Bitcoin Forum
February 26, 2020, 08:04:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Good Speeds on Sapphire 5830's 311.4MHash/s  (Read 23860 times)
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 04:49:17 PM
 #121

how does one downclock the memory, to save on power consumption but keeping output high?

I do not want to flash em, I have 4 running in a rig.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
1582704278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582704278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582704278
Reply with quote  #2

1582704278
Report to moderator
1582704278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582704278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582704278
Reply with quote  #2

1582704278
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
airdata
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:00:54 PM
 #122

how does one downclock the memory, to save on power consumption but keeping output high?

I do not want to flash em, I have 4 running in a rig.

Vivi : you can use msi afterburner.  Follow this guide : http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=5.0

It requires you to install msi afterburner and then edit a couple of lines of the cfg file.  To get the memory clock below 500 you may have to move it to 500 and then close the program and open it back up to get it to lets say 300 or below.

vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:12:37 PM
 #123

Yup, but what should I clock down to save power, but keep up mhash?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
ihokamik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:03:33 PM
 #124

Yup, but what should I clock down to save power, but keep up mhash?

I run my Sapphire 5830 core at 966 MHz and the Memory art 325 MHz.   I actually get faster hashing speed when the memory runs between 300 and 350 MHz than the default but it crashes if I launch a game.   I think that the sweet spot is tightly related to your core speed.  Some people are obtaining better performance at other mem speed but 325 works best for me.

I haven't changed the voltage, MSI afterburner won't let me do it on this card.
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:04:53 PM
 #125

Thanks, i'll play with it when I get home ... i'll have 4 cards in one rig, so we'll see what happens Smiley.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:14:08 AM
 #126

I have 2 5830's running at 311~mhash as well now, thanks Smiley

I made a quick guide to MSI Afterburner unlocking extra OC features ... very simple :

http://vivithemage.com/2011/03/enabling-unofficial-overclocking-in-msi-afterburner-2-1/

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 31, 2011, 10:24:18 AM
 #127

325.2 MHash/sec
Sapphire 5830 Extreme
1010/370/1.175v
70c
GUIMiner v2011-07-01 / phoenix / diapolo modded phatk 7-17
VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 04:25:02 PM
 #128

325.2 MHash/sec
Sapphire 5830 Extreme
1010/370/1.175v
70c
GUIMiner v2011-07-01 / phoenix / diapolo modded phatk 7-17
VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14
You shouldn't have to change voltages in order to get that speed. I have 1030/350 for the same card as yours with no overvolt and I'm getting 333.88. If I go with your speed no overvolt I get 327.36. Try these settings:
phoenix 1.5
phatk from Phateus(7-29)
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 12:00:46 AM
 #129

325.2 MHash/sec
Sapphire 5830 Extreme
1010/370/1.175v
70c
GUIMiner v2011-07-01 / phoenix / diapolo modded phatk 7-17
VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14
You shouldn't have to change voltages in order to get that speed. I have 1030/350 for the same card as yours with no overvolt and I'm getting 333.88. If I go with your speed no overvolt I get 327.36. Try these settings:
phoenix 1.5
phatk from Phateus(7-29)


Stock voltage 1.163v, maximum stable core is 985 at same temperature. I needed the bump to get it stable.

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 01, 2011, 01:15:09 AM
 #130

325.2 MHash/sec
Sapphire 5830 Extreme
1010/370/1.175v
70c
GUIMiner v2011-07-01 / phoenix / diapolo modded phatk 7-17
VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14
You shouldn't have to change voltages in order to get that speed. I have 1030/350 for the same card as yours with no overvolt and I'm getting 333.88. If I go with your speed no overvolt I get 327.36. Try these settings:
phoenix 1.5
phatk from Phateus(7-29)


Stock voltage 1.163v, maximum stable core is 985 at same temperature. I needed the bump to get it stable.
That's weird maybe I just got a good batch?
lowlevel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 01, 2011, 02:13:44 AM
 #131

Hey I was just curious if anyone has pushed their 5830's over the 311MHash/s Mark.
Getting 311.4->311.89 using Pheonix Miner in Win7 without Aero

I'm getting about 311.6 to 312.2 or so sustained on one of my 5830's.
975mhz gpu, 320mhz ram, stock voltage.

My other two are in the same box and I have trouble with them past 960mhz.. so those I get 305ish on.
I'm sure if I was willing to up the voltage and push the clock harder, I could get 320mhashes... but I'm not really into frying video cards.

Would you rather talk Altcoins? - https://cryptocointalk.com/
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 03:53:06 AM
 #132

325.2 MHash/sec
Sapphire 5830 Extreme
1010/370/1.175v
70c
GUIMiner v2011-07-01 / phoenix / diapolo modded phatk 7-17
VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14
You shouldn't have to change voltages in order to get that speed. I have 1030/350 for the same card as yours with no overvolt and I'm getting 333.88. If I go with your speed no overvolt I get 327.36. Try these settings:
phoenix 1.5
phatk from Phateus(7-29)


Stock voltage 1.163v, maximum stable core is 985 at same temperature. I needed the bump to get it stable.
That's weird maybe I just got a good batch?

It's very likely. I bought 5 cards. One is good to 1025MHz stock volts, other is only good to 955MHz, regardless of voltage.

SolidBitShop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 09:25:45 AM
 #133

The stable core clock is i think by luck. I have 6 of them and not everyone runs at the same speed. For example

1015/325 - 323M#/s 74C Fan 60% - unstable for 1020+ (freezes the PC)
975/325 - 311M#/s 76C Fan 66% - unstable for longer period of time from 985+ (The drivers turn off and the card is not mining. stays on 0% GPU load)
965/325 - 308M#/s 78C Fan 69% - above 965 it gets unstable

These above are in one case. From top - the cards have better air flow. Space between is one pci/pcie slot. Two 120mm fans blowing out the hot air from the back end of the cards. If there is one 120mm fan blowing in the air on a side of a card to the fans on the cards it gets - 2/4 C depends on card (the first cards temp stays the same)

The other rig is

930@275 - 298M#/s 77 - 80 C (depends on the outside temperature) Fan 76% - Can't really tell whats the stable core clock (its running at low core clock because the heat is killing the card, its in close position to another cards so the temps are very high)
1006@315 - 319-321 M#/s 76 - 78C Fan at 66% (Its stable above these settings but the efficiency is poor (it gets less accepted and many rejected)
1015@315 - 321 - 324 M#/s 72 - 74 C Fan 54% ( unstable for 1020 +)

For this configuration there is only one 120mm fan blowing out the heat from the first and second card. ( i found that blowing out air is better than blowing in - of course best combination is blowing out and blowing in - but I dont have a fan for that jet.

Anyway if someone would be interested in software settings they are the same for all rigs:

Win7 64x
Phoenix 1.5 with phatk kernel 2011-07-17

-a 5 -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=false (for phoenix worksize is default for the cards witch is 256)

catalyst 11.6 SDK 2,4 (tryed 11,7 sdk2,5 but one of my card didnt worked and the speed was poor for my settings)


PS. ohh and the voltage is stock
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!