fully confirmed under transaction history.

File name is: .Rhinohorn
I've got the directory, just not the filename. But I THINK "Rhinohorn.conf" (so "~/.Rhinohorn/Rhinohorn.conf") shifted it.

just fyi, although settings directories may be uppercased, the conf filename is almost always fully lowercase. At least under linux builds. Not a rule, but a convention worth following (easier for users)
134  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN] RHINOHORNS [CPU/GPU HYBRID] SAVE THE RHINO! LAUNCHED! on: March 18, 2014, 02:48:52 AM
Speaking of nodes and conf files... linux conf filename? Doesn't seem to be "~/.Rhinohorn/rhinohorn.conf"

edit to add, not sure if it's a bug but coins are added to confirmed balance before they reach fully confirmed under transaction history. I've got two transactions, one 4/6, the other 5/6 but no unconfirmed balance.
135  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN] RHINOHORNS [CPU/GPU HYBRID] SAVE THE RHINO! LAUNCHED! on: March 18, 2014, 02:03:20 AM
Code:
setgenerate true 4 
for 4 threads  Smiley
Thanks, don't know how I didn't see that. Was looking through the whole output of "help"
136  Alternate cryptocurrencies / Announcements (Altcoins) / Re: [ANN] RHINOHORNS [CPU/GPU HYBRID] SAVE THE RHINO! LAUNCHED! on: March 18, 2014, 01:45:50 AM
CPU Mining Instructions:
QT-Wallet: help>Debug Window > Console > type setgenerate true
Daemon Linux: ./Rhinohornd set generate true
Daemon Windows: Rhinohornd.exe set generate true

To check your hashrate type in getmininginfo. your hashrate is where it says hashpersec.

(You will be 0 hours behind, this is expected)

When using "setgenerate true" is there a way of adjusting the threads/cores used?
137  Economy / Reputation / Re: iGOSHi's Reputation Thread on: March 17, 2014, 11:29:14 PM
Hired for 1 hour today and no problems with lease.
Likewise, leased Box2 for 4 hours yesterday, 1 hour today. Not a single issue.
138  Economy / Services / Re: 28,000kh/s Scrypt mining power for rent on: March 17, 2014, 10:48:09 PM
Miner went down within minutes of starting 60 minute lease. Refund received, will give another go sometime.

Trustworthy leaser imo
139  Bitcoin / Mining support / Re: Have I killed my graphic card? on: March 16, 2014, 11:07:36 PM
Maybe it's just the case that Windows 8 takes over your PC and stops you installing anything else? Tongue
http://www.pcworld.com/article/2027864/secure-boot-loader-now-available-to-allow-linux-to-work-on-windows-8-pcs.html

What happens if you pull the graphics card out and plug your VGA into the motherboard?
Heh nah, I already had linux installed (not using secure boot) and verified I was actually booting into it by logging in through SSH.

Sadly I don't have onboard graphics to try. BUT.. the problem solved itseld (see further down)

There shouldn't be anything in the buffer if you turn the system entirely off, it's volatile memory.
That's what I thought...

Anyway, for some reason the card now works and still I can't make any sense of it.

I tried powering off for a while to let things cool down completely. NOTHING.
I tried switching the PSU off for a few hours. NOTHING.
I tried reseating the card into the pci-e slot. NOTHING.
I tried a different HDMI port. NOTHING.
I gave up, left it over night. Next morning? still NOTHING!
Contacted sapphire and amazon, and long story short, amazon said they'd refund me (even tho it's way past the 30 day return period.)
Then tonight, just now, I decided to give it one last try before packing up for return. Nothing was changed besides the system being down for even longer than I tried before (more like 24 hours, previously it was around 10)... IT WORKS! Huh

Really really weird. Good that it works, sucks that there's no explanation but even tho it works, I might consider returning to amazon anyway. I can rebuy a fresh card, or even upgrade using the mined coins + the refund.

Still deciding what to do but for now, some more mining.

Thanks for the suggestions guys, sorry I don't have a better explanation as to what the heck happenend. I'd LOVE to know how something like that can resolve itself.
140  Economy / Reputation / Re: Invactus Reputation on: March 15, 2014, 02:09:38 AM
Not good...

I just leased InvactusRig2 (Scrypt 12.25 MH/s) for an hour and I think it averaged only about 9.5. leaserig says 9.74, rough number based on pool stats put it closer to a flat 9. So let's say 9.5 to be kind. That's almost 3 MH/s (ie, 25%) short of the declared hashrate.

It also started preconfigured for the owners pools (one was hashcows) so a minute or two was lost removing those and adding mine, during which time I'm basically paying him to mine for himself.

I was watching pool stats and leaserig stats closely and there was quite a lot of variation. Going by pool stats it started at around 10, slowly got to about 11.5-12 and stayed there till about half way through. At the mid point it shot up to around 14-15 for just under 5 minutes then to 10 for a while, down to 8 and finally closing at around 6 before the contract finished. I think maybe the owner was adding/removing rigs from the proxy throughout the contract because the changes were sudden. The leaserig stats are much lower resolution but still there was a lot of variation, and still the average was lower than declared.


Overall, not pleased. I don't mind variation, especially since normally it would level out over a longer contract but being shorted 25% is just crap.

I regret the lease, wish I could get a refund and definitely I wouldn't recommend this guy's service to anyone.


30% refund received (covers the missing MH/s), will give another go sometime.

As for the pool mixup, maybe I forgot to add a pool before leasing or leasrig was slow to switch (seen that a few times now)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!