Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 05:01:09 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting Up a Bitcoin Node  (Read 28183 times)
Wave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 04:28:17 AM
 #1

Does anyone have any references on how to setup a full bitcoin node?


-Wave
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537549269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537549269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537549269
Reply with quote  #2

1537549269
Report to moderator
1537549269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537549269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537549269
Reply with quote  #2

1537549269
Report to moderator
1537549269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537549269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537549269
Reply with quote  #2

1537549269
Report to moderator
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 04:29:53 AM
 #2

Just download the bitcoin-qt or bitcoind and you will be a full node

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 04:35:51 AM
 #3

Make sure to open TCP port 8333.
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 04:52:58 AM
 #4

Are you done yet, and how is it going?  Port forwarding can be done automatically if your router supports uPnP. It might take many hours to download the whole blockchain, but once this is done, it's done.   You will be running a full node.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 04:53:49 AM
 #5

Are you done yet, and how is it going?  Port forwarding can be done automatically if your router supports uPnP. It might take many hours to download the whole blockchain, but once this is done, it's done.   You will be running a full node.

Don't use uPnP you will mostly only get 8 connections if you want to be a full node, make sure the port is forward so you can allow incoming connections.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 06:41:09 AM
 #6

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin
is what I used as a refernece Smiley
has way more than I use or you need Smiley

you can also addnodes to increase performance (find fast ones)


| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
Akka
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 06:47:14 AM
 #7

If you really want to support the network make sure you forward port 8333. If you don't know how, look here: http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=216489

All previous versions of currency will no longer be supported as of this update
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 103


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 11:32:03 AM
 #8

Is there any other benefit to running a full node beyond increasing the diversity/stability of the network?

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 12:08:30 PM
 #9

Is there any other benefit to running a full node beyond increasing the diversity/stability of the network?

Im not sure but having more connections would mean that blocks are loaded faster if you have to download blocks for some days. With standard client it can be hard to wait to download the blocks of last days.
Its hard to wait until to get confirmations but even harder when you cant use bitcoins because you miss the last blocks. With more connections this should be faster.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 03:08:07 PM
 #10

Is there any other benefit to running a full node beyond increasing the diversity/stability of the network?

Im not sure but having more connections would mean that blocks are loaded faster if you have to download blocks for some days. With standard client it can be hard to wait to download the blocks of last days.
Its hard to wait until to get confirmations but even harder when you cant use bitcoins because you miss the last blocks. With more connections this should be faster.

That is false, downloading of blocks are depended on I/O speeds, CPU, and network, this will not make blocks download faster.

The benefits are that your helping the network and protecting it.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Infinity1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 10



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 06:39:24 PM
 #11

If I have metered bandwidth should I not run a full node to prevent massive data usage? I get 8 connections at max so I'm assuming I should disable uPnP for faster blockchain download?

Straya Cunt!
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 07:01:47 PM
 #12

Are you done yet, and how is it going?  Port forwarding can be done automatically if your router supports uPnP. It might take many hours to download the whole blockchain, but once this is done, it's done.   You will be running a full node.

Don't use uPnP you will mostly only get 8 connections if you want to be a full node, make sure the port is forward so you can allow incoming connections.
UPnP allows your client to configure the router to open port 8333, so you can have more than eight connections. Of course, this only works if your router is uPnP-ready.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
Wave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 07:54:18 PM
 #13

Will it work even if I do not have a static IP?  I know how to do port forwarding and I want to do this to support the bitcoin network.  Thanks for the links folks, I should have time to read up tomorrow!

-Wave
Wave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:10:44 PM
 #14

Hell, that was easy.  I already had the full client running.  I can see the traffic flowing now in my logs via 8333 port forwarding.  However, client still only shows 8 connections.  Will keep my eye on it.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 08:13:10 PM
 #15

Hell, that was easy.  I already had the full client running.  I can see the traffic flowing now in my logs via 8333 port forwarding.  However, client still only shows 8 connections.  Will keep my eye on it.

It is cause your router isn't port forward, and your connecting thru uPnP, you need to forward port 8333. Otherwise your not really getting incoming connections.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:13:33 PM
 #16

Will it work even if I do not have a static IP?  I know how to do port forwarding and I want to do this to support the bitcoin network.  Thanks for the links folks, I should have time to read up tomorrow!

-Wave

Yes, it will work regardless of your WAN IP.  Note, however, that your LAN IP (the one assigned by your router to devices within your home network) needs to be static if you want to manually set the router to forward port 8333 to the device that runs your client. This is usually easy to set up through you router settings.

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
Akka
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:14:02 PM
 #17

If it doesn't increase it numbers of connections try:

bitcoin-qt.exe -maxconnections=x , while x is the number of connections you would like to have at max.

All previous versions of currency will no longer be supported as of this update
Wave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:27:34 PM
 #18

Niko - Thanks, server has static IP.

Akka - Will give it a shot!
Wave
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:44:26 PM
 #19

I got it, up to 10 connections now and slowly climbing.

The short of it...

Install bitcoinqt client and sync with block chain
Be sure the computer running the bitcoin client gets a static IP address assigned by your router
Forward port TCP port 8333 from internet to the IP you assigned in the step above
Done ;-)


-Wave
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2012, 12:22:17 AM
 #20

Is there any other benefit to running a full node beyond increasing the diversity/stability of the network?

Im not sure but having more connections would mean that blocks are loaded faster if you have to download blocks for some days. With standard client it can be hard to wait to download the blocks of last days.
Its hard to wait until to get confirmations but even harder when you cant use bitcoins because you miss the last blocks. With more connections this should be faster.

That is false, downloading of blocks are depended on I/O speeds, CPU, and network, this will not make blocks download faster.

The benefits are that your helping the network and protecting it.

Strange. I never had much traffic or cpu and blocks were loading painful slow with 8 connections. So my guess was that, like with every other p2p-network you only need more partners to get blocks faster. Ok, then the border is somewhere else...

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!